BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 232 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6931 of 6944 Old 08-13-2016, 06:47 PM
Member
 
dreamliner77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone using their BD390 with Windows 10 with the Anniversary update installed?

I can no longer connect to network shares although the media servers still show and connect.
dreamliner77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6932 of 6944 Old 08-16-2016, 08:03 PM
Member
 
dreamliner77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone even still using their BD390?
dreamliner77 is offline  
post #6933 of 6944 Old 08-21-2016, 06:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamliner77 View Post
Is anyone even still using their BD390?
I have mine still hooked up, but I haven't used it in a long while...

i've been using a Fire TV (box) with Kodi (have tried SPMC/MrMC) for streaming my local videos/movies.
Bud-man likes this.
Mark_Venture is online now  
 
post #6934 of 6944 Old 08-21-2016, 01:59 PM
Member
 
dreamliner77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
I have mine still hooked up, but I haven't used it in a long while...

i've been using a Fire TV (box) with Kodi (have tried SPMC/MrMC) for streaming my local videos/movies.

I think I may have to move in that direction
dreamliner77 is offline  
post #6935 of 6944 Old 08-23-2016, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamliner77 View Post
I think I may have to move in that direction
Its worth it.

I use BD-Rebuilder to rebuild my blurays to MKVs. They works great with internal subs too. I don't have to use external SRT files like I did with my BD390/BD570 players. And its a much better gui for navigating my movies.

One negative is that the newer Fire TV's do not have optical audio out... So with my older Pioneer Elite receiver (no HDMI inputs on it) in the family room, I need to keep the older 1st Gen Fire TV box. I'm using a 2nd Gen Fire TV in my bedroom. The 2nd Gen is a little faster navigating the GUI, but doesn't have the optical audio out (however this isn't a problem in the bedroom since I don't have an AV Receiver and surround sound setup).

The Fire TVs also don't support Vudu, Cinemanow, or other Ultraviolet playback.

EDIT: 2nd Gen Fire TV with an HDMI Audio Extractor like https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I4A12JG...I19RJAKZ01E4L1 works to give me optical out... (i.e. this solves the "no HDMI inputs" on my receiver issue)

Last edited by Mark_Venture; 12-09-2016 at 06:07 AM.
Mark_Venture is online now  
post #6936 of 6944 Old 09-24-2016, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
baldylox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have mine....for about 10 more minutes. Suddenly today My Media is locking up and shuts down the player. I've reset everything and no go . Off to find a quick fix. Maybe chromecast
baldylox is offline  
post #6937 of 6944 Old 12-09-2016, 12:16 AM
Member
 
dreamliner77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Its worth it.

I use BD-Rebuilder to rebuild my blurays to MKVs. They works great with internal subs too. I don't have to use external SRT files like I did with my BD390/BD570 players. And its a much better gui for navigating my movies.

One negative is that the newer Fire TV's do not have optical audio out... So with my older Pioneer Elite receiver (no HDMI inputs on it) in the family room, I need to keep the older 1st Gen Fire TV box. I'm using a 2nd Gen Fire TV in my bedroom. The 2nd Gen is a little faster navigating the GUI, but doesn't have the optical audio out (however this isn't a problem in the bedroom since I don't have an AV Receiver and surround sound setup).

The Fire TVs also don't support Vudu, Cinemanow, or other Ultraviolet playback.

Is there a reason to use BD-Rebuilder vs Handbrake or just storing DVD/BD ISO's?
dreamliner77 is offline  
post #6938 of 6944 Old 12-09-2016, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamliner77 View Post
Is there a reason to use BD-Rebuilder vs Handbrake or just storing DVD/BD ISO's?
Direct to ISO of the original disc (i.e. no compression) take up too much space.

I started using BD-Rebuilder years ago when trying to shrink Blurays to fit on a 25gig BDR, or shrink to fit on a DualLayer DVD (i.e. DVD9) disc, and I've stuck with it because of how well its worked. BD-Rebuilder can output BD-25, BD9(dvd9), BD5(dvd5) formats as well as custom size, ISO's. So if you're looking to keep everything but make it smaller.

I could never get Handbrake's output to look clear/sharp.

BD-Rebuilder works, output always looks great, and I found its GUI easier to use, and its options simple to understand. It lets me EASILY pick different output options, different titles/playlists (If I'm doing movie only), handles embedded Subtitles to SRT files (which my BD390 and BD570 needed). It handles embeding subtitles into the MKV files, including FORCED. It can output 3D blurays as HSBS MKV, and it does 3D -> 2D conversion, etc. It handles the different audio tracks and formats, can process to remove HD audio if you wish.

BD-Rebuilder is "donation ware" (donate what you can/want to in order to keep it going), so its worth trying for yourself to compare.

Last edited by Mark_Venture; 12-09-2016 at 06:08 AM.
Mark_Venture is online now  
post #6939 of 6944 Old 12-10-2016, 02:40 PM
Member
 
dreamliner77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Direct to ISO of the original disc (i.e. no compression) take up too much space.

I started using BD-Rebuilder years ago when trying to shrink Blurays to fit on a 25gig BDR, or shrink to fit on a DualLayer DVD (i.e. DVD9) disc, and I've stuck with it because of how well its worked. BD-Rebuilder can output BD-25, BD9(dvd9), BD5(dvd5) formats as well as custom size, ISO's. So if you're looking to keep everything but make it smaller.

I could never get Handbrake's output to look clear/sharp.

BD-Rebuilder works, output always looks great, and I found its GUI easier to use, and its options simple to understand. It lets me EASILY pick different output options, different titles/playlists (If I'm doing movie only), handles embedded Subtitles to SRT files (which my BD390 and BD570 needed). It handles embeding subtitles into the MKV files, including FORCED. It can output 3D blurays as HSBS MKV, and it does 3D -> 2D conversion, etc. It handles the different audio tracks and formats, can process to remove HD audio if you wish.

BD-Rebuilder is "donation ware" (donate what you can/want to in order to keep it going), so its worth trying for yourself to compare.
Thanks!
dreamliner77 is offline  
post #6940 of 6944 Old 01-07-2017, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
mwhybark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
US BD390 region-free hack?

Hi all, thread searches aren't surfacing what I think I need, so I figured I'd just ask.

I scored the BFI multi-disc BR of Gance's "Napoleon" from Amazon around xmas and completely forgot about regionalization issues. Naturally, it's not set to play in the US. Poking around on the web I found hints that ages and ages ago, like circa 2009, Euro BD390 owners were able to reset the players to region-free but US-based owners did not appear to be able to do so.

Thread searches here on 'region free' seem to bring up related issues but no definitive answer to whether this nut was ever cracked. Anybody here recall if a means to reset US BD390s to region-free was ever found and shared?

I haven't tried any of the streaming features on this player in many years, it's still in my stack primarily because none of my other gear to hand is blu-ray and occasionally a BR disc comes through the house.

Thanks in advance!
mwhybark is offline  
post #6941 of 6944 Old 04-20-2017, 11:43 PM
Member
 
dreamliner77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone having trouble connecting to network shares on Windows 10 machines from the BD390, I found a solution that worked for me (finally). See the link below.


https://serverfault.com/questions/51.../716959#716959


Also, Windows 10 built in DLNA server does work albeit very slowly.

Last edited by dreamliner77; 04-20-2017 at 11:46 PM.
dreamliner77 is offline  
post #6942 of 6944 Old 04-21-2017, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamliner77 View Post
For anyone having trouble connecting to network shares on Windows 10 machines from the BD390, I found a solution that worked for me (finally). See the link below.


https://serverfault.com/questions/51.../716959#716959


Also, Windows 10 built in DLNA server does work albeit very slowly.
Awesome! Thanks!!

It works for my LG BD390, not my LG BD570 for some reason... hmm...
Mark_Venture is online now  
post #6943 of 6944 Old 04-21-2017, 02:17 PM
Member
 
dreamliner77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Awesome! Thanks!!

It works for my LG BD390, not my LG BD570 for some reason... hmm...

Glad it worked for the BD390. I know know enough about the BD570, where you connecting to the same Windows box?
dreamliner77 is offline  
post #6944 of 6944 Old Today, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamliner77 View Post
Glad it worked for the BD390. I know know enough about the BD570, where you connecting to the same Windows box?
Yup. Trying to connect both to the same server and share. At the "server list" screen, the BD390 shows the server name with availabke shares underneath, when I select a folder the first time, it asks for my id and password, which I enter, and it lets me in. So that works perfectly.

The BD570 on the other hand, still acts the same as before... "Server list" screen only shows the server name and no folders. Selecting the server loops asking for user id and password, never even letting me see a folder list. (Entering the same ID/PWD in use to log into that server, or others I've created and given access to the share)

It's funny, being newer the BD570 was less pickey than the BD390 in he past. Not the case now.

It's ok, I've long since switched to Kodi on FireTv boxes for local media playback. It works well and has a better on-screen interface. It just doesn't handle my interlaced content well. So if the LG's worked again, that would be a bonus.
Mark_Venture is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off