BD370/390 LG Blu-ray player Master/Owners thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 6915 Old 03-29-2009, 08:04 PM
Member
 
jonathan_little's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a problem with the device losing its Netflix activation. It has happened twice now since I bought the machine last weekend.
jonathan_little is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 6915 Old 04-01-2009, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottChez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the Blue Pic Quality on the new BD370 2009 model?

Th LGs seem to be the only ones with all 3, YouTube AND Netflix AND BLue Ray. I really want this. But I am worried about the Picture issues in Blue Ray.

I have read in some reviews of its sister last years model that the older model 2008 had problems on BLue Rays?

Is it fixed now? Could someone that has one please check? If you dont have the HQV test CD can you test with the listed movies and report back please. I am sure many are wondering.

Here is the link to the list of issues from last years sister model in the cnet review:
(its under the blue ray performance section)

http://reviews.cnet.com/video-player...l?tag=txt;page

List of Issues in last years mode. No test reported yet on this years, but I assume they might be using the same Blue Ray Chip for the 2009 models.


1. HQV Test Blue Ray

a.
"The BD300 failed the test--the most detailed sections looked strobelike, and showed no detail where there should be several individual lines"

b.
"panning shot across Raymond James Stadium--betraying some slight moire"

c.
"It also did poorly on video-based jaggies tests, showing tons of jaggies on a test pattern with three pivoting lines, as well as a test with a rotating white line."

2. Ghost Rider

"First up was the end of chapter 6 in Ghost Rider, and the BD300 performed well--we couldn't make out any moire in the grille of the RV as the camera pulls away."

3. Mission Impossible 3

"chapter 8 of Mission Impossible: III and again the BD300 performed well with no jaggies in the stairs in the background. "

4. Tony Bennett

"We also looked at some of the video-based portions of Tony Bennett: American Classic. Here, the BD300 didn't do so well. For example, at the beginning of chapter 7, we could see plenty of jaggies on the opening graphics and clapperboard, as well as on the shirts of the dancers that followed. The jaggies showed up again in chapter 14, as we could see them in several time in the dancers' canes."


5. 24p

Also if anyone is seeing any Jaggies on ANY movie. Do they go away if you switch to 24p mode?
ScottChez is offline  
post #93 of 6915 Old 04-03-2009, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
carbon summit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless a firmware update has fixed any of those problems you mentioned the 300 and the 370 are basicly the same unit.

From an email from LG:

Thank you for inquiring of LG Electronics. Your e-mail regarding your concern has been received. They don't have any differences, the BD370 was replacing the BD300 because it was no need for updates like the Netflix update, because is already included and the audio capabilities are the same.

If you have other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us again either via email, or by calling our customer service division at 800-243-0000 at your convenience.

Virginia Q.

E-mail Administrator Customer Interactive Center LGEAI

This communication is confidential, intended only for the named recipient(s) above and may contain trade secrets or other information that is exempt from disclosure under applicable law. Any use, dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication by anyone other than the named recipient(s) is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please immediately notify us by calling 256-772-0623. Thank you.
carbon summit is offline  
post #94 of 6915 Old 04-03-2009, 03:30 PM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 10,999
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Is there a way to keep my BD370 from turning itself off after inactivity?

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the AVS Club and help support the site. Help Support AVS Forum Sponsors.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #95 of 6915 Old 04-06-2009, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone confirmed that the 370 actually plays AVC HD? I have recently picked up a HD camcorder, and while I love my Samsung BD-UP5000, it falls short where the ability to playback recorded HD content is concerned.

I am planning to pick up the 390, when it appears on the shelves of my local retailer and am eagerly awaiting reviews of the 370, and any advance reviews of the 390.

Regards,
Spence

SpenceJT

www.spenceplace.com

"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #96 of 6915 Old 04-07-2009, 07:38 AM
Member
 
pwmguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else experience choppy playback of Netflix when unit is set for 1080p?

If I run 1080i, 720p etc it plays fine. Just chokes at 1080p either 60 or 24.

I bought the unit for Divx Playback and Netflix. Now that I found the US model doesn't do Divx, and you have to change resolutions every time you stream netflix, it's looking more likely that it may have to go back.

One last gripe, Putting the only USB port behind a hinged door that won't close when you have anything plugged in to it, really?
pwmguy is offline  
post #97 of 6915 Old 04-07-2009, 09:13 AM
Member
 
mister wiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang View Post

Is there a way to keep my BD370 from turning itself off after inactivity?

Just keep teasing it to keep it on or until it ejects?








please don't ban me
mister wiggles is offline  
post #98 of 6915 Old 04-07-2009, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
svempa203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the 370 handles Netflix streams better than Roku? i.e. does it add any video processing? are the controls better? does it use the memory stick to buffer the streamed video for steadier playback?
svempa203 is offline  
post #99 of 6915 Old 04-07-2009, 01:05 PM
Member
 
pwmguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At any resolution other than 1080p, it does a great job on Netflix. Buffers quickly and looks great. I will say the picture quality is as good, if not better than when I use my Media Center PC. The Roku has only an output of 480, but is capable of 1080i. Not having seen a Roku I can only speculate that this is better. But, since the Roku is limited to 480 right now, I think that is safe to say.
pwmguy is offline  
post #100 of 6915 Old 04-07-2009, 05:20 PM
Member
 
xgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure, but isn't Netflix only broadcast in 720 for Blu-Ray? That MAY be the reason.

BTW, have a 390 on order from ABT Electronics for $379.05 ($20. coupon code found online)free shipping and no tax.
xgin is offline  
post #101 of 6915 Old 04-08-2009, 06:21 AM
Member
 
pwmguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure they are not streaming 1080p by any means. But, I would have thought the BD370 would have been able to scale it up to 1080p without dropping frames. I would like to set the output and just leave it at 1080p.
pwmguy is offline  
post #102 of 6915 Old 04-08-2009, 09:48 PM
Member
 
xgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope you get a solid answer because I will probably run into the same problem.
xgin is offline  
post #103 of 6915 Old 04-09-2009, 04:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am replacing my Samsung BD-UP5000, and currently have the LG BD390, and the Samsung BD-P3600 on my short list. I am leaning toward the Samsung because in addition to NetFlix, it can stream content (jpeg, mp3, divx, etc.) from within my local network.

Can anyone tell me if the current LG model/s has this functionality, or any plans to add this functionality to their players?

If it were not for this one feautre, I would be leaning toward the far better looking LG product. Samsung's BD-P3600 is so damn ugly.

SpenceJT

www.spenceplace.com

"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #104 of 6915 Old 04-09-2009, 11:00 AM
Member
 
mister wiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anymore experiences whether or not USB drives will work with this unit? I've been toying wit the idea of getting a media player to play shows i DL on my tv. i figured i could kill 2 birds with 1 stone getting this player, but if that's not the case, i will re-evaluate my options.
mister wiggles is offline  
post #105 of 6915 Old 04-09-2009, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tes7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan_little View Post

I have a problem with the device losing its Netflix activation. It has happened twice now since I bought the machine last weekend.

I've had my BD370 for a little over two weeks now and have been using Netflix since day one(yes, there is a new firmware available, has been since a few days after the player launched)and haven't had any dropouts or other problems with it for that matter.I am running it wired through to my router and have an 8mps download pipeline via Comcast.Who is your broadband provider and what throughput do you have.If you have Netflix streaming down through DSL, this might be your problem, especially if it's dropping out on streaming HD programming from Netflix.
Tes7769 is offline  
post #106 of 6915 Old 04-09-2009, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tes7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by svempa203 View Post

Does anyone know if the 370 handles Netflix streams better than Roku? i.e. does it add any video processing? are the controls better? does it use the memory stick to buffer the streamed video for steadier playback?


The BD370(AND 390 for that matter)both can stream all types of Netflix content(including HD),while the Roku can stream HD conent, it's only up to 720p and the picture is generally not nearly as good as those found on the Samsung BD-P2550/2500/3600 and the LG BD 370/390(Even the Xbox 360 has a better streaming Netflix picture than can use full HD and user friendly fast forward/rewind features).The bluray players and the 360 also have dedicated picture upscaling whereas the Roku unit is VERY basic and compares poorly to the bluray players and 360.
Tes7769 is offline  
post #107 of 6915 Old 04-09-2009, 06:05 PM
Newbie
 
svempa203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the input of Roku vs the 370. However, I have not seen any mention that the 370 does any upscaling on streamed sources, only on standard DVD's.
svempa203 is offline  
post #108 of 6915 Old 04-10-2009, 04:02 PM
Newbie
 
ducks4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"I purchased a BD370 yesterday and it works perfectly for playing DivX files from my USB Flash Drive (16GB) - I plug it in and the "Photo" and "Music" icons light up correctly"

I assume you have a European (non-US, anyway) version?

I'm getting to be a fan of DivX - decent quality on small file (700 mb for full length movie, 5 movies on a 4gb flash drive or a CD for a full movie). Anybody have thoughts about Pioneer DV-420V (new in June) or DV49AV (hopefully as compared with the Euro version of BD370 which should be equivalent to BD390 for these).
ducks4 is offline  
post #109 of 6915 Old 04-12-2009, 09:08 AM
Member
 
dburckh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if anybody noticed this yet, but the spec. sheet from the LG site has the 390 supporting dlna. Does this mean it's going to stream from a Upnp server?

Blu-Ray + Netflix + Divx HD + Upnp = When can I get one?
dburckh is offline  
post #110 of 6915 Old 04-12-2009, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
STEELERSRULE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Western PA
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a question about the YouTube experience with this player, and others who may get it in the future due to a firmware upgrade.

Anyway, how is the YouTube feature? Is it like the web experience in the sense that you enter in the search box for anything you want?

Can you sign in as a member(if you already are one), and search for videos that way?

These are my main questions, especially with the search function. If you can search directly from the player, that would be great.

In other words, unlike Netflix, where you have to load up your Instant streaming Que using a computer, does the LG, and others, avoid this by letting you do all the searching from the unit, leaving out your home computer?
STEELERSRULE is offline  
post #111 of 6915 Old 04-12-2009, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
STEELERSRULE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Western PA
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Never Mind. I just read a review of the BD300 with screenshots, and it looks like you can easily do a search for YouTube videos. I am guessing that the BD370 does this as well.
STEELERSRULE is offline  
post #112 of 6915 Old 04-14-2009, 03:29 AM
Newbie
 
sharnyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

I have several MKV files that have problems playing from this player. I use external USB drive with FAT32 to load the MKV files.

When playing these files, the player displayss the message saying the file may not play correctly. I press 'Continue' and the file still plays except that it shows some pixelations. Not all but sometimes depending on the file.

Anybody seen this problem. All files are at 1080p. The problem is some files work perfectly. I am still not able to tell the difference between these files.
sharnyo is offline  
post #113 of 6915 Old 04-14-2009, 05:07 AM
Member
 
pwmguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharnyo View Post

Guys,

I have several MKV files that have problems playing from this player. I use external USB drive with FAT32 to load the MKV files.

Sharnyo, are you using a US version of this device?
pwmguy is offline  
post #114 of 6915 Old 04-14-2009, 09:16 AM
Member
 
dubbo07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This LG bd370 is an excellent BD Player, Netflix streamer, and Youtube player. Does all that exceptionally well. PQ looks great. Load time is not bad. Let's get this out of the way - this machine will not stream media over network. It does not have a wireless network.

Keep in mind that the BD390 Version is $100 more and does offer ALOT more. Only the 390 model list MKV and Divx support for the US Versions while 370 model does not (not sure if 370 actually does, but I couldnt get it to work and it's not listed on the spec sheet). It also include wireless and 1GB internal memory for BD Live. It also list DLNA capability. I think 390 is worth the extra cost. If you just want a bluray player with Netflix and Youtube then the 370 is all you need. If you want wireless + 1GB internal memory + MKV and Divx support + DLNA then pay extra for the 390.
dubbo07 is offline  
post #115 of 6915 Old 04-14-2009, 10:03 AM
Member
 
pwmguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess my 370 will go back then. I wonder if I can customer config a 390 and leave out the wireless for a usb port in the back?
pwmguy is offline  
post #116 of 6915 Old 04-14-2009, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
sharnyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwmguy View Post

Sharnyo, are you using a US version of this device?

Mine is for Asia region, Bluray code A and DVD region 3.
I've upgraded the driver and software version to the latest over Internet. Same problem.

Don't know why some files don't work. And I can't find any specification to what kind of MKV format is supported by this player.
sharnyo is offline  
post #117 of 6915 Old 04-14-2009, 09:23 PM
Member
 
lakerstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news on Pandora being available for the 390?
lakerstan is offline  
post #118 of 6915 Old 04-15-2009, 04:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just picked one of these up the other day, for my 2nd TV(I have a PS3 on my primary) and I gotta tell ya, I am impressed with it so far. The picture looks great and the added bonus of YouTube and Nextflix make this thing WELL worth the BestBuy sale price this week(nevermind the free BluRay disc too).

I am impressed by how well the YouTube videos look. I was expecting them to look like crappola, but they are quite good, even in full screen.

I haven't played many disks on it yet, so I can't comment on how well it plays my collection, the one I did view(Quantum of Solace) looked and sounded great.
Chuck_IV is offline  
post #119 of 6915 Old 04-15-2009, 05:28 AM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 10,999
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 291
I'll have to go get my $50 back from BB. I paid $299 a couple weeks ago. I don't see a free DVD offer though. Was it in Sunday's flyer?

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the AVS Club and help support the site. Help Support AVS Forum Sponsors.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #120 of 6915 Old 04-15-2009, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You have to order it thru BestBuy.com, to get the free Blu-Ray(it's under the Special Offers on the product page... any blu-ray player actually, not just this one). I ordered thru the website and did the instore pickup on both.

The selection they offer for the free one is typical blah tho.

**EDIT**

As an FYI, I noticed that as of today(Thursday), the free Blu-Ray offer is gone.
Chuck_IV is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off