Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 1075 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #32221 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
fitzcaraldo215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post

The dialogue in my system system is now less than clear, mumbly is the best way to describe it. At one point earlier it was fine. I am using an HDMI connection to my pre-amp. Are there any Oppo 83 settings that I can check to make sure it is optimized for dialogue?

Thank you.

No, but make sure your center channel speaker/amp are working.
fitzcaraldo215 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32222 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Duck05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: No. Calif (Bay Area)
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Great explanation and right on target. Most consumers have never heard of Oppo and do not appreciate the capabilities of these players (and in many cases not miss then, either).

The price differential often stops most people as all they really want is a "player" and do not understand the nuances that these players provide. This forum is an excellent education opportunity but trying to sift through so many posts is frustrating to most novices.

The FAQ and the first post contains the "meat" but it is still a lot to absorb for someone wanting just a "blu ray player" and expecting to be similar to DVD.
Duck05 is offline  
post #32223 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be interesting to look back and see the number of posts that discussed the "upcoming" -83 after the announcement that Oppo had seeded beta units to the fortunate few, and during the "nifty fifty" period. That alone sparked quite a few posts on this thread.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #32224 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

My feeble memory recalls this issue being reported before. However the player should eject any disc by using the eject button in a standby state.

Logical errors may occur due to a blank disc being put in (player tries to read the disc prior to ejecting, which causes some kind of logic loop. Shouldn't occur, but who knows).

Quote:


Obviously, the fix is to avoid loading any blank discs.

Blank discs have been known to completely kill the laser head. Do not put a blank disc in the player.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #32225 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 09:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Logical errors may occur due to a blank disc being put in (player tries to read the disc prior to ejecting, which causes some kind of logic loop. Shouldn't occur, but who knows).

In theory, from a standby state the disc should be ejected before any read command is initiated in the loader. Unless the loader is never really switched off, which is possible. Perhaps the original loader is different in this regard. We know that the newer loaders open in 4 sec from the power-on command, which is not enough time to read a disc or even check for a disc.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #32226 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Good point rdgrimes on newer loader vs older loader.
Seems a good chance that may be the answer to whether the particular disc in question will or will not eject.

Neuromancer, suggesting a blank disc may kill the laser is a shocking revelation!
So again, I reiterate...

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #32227 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
fallenbuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

In the FF bug I recall playback would skip ahead 4 minutes 15 seconds (= 255 seconds, a suspicious number). I have not seen that for a long time. Are you running current firmware? If you are seeing it or other skipping behavior and can replicate it you should certainly work with OPPO support on it.

Happens to me all the time with the current firmware. Not a big deal, but quite annoying nonetheless.
fallenbuddha is offline  
post #32228 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 02:09 PM
Gov
AVS Special Member
 
Gov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NW Burbs of Chgo, IL
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenbuddha View Post

Happens to me all the time with the current firmware. Not a big deal, but quite annoying nonetheless.

Ditto!

Panny TC-P65VT60 (calibrated by Chad B), Denon AVR-4311, Comcast X1 DVR, Apple TV 3, Sony BDP-S5100,  Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers (mains), Horizon (CC) and HTM-200's (Surr), Dual PSA XV15 Subwoofers!!
Gov is offline  
post #32229 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 02:20 PM
Member
 
NutFlush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I just got my OPPO BDP 83-SE and connected it to my Epson EH-TW5500 projector via HDMI (direct cable link not going through amplifier, because I only use the analog outs).

What I experience is that it takes a long time (more than 5 to 10 seconds) to get a stable picture. Prior to that all I see is black with some erratic vertical lines jumping around. Especially the Transformers BluRay takes a long time and I miss a few seconds of the animated menues.

Any ideas if this is a problem caused by the OPPO or rather by the EPSON? Or is this HDMI at work (all kind of talking back and forth between the components)?

Any settings I should change to speed up the sync?

Thanks for your input!
NutFlush is offline  
post #32230 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 02:28 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush View Post

Hi,

I just got my OPPO BDP 83-SE and connected it to my Epson EH-TW5500 projector via HDMI (direct cable link not going through amplifier, because I only use the analog outs).

What I experience is that it takes a long time (more than 5 to 10 seconds) to get a stable picture. Prior to that all I see is black with some erratic vertical lines jumping around. Especially the Transformers BluRay takes a long time and I miss a few seconds of the animated menues.

Any ideas if this is a problem caused by the OPPO or rather by the EPSON? Or is this HDMI at work (all kind of talking back and forth between the components)?

Any settings I should change to speed up the sync?

Thanks for your input!

It takes two to handshake so it is probably a joint problem. Is this the first HDMI source you have connected to the display?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #32231 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 06:04 PM
Member
 
mikejedi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Hello all, I just ordered a OPPO BDP-83 about 3 hours ago! Thanks smarty pants and others who have given me advice on buying this unit.. I can't wait and super-excited.. will probably retire my Oppo 980 which has been great and will retire my BDP-05 Pioneer .. i will kill two birds with one stone and have a better unit overall.. Thanks again to this forum and people.. i had help choosing my YAMAHA rx-v2700 years ago here and am still quite happy with the unit.. it powers my Def Tech 7002 and clr 2500 and sunfire subwoofer to amazing clean levels..looking forward to the oppo!! I finally pulled the trigger!

Mike in Vegas
mikejedi123 is offline  
post #32232 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Tristan944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejedi123 View Post

Thanks smarty pants and others who have given me advice on buying this unit.. I can't wait and super-excited. Thanks again to this forum and people.
Mike in Vegas

I agree, the people in here rock!
Tristan944 is offline  
post #32233 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay5298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Oppo plans on a firmware update to allow compatiblility of these type of discs?
Jay5298 is offline  
post #32234 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanMan View Post

It doesn't but the aesthetics of integrating with the rest of the kit to create an attractive gear rack has value to some folks. To some folks, it apparently is worth spending and extra $2k. Its not my place to judge how valuable a person finds a feature.

Thanks for sharing your deep insight about "features"!
Mactavish is offline  
post #32235 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styln View Post

Very subtle hint

Styln

[begin CD-R FAQ quote]

There are pens recommended specifically for writing on CD-Rs. Examples
include the Dixon Ticonderoga "Redi Sharp Plus", the Sanford
"Powermark", TDK "CD Writer", and Smart and Friendly "CD Speed Marker".
Some of these are relabeled Staedtler Lumocolor transparency markers,
which are water-based. Never use a solvent-based pen on a CD-R.

Many people have had no problems with the popular Sanford "Sharpie"
pens, which are alcohol-based. Other people say they've damaged discs by
writing on them with a Sharpie. In any event, the Ultra Fine pen looks
almost sharp enough to scratch, so sticking with the Fine Point pen is
recommended.

So long as you use the right kind of pen, it's okay to write directly on
the top surface of the CD, label or no. If the prospect makes you
nervous, just write in the clear plastic area near the hub, or only use
discs with a printable top surface.
Mactavish is offline  
post #32236 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 07:43 PM
Member
 
butchgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beautiful Eastern Washington
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any of you had any problems with the playback of this disk?
The reason I ask is now my 83SE will freeze at chapter 7 @ 1:07:32 every time with the latest firmware.
I have sent my disk to Oppo for their evaluation but they will not receive it until tomorrow but I was just curious if anybody else has had this problem.

BDP-95 owner
butchgo is offline  
post #32237 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 07:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay5298 View Post

Does anyone know if Oppo plans on a firmware update to allow compatiblility of these type of discs?

It's being looked into, but the outcome is uncertain since it's a loader issue.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #32238 of 39388 Old 06-21-2010, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
swlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denver area
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by butchgo View Post

Have any of you had any problems with the playback of this disk?
The reason I ask is now my 83SE will freeze at chapter 7 @ 1:07:32 every time with the latest firmware.
I have sent my disk to Oppo for their evaluation but they will not receive it until tomorrow but I was just curious if anybody else has had this problem.

I just tried playing my brand-new BR of The Hunt for Red October on my 83 (latest firmware) -- no problems at all.
swlee is offline  
post #32239 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 12:57 AM
Member
 
NutFlush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

It takes two to handshake so it is probably a joint problem. Is this the first HDMI source you have connected to the display?

-Bill

Until now I had a player that output a signal via DVI that I fed into the EPSON with an adapter from the DVI cable into the HDMI socket. I don't know if there was any handshaking going on (I doubt it).

I would like the OPPO to output BluRay and DVD as 1080p. So I wonder if there's a way to shorten (or suppress) all that handshaking and set the EPSON to this specific input signal?

Any idea what takes so much time?
NutFlush is offline  
post #32240 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 03:36 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush View Post

Until now I had a player that output a signal via DVI that I fed into the EPSON with an adapter from the DVI cable into the HDMI socket. I don't know if there was any handshaking going on (I doubt it).

I would like the OPPO to output BluRay and DVD as 1080p. So I wonder if there's a way to shorten (or suppress) all that handshaking and set the EPSON to this specific input signal?

Any idea what takes so much time?

Not specifically, no. You might try an Epson thread to see what can be done on the display end.

Blu-ray discs often have complicated startup sequences which go through a variety of material, some of which require a new handshake.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #32241 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 03:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Blu-ray discs often have complicated startup sequences which go through a variety of material, some of which require a new handshake.

-Bill

Seems like a good time to mention the War ........






*sighs*

My Home Theatre site + Blog

The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
djos is offline  
post #32242 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 06:22 AM
Member
 
kwolfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush View Post

Until now I had a player that output a signal via DVI that I fed into the EPSON with an adapter from the DVI cable into the HDMI socket. I don't know if there was any handshaking going on (I doubt it).

I would like the OPPO to output BluRay and DVD as 1080p. So I wonder if there's a way to shorten (or suppress) all that handshaking and set the EPSON to this specific input signal?

Any idea what takes so much time?

In the Oppo set Video Setup->Output Resolution to "1080p", not "Auto". The 1080p setting will avoid the handshaking. You will also want to set the 1080p24 Output to "On" since your Epson can handle that just fine.
kwolfman is offline  
post #32243 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

It takes two to handshake so it is probably a joint problem. Is this the first HDMI source you have connected to the display?

-Bill

I have the Oppo 83 going through my Onkyo 5007 HDMI sub out to my Epson 9500UB same as ur 5500 does the same thing on BR Or when I switch to other sources. I believe it is a handshake issue with the Epson. I always miss a couple of seconds of intro whe I start a disc. Only issue I have so far with the Epson at about 90 hrs. Firmware 1.02

william06 is online now  
post #32244 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 06:32 AM
Member
 
NutFlush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwolfman View Post

In the Oppo set Video Setup->Output Resolution to "1080p", not "Auto". The 1080p setting will avoid the handshaking. You will also want to set the 1080p24 Output to "On" since your Epson can handle that just fine.

Yep, I did that already, but it didn't speed anything up.
NutFlush is offline  
post #32245 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush View Post

Yep, I did that already, but it didn't speed anything up.

No difference for me either way. The only thing I never did was to try to imput the oppo directly to the PJ. I do not find this such an inconvienence that I want to keep changing cables. If the Oppo had two HDMI outputs I would just go direct for the PJ.

william06 is online now  
post #32246 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 06:42 AM
Member
 
NutFlush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwolfman View Post

In the Oppo set Video Setup->Output Resolution to "1080p", not "Auto". The 1080p setting will avoid the handshaking. You will also want to set the 1080p24 Output to "On" since your Epson can handle that just fine.

BTW: If I do that (which I did) and I want the OPPO to upscale DVD to 1080p why do I need to set the TV standard? Does it make any difference whether I set it to NTSC or PAL or Auto? Maybe setting it to PAL or NTSC can speed up the "negotiations"???
NutFlush is offline  
post #32247 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 06:48 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush View Post

BTW: If I do that (which I did) and I want the OPPO to upscale DVD to 1080p why do I need to set the TV standard? Does it make any difference whether I set it to NTSC or PAL or Auto? Maybe setting it to PAL or NTSC can speed up the "negotiations"???

PAL or NTSC determines whether the player produces 50hz or 60hz when it is not producing 24hz.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #32248 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush View Post

Yep, I did that already, but it didn't speed anything up.

Do you have HDMI control set to On in either the player, the projector, or both? If so, turn them Off.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #32249 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 09:28 AM
Member
 
NutFlush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Hef View Post

Do you have HDMI control set to On in either the player, the projector, or both? If so, turn them Off.

Sorry, but what do you mean by "HDMI control"? I couldn't find that in the manual either.
NutFlush is offline  
post #32250 of 39388 Old 06-22-2010, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush View Post

Until now I had a player that output a signal via DVI that I fed into the EPSON with an adapter from the DVI cable into the HDMI socket. I don't know if there was any handshaking going on (I doubt it).

I use a DVI connection as well (with forced resolution output) - there are still handshakes, and plenty of them. My understanding is that handshakes are required for ANY use of the HDMI output due to HDCP encryption (DVI is usually HDCP compliant). Just something I've learned to live with.
AvidHiker is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off