Sharp BD-HP21U owners thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 224 Old 02-06-2009, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
poledouris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any confirmation that this update works with the new Fox BD+ protection?
poledouris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 224 Old 02-06-2009, 05:10 PM
Member
 
GAJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The firmware update went off without any problems at all. As was previously mentioned Narnia now plays. The timing couldn't be better because it just arrived today from Netflix. I was pleasantly surprised to see the audio on Narnia is DTS Master HD 7.1 . This is the first movie where I have had all the speakers playing uncompressed audio. Sounds great.
GAJim is offline  
post #93 of 224 Old 02-08-2009, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
manicmoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had this machine for almost 2 months. Went to play Xfiles today, of course ran into troubles... got the newest firmware, the disk would then play but the audio was all static - using just HDMI cable. Swapped the cables over to use RCA for the audio and that seems to fix my sound problems.

I have Prince Caspian, didnt have troubles with that.

Wall-E I had to start in Spanish then flip it to English but it played no problems.

Over all, not a bad unit, just always have to ensure your disks will play.

The only glitch I have run into that bugs my wife is on Dirty Dancing, 2nd last scene (the whole "nobody puts Baby in a corner" scene), that one freezes and thats it, cant get past.
manicmoose is offline  
post #94 of 224 Old 02-08-2009, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Plasmacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Would like to hear more reports on X-files with the new software before I request a 3rd copy from Netflix.
Thanks.

Never signs up for anything
Plasmacat is offline  
post #95 of 224 Old 02-08-2009, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
dzzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated the firmware now I can not play my calibration disc. does anyone have the previous firmware?
dzzilla is offline  
post #96 of 224 Old 02-10-2009, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
dzzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
one other question I have about this player. I have hdmi cable to my aquos 46d85u tv then I use the tos link to my 5.1 system. I can not get DD or DTS to work this way. I have to take the tos link from the BD player straight to my speaker system for it to work. am I doing something wrong?
dzzilla is offline  
post #97 of 224 Old 02-13-2009, 06:55 AM
Newbie
 
poledouris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did confirm that Babylon AD (new fox BD+ protection) worked on this player after the update...at least, it read the disc and started the movie, I did not have time to watch the whole movie.

Unfortunately, it was extremely slow to do anything, but at least it started playing.

Luckily, I picked up a PS3 last night at circuit city (25% off) so I don't have to worry about this issue in the future. Btw, Babylon AD was 100 times faster on the PS3 than this player.
poledouris is offline  
post #98 of 224 Old 02-13-2009, 10:31 AM
Member
 
GAJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by poledouris View Post

I did confirm that Babylon AD (new fox BD+ protection) worked on this player after the update...at least, it read the disc and started the movie, I did not have time to watch the whole movie.

Unfortunately, it was extremely slow to do anything, but at least it started playing.

Luckily, I picked up a PS3 last night at circuit city (25% off) so I don't have to worry about this issue in the future. Btw, Babylon AD was 100 times faster on the PS3 than this player.

Hmmm, a 100 times faster. So if the PS3 took 1 minute to load then the HP21 took ...
GAJim is offline  
post #99 of 224 Old 02-13-2009, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
poledouris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The PS3 took at most 30 seconds to load...

The HP21 took at least 5 minutes before I saw anything, then another 5 minutes or so after I got to the menu to actually start playing the movie (that's not counting all of the other pauses between the two steps).

Maybe the 100 times faster was an exaggeration...but when I could go to another room, start up my PC, and check my email before the HP21 got off of "Reading disc" and to an actual screen from the Blu-ray disc, it's too slow.

My point is, the disc worked, but obviously, there is still room for improvement.
poledouris is offline  
post #100 of 224 Old 02-13-2009, 07:13 PM
Member
 
rafay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this player and watched Babylon AD on it last night...the picture quality and sound was stunning!
Unlike others who are saying it took a long time to load the disc, for me it only took 50 sec to do the initial read...and another 10 sec when I selected "Play" from the main menu...not bad at all.
rafay is offline  
post #101 of 224 Old 03-01-2009, 10:17 PM
Newbie
 
iSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the player to match the Sharp Aquos LC-46D85U I just got. Thinking that there should not be too many problems between the two. It is connected via HDMI. It is nice to have the TV remote or the player remote to just work with both units.

I have had problems with 2 discs: The Patriot (chapter 7) and Felon (Chapters 4 & 5) -both with severe macro blocking and freezing . Both discs were rentals from blockbuster. Both discs played fine in my Samsung BDP-1500. I have the latest FW from Feb 4th. Dark Knight and Journey to the Center of the Earth both played fine. A couple of SD DVD's I rented also played fine and the up conversion looks really good. I have contacted Sharp about both discs, but they just take a note and send it on up to the Blu-Ray movie dept... I assume to let them test it and generate a new FW. I just read about adding the memory stick... so I will do that to see if things improve.

Also, I am annoyed by the amount of time it takes to open the tray after power on, I would really like this to be about 3 seconds like on my Samsung, then I could put the movie in and go sit down or do something else while I waited for Blu-Ray to load the disc.
iSteve is offline  
post #102 of 224 Old 03-01-2009, 10:27 PM
Newbie
 
iSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzzilla View Post

one other question I have about this player. I have hdmi cable to my aquos 46d85u tv then I use the tos link to my 5.1 system. I can not get DD or DTS to work this way. I have to take the tos link from the BD player straight to my speaker system for it to work. am I doing something wrong?

I had the same problem with my Samsung BDP-1500 to my Samsung DLP... regular TV and HDTV/ATSC had no problems going out the TOS link, but not the HDMI inputs. After they sent out a tech to replace a board, he made some calls as said sorry they just don't forward the audio digital data from the HDMI to the TOS link. I suspect the Sharp is doing the same. I just have to live with the TOS link from the blu-ray player to the receiver.
iSteve is offline  
post #103 of 224 Old 03-03-2009, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
woodenwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have installed Firmware Version PN9012700 on my Sharp
BD-HP21U Blu ray player and can confirm IT DOES NOT fix issues for the recent release "Australia". The disc simply did not play.

What a lemon!!!!
woodenwheels is offline  
post #104 of 224 Old 03-04-2009, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I must be doing something wrong. The first jump drive (Lexar), the Sharp would not format it - I got a fail notice each time. The second jump drive (HP) formatted OK but, after I extract the firmware to it, the player tells me "No firmware file found on the USB device". I've updated the firmware on other AV pieces before, don't know where I'm going wrong. TIA...

John

"What happens in Vegas..."
John Robert is offline  
post #105 of 224 Old 03-05-2009, 11:38 AM
Member
 
rafay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did not run into this problem, however if your player has the latest firmware installed then I believe it would give you a similar message that no firmware file was found.

Another thing you may want to check is that the file is extracted on the root and not in some sub-folder.

btw the drive I use is not even formatted by the player...I am using the same one that I formatted through PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Robert View Post

Well, I must be doing something wrong. The first jump drive (Lexar), the Sharp would not format it - I got a fail notice each time. The second jump drive (HP) formatted OK but, after I extract the firmware to it, the player tells me "No firmware file found on the USB device". I've updated the firmware on other AV pieces before, don't know where I'm going wrong. TIA...

John

rafay is offline  
post #106 of 224 Old 03-06-2009, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
mjones2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just noticed new firmware has been released or the BD-HP21U.

http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Typ...86,229,00.html
mjones2 is offline  
post #107 of 224 Old 03-06-2009, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MattGuyOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Majorly dumb question. I have the 20U, but I can only updated it with the 20U updates, right? The 21U updates will mess it up?
MattGuyOR is offline  
post #108 of 224 Old 03-06-2009, 08:11 PM
Member
 
aaronod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW, if you go in the settings menu and turn on the Quick Start option the player is much faster at loading. I thought the player was super slow too until I read the manual, now discs load reasonably fast. If it loads slowly with Quick Start turned on then I would plug in a high quality USB drive to make it load faster. If you still think it is too slow then I'm not sure what to say. Get a new player?
aaronod is offline  
post #109 of 224 Old 03-07-2009, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
HoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well...I finally had my first bad experience with a disc. It took Casino way long to load. I stopped keeping track after 10 minutes. It seems to be working fine now though. After I'm done watching it, I'll have to load the brand new update and check out the quick play option. Thank you all for the tons of advice in here.
HoCo is offline  
post #110 of 224 Old 03-08-2009, 05:43 AM
Member
 
rafay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried "Australia" last night with the latest firmware PN9020400 (released on 3/5/09) hoping that it would work...but it didnt

The player completed reading the disc fairly quickly and after that nothing happened. It stayed at blank screen forever...


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodenwheels View Post

I have installed Firmware Version PN9012700 on my Sharp
BD-HP21U Blu ray player and can confirm IT DOES NOT fix issues for the recent release "Australia". The disc simply did not play.

What a lemon!!!!

rafay is offline  
post #111 of 224 Old 03-08-2009, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
realdeal1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone known of on option on Sharp's website that will alert me by email when a new version of firmware has been released? I've looked on their site but can't locate anything.

TIA
realdeal1115 is offline  
post #112 of 224 Old 03-09-2009, 09:46 AM
Member
 
GAJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rafay View Post

I tried "Australia" last night with the latest firmware PN9020400 (released on 3/5/09) hoping that it would work...but it didnt

The player completed reading the disc fairly quickly and after that nothing happened. It stayed at blank screen forever...

I had the same problem with Australia. Completed reading and then nothing.
GAJim is offline  
post #113 of 224 Old 03-11-2009, 04:30 PM
Newbie
 
Staupostek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,
I got this blu-ray player about two weeks ago and among my first purchases was the television series Firefly. I watched the first two of three discs with no problems. The third disc loads, the player says it's reading the disc, and when it is ready to play it the screen goes blank and nothing happens. I updated the firmware but the problem persists. Has anyone else encountered this on this player with this series? Thanks.
Staupostek is offline  
post #114 of 224 Old 03-12-2009, 04:44 AM
Member
 
rafay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Staupostek View Post

Hey everyone,
I got this blu-ray player about two weeks ago and among my first purchases was the television series Firefly. I watched the first two of three discs with no problems. The third disc loads, the player says it's reading the disc, and when it is ready to play it the screen goes blank and nothing happens. I updated the firmware but the problem persists. Has anyone else encountered this on this player with this series? Thanks.

It seems like a similar problem that I had playing Australia. I contacted the Sharp customer service and they got back with the following message...but I already have returned the rental so couldnt really test this out...maybe it will work for you:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp Customer Service View Post

Dear Mr. XXXXXX,

I apologize for the trouble that you are having with your Sharp product. Try to reset the player by holding down the power button until the little screen on the player says reset. Then release the power button and the player will shut down automatically. Wait for about 1 minute after this happens, then turn the player back on. Wait for it to reboot itself and after that wait for about 30 seconds to 1 minute. Then try your disc again. If you have any further questions or concerns please let me know or contact us at 1-800-2... .



I would like to know what you thought about your satisfaction with your email experience. Please click the survey link XXXXX to complete our online customer satisfaction survey.

Hollie Altpeter
Customer Assistance Center

rafay is offline  
post #115 of 224 Old 03-13-2009, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
mjones2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Firmware for BD-HP21U dated 3/13/09.

http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Typ...6,229,00.html#
mjones2 is offline  
post #116 of 224 Old 03-13-2009, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Trader05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjones2 View Post

New Firmware for BD-HP21U dated 3/13/09.

http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Typ...6,229,00.html#

Im not really a big fan of this player, but i have to give sharp credit they do a lot of firmware updates.
Trader05 is offline  
post #117 of 224 Old 03-14-2009, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
Staupostek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the advice, rafay. I tried the reset you mentioned, and I tried the firmware update that came out yesterday. But the third disc of Firefly still won't play. Does Sharp have a page on their website where one can report discs that don't work so they can write firmware updates to fix it? Thanks.
Staupostek is offline  
post #118 of 224 Old 03-25-2009, 02:41 PM
Member
 
BluPhant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southern CT by the Seashore
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm that this has AVCHD support? I'm about ready to order one of these to go along with my new LC-52D65U set, but haven't found anything definitive about it.
BluPhant is offline  
post #119 of 224 Old 03-25-2009, 02:51 PM
Member
 
BluPhant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southern CT by the Seashore
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BluPhant View Post

Can anyone confirm that this has AVCHD support? I'm about ready to order one of these to go along with my new LC-52D65U set, but haven't found anything definitive about it.

Just got off the phone with Sharp support. It doesnt support AVCHD. Rep is checking into the new model (BD-HP22U) to see if it does, but I think I'm going to go with the Sony BDP-S300......
BluPhant is offline  
post #120 of 224 Old 03-25-2009, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Quad Cities
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Anyone having issues with Paramount releases?
I have treid Days of Thunder and Hunt for Red October, and I also
have the disc being read, then the counter will say 13 minutes, I have
let it sit there for 30 minnutes, and nothing happens, except when I eject
the disc of course. Is there a list of titles that the HP21U will not play?
Thanks

Marantz SR7008
Emotiva XPA5
PS3
PSA XV15se
Sony BDP-370
Toshiba HD-A2
Polk Monitor 70's,Polk CS20,Polk R50's,Polk F/XiA4's,Polk OWM3's
Polk PSW 505's
Sharp 60 LED 640U
Optoma HD25-LV
Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console
lizrussspike is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off