BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 187 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5581 of 6915 Old 03-18-2010, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Beavis in Stereo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptsenter View Post

No thanks to LG and many thanks to Playon.

Would offer many more thanks if they were Mac compatible... jerks.
Beavis in Stereo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5582 of 6915 Old 03-19-2010, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
finally loaded the Nero software in my laptop yesterday. Great stuff. It sees everything on my laptop. However, when streaming from "My Videos", it stutters a bit and loses audio from time to time. Any suggestions?
Rach is offline  
post #5583 of 6915 Old 03-19-2010, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptsenter View Post

No thanks to LG and many thanks to Playon.

SO the BD-390 recognizes Playon...EXCELLENT!
Rach is offline  
post #5584 of 6915 Old 03-19-2010, 02:32 PM
Member
 
tintinskoog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinksma View Post

Any remarks on SD DVD performance with these devices? I'm looking to recommend a BD player to colleagues, and some will not care a whit about DTS-HD MA or NetFlix, but will care about boot-up and load times and SD DVD PQ.

shinksma

I think the DVD performance of bd370 is above average, but not the best on the market, according to the price its great!
tintinskoog is offline  
post #5585 of 6915 Old 03-19-2010, 05:35 PM
Newbie
 
anormalniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by katanel View Post

1) check hdmi cable and replace it with another one
2) in your player choose video Resolution = Auto or tests other resolutions there

regards.


hmmm... do you think is the best solution for my problem??? Coz I don't.

If you had read a few posts, you should know that is something other. We are waiting for new firmware for BD370.

Maybe you know when the new fmw will be available?
anormalniak is offline  
post #5586 of 6915 Old 03-20-2010, 05:15 AM
Newbie
 
leonardochen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes! I think that will work. Thanks!
leonardochen is offline  
post #5587 of 6915 Old 03-20-2010, 08:59 AM
Member
 
jimtang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by katanel View Post

Yeah, I found which cause the problem on WD 2.5 portable HDD: read this http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc....i=&p_topview=1

I tested with another 2.5 portable HDD and everything is fine now.

regards.

I have the issue you originally described with both WD and Seagate HDDs. What was the solution that fixed the issue for your? I didn't quite correlate the info found on the link with the issue you described.

thanks
Jim
jimtang is offline  
post #5588 of 6915 Old 03-20-2010, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
ZERGGDOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw a video on youtube of this guy using the flash port on the 370 but it doesnt work on mine .I called LG and they said they dont support that.well thats bogus because Ive seen people using a UK version that you put a 1 gig drive in the front and it plays the mkv movie file off it...might there be a way to turn that on? . I did flash the firmware but that didnt seem to do anything for me...cheers.........
ZERGGDOG is offline  
post #5589 of 6915 Old 03-20-2010, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
streasury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tintinskoog View Post

I think the DVD performance of bd370 is above average, but not the best on the market, according to the price its great!

I'm not at all satisfied with DVD picture quality on my 370--it was ok before the last firmware update (which was last year), but now I need to reduce the resolution to 480p when playing DVDs, because my TV does a better job upsampling than the 370 does.
streasury is offline  
post #5590 of 6915 Old 03-20-2010, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZERGGDOG View Post

I saw a video on youtube of this guy using the flash port on the 370 but it doesnt work on mine .I called LG and they said they dont support that.well thats bogus because Ive seen people using a UK version that you put a 1 gig drive in the front and it plays the mkv movie file off it...might there be a way to turn that on? . I did flash the firmware but that didnt seem to do anything for me...cheers.........

USA version does not support movie files via USB.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #5591 of 6915 Old 03-20-2010, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
There is one person on the planet who can play video files off USB on a US 370. Maybe you can PM the author of THIS post and find out how he did it.
mdavej is offline  
post #5592 of 6915 Old 03-21-2010, 05:23 AM
Newbie
 
riojohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Anormalniak,
Ref: bd370 (uk version for me). I too have asked the questions on this forum and other forums regarding "picture breakup" on the latest "mkv" files.
I have tried many software options to re-encode these files to no avail. Also tried these new "mkv" on bd370 which has had no updates and is region free without any success. Also tried the "oppo" players which gave same results as my bd370.
Remastering the files into mpg, ts, avchd, and bluray did not work.
As you mentioned earlier in your post it seems to be a change in "codecs" used when mkv files were created.
I have been searching for a fix for a few months now and I do find it strange that there are not many people highlighting this issue.
John
riojohn is offline  
post #5593 of 6915 Old 03-21-2010, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by streasury View Post

I'm not at all satisfied with DVD picture quality on my 370--it was ok before the last firmware update (which was last year), but now I need to reduce the resolution to 480p when playing DVDs, because my TV does a better job upsampling than the 370 does.

I have to agree with you. I don't have the 370 anymore because LG is buying it back from me but I did put in a DVD a week or so ago and couldn't stand the video quality. I ended up putting back my Toshiba EX500 for DVD's. I don't know what the reviewers are saying when they say "...excellant DVD upconvert quality."? I guess they never saw the upconvert for DVD on the now defunct HD DVD players.

lujan
652 Blu-ray
21 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #5594 of 6915 Old 03-21-2010, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
tcfish19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated the driver in my BD390. Fixed the DVD issue i've had since I got this player. Now I finally have a DVD and Bluray player. With that and the VUDU fix of changing DNS Servers I finally have a player that functions as advertised.

I recomend anyone with one of these machines update the driver firmware.

Upgrayedd. Which he spells thusly, with two D's, as he says, "for a double dose of this pimping".
tcfish19 is online now  
post #5595 of 6915 Old 03-21-2010, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I have to agree with you. I don't have the 370 anymore because LG is buying it back from me but I did put in a DVD a week or so ago and couldn't stand the video quality. I ended up putting back my Toshiba EX500 for DVD's. I don't know what the reviewers are saying when they say "...excellant DVD upconvert quality."? I guess they never saw the upconvert for DVD on the now defunct HD DVD players.

What reviewer said the 370 has excellent upconversion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I don't remember but I just saw one recently. I didn't save the address.

Are you sure it wasn't a 390 review? CNet said the 390 has excellent upconversion. However, the 370--no.
allargon is offline  
post #5596 of 6915 Old 03-21-2010, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

What reviewer said the 370 has excellent upconversion?

I don't remember but I just saw one recently. I didn't save the address.

lujan
652 Blu-ray
21 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #5597 of 6915 Old 03-22-2010, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rach View Post

finally loaded the Nero software in my laptop yesterday. Great stuff. It sees everything on my laptop. However, when streaming from "My Videos", it stutters a bit and loses audio from time to time. Any suggestions?

Anyone have any answers on this one?
Rach is offline  
post #5598 of 6915 Old 03-22-2010, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
cgould's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Foster City, CA, USA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rach View Post

finally loaded the Nero software in my laptop yesterday. Great stuff. It sees everything on my laptop. However, when streaming from "My Videos", it stutters a bit and loses audio from time to time. Any suggestions?

Are you using wifi? what bitrate videos?

I doubt a laptop wifi connection, using wifi to your 390, will stream decent (HD) bitrate videos without stuttering. You need wired ethernet. Or, copy to USB thumbdrive.

You can do a rough test of this by hitting pause on the 390, wait several seconds, then hit play again- if it is smooth for a little while, then stutters again (eg network buffer empty, stalled out), then it's your network.
cgould is offline  
post #5599 of 6915 Old 03-22-2010, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgould View Post

Are you using wifi? what bitrate videos?

I doubt a laptop wifi connection, using wifi to your 390, will stream decent (HD) bitrate videos without stuttering. You need wired ethernet. Or, copy to USB thumbdrive.

You can do a rough test of this by hitting pause on the 390, wait several seconds, then hit play again- if it is smooth for a little while, then stutters again (eg network buffer empty, stalled out), then it's your network.

You are the man of the hour. I am streaming from my wifi laptop (with high internet speed). Still, I will retry with the laptop hard wired to the router. Thanks, again!
Rach is offline  
post #5600 of 6915 Old 03-22-2010, 02:28 PM
Member
 
lanced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not familiar with media streaming, so this may be a dumb question: Can the BD-390 receive content streamed from the HDHomeRun? I want to add OTA to my projector and thought if this would work, it would help tremendously.

I know I can use the PC as an intermediate point (to receive and re-stream), but I would hate to add another layer of equipment.
lanced is offline  
post #5601 of 6915 Old 03-22-2010, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Is it just me, or are my discs really hot after ejecting? Has anyone called LG about this? Also, is there a limitation on how many computers the 390 can see on a network? All 6 of my computers can see each other - the 390 only sees 5. The one it can't see is an XP pro box. It can see the Windows 7 machine.
myoda is offline  
post #5602 of 6915 Old 03-22-2010, 10:10 PM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoda View Post

Is it just me, or are my discs really hot after ejecting? Has anyone called LG about this? Also, is there a limitation on how many computers the 390 can see on a network? All 6 of my computers can see each other - the 390 only sees 5. The one it can't see is an XP pro box. It can see the Windows 7 machine.

Me too. I have noticed that disks are really hot and can't help thinking what it might be like with the 590 and a hard drive on board. My DVR has a fan and at times is so loud you can hear it over programming. But the fans only run when it gets hot. Which is not as hot as the 390. It needs fans.

I have an XPpro on my network and it is seen just fine. Not sure of a number of devices that can seen. Which makes no sense. But then it's an LG. It sees my Macs better though. And streams cleaner than the Mac direct. Perfect. Except, if it only had all the new software toys that the 590 does that does not need a hard drive, like LG told me there would be. Just waiting on that super new update. Oh and on that note, LG is worthless as far as support. That is why I got the BestBuy warranty that circumvents LG. The sales guy said not to even bother LG. Just call them and BB will take care of everything. Maybe I give BB a call and see what they have to say about the heat.
FarmerBob is offline  
post #5603 of 6915 Old 03-23-2010, 06:57 AM
Member
 
jerryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgould View Post

Are you using wifi? what bitrate videos?

I doubt a laptop wifi connection, using wifi to your 390, will stream decent (HD) bitrate videos without stuttering. You need wired ethernet. Or, copy to USB thumbdrive.

You can do a rough test of this by hitting pause on the 390, wait several seconds, then hit play again- if it is smooth for a little while, then stutters again (eg network buffer empty, stalled out), then it's your network.

In an earlier post I asked what maximum bit rate I could expect when streaming through an 802.11g connection and was told 30Mbps, which would be great. However, the most I am actually able to stream is about 2Mbps although I am seeing 54Mbps service on a laptop located next to the bd390. Is the 30Mbps number realistic, even for an 802.11n connection?

Jerry
jerryn is offline  
post #5604 of 6915 Old 03-23-2010, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
pastro50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryn View Post

In an earlier post I asked what maximum bit rate I could expect when streaming through an 802.11g connection and was told 30Mbps, which would be great. However, the most I am actually able to stream is about 2Mbps although I am seeing 54Mbps service on a laptop located next to the bd390. Is the 30Mbps number realistic, even for an 802.11n connection?


Unless you are in ADhoc mode the laptop communicates with the access point, which then sends the packet back out to the bd390. It doesn't help for the laptop to be close to the 390. Wireless to wireless streaming is a lot slower.
Try plugging the ethernet cable to the router from the laptop and then stream to the bd390.
pastro50 is offline  
post #5605 of 6915 Old 03-23-2010, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastro50 View Post

Unless you are in ADhoc mode the laptop communicates with the access point, which then sends the packet back out to the bd390. It doesn't help for the laptop to be close to the 390. Wireless to wireless streaming is a lot slower.
Try plugging the ethernet cable to the router from the laptop and then stream to the bd390.

I am going to try this tonight!
Rach is offline  
post #5606 of 6915 Old 03-23-2010, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
Ted_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My BD390 has informed me several times that I have an update, but each time I try to apply it, it doesn't work.

Current: H51000
SW version: BD.8.08.529.B
Update ==> H51203

It downloads successfully, and appears to update, but then I get this message: "Update is failed" (sic)

I haven't seen this issue posted. Can anyone please help?
Ted_S is offline  
post #5607 of 6915 Old 03-24-2010, 12:00 AM
Newbie
 
Ted_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted_S View Post

My BD390 has informed me several times that I have an update, but each time I try to apply it, it doesn't work.

Current: H51000
SW version: BD.8.08.529.B
Update ==> H51203

It downloads successfully, and appears to update, but then I get this message: "Update is failed" (sic)

I haven't seen this issue posted. Can anyone please help?

Coincidentally, I just solved my own problem. Tried updating several times the past week, when the update notice came, imm. after powering up the player. Apparently each time, there was a disk in the player; that was the problem. But it never told me that, not until I went in to try an update thru the menu; then it told me there can't be a disk in. I'm now updated.
Ted_S is offline  
post #5608 of 6915 Old 03-24-2010, 02:45 AM
Member
 
jerryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastro50 View Post

Unless you are in ADhoc mode the laptop communicates with the access point, which then sends the packet back out to the bd390. It doesn't help for the laptop to be close to the 390. Wireless to wireless streaming is a lot slower.
Try plugging the ethernet cable to the router from the laptop and then stream to the bd390.

Sorry, I wasn't clear enough. I mention the laptop near the BD390 just to indicate the strength of signal I get from my wireless access point in the vicinity of the BD390. I am streaming via 802.11g from TVersity running on a Windows Home Server. I am only able to get 2Mbps videos to stream - if I go beyond 2Mbps I get stuttering. I was told earlier in this thread I could expect up to 30Mbps with a strong 802.11g connection. Is this realistic?

If not, I'm willing to convert to 802.11n and perhaps add a bridge at the bd390, but if I did what would be a realistic maximum bit rate I could stream?

Jerry
jerryn is offline  
post #5609 of 6915 Old 03-24-2010, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Blue_Fedora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern, California
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're running a wireless network and having problems streaming video (especially HD quality), consider the NETGEAR XAVB1004 Home Theater Internet Connection Kit. It's a secure, high-speed, adapter kit which turns any standard electrical outlet in your home into a high-speed entertainment-grade network connection.

It's gotten great reviews on both Amazon and NewEgg. We bought it and were thrilled to find it was absolutely plug-n-play. Completely works as advertised and we've recommended it to several friends who are just as pleased as we are.

Hope that helps someone out
Blue_Fedora is offline  
post #5610 of 6915 Old 03-24-2010, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
gstspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jackson michigan
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
some ides on "Better Streaming Video"

http://www.pcworld.com/article/13434...ing_video.html

"I'm normally not a praying man, but if you're up there, please save me Superman"

gstspyder is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off