BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 216 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6451 of 6915 Old 04-16-2011, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcmccorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL, USA
Posts: 3,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bummer. Any way to back up to the previous update?

Cary
jcmccorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6452 of 6915 Old 04-17-2011, 09:16 AM
Member
 
ozzzie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Harry Potter also has trouble w/my 390.had to switch to my PS3 to watch it.
ozzzie3 is offline  
post #6453 of 6915 Old 04-17-2011, 10:31 AM
Member
 
TheChadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Got Knight and Day BD on Netflix. My BD390 failed to read it, resulting in a "Check Disk" error. Disc appeared to be new, with minimal scratching. I went through the motions of cleaning the disc and cleaning the lens. Still no love. I suspect the movie failing to play was a blessing in disguise, though. Anyone else try watching Knight and Day?
TheChadd is offline  
post #6454 of 6915 Old 04-17-2011, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheChadd View Post

Got Knight and Day BD on Netflix. May BD390 failed to read it, resulting in a "Check Disk" error. Disc appeared to be new, with minimal scratching. I went through the motions of cleaning the disc and cleaning the lens. Still no love. I suspect the movie failing to play was a blessing in disguise, though. Anyone else try watching Knight and Day?

My 390 played knight and day from a redbox rental, movie wasn't so bad, kinda like another mission impossible persuasion. Don't think I'd watch it again but once wasn't torture or anything.

When I get disc error, I try cleaning, sometimes it works with multiple tries, sometimes not. Very frustrating to say the least.

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6455 of 6915 Old 04-17-2011, 01:33 PM
Member
 
maris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzzie3 View Post

Harry Potter also has trouble w/my 390.

Switching off 24 Hz or downgrading to firmware 532 should help.

Best regards, maris
maris is offline  
post #6456 of 6915 Old 04-17-2011, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Quote:
Originally Posted by maris View Post

Switching off 24 Hz or downgrading to firmware 532 should help.

Best regards, maris

How does a guy do a downgrade of firmware?

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6457 of 6915 Old 04-17-2011, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcmccorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL, USA
Posts: 3,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post

How does a guy do a downgrade of firmware?

+1

Apologies if it's been covered in this thread, but it looks like I need to downgrade as well. How?

Cary
jcmccorm is offline  
post #6458 of 6915 Old 04-17-2011, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmccorm View Post

+1

Apologies if it's been covered in this thread, but it looks like I need to downgrade as well. How?

Cary

No one ever got back to me on it but I figured it out, go to the LG site and pick support for your model. you can select drivers and upgrades and see at least three different firmwares (at least for my 390). You can copy them onto a usb transport and plug it into your player and download it. I tried all three; 531, 532 and ended up keeping 544. Still can't play Fighter Pilot on any of them.

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6459 of 6915 Old 04-18-2011, 12:32 AM
Member
 
maris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post

How does a guy do a downgrade of firmware?

By inserting his stick, I guess
maris is offline  
post #6460 of 6915 Old 04-18-2011, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
dongayle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmccorm View Post

Anybody have trouble with the new Harry Potter Bluray?

I've never had any trouble out of my 370 until today. The Deathly Hallows had audio dropouts and variable lip-sync issues. Stopping and restarting usually cleared it up for a bit. Since I haven't read of anyone else having trouble with this disk I'm thinking it's the 370. I have the latest firmware update.

Cary

I don't think it's your player. I have a Samsung BD6500 that's been rock solid up until now. I am seeing the exact same problem with dropouts and lip-sync in Deathly Hallows - a delay that starts out subtle then eventually increases to 2-3 seconds. And as you mention, stopping and starting temporarily corrects it.
dongayle is offline  
post #6461 of 6915 Old 04-18-2011, 01:09 PM
Member
 
tommysss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone had a problem with MegaMind Bluray disk with the sound dropping out. It seems to happen during the potentially loud portions of the movie?

pretty aggravating
tommysss is offline  
post #6462 of 6915 Old 04-18-2011, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcmccorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL, USA
Posts: 3,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dongayle View Post

I don't think it's your player. I have a Samsung BD6500 that's been rock solid up until now. I am seeing the exact same problem with dropouts and lip-sync in Deathly Hallows - a delay that starts out subtle then eventually increases to 2-3 seconds. And as you mention, stopping and starting temporarily corrects it.

Thanks dongayle. I did an avs search looking for any problems with this disk and came up empty. A google search revealed nothing as well so I assumed everyone was happy with the disk as I didn't see any problems reported. The 370 LG player has had it's share of problem disks so I assumed that was it.

Cary
jcmccorm is offline  
post #6463 of 6915 Old 04-18-2011, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Quote:
Originally Posted by dongayle View Post

I don't think it's your player. I have a Samsung BD6500 that's been rock solid up until now. I am seeing the exact same problem with dropouts and lip-sync in Deathly Hallows - a delay that starts out subtle then eventually increases to 2-3 seconds. And as you mention, stopping and starting temporarily corrects it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmccorm View Post

Thanks dongayle. I did an avs search looking for any problems with this disk and came up empty. A google search revealed nothing as well so I assumed everyone was happy with the disk as I didn't see any problems reported. The 370 LG player has had it's share of problem disks so I assumed that was it.

Cary

I wouldn't discount the player too fast. I have had my fair share of drop outs and lip sync issues and being able to correct them by pause/play/FF and Rew. Once a new firmware was obtained, the issue disappeared.

It very well could be time for an upgrade.

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6464 of 6915 Old 04-18-2011, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcmccorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL, USA
Posts: 3,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Good point. Perhaps his Samsung needs an upgrade as well.

Cary
jcmccorm is offline  
post #6465 of 6915 Old 04-19-2011, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
tcfish19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommysss View Post
Has anyone had a problem with MegaMind Bluray disk with the sound dropping out. It seems to happen during the potentially loud portions of the movie?

pretty aggravating
YES!! I had my Sub in the shop getting repaired and was running my speakers full range. I thought it was my receiver going into protect mode because it only happened on the real intense parts of the soundtrack. It has always played on my Panasonic BD55 fine.

Guess it's just the player. Still waiting on Oppo to update firmware so they support VUDU and Netflix with 1080P and 5.1 sound before I can dump this player for good.

Upgrayedd. Which he spells thusly, with two D's, as he says, "for a double dose of this pimping".
tcfish19 is offline  
post #6466 of 6915 Old 04-19-2011, 01:16 PM
Member
 
tommysss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcfish19 View Post
YES!! I had my Sub in the shop getting repaired and was running my speakers full range. I thought it was my receiver going into protect mode because it only happened on the real intense parts of the soundtrack. It has always played on my Panasonic BD55 fine.

Guess it's just the player. Still waiting on Oppo to update firmware so they support VUDU and Netflix with 1080P and 5.1 sound before I can dump this player for good.
That is what I thought. Thanks for you input.
tommysss is offline  
post #6467 of 6915 Old 04-19-2011, 04:05 PM
Newbie
 
toebee33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just joined avs today as I am still having issues with Inception and Sherlock Holmes. They are the same issues people had earlier in the thread, audio dropouts, lip sync, and so on. I just got off the phone with the executive service people and the experience was worse than the lower tier service. The woman claimed that there are no known issues, but mine still isn't right. I have the latest firmware 544.B and they even sent me a disk with that software, and still nothing. Have you guys moved on with different players, or are you still waiting for an update? I guess I moved on because I bought a Sony S580 , which so far works great. Even Netflix runs good as some were having issues with that. I guess I just want to know if I am doing something wrong or if it is the player. I don't have the Megamind or Harry Potter blurays so I don't know if I have the same problems with those. I really don't think they are going to fix it.
toebee33 is offline  
post #6468 of 6915 Old 04-19-2011, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Quote:
Originally Posted by toebee33 View Post

I just joined avs today as I am still having issues with Inception and Sherlock Holmes.

Welcome to the forum toebee.

Your not doing anything wrong. Sorry about the frustration with cust ser. I've been there a couple of times.

Sorry to hear you're having troubles with Sherlock, mine is working just fine and I've got the same firmware as yours.

I have noticed that the owners of players (370/390) share similar issues and mostly with the same discs but sometimes different discs. But always it's the same issues i.e. freezing, lip syncing, drop outs.

Right now, I think the most common issue is disc not loading and coming up as disc error.

So yeah, we're about due for another F.W. upgrade, or a new brand of player

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6469 of 6915 Old 04-19-2011, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
toebee33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply Geoff. It,s funny because the first 40 or so discs I bought worked fine. Then, starting with Iron Man 2, 3 out of the next 6 blurays I bought had issues making the movies unwatchable. I really considered going back to dvd as I had 0 issues out of 200+ discs. I have never really had any audio/video problems before this. Oh well, I hope fully they fix it as I like the 390, it has a very nice and easy user interface, and quality video capability, but I doubt I would buy LG again.
toebee33 is offline  
post #6470 of 6915 Old 04-20-2011, 07:58 AM
Member
 
TheChadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by toebee33 View Post

Thanks for the reply Geoff. It,s funny because the first 40 or so discs I bought worked fine. Then, starting with Iron Man 2, 3 out of the next 6 blurays I bought had issues making the movies unwatchable. I really considered going back to dvd as I had 0 issues out of 200+ discs. I have never really had any audio/video problems before this. Oh well, I hope fully they fix it as I like the 390, it has a very nice and easy user interface, and quality video capability, but I doubt I would buy LG again.

Kind of a shame Toshiba's HD-DVD didn't win the battle to be the DVD successor.
TheChadd is offline  
post #6471 of 6915 Old 04-20-2011, 11:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Quote:
Originally Posted by toebee33 View Post

Thanks for the reply Geoff. It,s funny because the first 40 or so discs I bought worked fine. Then, starting with Iron Man 2, 3 out of the next 6 blurays I bought had issues making the movies unwatchable. I really considered going back to dvd as I had 0 issues out of 200+ discs. I have never really had any audio/video problems before this. Oh well, I hope fully they fix it as I like the 390, it has a very nice and easy user interface, and quality video capability, but I doubt I would buy LG again.

Oh yeah, Iron Man 2 was a nightmare here some months back, we were all having freezing and dropout issues with this disc. A lot of us were reporting the issues to LG and finally got an update for the player and presto, it was so nice being able to watch IM2 straight through without interruptions.

I can relate to your feelings, I too have enjoyed owning the 390 but as of late, I've been eyeballing the Oppo 93 and 95. At this point in my finances, the 95 seems to be a bit out of reach, but the 93 is looking much closer

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #6472 of 6915 Old 04-24-2011, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by dongayle View Post

I don't think it's your player. I have a Samsung BD6500 that's been rock solid up until now. I am seeing the exact same problem with dropouts and lip-sync in Deathly Hallows - a delay that starts out subtle then eventually increases to 2-3 seconds. And as you mention, stopping and starting temporarily corrects it.

I also have the BD6500 and experienced drop outs watching Deathly Hallows. My PS3, however, played it without any issues. I've noticed the same problem with a few other discs on the BD6500 if it is a DTS-HD track.

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is online now  
post #6473 of 6915 Old 04-24-2011, 08:14 PM
Member
 
tommysss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just watched Tron Legacy on my 390 and everything was perfect no sound or video dropout surprisingly
tommysss is offline  
post #6474 of 6915 Old 04-27-2011, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
irc163's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware Ver:BD.8.08.552.B / Date:2011.04.22 can be downloaded on the LG website.

1) The new firmware will improve the Playability of BD disc.
(Inception, Prince of Persia, Sherlock Homes, Avatar)
2) The new firmware will improve the BD Playbility (AV Stuttering)
3) The new firmware will improve the file playback (The Pacifier)

http://www.lg.com/us/support/product...odelCode=BD390
irc163 is offline  
post #6475 of 6915 Old 04-27-2011, 11:38 AM
Member
 
maris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new firmware resolves playability issues, for instance, with the BDs HP7.1 and Inception. However, likewise the BD5 series, the new firmware introduces also a new bug, which is a brief audio drop out at the beginning of a new DVD chapter (no dropouts with BDs).

Best regards, maris
maris is offline  
post #6476 of 6915 Old 04-27-2011, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
stonedaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that audio dropout on DVDs using 552B, and now after it completes the HDMI handshake, it leaves my Yamaha RX-V863 receiver rapidly switching between PLmovie and DD until I choose something to watch.
stonedaze is offline  
post #6477 of 6915 Old 04-28-2011, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
davelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonedaze View Post
I can confirm that audio dropout on DVDs using 552B, and now after it completes the HDMI handshake, it leaves my Yamaha RX-V863 receiver rapidly switching between PLmovie and DD until I choose something to watch.
Using a Denon 3808 did NOT notice the switching between modes.

However did have the brief dropout at chapter boundaries on a DD DVD soundtrack. I did check on a 2 channel DVD and did NOT notice a dropout on three chapter boundaries I tested.

Went back to 544, no problem.

BTW, has anyone managed to save/find a copy of the 542 firmware? I notice that LG has removed earlier versions of the firmware from their site. I have 531, 532, 544 and (of course) 552 if anyone needs any of those.
davelr is online now  
post #6478 of 6915 Old 04-29-2011, 04:21 AM
Member
 
thosj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenville, WI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like 532 and 544. I currently run 532 and haven't upgraded to 544 nor 552 because everything seems to work. I'd like a path back before trying!! I've always upgraded thru the player, so no files.

Thanks,
Tom
thosj is offline  
post #6479 of 6915 Old 04-29-2011, 08:13 AM
Member
 
tommysss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmccorm View Post

Anybody have trouble with the new Harry Potter Bluray?

I've never had any trouble out of my 370 until today. The Deathly Hallows had audio dropouts and variable lip-sync issues. Stopping and restarting usually cleared it up for a bit. Since I haven't read of anyone else having trouble with this disk I'm thinking it's the 370. I have the latest firmware update.

Cary

I had issues with this Bluray also, mostly audio dropout and video freezes. I was hoping the new update would help this but apparently not.
tommysss is offline  
post #6480 of 6915 Old 04-29-2011, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
algae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd also like 532 and 544, if you don't mind.

Up til now I've always upgraded directly through the player, but with the recent outbreak of the Cinavia epidemic and the myriad of problems that have occurred with some updates I'm changing my strategy. No more upgrades without a backup... 'Course I had to pick the upgrade where they removed all the backups from their site, lol. I can tolerate some disc problems, but I really don't want to knowingly install Cinavia onto this player.

I'm a slow learner, but once I get hit in the head a few times with a 2x4 I usually come around.

Thank you for the generous offer,
ACG
algae is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off