BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 231 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6901 of 6915 Old 12-29-2013, 08:36 PM
Newbie
 
bluemantwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Spoke too soon.  Disconnecting the network access (cable) to the BD390 allowed the disc to play.

bluemantwo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6902 of 6915 Old 01-01-2014, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
FreddieF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an LG BD-390 blu ray player, and a Denon AVR-1513 receiver connected by HDMI. Recently some Blu Rays I have purchased only have 7.1 English audio, and do not seem to down sample, or down sample correctly. Dialogue cannot be heard. I have cycled through the surround options on the receiver without success. After reading the manuals for both, it is unclear what needs to be changed to correct this to play on my 5.1 setup.
I would appreciate any suggestions.
FreddieF is offline  
post #6903 of 6915 Old 01-24-2014, 06:12 PM
Member
 
hansmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same issue, mostly with new release BRs...Turbo, and the new Percy Jackson (for the kids)...I did the wifi update, and will now try the download firmware & see if it makes a difference. Watching a movie with "descriptive audio" is not the real experience it was meant to be...

Samsung 55" LED 8000 Display; Tivo 2 HD;Yamaha 463 receiver;Emotiva XA-3 Amp;Triad Silver Monitors as LCR (inwall); Samsung BD390 player;Definitive Technologies inwall Surounds;Logitech 900 RT remote
hansmatt is offline  
post #6904 of 6915 Old 01-29-2014, 03:12 PM
Newbie
 
brinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought the "Selling England by the Pound" Blu-ray and it did not play. Every time I loaded the disc it would spin for a minute and then reply "check disc."

At first I thought it's time for a new player since there haven't been any new firmware updates in a couple years. I also thought I had a bad disc, or was sent the wrong region, since it came to the US from the UK.

After a couple emails to the distributor to return the disc, I learned something about the BD390 settings. My player is connected to my Integra receiver by HDMI. I had the HDMI set to "Primary Pass-thru" since I would rather have the newer decoders in my receiver handle the D/A. All my other discs played fine with this. After changing the audio in HDMI to "PCM Multi-ch," the disc plays fine now. Turned out to be a handshake issue with the receiver.

I thought I would post this in case someone else is looking to fix their player on a new high-res audio disc like this.
brinker is offline  
post #6905 of 6915 Old 01-29-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
hansmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine has been set on cpm-multi channel and caused issues on a few discs...going to try pass through now...see if my receiver can do a more consistent job...hmmm...

Samsung 55" LED 8000 Display; Tivo 2 HD;Yamaha 463 receiver;Emotiva XA-3 Amp;Triad Silver Monitors as LCR (inwall); Samsung BD390 player;Definitive Technologies inwall Surounds;Logitech 900 RT remote
hansmatt is offline  
post #6906 of 6915 Old 01-29-2014, 10:09 PM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The best settings I have seen that has produced the best results is Pass-Through on the BDP and Pure-Direct on my AVR.
FarmerBob is offline  
post #6907 of 6915 Old 02-05-2014, 05:54 PM
Member
 
fordfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's the latest SW for the 370? It shows H51203 for driver and BD.8.08.034.B for the SW.
fordfreak is offline  
post #6908 of 6915 Old 03-12-2014, 06:44 AM
Member
 
Smoker25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed that there's a new 561 update available for the 390. Did anyone notice any playback improvements?
Smoker25 is offline  
post #6909 of 6915 Old 03-12-2014, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
davelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoker25 View Post

I just noticed that there's a new 661 update available for the 390. Did anyone notice any playback improvements?

Are you sure you don't mean 561? It was released in Nov. 2013
davelr is online now  
post #6910 of 6915 Old 03-12-2014, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Carlos Martinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still sticking to my BD390, in spite of some minor problems that came up.

The most troublesome is the disc, that fails to open by itself, and you have to keep the external plate open to let that to happen. And even so after a few tries.

I wonder what that might be and if there is some way to cure it, not being replacing the whole system.

The most serious problem is I do not seem to find a BD player to replace it, not even from LG. Has anyone find any?

My application is to playing mkv files through the network and playing DVDs with mkv files on them, SL and DL.

OLne of the problems in finding alternate players is that most BD players now have Cinavia, and it seems to block playing even mkv files.

I have bought a Pioneer BDP-140, which doesn't have Cinavia, but it doesn't play everything as the BD390 seemed to do.
Carlos Martinez is offline  
post #6911 of 6915 Old 03-12-2014, 08:28 AM
Member
 
Smoker25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davelr View Post

Are you sure you don't mean 561? It was released in Nov. 2013

Yeah, it's 561. I've edited my post.
Smoker25 is offline  
post #6912 of 6915 Old 03-12-2014, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Carlos Martinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was there a recent FW update for the BD390 too?

What did it improve? Did it bring any issues too?
Carlos Martinez is offline  
post #6913 of 6915 Old 03-29-2014, 11:45 PM
Newbie
 
bluemantwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

BD390 won't play movie Gravity with current firmware (561 from November, 2013).  Well, or so I thought.

 

I had the same issue with Red 2, and will check if the below fix solves the issue on that disc as well.

 

Based on the lead from "brinker", I changed the audio settings, and was able to get the beloved BD390 to go from "Check Disc" to playing the movie "Gravity".

 

The only combination I found that worked was to set HDMI and SPDIF both to "Primary Pass-Thru", and then turn DRC Off.  Before turning DRC off, the disc would not play -- that seemed to be the magic bullet.  I did find that it wouldn't recognize the disc if it was present on power-up, but a simple retry by pressing Open/Close on the remote and it recognized the disc on try #2.

 

I hope this helps others!

bluemantwo is offline  
post #6914 of 6915 Old 04-08-2014, 11:05 PM
Newbie
 
bluemantwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This same technique works with the disc Red 2 that I formerly found unplayable.

bluemantwo is offline  
post #6915 of 6915 Old 06-07-2014, 02:55 AM
Newbie
 
mulanee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: France
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,
I just got this BR reader.
Need to investigate more, but looks working.
However I wonder why TEST of HP don't work for rear and sub?
Sub doesn't work at all, and rears go to front.
I'm connected to amplifier with optical cable, BD390 setup is pass through, audio mode seems recognized by the amplifier (digital/dts...) and rear HP works by reading BR.
Curious to know why test doesn't work.
mulanee is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off