The SONY BDP-S5000ES Owner's Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 04:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 184
....did the delivery guy nail the cat with the box?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
kingfats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Windsor England
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Size comparison to the S350.



kingfats is offline  
post #543 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 06:53 AM
 
hdblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingfats View Post

Size comparison to the S350.




WOW big differents in size it looks like a laser disc player.
hdblu is offline  
post #544 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ca1ore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May have missed it earlier in the thread, but does this unit offer native video via 'source direct'? Thx!

Certainty and conviction are a sure sign you don't know what you're talking about! The world is not black and white, rather shades of grey!
ca1ore is offline  
post #545 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
kingfats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Windsor England
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1ore View Post

May have missed it earlier in the thread, but does this unit offer native video via 'source direct'? Thx!

You can select 480i in the menu but no source direct option as such.
Cheers.
kingfats is offline  
post #546 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 09:02 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingfats View Post

You can select 480i in the menu but no source direct option as such.
Cheers.

Forgive my ignorance but is there a difference between the two?
boe is offline  
post #547 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post

Forgive my ignorance but is there a difference between the two?

Yes...with source direct it means that it outputs whatever the disc is.

So if you play a DVD it will output 480...if you play a blu-ray it will output 1080

If there is no source direct you have to remember to go into the menus each time to change it.

But the upscaling is very good with DVD on the S5000, so it is more than likely better than what is present in the display device...and therefore most of the time just leaving it on 1080 should be fine.
JonStatt is online now  
post #548 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
kingfats- What are the turnon times and load times for movies compared to the PS3 and other players as I saw you had a list over on AVForums just for the 5000ES but that you owned other players. Thanks.
Spizz is online now  
post #549 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
kingfats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Windsor England
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post

kingfats- What are the turnon times and load times for movies compared to the PS3 and other players as I saw you had a list over on AVForums just for the 5000ES but that you owned other players. Thanks.

Hi.
Load times for the 5000 are the same as the 350/550 so it's not bad,but of course not up to the PS3 speed.
Menu navigation on the 5000 is quicker than the 350 though.
Cheers.
kingfats is offline  
post #550 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingfats View Post

Hi.
Load times for the 5000 are the same as the 350/550 so it's not bad,but of course not up to the PS3 speed.
Menu navigation on the 5000 is quicker than the 350 though.
Cheers.

Can you post the times of the 5000 vs PS3 if possible.
Spizz is online now  
post #551 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 2,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
finding the player one slick piece of equpment guys. in colour rendition and naturalness it reminds me of the denon 2900 I had. Movies put through it so far I am legend, 5th element, the village all look very lush and with great detail.

it has also played some home made movies on dvd no probs too. which am happy about.

one thing has got me wondering though. I found with playing 4:3 material you have to take it off the default setting of "original" in aspect ratio and put it into "fixed aspect ratio" mode. otherwise 4:3 material gets stretched playing in the default 'original' mode.

Quote:


Video Settings: The Sony BDP-S550 features the following video settings.

TV Type: You can select a 16:9 or 4:3 aspect ratio for the unit's video output to match your connected Television's screen aspect ratio.
Screen Format: You can select the display configuration for a 4:3 screen picture on a 16:9 wide screen television. You can select from the following.
Original: select this when connect to a TV with a wide mode function; displays a 4:3 screen picture in 16:9 aspect ratio even on a wide-screen TV
Fixed Aspect Ratio: changes the picture size to fit the screen size with the original picture aspect ratio
DVD Aspect Ratio: You can select the display configuration for playback of 16:9 screen pictures on a 4:3 screen TV. You can select from Letter Box or Pan & Scan.

wondering though when returning to playing other dvd material be it 16:9 or or other ratios whether need to return it to "original" or doesnt the mode setting matter ? ie can I jsut leave it in "fixed aspect ratio" ? mode.

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #552 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 2,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
ok can confirm that "fixed aspect ratio" is what you want to leave it on. it treats 4:3 and other material to display in th correct aspect ratio.

some more pics :

the sony inplace



tried to "mate" it with the pio



updated system Front Stage


LL
LL
LL

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #553 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanaticalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
All that is missing now is a Pioneer Pro141/151.
Fanaticalism is offline  
post #554 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Nice setup Al.
Spizz is online now  
post #555 of 2418 Old 12-05-2008, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 2,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanaticalism View Post

All that is missing now is a Pioneer Pro141/151.

thats naughty ! making evil suggestions like that !

but indeed that would be very nice, maybe one day perhaps ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post

Nice setup Al.

thanks spero

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #556 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 01:22 AM
 
hdblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post

thats naughty ! making evil suggestions like that !

but indeed that would be very nice, maybe one day perhaps ?




thanks spero


Hey Your new player looks great, Is your denon pre/Amp I new model.

Also how many blu ray do you have now.
hdblu is offline  
post #557 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 04:33 AM
Senior Member
 
kingfats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Windsor England
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post

Can you post the times of the 5000 vs PS3 if possible.

The 5000 is the same as the 350 for times so have a look here.
kingfats is offline  
post #558 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingfats View Post

The 5000 is the same as the 350 for times so have a look here.

I know the 5000 and 350 seem the same...but when those Polish guys were testing the 5000, didn't they say it was supposed to be faster?
JonStatt is online now  
post #559 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 05:16 AM
Senior Member
 
kingfats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Windsor England
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post

I know the 5000 and 350 seem the same...but when those Polish guys were testing the 5000, didn't they say it was supposed to be faster?

Hi Jon.
I can't remember now mate but i'll take your word for it.
For speed it seems plenty fast enough anyway.
kingfats is offline  
post #560 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
desmond212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
watched blade runner on this baby last night. awesome!

anyone play with various filter settings? sbm is on by default but the rest is off.
desmond212 is offline  
post #561 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Pfdjr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While the 5000 looks and sounds like a beautiful piece of machinery, would be the advantages/disadvantages of going with the 550 for $1000 less and maybe a DVDO iScan VP50 Pro processor??
Pfdjr1 is offline  
post #562 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 97
I would save even more and get the Edge. That is what I use with my players... With the new firmware update it is every bit as good as the 50pro or even better!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #563 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Pfdjr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a real novice here,just wondering if you would be losing anything or gaining anything by going with such a setup?
Pfdjr1 is offline  
post #564 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 09:43 AM
Member
 
s.a.b.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone compared how 2 channel redbook CD sounds via the 5000es vs. the "old" dvp 9000es?
s.a.b. is offline  
post #565 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
shiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: somewhere
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know what the crossover frequency is ? also, why does joerod's player have the es logo in the lower right corner, while others don't have it??
shiznit is offline  
post #566 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingfats View Post

The 5000 is the same as the 350 for times so have a look here.

Thanks for that link (wish they posted what titles they used) . They should add in the 5000ES as the times you listed for powerup from AVForums was 8 seconds (with the quick turn on feature) I think which is very nice
Spizz is online now  
post #567 of 2418 Old 12-06-2008, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Pfdjr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiznit View Post

does anyone know what the crossover frequency is ? also, why does joerod's player have the es logo in the lower right corner, while others don't have it??

Joerod should have the ES after his name...........JoerodES!!
Pfdjr1 is offline  
post #568 of 2418 Old 12-07-2008, 05:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
gostan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pfdjr1 View Post

Joerod should have the ES after his name...........JoerodES!!

Not until after the Judge legally removes the Elite from his current calling: "JoerodElite"

Stan
gostan is offline  
post #569 of 2418 Old 12-09-2008, 11:18 AM
Member
 
amp_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new here and recently got a bdp-s5000es. It is my first BR player so I don't have anything to compare it to. I will say that the construction is top notch. I am sure I will have questions or comments about the player in the future. I just wanted to say hi.
amp_fan is offline  
post #570 of 2418 Old 12-09-2008, 11:58 AM
Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up my 5000es yeterday here in Aus, spent a LATE night last night doing a few comparisons..

Blu-ray looks fantastic, but my biggest suprise is the STD DVD upscaling...comparing it to a my Marantz DV9600 and a Denon 3930 the Sony is superb!!!

The Picture enhancing features/filter really do work without intrducing degrading artifacts back into the picture .

Will do some more testing this comming weekend, but so far i am extremley impressed.
woofer is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S500 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Denon Dvd 3800bdci Blu Ray Disc Dvd Cd Player , Denon , Sony
Gear in this thread - S500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off