BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried a different MKV file...nothing. This player is going back shortly. No reason to buy a player and wait for the promised updates.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 01:53 PM
Member
 
bigcstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does the zoom button on the remote offer a vertical stretch to get rid of the black bars? or does it just zoom?
bigcstyle is offline  
post #63 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

Tried a different MKV file...nothing. This player is going back shortly. No reason to buy a player and wait for the promised updates.

Oh c'mon!!! Is not like LG let us down before...oh wait a minute....never mind.
rveras is offline  
post #64 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 04:21 PM
Member
 
bigcstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you play the mkv files? I have tried a number of dvd's with 720 mkv's on them. The player sees it as a data disc but will not allow me to play the movie file.. I also tried some avchd dvds that play well in my ps3. It recognizes the disc as a blu ray but then says to check disc. Please advise
bigcstyle is offline  
post #65 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottChez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can not find anywhere that the Samsungs can do YouTube. No press release or anything on there web site.
Maybe it was in an update, anyone seen it in a store or something?


Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

Yes. Samsung 1600, 2600, 3600 can. I think the 1500, 2500, 2550 can as well. Also the older LG BD300 can.

ScottChez is offline  
post #66 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 1,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle View Post

does the zoom button on the remote offer a vertical stretch to get rid of the black bars? or does it just zoom?

Just zooms, with really (surprisingly) good quality.

My Ridiculously Inexpensive Dedicated Kick *** Home Theaters!
RIDKAHT <The Original>
RIDKAHT <<The Sequel>>
RIDKAHT <<<Part III>>>
docprego is offline  
post #67 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 06:10 PM
Member
 
bigcstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes I ended up buying it and trying it out. If you zoom around 7 or 8. It is basically full screen with very little clipping on the sides. Now if only I could figure out how to get it to play avchd and my mkv files. This would be a dream player
bigcstyle is offline  
post #68 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle View Post

How do you play the mkv files? I have tried a number of dvd's with 720 mkv's on them. The player sees it as a data disc but will not allow me to play the movie file.. I also tried some avchd dvds that play well in my ps3. It recognizes the disc as a blu ray but then says to check disc. Please advise

Well, when I plug in the USB drive it "highlights" the "Movie" icon and when I select it nothing happens. Now if I select Photo it opens it up and I can the few I put on. At this point I'm done. The front USB for 1.1/2.0 is BS and apparently I can't even bring up the pop-up menu while watching a movie unless one is inserted. This is going back shortly and I'll go ahead and order my Mac Mini for my "other" movie playing, Netflix needs.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #69 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 1,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle View Post

yes I ended up buying it and trying it out. If you zoom around 7 or 8. It is basically full screen with very little clipping on the sides. Now if only I could figure out how to get it to play avchd and my mkv files. This would be a dream player

If you zoom what? I found that 2.35:1 or 2.40:1 movies required 15 or 16 (out of 16) to zoom to full screen on my 16:9 screen.

My Ridiculously Inexpensive Dedicated Kick *** Home Theaters!
RIDKAHT <The Original>
RIDKAHT <<The Sequel>>
RIDKAHT <<<Part III>>>
docprego is offline  
post #70 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 10:05 PM
Member
 
bigcstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by docprego View Post

If you zoom what? I found that 2.35:1 or 2.40:1 movies required 15 or 16 (out of 16) to zoom to full screen on my 16:9 screen.

Im not sure which aspect ratio is which, but for transformers and transporter 3 on blu ray. I was able to get almost no black bars at around 8 zoom with very little taken off the sides.
bigcstyle is offline  
post #71 of 6915 Old 03-23-2009, 10:07 PM
Member
 
bigcstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

Well, when I plug in the USB drive it "highlights" the "Movie" icon and when I select it nothing happens. Now if I select Photo it opens it up and I can the few I put on. At this point I'm done. The front USB for 1.1/2.0 is BS and apparently I can't even bring up the pop-up menu while watching a movie unless one is inserted. This is going back shortly and I'll go ahead and order my Mac Mini for my "other" movie playing, Netflix needs.

So there is no way to play an mkv file off of a dvd? Whats the deal with AVCHD? the player has the avchd logo on it but will not play any of my movies. They work excellent on the ps3?

I still think its a bit early to take this player back. It has some really nice features and I think with a few firmware upgrades will be great. We are just being picky..
bigcstyle is offline  
post #72 of 6915 Old 03-24-2009, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle View Post

So there is no way to play an mkv file off of a dvd? Whats the deal with AVCHD? the player has the avchd logo on it but will not play any of my movies. They work excellent on the ps3?

I still think its a bit early to take this player back. It has some really nice features and I think with a few firmware upgrades will be great. We are just being picky..

I don't have access (or make) AVCHD movies.

And no, not being picky. This thing should do most of what it was advertised to do right out of the box (with the newest firmware). How long do I need to wait for the features promised?
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #73 of 6915 Old 03-24-2009, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Paul Beck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GizmoDVD, have you had a chance to sample some SD DVD discs yet? I have a very large collection of SD (and 962 HD discs!). I noticed that the PS3 does not do a very good job on SD discs. Currently I am using a Pioneer Elite DV48 for SD and would like just one player.
By the way, Amazon now lists the LG BD390 for May 4, 2009. That would be my choice if the two players are the same except for the WIFI which I need for my system.
Paul Beck is offline  
post #74 of 6915 Old 03-24-2009, 04:17 PM
Member
 
bigcstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

I don't have access (or make) AVCHD movies.

And no, not being picky. This thing should do most of what it was advertised to do right out of the box (with the newest firmware). How long do I need to wait for the features promised?

Yeah I understand.. What all features were promised that arent available yet other than AVCHD, MKV.. Those were the 2 biggest for me. I love the zoom function but a vertical stretch would be great as well.
bigcstyle is offline  
post #75 of 6915 Old 03-24-2009, 06:33 PM
Member
 
artifact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottChez View Post

I can not find anywhere that the Samsungs can do YouTube. No press release or anything on there web site.
Maybe it was in an update, anyone seen it in a store or something?

The Samsungs do not have You Tube included.
artifact is offline  
post #76 of 6915 Old 03-24-2009, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
karlsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baker City, OR
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle View Post

How do you play the mkv files?

Use ConvertXtoDVD to burn them to disk.

Karl S.
karlsch is offline  
post #77 of 6915 Old 03-24-2009, 07:30 PM
Member
 
oaacdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle View Post

What's the deal with AVCHD? the player has the avchd logo on it but will not play any of my movies.

To make my AVCHD discs to play, I had to make sure that the following file structure are the only folders in the root of the 2.5 UDF disc:


BDMV, do not include the CERTIFICATE folder.

Withing the BDMV, the following 4 folders:
BACKUP (withing BACKUP, delete BDJO)
CLIPNF
PLAYLIST
STREAM

and the following 2 files:
index.bdmv
MovieObject.bdmv

In short, from the structure, delete CERTIFICATE, AUXDATA, BDJO, META, JAR before burning the disc.

This is how AVCHD works for me on the LG BD300.
oaacdi is offline  
post #78 of 6915 Old 03-24-2009, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 1,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle View Post

Im not sure which aspect ratio is which, but for transformers and transporter 3 on blu ray. I was able to get almost no black bars at around 8 zoom with very little taken off the sides.

I checked both of those and they are both 2.35:1. On my 16:9 screen 2.35:1 movies require 15 or 16 level zoom to eliminate the black bars and that results in a lot of the image taken off the sides.

There is only one possible explanation I can think of for the difference we are experiencing. You (most likely) are not using a screen in the same aspect ratio as I am, mine is 16:9. Yours must be wider than mine to explain this difference. Is it a purchased or DIY screen (I'm guessing DIY)?

My Ridiculously Inexpensive Dedicated Kick *** Home Theaters!
RIDKAHT <The Original>
RIDKAHT <<The Sequel>>
RIDKAHT <<<Part III>>>
docprego is offline  
post #79 of 6915 Old 03-25-2009, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Surge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Two questions guys. One, does the 370 work wireless to the internet as is? Also I have a Samsung P2550 and like it, however it has a handshake issue with the Integra 9.9 and does not want to do 24p. How would the two compair if I found a way to get the 24p to work with a walkaround? Thanks for any help.
Surge is offline  
post #80 of 6915 Old 03-25-2009, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 1,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surge View Post

Two questions guys. One, does the 370 work wireless to the internet as is? Also I have a Samsung P2550 and like it, however it has a handshake issue with the Integra 9.9 and does not want to do 24p. How would the two compair if I found a way to get the 24p to work with a walkaround? Thanks for any help.

No wireless, the 390 adds that. Not sure about your other question but I do recall seeing 1080/24p in one of the setup menus.

My Ridiculously Inexpensive Dedicated Kick *** Home Theaters!
RIDKAHT <The Original>
RIDKAHT <<The Sequel>>
RIDKAHT <<<Part III>>>
docprego is offline  
post #81 of 6915 Old 03-27-2009, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
digitok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I purchased a BD370 yesterday and it works perfectly for playing DivX files from my USB Flash Drive (16GB) - I plug it in and the "Photo" and "Music" icons light up correctly.

However, if I plug in my 2.5" non-powered external 320GB hard drive, the Photo and Music icons do not light up, and pressing Movie just takes me straight to the DVD that's in the drive, rather than the Disc/USB option.

Any help on this?? This is the only reason I sold my PS3 (because I didn't play the games) and bought this to replace it and my DVD player.

Dan
digitok is offline  
post #82 of 6915 Old 03-27-2009, 09:03 PM
Member
 
rudytx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitok View Post

Hey guys,

I purchased a BD370 yesterday and it works perfectly for playing DivX files from my USB Flash Drive (16GB) - I plug it in and the "Photo" and "Music" icons light up correctly.

However, if I plug in my 2.5" non-powered external 320GB hard drive, the Photo and Music icons do not light up, and pressing Movie just takes me straight to the DVD that's in the drive, rather than the Disc/USB option.

Any help on this?? This is the only reason I sold my PS3 (because I didn't play the games) and bought this to replace it and my DVD player.

Dan

I think it only supports FAT16 or FAT32 formats, correct? Is your external HD on one of these formats?
rudytx is offline  
post #83 of 6915 Old 03-27-2009, 11:48 PM
Newbie
 
digitok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry mate, forgot to mention that it is definitely FAT32 format! This is why it's so annoying!

Dan
digitok is offline  
post #84 of 6915 Old 03-28-2009, 01:03 AM
Newbie
 
digitok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could the issue be that the DVD player isn't supplying enough power to spin my 2.5" drive?

My drive is a low-power consumption one that only requires 500mA which USB2 is supposed to be able to handle... Anyone have any more info on this?

Dan
digitok is offline  
post #85 of 6915 Old 03-28-2009, 02:33 AM
Newbie
 
Elesias13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: France
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The last firmware upgrade changed my SD DVD zone : so now, I can't play my DVD except all zone, and Zone 1 (I'm from Europe ^^) ...
Elesias13 is offline  
post #86 of 6915 Old 03-28-2009, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
syed786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the us version does not play divx or mkv only the european bd370 version player does i have the us version i tried divx files but no luck that is why when you go to the US lg site there is no divx or mkv listed under bd370 but when you click on bd390 you will see that it will play mkv and divx under specification
syed786 is offline  
post #87 of 6915 Old 03-28-2009, 11:47 AM
Member
 
artyusmce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tehachapi, Ca.
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay i will attempt to stir the pot, does the 100.00 price difference, between the 390 and 370, for wireless and 1 gig worth it?
artyusmce is offline  
post #88 of 6915 Old 03-28-2009, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Emannikcufesin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by artyusmce View Post

Okay i will attempt to stir the pot, does the 100.00 price difference, between the 390 and 370, for wireless and 1 gig worth it?

Let's not forget the 7.1 analog out as well. All that being said, yes it is worth it to me.
Emannikcufesin is offline  
post #89 of 6915 Old 03-28-2009, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by syed786 View Post

the us version does not play divx or mkv only the european bd370 version player does i have the us version i tried divx files but no luck that is why when you go to the US lg site there is no divx or mkv listed under bd370 but when you click on bd390 you will see that it will play mkv and divx under specification

Ahhh ha! So this one is going back today then. Thanks for nothing LG!
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #90 of 6915 Old 03-29-2009, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Emannikcufesin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a little disappointed that the BD-390 doesn't retain the stylish look of the BD-370.
Emannikcufesin is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off