sony bdp-s550 important information - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-20-2008, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mclement21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys,

i now have the sony bdp-s550 and i'm really happy of it...
but my biggest problem right now is i have star wars with TRUE-HD and it looks like my sony is not sending the right information to my receiver.

i have choosed TRUE-HD from the movie..
i use only HDMI from my blue-ray player to my receiver (HK 354)

it seems like my receiver is only decoding PCM from my blue-ray player...
on the front panel of my receiver i see multi channel PCM.....am i not suppose to see something different liek true-hd or something ??

my receiver is configured to choos ethe best audio decoding....

i'm really desperate because i have read a ton of posts and i didn't find what is wrong....

i don't find a wauy to choose BITSTREAM on my sony blue-ray player either...i assume this is what i need to do ??...

please guys any help would be appreciate...

thanks in advance...
mclement21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-20-2008, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclement21 View Post

hi guys,

i now have the sony bdp-s550 and i'm really happy of it...
but my biggest problem right now is i have star wars with TRUE-HD and it looks like my sony is not sending the right information to my receiver.

i have choosed TRUE-HD from the movie..
i use only HDMI from my blue-ray player to my receiver (HK 354)

it seems like my receiver is only decoding PCM from my blue-ray player...
on the front panel of my receiver i see multi channel PCM.....am i not suppose to see something different liek true-hd or something ??

my receiver is configured to choos ethe best audio decoding....

i'm really desperate because i have read a ton of posts and i didn't find what is wrong....

i don't find a wauy to choose BITSTREAM on my sony blue-ray player either...i assume this is what i need to do ??...

please guys any help would be appreciate...

thanks in advance...

First, this post belongs in the owners thread and will be moved there by a moderator shortly.

As the manual explains, when BD Audio is set to Direct, the S550 negotiates a connection with the receiver. If the AVR supports lossless decoding, the player will bitstream. If the AVR can't do the decoding, the player will decode itself and send PCM to the receiver. There's no setting for bitstream or PCM on this player. Does the HK 354 have HDMI 1.3 and HD dcecoders? If so, is there a setting to enable HD decoding?
BIslander is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-20-2008, 07:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Please post in the master thread for this player.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1073637

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off