BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 17 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 6915 Old 06-12-2009, 08:19 AM
Member
 
spexman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my bd-5 contained a DTS-MA track and the 390 displayed that it did play it on the info dispaly(the sound was not hooked up at the store).
Will try to sample a mkv with DTS-MA soon...
spexman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 6915 Old 06-12-2009, 08:33 AM
 
juda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Are the 370 and 390 identical in respects of load times and SD PQ? I believe the 390 can force 24fps, can the 370? I am starting to see a lot of similarities b/w the 390/370 and the new JVC player...

Also curious on load times - here are oppo and jvc compared:

Dark Knight: to anti-piracy page
JVC: 17 seconds
Oppo: 16 seconds

Pirates of the Car: Black Pearl
JVC Medallion 16 seconds; Disney 27 seconds
Oppo Medallion 21 seconds; Disney 31 seconds

Casino Royale: to Sony screen
JVC 18 seconds

Oppo: 16 Seconds

To provide peripheral comparison, here are the load times of the Pioneer BDP-51FD:

Casino Royale:
to Sony intro screen: 42 seconds
Pirates I:
To Gold Medallion: 49 seconds
To Disney:1 min 13 seconds
Dark Knight
to Anti-Piracy Warning: 45 seconds[IMG]http://***************/9/P/i.jpg[/IMG][IMG]http://***************/9/R/i.jpg[/IMG][/quote]

I'm not sure about the answer to your question..I'd say they are very similar but I didnt realize the 51F took such a long time to load |:
juda is offline  
post #483 of 6915 Old 06-12-2009, 11:06 AM
Member
 
motospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jidelite View Post

motospark, any of your mkv files contain some sort of HD audio? It's great that we've established that the BD390 can play AVCHD and mkv from an external HDD but now I'm looking for someone to tell me it can play something other than std. AC3/DTS and what audio cnnections are used (HDMI or analog)...

Thanks,
jidelite

Though I haven't tried all of my mkv files, most of them if not all play either DTS or Stereo through my WD HD device, i haven't had time to test all of them through the LG, the ones that I have tried played the audio fine, though I will say one thing, you need to set display settings on LG to 16:9 Original not 16:9 wide to get correct aspect ratio. If you set it to 16:9 wide it will fill the entire screen.

Mark S
motospark is offline  
post #484 of 6915 Old 06-12-2009, 11:09 AM
Member
 
motospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talonj View Post

I also just received mine yesterday from Amazon, and it could not find an update. I have the same software version as you. I was thinking something is not quite right, and it may have been a refurb or return because it had the latest software. Perhaps they are being shipped from LG with the latest software????


Relax, i'm sure that LG had updated the player before it left the factory. Early on in this thread people said that they needed to update the firmware, they probably just got an early run.

Mark S
motospark is offline  
post #485 of 6915 Old 06-12-2009, 11:14 AM
Member
 
motospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tijs_Verwest View Post

Can anyone talk about the playback of video files? officialy it supoorts :

AVI, DiVX-HD, MKV, WMA, XVID, MP3, JPEG, and PNG

But i wanna know, does it support mp4 , mp4/avc , h264, x264??? is is true that the player has trouble playing videos with high bit rates? i dont know what to do i really want this player but i might end up getting the ps3+ western digital wdtv player, what do u guys think?

Some of the video files will only play if you use an attached external usb device like a pen drive or hard drive. In the manual it explains what types will play from either wireless or an attached device. I can say that it does play all my HD mkv files from USB hard drive. I have also play divx files through wirelessly no problem. If you go to LG site they have a link to the Owners manual, it is in the support area.

Mark S
motospark is offline  
post #486 of 6915 Old 06-12-2009, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by motospark View Post

Hi all, questions I just received my BD390 and I absolutly love it, but can someone tell me what the current software/version is, I tried to update it over the network but it cannot find a new update and tell me its up to date.

Current versions are:

Drive: H42301
Software: BD.8.08.333.B

Thanks

you are up to date.

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #487 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 07:27 AM
Member
 
mymythos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like people who own both the 370 and the 390 to confirm if everybody is experiencing this problem with the angle icon popping up during the film. I was about to buy the 390 but this problem really is a dealbreaker. I'd also like to know if the American 370 has had any new firmware that enables it to read MKV.
mymythos is offline  
post #488 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mymythos View Post

I'd like people who own both the 370 and the 390 to confirm if everybody is experiencing this problem with the angle icon popping up during the film. I was about to buy the 390 but this problem really is a dealbreaker. I'd also like to know if the American 370 has had any new firmware that enables it to read MKV.


I have not seen it yet. I have played no less than 8-9 movies.

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #489 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottChez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Follow up question, for those that have this player.

Does the problem ONLY happen if you push the button on the remote that brings up the icons, making the problem that you CANT make the icons go away once they are on screen?

The post above this one said they watch 8 movies and never had the problem, I am wondering maybe they never pushed the button on the remote during the moves to check.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mymythos View Post

I'd like people who own both the 370 and the 390 to confirm if everybody is experiencing this problem with the angle icon popping up during the film. I was about to buy the 390 but this problem really is a dealbreaker. I'd also like to know if the American 370 has had any new firmware that enables it to read MKV.

ScottChez is offline  
post #490 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 09:34 AM
Member
 
chuckfredgoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by motospark View Post

This is true, I found that out tonight, thats for your reply, I have been combing this thread for the correct answer, it will stream dvix files no problem. Any other filed I through at it from my external hard drive played like a charm, even the 12gig mkv files. Great player, but now what the hell do I do with my WD HD box. LOL. Thanks again.

Do you have the UK or USA or Canada model?
chuckfredgoose is offline  
post #491 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Michael Whan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would anyone be willing to share what settings they are using for picture controls? How much contrast, brightness, color levels, etc. etc. I'm struggling with this and would appreciate knowing what others have found to look best for them. My display is professionally calibrated because I'm no good at it but now I have a player with all of these variables that the PS3 didn't have.
Michael Whan is offline  
post #492 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Whan View Post

Would anyone be willing to share what settings they are using for picture controls?

When I switched the BD390 to Custom settings (leaving all of the values at their default setting) both Contrast and Brightness levels matched all of the other players I have used. I checked them via the HD test patterns found here.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post12373254

I did find the Dynamic Contrast setting interesting as increasing it appears to increase the ANSI contrast without adding any visible EE. Also skin tones didn't appear to get harsh as I have seen with other players that offer much the same feature. I have only viewed a few Blu-rays but I'm thinking it might prove valuable down the road. The increased pop adds a little perceived sharpness to my 110 inch image.

| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #493 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
john18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck_IV View Post

Yes, it seems to work fine on G. It handles N, as well as B/G. It's just that N is prefered because of it's faster speed. However, as I mentioned, even tho I am only connecting using G, I am still able to view HD content on Netflix, which is where I thought the issue would be. So as it stands now, it seems G can handle the HD throughput(at least on the one HD movie... Serenity, that I tested).

Hi Chuck and all the rest.

I have a 390 on order from Amazon and it will be here Wednesday. I have a question for you, or anyone else, if you have time.

I have a 12 Meg DSL wireless B/G modem/router. I also have hooked up a Powerline Adapter system which, according to the Netgear Configuration Utility, is giving me between 122 and 200 Mbps between the three points on that network. (My computer and two Directv DVR's where I do not have wired ethernet.) I do have one Powerline adapter that is unused and available.

The question is am I better off using the wireless G or using the additional Powerline unit to connect to the 390? I can make one more electrical plug available with minimal inconvenience.

It will probably be two weeks until I install the unit since I have an Onkyo TX-SR806 also being delivered, so the wiring will be done all at once and then configure everything after it is all installed and hooked-up.

Thanks.
john18 is offline  
post #494 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 02:45 PM
Member
 
ccantrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to play a MKV/VC-1 file?
TIA,
-chris
ccantrell is offline  
post #495 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 02:46 PM
Member
 
n_a_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found out today an update for my BD370-P, it went from V4.090.00.24 to V7.127.00.26, but I can't seem to see anything different.

Does anyone knows where to find a description of this new upgrade?
n_a_j is offline  
post #496 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 03:37 PM
Member
 
chuckfredgoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by n_a_j View Post

I found out today an update for my BD370-P, it went from V4.090.00.24 to V7.127.00.26, but I can't seem to see anything different.

Does anyone knows where to find a description of this new upgrade?

Check a NTFS USB stick or HDD. Maybe it is now supported.
chuckfredgoose is offline  
post #497 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
STEELERSRULE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Western PA
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by john18 View Post

Hi Chuck and all the rest.

I have a 390 on order from Amazon and it will be here Wednesday. I have a question for you, or anyone else, if you have time.

I have a 12 Meg DSL wireless B/G modem/router. I also have hooked up a Powerline Adapter system which, according to the Netgear Configuration Utility, is giving me between 122 and 200 Mbps between the three points on that network. (My computer and two Directv DVR's where I do not have wired ethernet.) I do have one Powerline adapter that is unused and available.

The question is am I better off using the wireless G or using the additional Powerline unit to connect to the 390? I can make one more electrical plug available with minimal inconvenience.

It will probably be two weeks until I install the unit since I have an Onkyo TX-SR806 also being delivered, so the wiring will be done all at once and then configure everything after it is all installed and hooked-up.

Thanks.

Now others will feeel differently than me, but IMHO I would go with the Powerline adpaters.

I have always felt that wired is just more reliable than wireless, especially when it commes to streaming.

I have the Belkin Powerline Adapters(200MBps limit although, most people say that max out at like 60MBps, or a little less which is obviously ample. But these same people say these things suffer from interferance. Never once experienced it, and think they are talking out of their A**), and am using them with a Samsung 2500.

Never had any problems with the connection either gaing or losing speed, unless there was about 2-3 other people using the computer, another streaming device, etc... all at once.

I say for streaming, use the powerline adapters. especially for someone who wants to game online(this is probably not you) with XBOX360 or the like, wired is the way to go.
STEELERSRULE is offline  
post #498 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Michael Whan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

When I switched the BD390 to Custom settings (leaving all of the values at their default setting) both Contrast and Brightness levels matched all of the other players I have used. I checked them via the HD test patterns found here.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post12373254

I did find the Dynamic Contrast setting interesting as increasing it appears to increase the ANSI contrast without adding any visible EE. Also skin tones didn't appear to get harsh as I have seen with other players that offer much the same feature. I have only viewed a few Blu-rays but I'm thinking it might prove valuable down the road. The increased pop adds a little perceived sharpness to my 110 inch image.

Thank you very much for the reply. That's very helpful for me.
Michael Whan is offline  
post #499 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 04:59 PM
Member
 
chuckfredgoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the LG BD 360 model at Costco Canada's site the same as the BD 370C? (other than cosmetics)
Will it play MKV from USB formatted in NTFS?
chuckfredgoose is offline  
post #500 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 05:02 PM
Member
 
mymythos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mymythos View Post

I'd like people who own both the 370 and the 390 to confirm if everybody is experiencing this problem with the angle icon popping up during the film. I was about to buy the 390 but this problem really is a dealbreaker. I'd also like to know if the American 370 has had any new firmware that enables it to read MKV.

Since I haven't bought a BD player yet, I don't know which titles show the angle icon. The only title I heard that does, is the "Star Trek The Original Series Season 1", whenever there's a special effects shot the angle icon supposedly appears so you can choose between the original FX and the new ones. Has anyone who owns this title experienced any problems?
mymythos is offline  
post #501 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 10:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottChez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 390 and downloaded the 8.x firmware today.

No Angle problems here. It goes away when you select it again.
ScottChez is offline  
post #502 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
john18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by STEELERSRULE View Post

I say for streaming, use the powerline adapters. especially for someone who wants to game online(this is probably not you) with XBOX360 or the like, wired is the way to go.

Thanks. No one has disputed your opinion so far.....
john18 is offline  
post #503 of 6915 Old 06-13-2009, 11:28 PM
Senior Member
 
john18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, another question.

I currently own an Oppo 981 upscaling DVD player. Do I need to keep it, or are the upscaling capabilities of the 390 sufficient?
john18 is offline  
post #504 of 6915 Old 06-14-2009, 04:14 AM
Member
 
n_a_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckfredgoose View Post

Check a NTFS USB stick or HDD. Maybe it is now supported.

No it doesn't, still the same ol' FAT32 only...
n_a_j is offline  
post #505 of 6915 Old 06-14-2009, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does the BD370 or 390 play standard dvds at 24fps? Also, how well or poorly does it do in upconverting standard dvds? I love Blu-rays and I wish everything was available on them, but I still have a LOT of stuff on standard dvd. Thanks!

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #506 of 6915 Old 06-14-2009, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorthocar View Post

Does the BD370 or 390 play standard dvds at 24fps? Also, how well or poorly does it do in upconverting standard dvds? I love Blu-rays and I wish everything was available on them, but I still have a LOT of stuff on standard dvd. Thanks!

It doesn't. It switches from 24fps (at the menu) to 60fps as soon as the DVD (Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow) starts playing. As to how well it upscales I never do DVDs in my Blu-ray players so I can't help there. I will say Blu-rays look very nice however.

| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #507 of 6915 Old 06-14-2009, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugupo View Post

does know if LG BD370 or 390 show bitrate info like ps3 can?

no.

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #508 of 6915 Old 06-14-2009, 08:56 AM
Member
 
captpjd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sulphur, La.
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up the 390 yesterday, was on sale at BB and i even got 10% off due to a hole in the box(LOL)--so after bringing it home was no problem hooking up, basic hookup( HDMI cable to TV)--setup wireless hookup using wep128 security, entered passphrase(not case senestive) and no problem, Went to my Netflix account found the 390 and got Netflix's password, entered it and good to go, Youtube came up with their basic selections, you Can enter your name and password to get to your account and see your favorites. Installed Nero Mediahome on computer, accessing it from 390 was no problem, you might need to streamline your shared files on computer. To my surprise, the 390 played all my AVI files, found and played my jpeg files and found and displayed very nicely all my 800+ albums(it took about 45 minutes to index the music). Something else I found to my great surprise is that my Xbox 360 can use the Nero Server to play the AVI's and most of my jpeg files(depending on size). So if your xbox and the 390 are in different parts of the home this is very usefull. It didn't play the mps through the nero server or I just didn't give it time to index all the songs(over 8000). Oh yea, the Blu Ray disc look exceptional, LOL
I very pleased---my Network is growing up'

PS-there was a firmware update it took care of automatically
Windows Xp
Samsung 50in 720p plasma
Wireless Netgear 110 extended range Router
captpjd is offline  
post #509 of 6915 Old 06-14-2009, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifi59 View Post

I have not seen it yet. I have played no less than 8-9 movies.

You obviously havn't played or own any SD (Standard Definition) movies that have that feature. The angle icon and other on-screen messages (Play, FF, Rew, Pause, Zoom, etc, icons) cannot be turned off on the 390. If you do own a SD movie with an alternate angle and the icon has not popped up during the movie (where the alternate angle comes into play) than you have a defective player. Please list the so called 8-9 SD movies that you say you own, and have played THAT HAVE an alternate angle. I am willing to bet that none of the SD movies that you have played had an alternate angle and that's why you havn't seen the icon pop up!

I have tested the 390 with the SD "Special Edition" of James Bond "Tomorrow Never Dies", and have CONFIRMED that the angle icon pops up throught the whole movie during the scenes when alterate angle #2 is available to display a storyboard concept option ontop of the original video.

Just about every SD/BD player these days offers a way to turn off either "On Screen Messages" or "Angle Icon" togeather or by themselfs. The 390 offers neither. Watching a SD movie with an alternate angle is a PITA with the 390, because the angle icon keeps popping up during the movie. This is very distracting. I also experianced "brief" combing artifacts on scenes that the 390's de-interlacer could not handle (like bad edits). Just play "The Making Of The Big Lobowski", from the older SD/DVD of The Big Lobowski. This is the older Special Edition DVD that came in a yellow box cover. You can see combing in the begining scene of this documentry when john goodman throws his hand up in a clip of him in the parking lot.

This player is no way close to being as good as you keep claiming it to be. The slide out draw is so cheap that it is barley hanging on. I ask that anyone (who does not believe me) go out to there local Best Buy store, plug in the demo and open the draw to see this for themselves. The up and down movement is not of solid build quality!

I will say this though for the 390, if the above problems are of no concern to you... It does have a great zoom, lots of picture tweaking options, and runs a noticably "hotter" picture (which can be very mis-leading) in that one will think there seeing a better picture when doing player comparisons. It also allows for you tube and other online features, and i found that the wireless firmware update worked well. Due to the above mentioned lack of a way to disable the "on screen messages" & "angle icon", i ended up returning mine.
Sound & Vision is online now  
post #510 of 6915 Old 06-14-2009, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound & Vision View Post

The slide out draw is so cheap that it is barley hanging on. I ask that anyone (who does not believe me) to go to a local Best Buy, plug in the demo and open the draw to see this for themselves.

Actually it's attached quite nicely if you look at the design. It's constructed so the tray's slide out mechanism has some flex. From experience I find it far superior to the OPPO's I owned which made quiet grinding noises while playing discs. Also it vibrates considerably less than the Pioneers 51/51FD during initial loading and seeks. I have seen this same design on many high-end computer disc drives.

| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off