Panasonic BD-35/55 Firmware Update Available - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 02:03 AM - Thread Starter
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 8,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Greetings,

FW version 1.5 is available for the Panasonic BD 35/55 players. It says it addresses playability and stability. Here is the link for each:

BD-55

BD-35


I found this out when I powered my player up this morning and a screen popped up saying that a firmware update was available for download. It first downloads the firmware and then installs it. The whole process took 10 minutes to complete.


Cheers,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Potts View Post

Greetings,

FW version 1.5 is available for the Panasonic BD 35/55 players. It says it addresses playability and stability. Here is the link for each:

BD-55

BD-35


I found this out when I powered my player up this morning and a screen popped up saying that a firmware update was available for download. It first downlaods the firmware and then installs it. The whole process took 10 minutes to complete.


Cheers,

Hi Ralph,

Thanks.

The Panasonic web site only mentions that the upgrade is for "Playability and Stability". Have you had a chance to observe any improvements? I don't suppose there are any new menus, etc?

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #3 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 8,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryChanin View Post

Hi Ralph,

Thanks.

The Panasonic web site only mentions that the upgrade is for "Playability and Stability". Have you had a chance to observe any improvements? I don't suppose there are any new menus, etc?

Larry

Greetings,

None that I observed Larry. The previous firmware version on my player was 1.1. I would be curious to know what was being addressed. I watched Hancock after updating this morning. I will check a few disc that I am familar with to see if there are any improvements in load times. Seeing as the Panasonic was already very fast I doubt there will be any discernible change in that regard.


Cheers,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #4 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
nith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the alert. I'll update my BD35 tonight and hopefully it will fix the stability issue as intended.

Issue I had w/BD35:
May be it is a one fluke thing (I haven't tried to reproduce it). I was watching the 'Journey to the center of the Earth' and then all of the sudden the player stopped responding to the remote command. The eject button on the player didn't respond either. Only the power button was responding; I pressed it and the player reboot. The remote works after that...
nith is offline  
post #5 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
caa100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why a separate thread for this topic?

Doesn't this belong in the owners thread?

-Chris
caa100 is offline  
post #6 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sacramento,Ca., usa
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It is very common on this forum for firmware threads to be seperate.

Go Duke !
Trackman is offline  
post #7 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 10:23 AM
Member
 
chix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caa100 View Post

Why a separate thread for this topic?

Doesn't this belong in the owners thread?

Are you a mod? A separate thread is helpful as the owners thread is huge!
chix is offline  
post #8 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 11:11 AM
Member
 
mtw4991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a heads up to everyone. I was having a helluva time getting accurate calibration of my 67 at 0%(black) & 100%(white) using the ramps on DVE. I was told(wrong!) that the Yamaha RX-V663 clips BTB/WTW(it doesn't). I am running monoprice HDMI 1.3 cat2 cables from my BD35 to the 663, using the 663's HDMI video out to my sammy. The BD35 has its own set of adjustments and once I set these to the correct levels(not all default settings are accurate btw), I could see ALL ramps including BTB and WTW. This allowed me to dial in the brightness/contrast almost perfectly.

HOWEVER, I did notice that switching from standard to movie mode RESETS the dynamic contrast/black to high even though it says off? Gonna be a real pain once I get my Harmony One sync'd up. Not sure how to reset it w/ a H1

Anybody else notice this? Maybe the new f/w will fixit? I just bought the 67 last week with f/w 1006.1 so it is the latest.
mtw4991 is offline  
post #9 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikey p's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sealy, TX!
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caa100 View Post

Why a separate thread for this topic?

Doesn't this belong in the owners thread?

I've only had this unit an HD35 in the house less than 24 hrs, this thread SAVED my a bunch to time for sure, I've D/L the Firmware and up-dated my new player since I got home from work, kind of neat, from "my point of view"
YMMV I'm sure. Thanks.

P.S. Thanks to the OP for the links as otherwise I would not hav seen it! A big tip of the cap!

It is "WOW" TV!
mikey p is offline  
post #10 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Updated my 35 today with no issues at all. It now plays all my HD-DVD's, as well as my 8-tracks. Kudos Panasonic!

Jack Gilvey
SVS Customer Service

Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #11 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gilvey View Post

Updated my 35 today with no issues at all. It now plays all my HD-DVD's, as well as my 8-tracks. Kudos Panasonic!

does it also do laser disc now too?
Brandito is offline  
post #12 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 04:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,021
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 504
No, but it does do LPs. It's just that you have to hammer the LP in that small DVD slot.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #13 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Nice! Let us know how thos 8-tracks work out for ya!

I picked up my BD35 today at lunch. This is replacing my Pioneer 51FD (most likely). The 51FD replaced my BD30.

Panny, Pioneer, Panny. We'll see how this one fairs compared to my 51FD.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #14 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
halsan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Palm Bay, Fl
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I DL the update and it a bit over 27 megs. Panny's update site identifies it as a bit over 28 megs. Is this a problem?

Hal
halsan40 is offline  
post #15 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
tai4de2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: (near) Seattle
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The firmware update for the BD35 is available via the player's ethernet port. The update process works very nicely -- there's a percent complete indicator during the download phase (it seemed to jump in 5% increments) with a clear statement that the screen will go blank once the firmware upgrade starts upon completion of the download. During the actual upgrade the player's front panel reads "UPDx/5" where x is 1-5; and then "FINISH" after which the player restarts.

Upon restart, a message briefly appears stating that the firmware had been updated.

All settings were retained and the whole thing took ~5 minutes.

A very nice upgrade procedure.
tai4de2 is offline  
post #16 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post

Nice! Let us know how thos 8-tracks work out for ya!

Yup, you guys laugh all you want, but it's really the only way to listen to the Bay City Rollers.

Jack Gilvey
SVS Customer Service

Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #17 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
lol, SVS CS, huh? Boy I sure do enjoy your products! Been through a 20-39PCi, PC-Ultra (TV-12), and now the PB13-U!

Anyway, back on topic, it seems that there is a lack of LFE with LPCM through HDMI. I tried Chicken Little on my Pioneer 51FD and then hooked up the BD35 and there is a noticeable difference. Probably -5dB on the LFE.

Hopefully they fix this soon.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #18 of 385 Old 10-30-2008, 10:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Updated with a burned CD, no problems (as usual).

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #19 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 02:47 AM
Member
 
mathieuhatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: France
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question : by applying the US firmware file to a region B / zone 2 player (bought in Europe), would that make the player switch to region A / zone 1 ?
It works with the sharp unit (BD HP20) (not reversible though). Does it work the same with panasonic players ?
mathieuhatt is offline  
post #20 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 07:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Maybe this firmware will fix my BDlive problems.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #21 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 07:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 87
That was quick.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #22 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
TekWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central N.Y.
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathieuhatt View Post

I have a question : by applying the US firmware file to a region B / zone 2 player (bought in Europe), would that make the player switch to region A / zone 1 ?
It works with the sharp unit (BD HP20) (not reversible though). Does it work the same with panasonic players ?

No, you will get a "UNSUPPORT" error and the player will not update.

TekWorm
TekWorm is offline  
post #23 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
TekWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central N.Y.
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm... Updated (successfully) by burned disc, last night.

No perceivable difference at all.... However, my Samsung Display now occassionally flashes the dreaded 'hot-pink', (reminicent of Sammy 65 Series board issues) during LOAD transitions.
S'pose it could be coincidental... but in almost a year, it's not done it before.

TekWorm
TekWorm is offline  
post #24 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
caa100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekWorm View Post

Hmmm... Updated (successfully) by burned disc, last night.

No perceivable difference at all.... However, my Samsung Display now occassionally flashes the dreaded 'hot-pink', (reminicent of Sammy 65 Series board issues) during LOAD transitions.
S'pose it could be coincidental... but in almost a year, it's not done it before.

Ack. Thats a bit worrisome. What is the Samsung model?

-Chris
caa100 is offline  
post #25 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rudy81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone figured out a way to make a copy of the original or installed firmware version prior to running this new or other upcoming firmware updates. Nothing worse than running an update only to find out your system worked better with the old firmware.

Rudy81
Rudy81 is offline  
post #26 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 04:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy81 View Post

Has anyone figured out a way to make a copy of the original or installed firmware version prior to running this new or other upcoming firmware updates. Nothing worse than running an update only to find out your system worked better with the old firmware.

It wouldn't help if someone figured out a way to make a copy.

Noted on the DMP-BD55 Firmware V1.5 Download page:
Quote:


[Note]:
If the firmware version currently installed in the Panasonic BD player is the same or more recent than the firmware version on the update disc, "UNSUP/PORT" will be displayed for approximately 5 seconds on the front display of the Panasonic BD player. In this case, an update is unnecessary -please remove the disc.

The Display on the Panasonic BD Player will read:

UNSUP / PORT

Paul
Paul H is offline  
post #27 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm sure panasonic would be willing to send you a copy of the original firmware if it became neccesary.

i'm betting that the firmware is thoroughly tested before being distributed to the masses though, so i doubt there would be a need to revert.
Brandito is offline  
post #28 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 06:29 PM
Member
 
chix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to upgrade my 55 and it fails each time after 40%.

The power resets and it suggests trying again.

Any recommendations???
chix is offline  
post #29 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
jpeter1093's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandito View Post

i'm sure panasonic would be willing to send you a copy of the original firmware if it became neccesary.

i'm betting that the firmware is thoroughly tested before being distributed to the masses though, so i doubt there would be a need to revert.

Unfortunately, Bandito, that won't work..read the post just prior to yours.
jpeter1093 is offline  
post #30 of 385 Old 10-31-2008, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rudy81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeter1093 View Post

Unfortunately, Bandito, that won't work..read the post just prior to yours.

Good point. Having worked with pc's for a long time I developed the habit of keeping the older firmware just in case the latest and greatest wasn't so great. I think I will take the conservative road and not update until well after others have installed the update or I am having some problem that would seemingly only be fixed with an update.

Rudy81
Rudy81 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Yamaha Rx V663 Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off