BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 231 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2013, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
bluemantwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Spoke too soon.  Disconnecting the network access (cable) to the BD390 allowed the disc to play.

bluemantwo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2014, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
FreddieF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an LG BD-390 blu ray player, and a Denon AVR-1513 receiver connected by HDMI. Recently some Blu Rays I have purchased only have 7.1 English audio, and do not seem to down sample, or down sample correctly. Dialogue cannot be heard. I have cycled through the surround options on the receiver without success. After reading the manuals for both, it is unclear what needs to be changed to correct this to play on my 5.1 setup.
I would appreciate any suggestions.
FreddieF is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 07:12 PM
Member
 
hansmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same issue, mostly with new release BRs...Turbo, and the new Percy Jackson (for the kids)...I did the wifi update, and will now try the download firmware & see if it makes a difference. Watching a movie with "descriptive audio" is not the real experience it was meant to be...

Samsung 55" LED 8000 Display; Tivo 2 HD;Yamaha 463 receiver;Emotiva XA-3 Amp;Triad Silver Monitors as LCR (inwall); Samsung BD390 player;Definitive Technologies inwall Surounds;Logitech 900 RT remote
hansmatt is offline  
Old 01-29-2014, 04:12 PM
Newbie
 
brinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought the "Selling England by the Pound" Blu-ray and it did not play. Every time I loaded the disc it would spin for a minute and then reply "check disc."

At first I thought it's time for a new player since there haven't been any new firmware updates in a couple years. I also thought I had a bad disc, or was sent the wrong region, since it came to the US from the UK.

After a couple emails to the distributor to return the disc, I learned something about the BD390 settings. My player is connected to my Integra receiver by HDMI. I had the HDMI set to "Primary Pass-thru" since I would rather have the newer decoders in my receiver handle the D/A. All my other discs played fine with this. After changing the audio in HDMI to "PCM Multi-ch," the disc plays fine now. Turned out to be a handshake issue with the receiver.

I thought I would post this in case someone else is looking to fix their player on a new high-res audio disc like this.
brinker is offline  
Old 01-29-2014, 06:18 PM
Member
 
hansmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine has been set on cpm-multi channel and caused issues on a few discs...going to try pass through now...see if my receiver can do a more consistent job...hmmm...

Samsung 55" LED 8000 Display; Tivo 2 HD;Yamaha 463 receiver;Emotiva XA-3 Amp;Triad Silver Monitors as LCR (inwall); Samsung BD390 player;Definitive Technologies inwall Surounds;Logitech 900 RT remote
hansmatt is offline  
Old 01-29-2014, 11:09 PM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The best settings I have seen that has produced the best results is Pass-Through on the BDP and Pure-Direct on my AVR.
FarmerBob is offline  
Old 02-05-2014, 06:54 PM
Member
 
fordfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's the latest SW for the 370? It shows H51203 for driver and BD.8.08.034.B for the SW.
fordfreak is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Smoker25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed that there's a new 561 update available for the 390. Did anyone notice any playback improvements?
Smoker25 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
davelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoker25 View Post

I just noticed that there's a new 661 update available for the 390. Did anyone notice any playback improvements?

Are you sure you don't mean 561? It was released in Nov. 2013
davelr is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Carlos Martinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still sticking to my BD390, in spite of some minor problems that came up.

The most troublesome is the disc, that fails to open by itself, and you have to keep the external plate open to let that to happen. And even so after a few tries.

I wonder what that might be and if there is some way to cure it, not being replacing the whole system.

The most serious problem is I do not seem to find a BD player to replace it, not even from LG. Has anyone find any?

My application is to playing mkv files through the network and playing DVDs with mkv files on them, SL and DL.

OLne of the problems in finding alternate players is that most BD players now have Cinavia, and it seems to block playing even mkv files.

I have bought a Pioneer BDP-140, which doesn't have Cinavia, but it doesn't play everything as the BD390 seemed to do.
Carlos Martinez is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Smoker25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davelr View Post

Are you sure you don't mean 561? It was released in Nov. 2013

Yeah, it's 561. I've edited my post.
Smoker25 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Carlos Martinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was there a recent FW update for the BD390 too?

What did it improve? Did it bring any issues too?
Carlos Martinez is offline  
Old 03-30-2014, 12:45 AM
Newbie
 
bluemantwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

BD390 won't play movie Gravity with current firmware (561 from November, 2013).  Well, or so I thought.

 

I had the same issue with Red 2, and will check if the below fix solves the issue on that disc as well.

 

Based on the lead from "brinker", I changed the audio settings, and was able to get the beloved BD390 to go from "Check Disc" to playing the movie "Gravity".

 

The only combination I found that worked was to set HDMI and SPDIF both to "Primary Pass-Thru", and then turn DRC Off.  Before turning DRC off, the disc would not play -- that seemed to be the magic bullet.  I did find that it wouldn't recognize the disc if it was present on power-up, but a simple retry by pressing Open/Close on the remote and it recognized the disc on try #2.

 

I hope this helps others!

bluemantwo is offline  
Old 04-09-2014, 12:05 AM
Newbie
 
bluemantwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This same technique works with the disc Red 2 that I formerly found unplayable.

bluemantwo is offline  
Old 06-07-2014, 03:55 AM
Newbie
 
mulanee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: France
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,
I just got this BR reader.
Need to investigate more, but looks working.
However I wonder why TEST of HP don't work for rear and sub?
Sub doesn't work at all, and rears go to front.
I'm connected to amplifier with optical cable, BD390 setup is pass through, audio mode seems recognized by the amplifier (digital/dts...) and rear HP works by reading BR.
Curious to know why test doesn't work.
mulanee is offline  
Old 09-21-2014, 08:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hello to all, any questions i have the bd370-N vH51203 v.software V7.202.00.26 but i cant view the netflix icon, how i can fix that?

thx in advance..
Pedro Schwerter is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
K1196A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation BD-390 read errors

Hi all. I know this an old player, but I could use some assistance with a disc read issue.

I disassembled it and cleaned the lenses; which actually helped. Previously I got a disc read error for both DVD and BD... after cleaning it the DVD played, but still no joy on the BD.

I had read about adjusting the potentiometer to bump the laser strength, but I can't find them anywhere!!! LOL!!! So, am I blind or are there just none to adjust?

My Google-Fu has proven insufficient to find a pic or post.

TIA
K1196A is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,334
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2063 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Also clean the hub that holds the disc as it spins. It has rubber that loses its grip over time, causing read errors. There may also be a drive belt that could be slipping now, so clean that too, if you can get to it.
mdavej is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
K1196A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Also clean the hub that holds the disc as it spins. It has rubber that loses its grip over time, causing read errors. There may also be a drive belt that could be slipping now, so clean that too, if you can get to it.
looks to be a direct drive, but i did clean the rubber that holds the disc to spin with no effect. really, the BD has limited miles on it, I mostly play MKV files on it.
K1196A is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,334
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2063 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Sounds like it may be time for a new player. Even if you never use the drive, the rubber still ages, degrading and hardening. You can get a very good player second hand for $30-$40. Unfortunately, I have no idea where that laser pot would be.
mdavej is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
K1196A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Sounds like it may be time for a new player. Even if you never use the drive, the rubber still ages, degrading and hardening. You can get a very good player second hand for $30-$40. Unfortunately, I have no idea where that laser pot would be.
Gotcha, but like i said... it's playing DVD fine so I'm hoping to try to keep her going!
K1196A is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 04:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Youtube has changed there format, it's too bad, they couldn't at least kept a classic version for older player's, my LG 620 at least still play's Youtube
Bud-man is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 08:07 AM
Member
 
johnstonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The other day my BD390 had an issue. When I would go to Media to view my network shares, the system would hang or sometimes shutdown. Not sure why, to fix it I did a factory reset. Has anyone else had this problem?
johnstonk is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 08:03 AM
Member
 
dizzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My BD390 Has now stopped accessing Netflix showing a network connectivity issue in the Netflix app. However, the network test works fine on the player, and I can watch VUDU. Anyone else experiencing this? YouTube stopped working a number of months ago as a poster above noted.

Diz
dizzie is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
davelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzie View Post
My BD390 Has now stopped accessing Netflix showing a network connectivity issue in the Netflix app. However, the network test works fine on the player, and I can watch VUDU. Anyone else experiencing this? YouTube stopped working a number of months ago as a poster above noted.

Diz
Sorry, just checked mine and it seems fine on the Netflix function.
davelr is offline  
Old 02-04-2016, 02:27 AM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Mine is now a paper weight. Nothing except VUDU works. My player stopped doing Media Streaming and Netflix ages ago. BUT VUDU updated but YouTube didn't. I keep getting "traffic errors". From all LG BD players I have installed the minute another come out yours is EOL and no support. I was having major problems and called and got a nice live stateside English speaking tech rep that put on a list where I would get firmware updates on DVD every time they came out. That stopped ages ago and with it support for the 390. I was surprised as hell that VUDU updated. But nothing else has. So I don't think it's YouTube or Netflix. I kept mine because it did Media Networking so well. Now nothing. Time to go buy another brand. And unless they are really high end, they're pretty cheap these days.
FarmerBob is offline  
Old 02-04-2016, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post
... I kept mine because it did Media Networking so well. Now nothing. Time to go buy another brand. And unless they are really high end, they're pretty cheap these days.
Main reason I kept my BD390 and BD570 around as long as I did is due to the home network playback abilities, I.e. playing movies from a share on my home network. That still works for me... But I stopped using it.

My BD390 needs a DVD in it, and come to the dvd's menu when it starts. If it's tray is empty, the tv screen stays black.

As for a replacement, I got some Fire Tv devices and installed KODI to play my local files. The only thing I can't do is Vudu and Cinemanow (so no UltraViolet) And of course, still use the LG's to play discs when needed.

Other bluray players I've looked at used DLNA for playback of personal/local files (which requires a compatible DLNA server, and files to be properly formatted and/or the server to transcode for/during playback.).
Mark_Venture is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 12:38 PM
Member
 
dizzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by davelr View Post
Sorry, just checked mine and it seems fine on the Netflix function.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post
Mine is now a paper weight. Nothing except VUDU works. My player stopped doing Media Streaming and Netflix ages ago. BUT VUDU updated but YouTube didn't. I keep getting "traffic errors". From all LG BD players I have installed the minute another come out yours is EOL and no support. I was having major problems and called and got a nice live stateside English speaking tech rep that put on a list where I would get firmware updates on DVD every time they came out. That stopped ages ago and with it support for the 390. I was surprised as hell that VUDU updated. But nothing else has. So I don't think it's YouTube or Netflix. I kept mine because it did Media Networking so well. Now nothing. Time to go buy another brand. And unless they are really high end, they're pretty cheap these days.
Good news, and hopefully this could be a help to FarmerBob - after doing a factory reset through the settings menu of the player, Netflix is indeed working again.

cheers
dizzie is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 04:24 PM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzie View Post
Good news, and hopefully this could be a help to FarmerBob - after doing a factory reset through the settings menu of the player, Netflix is indeed working again.

cheers
Thank you for the inclusion. I'll try a reset, again, but am more interested in YouTube than Netflix. We do Netflix off our Hoppers with Sling, soon to be Hopper 3's. When they get all the bugs worked out.

Thanks again.
FarmerBob is offline  
Old 03-08-2016, 12:47 AM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Got a notice from Google saying that they thwarted a connection request that coincides with when I tried to connect with the version of YouTube that is left on the 390. It said that an out of date and security risk version of YouTube tried to connect.

So it's the software itself and the machine might be fine, the firmware sucks.
FarmerBob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off