BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 6916 Old 06-03-2009, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamharsma View Post

I have a bd 390 linked up wireless to my pc everything is connected but I can't get the music I bought from itunes to work. Only music that was imported from cd's works. What do i need to do?

Burn your itunes purchased songs to a CD and then rip them in MP3 format... that or search for some program that might be able to convert and strip them off DRM directly on your computer.
bobbyslav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 6916 Old 06-03-2009, 10:22 PM
Newbie
 
chokitin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own the LG BD 390, but have had the following problem.
Most of my mkv files are over 4 GB. The LG wont read them when I try to stream them, and the FAT32 system for a pen drive wont let me use big files.
How do you guys watch these kind of files?
Help appreciated.

Thanks
chokitin is offline  
post #393 of 6916 Old 06-03-2009, 11:48 PM
Senior Member
 
mugupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chokitin View Post

I own the LG BD 390, but have had the following problem.
Most of my mkv files are over 4 GB. The LG wont read them when I try to stream them, and the FAT32 system for a pen drive wont let me use big files.
How do you guys watch these kind of files?
Help appreciated.

Thanks

Download the program called MKV2vob, it convert the mkv to mpeg and h264 file under 4gb possible, very fast convert (mpeg one)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(My HD set up)
mugupo is offline  
post #394 of 6916 Old 06-03-2009, 11:49 PM
Senior Member
 
mugupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So BD 370 can also read mkv, mpeg file same as bd 390? anyone know the source that said bd 370 ha 10 bit and 390 has 12 bit color processor. What color bit is samsung 1600/3600 or panasonic bd 60/80?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(My HD set up)
mugupo is offline  
post #395 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 12:43 AM
Newbie
 
stangvert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugupo View Post

Download the program called MKV2vob, it convert the mkv to mpeg and h264 file under 4gb possible, very fast convert (mpeg one)

I burn my MKV to a dvd and play them back on the player. I also reformatted my 32 gig usb flash memory to NTFS and I can put very large MKV files onto it. Playback on the USB flash is great.
stangvert is offline  
post #396 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 12:47 AM
Newbie
 
stangvert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't tried DVD -RW. I don't have any discs.
stangvert is offline  
post #397 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mugupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can the LG 370 or 390 display bitrate information like ps3?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(My HD set up)
mugupo is offline  
post #398 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 04:37 AM
Newbie
 
ikdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangvert View Post

I burn my MKV to a dvd and play them back on the player. I also reformatted my 32 gig usb flash memory to NTFS and I can put very large MKV files onto it. Playback on the USB flash is great.

stangvert, do u have the bd370 or the bd390? Thanks,
ikdo is offline  
post #399 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr stroke View Post

just read that Cnet review and find it odd as well. Everyone in this thread has stated the only difference in the players was WiFi, audio, and internal memory, and that the video processor was the same between both players?

I'm starting to wonder about that particular reviewer. I just looked it up and realized that he is the same guy who reviewed the Philips 7200 when it came out. He said that it had poor BD video quality. ( he said that it introduced jaggies during 1080i60 playback) However, all of the other reviewers claimed it had excellent video quality. Not only that several owners of the player on this forum and Blu-ray.com did the same tests and could not reproduce jaggies. I have to say that his information doesn't make any sense in relation to the LG370 and LG390. To say there is big differences in video playback is counterintuitive. I think he may be flat wrong. I wish I could do some side by side tests. I don't suppose anyone on here owns both machines do they?
Scoob is offline  
post #400 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 11:09 AM
Member
 
kmccleave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4davis View Post

A number of posts state that the BD370 is incompatible with certain D-Link routers. It appears that this incompatibility is with the D-Link relaying DNS.

Try the following:

Choose the static IP option on the BD370 and reserve an IP on router.

On the BD370, make the following entries:

IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (use your reserved IP)
Subnet: 255.255.255.0 (usually, match with your topology)
Gateway: 192.168.0.1 (default for D-link, use your router IP)
DNS: 4.2.2.1 (use Level 3 DNS instead of router)

Thats it. It should work like a champ. At least mine did.

Good luck.


I bought the 370 yesterday and am having difficulty connecting it to my wireless router. I've a D-Link and it will read the Subnet. But how do I enter in the Gateway and DNS numbers? I read another post that mentioned an on-screen keyboard.

How do I reserve an IP on my router?

I'm not really technical so I don't have a good idea of what I'm doing. Any help would be appreciated.
kmccleave is offline  
post #401 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post

I'm starting to wonder about that particular reviewer. I just looked it up and realized that he is the same guy who reviewed the Philips 7200 when it came out. He said that it had poor BD video quality. ( he said that it introduced jaggies during 1080i60 playback) However, all of the other reviewers claimed it had excellent video quality. Not only that several owners of the player on this forum and Blu-ray.com did the same tests and could not reproduce jaggies. I have to say that his information doesn't make any sense in relation to the LG370 and LG390. To say there is big differences in video playback is counterintuitive. I think he may be flat wrong. I wish I could do some side by side tests. I don't suppose anyone on here owns both machines do they?

I feel like I'm going to have to march down to Fry's or BB or something and insisit they hook up a 370 and I'll throw in a test disc!
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #402 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
Chefbeldar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can format your USB flash/hd to NTFS, BD390 will read it and you can copy >4GB files to the flash/HD.

Bryan
Chefbeldar is offline  
post #403 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
mugupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpHeRe31459 View Post

I feel like I'm going to have to march down to Fry's or BB or something and insisit they hook up a 370 and I'll throw in a test disc!

it will a slight different 12 bit is higher than 10 bits, so for $100 more than is wortht the moeny especially if you need the wifior the 7.1 analog audio.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(My HD set up)
mugupo is offline  
post #404 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
tightrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmccleave View Post

I bought the 370 yesterday and am having difficulty connecting it to my wireless router. I've a D-Link and it will read the Subnet. But how do I enter in the Gateway and DNS numbers? I read another post that mentioned an on-screen keyboard.

How do I reserve an IP on my router?

I'm not really technical so I don't have a good idea of what I'm doing. Any help would be appreciated.

I received my 390 today and the connection to my wireless network was a breeze, even though I am not really technical neither. Let your LG player detect your network, select it in the list that comes up, then enter your password. As far as the network settings, I left the default options ("Dynamic" and "Auto"), and it took care of the rest. Let us know how that works.
tightrope is offline  
post #405 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 10:34 PM
Member
 
yamahafj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This review states that the BD 390 can not take mkv-files. That is incirrect, right?!

http://gizmodo.com/5255151/lg-bd390-...rget-about-blu
yamahafj is offline  
post #406 of 6916 Old 06-04-2009, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
ikdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chefbeldar View Post

You can format your USB flash/hd to NTFS, BD390 will read it and you can copy >4GB files to the flash/HD.

Bryan

Hi, any1 knows if this is also true for bd370? I cant get my bd370 to play .mkv files on a NTFS formatted flash/HD. :-(
ikdo is offline  
post #407 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 01:27 AM
Newbie
 
stangvert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikdo View Post

stangvert, do u have the bd370 or the bd390? Thanks,

I have the bd390
stangvert is offline  
post #408 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 01:33 AM
Newbie
 
stangvert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamahafj View Post

This review states that the BD 390 can not take mkv-files. That is incirrect, right?!

http://gizmodo.com/5255151/lg-bd390-...rget-about-blu

The bd390 can't stream MKV, but it can play them back on a dvdr or a usb flash drive.
stangvert is offline  
post #409 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 03:25 AM
Member
 
yamahafj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangvert View Post

The bd390 can't stream MKV, but it can play them back on a dvdr or a usb flash drive.

Suunds good. And you can get DTS and HD-DTS out of these MKV-files also?

Have you tested different codecs - sometimes not all of them work.
yamahafj is offline  
post #410 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 03:51 AM
Newbie
 
Tasador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can This Player play DVD in PAL format ??
Did someone tested ?
Tasador is offline  
post #411 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasador View Post

Can This Player play DVD in PAL format ??
Did someone tested ?


I tried the BD370 and it does play PAL.
bobbyslav is offline  
post #412 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
brookskent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this is redundant, I did a search and panned the thread. Impressive forums by the way.

I am having some difficulty hooking up the wireless piece for the BD390. (newly purchased). I set it to "Dynamic" and "Auto" and it tells gives the the error that my Dynamic IP is not avail.

I used WEP2 for security, I am not sure if its related to the "keys." (not sure what that means. I am sure I have the PW right.

I have checked my Linksys WRT54G Router and verified that DHCP is active. What am I missing?
brookskent is offline  
post #413 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikdo View Post

Hi, any1 knows if this is also true for bd370? I cant get my bd370 to play .mkv files on a NTFS formatted flash/HD. :-(

The American 370 can not play any movie files via USB. Period.
The European 370 can.

Many people here claiming 370 plays movie files is because they own a European model.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #414 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
mugupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can the u.s. 390 play most of the media file on the usb drive? does it bitstream audio from receiver?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(My HD set up)
mugupo is offline  
post #415 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 10:34 AM
Member
 
kmccleave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tightrope View Post

I received my 390 today and the connection to my wireless network was a breeze, even though I am not really technical neither. Let your LG player detect your network, select it in the list that comes up, then enter your password. As far as the network settings, I left the default options ("Dynamic" and "Auto"), and it took care of the rest. Let us know how that works.

I'm just an idoit.

I ended up going to Wal-mart yesterday to buy an ethernet cable to hookup on my own that works great. So I go home today for lunch today and notice that the bottom of the remote slides open and that is where the keyboard is to enter in the numbers for the IP and DNS. I had no idea that was there. So I'll try that after work and return the ethernet cable.

But now I'm thinking about getting rid of the the 370 and going 390.
kmccleave is offline  
post #416 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
brookskent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brookskent View Post

If this is redundant, I did a search and panned the thread. Impressive forums by the way.

I am having some difficulty hooking up the wireless piece for the BD390. (newly purchased). I set it to "Dynamic" and "Auto" and it tells gives the the error that my Dynamic IP is not avail.

I used WEP2 for security, I am not sure if its related to the "keys." (not sure what that means. I am sure I have the PW right.

I have checked my Linksys WRT54G Router and verified that DHCP is active. What am I missing?

Network passwords are case sensitive, right? /feels like an idiot
brookskent is offline  
post #417 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugupo View Post

it will a slight different 12 bit is higher than 10 bits, so for $100 more than is wortht the moeny especially if you need the wifior the 7.1 analog audio.

That has nothing to do the digital processing (scaling/deinterlacing), that's an analog output specification.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #418 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 05:20 PM
Member
 
xgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmccleave View Post

I'm just an idoit.

I ended up going to Wal-mart yesterday to buy an ethernet cable to hookup on my own that works great. So I go home today for lunch today and notice that the bottom of the remote slides open and that is where the keyboard is to enter in the numbers for the IP and DNS. I had no idea that was there. So I'll try that after work and return the ethernet cable.

But now I'm thinking about getting rid of the the 370 and going 390.

Dang, so that's where the zoom is! I really should of looked at the manual.
xgin is offline  
post #419 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
tightrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

The American 370 can not play any movie files via USB. Period.
The European 370 can.

Many people here claiming 370 plays movie files is because they own a European model.

Apparently, this can be achieved on the 390, as stated in the manual (p. 41). Has anyone tried?
tightrope is offline  
post #420 of 6916 Old 06-05-2009, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
WormInfested's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I used the name your price on 6ave site and got a counteroffer for a great price on the LG 390 blu ray player. Would this be a better player than Oppo's or about the same? i know the price is less but how is the processor? can i fix the video settings like gamma or black level? I have a ps3 but i want a standalone which i know is better.

Pioneer Elite SC-05
JBL Studio S310 fronts, JBL Studio S26II's mid and S36's rear.
Epik Sentinel subwoofer
Slim PS3
Oppo BDP-103
BenQ W7500
WormInfested is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off