Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 1102 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #33031 of 39409 Old 08-07-2010, 06:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene9p View Post


has anyone had any experience with Oppo tech support sending in a player for repair and was it a one time fix for whatever problem you were having?
I am willing to give it a one time chance for fixing this problem.

OPPO has great service, and you probably won't find another company that will tell you they'll repair your player that has no warranty for FREE.
Hear that??? It's OPPOrtunity knocking.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33032 of 39409 Old 08-07-2010, 08:25 AM
cwt
AVS Special Member
 
cwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nsw australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by djos View Post

Hi All, a friend of mine works for a small Aussie Production Company and they've just built a pro-cinema using HD-SDI and discovered that they have no way to play Bluray movies due to HD-SDI not supporting HDCP.

If they buy a OPPO BDP-83SE with HD-SDI Mod, will that solve their problems and does the Oppo HS-SDI mod pass HD Audio or would they have to use the analogue outs (hence why I've suggested the SE model)?

Hi djos ; heres a local company that may be able to help

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/hdlink/
Quote:


Audio outputs are de embedded from the SDI input and then converted to analog at an incredible 24 bit. HDLink supports 6 channels out allowing easy monitoring of 5.1 surround sound audio. Audio is output on RCA connectors so you can easily connect to standard HiFi systems.

http://www.blackmagic-design.com.au/...iniconverters/

Jvb digital have been doing conversions ;but they had to reprogram a modded player iirc due to a new firmware not agreeing
cwt is offline  
post #33033 of 39409 Old 08-07-2010, 08:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwt View Post

Hi djos ; heres a local company that may be able to help

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/hdlink/

http://www.blackmagic-design.com.au/...iniconverters/

Jvb digital have been doing conversions ;but they had to reprogram a modded player iirc due to a new firmware not agreeing

I'd second the advice to go with an external solution for SDI. The available modded players are reported to have nothing but an HDMI->SDI converter built in. KISS, use an external converter so your player is stock.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #33034 of 39409 Old 08-07-2010, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Satcom15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Oppo 83 arrived yesterday. Now its down to the big box store to get a Panny 42 in plasma (G25 model -on sale thru today).
Satcom15 is offline  
post #33035 of 39409 Old 08-07-2010, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

OPPO has great service, and you probably won't find another company that will tell you they'll repair your player that has no warranty for FREE.
Hear that??? It's OPPOrtunity knocking.

yup..and it's going out Monday..

thanks everyone for your input
gene9p is offline  
post #33036 of 39409 Old 08-07-2010, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwt View Post

Hi djos ; heres a local company that may be able to help

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/hdlink/

http://www.blackmagic-design.com.au/...iniconverters/

Jvb digital have been doing conversions ;but they had to reprogram a modded player iirc due to a new firmware not agreeing

Thanks mate but I cant see any mention of HDCP support on the external devices and that is the killer!

EDIT: I just found this in the tech specs:

Quote:


"For legal reasons, capture devices from Blackmagic Design are designed not to capture, convert or transmit video or audio from copy-protected sources, e.g. video devices using HDCP."

Big Content are a bunch of complete retards!

My Home Theatre site + Blog

The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
djos is offline  
post #33037 of 39409 Old 08-07-2010, 11:59 PM
cwt
AVS Special Member
 
cwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nsw australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by djos View Post

Thanks mate but I cant see any mention of HDCP support on the external devices and that is the killer!

Only other device I can think of [ hdcp stripping like a hd fury ? ] requires a vp50 pro .http://www.anchorbaytech.com/product...on_hdi-sdi.php
Didnt know about big content but definately worth reading
http://www.techeye.net/business/big-...piracy-figures

edit; crystalio as well
cwt is offline  
post #33038 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just wanted to report, I am having the tray opening issue with my ~ 1year old unit. All FW up to date etc, my unit is well cared for and moderately used over the last year. I Will be contacting OPPO Monday.

Long Live The Gorn!
bvader is offline  
post #33039 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To the member that was having problems with Kick Ass: I was about to think that I should eject the disc due to it not loading, and quite awhile into the process, a loading screen showed up. You may just not have waited long enough.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #33040 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Kick-Ass will take a minute or so to load. This is particularly true at the BD-Java picture which will fill up 3/4 of the way then look like it freezes. It has not.

Also clear the Persistent Storage if the player never goes past Top Menu with a blank screen on the television.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #33041 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvader View Post

Just wanted to report, I am having the tray opening issue with my ~ 1year old unit. All FW up to date etc, my unit is well cared for and moderately used over the last year. I Will be contacting OPPO Monday.

Or you can E-Mail support and receive this response:

"Disconnect all cables from the player and turn the player upside down. With the front of the player facing away from you, you should see an opening near the front. Inside of this opening there will be a white tab.

Slide this tab all the way to the left. You will hear the tray disengage.

Turn the player right-side up.

Pull the tray all the way out. Once it is fully extended, give the tray a quick tug.

Plug the power cable only into the back of the player. Press POWER.

Does the tray recall?

Press OPEN/CLOSE. Does the tray eject?

Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc.
2629B Terminal Blvd.
Mountain View, CA 94043
Service@oppodigital.com
Tel: 650-961-1118
Fax: 650-961-1119"
Neuromancer is offline  
post #33042 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Or you can E-Mail support and receive this response:

"Disconnect all cables from the player and turn the player upside down. With the front of the player facing away from you, you should see an opening near the front. Inside of this opening there will be a white tab.

Slide this tab all the way to the left. You will hear the tray disengage.

Turn the player right-side up.

Pull the tray all the way out. Once it is fully extended, give the tray a quick tug.

Plug the power cable only into the back of the player. Press POWER.

Does the tray recall?

Press OPEN/CLOSE. Does the tray eject?

Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc.
2629B Terminal Blvd.
Mountain View, CA 94043
Service@oppodigital.com
Tel: 650-961-1118
Fax: 650-961-1119"

Thanks neuro, I will do this. One thing I should have said is that it is an Intermittent failure, is the fix above for an intermittent failure or completely stuck. The behavior mine is exhibiting is that will open after 3-5 attempts, it does not seem to be permanently stuck.

Will report back.

Long Live The Gorn!
bvader is offline  
post #33043 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Makaveli Tha Don's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else have problems with the movie Gamer?

It doesn't play for me unless I ENABLE BD live. How odd is that??
Makaveli Tha Don is offline  
post #33044 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 05:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli Tha Don View Post

Anyone else have problems with the movie Gamer?

It doesn't play for me unless I ENABLE BD live. How odd is that??

All part of the evil BD-Live plot to take over the world.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #33045 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Or you can E-Mail support and receive this response:

"Disconnect all cables from the player and turn the player upside down. With the front of the player facing away from you, you should see an opening near the front. Inside of this opening there will be a white tab.

Slide this tab all the way to the left. You will hear the tray disengage.

Turn the player right-side up.

Pull the tray all the way out. Once it is fully extended, give the tray a quick tug.

Plug the power cable only into the back of the player. Press POWER.

Does the tray recall?

Press OPEN/CLOSE. Does the tray eject?

Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc.
2629B Terminal Blvd.
Mountain View, CA 94043
Service@oppodigital.com
Tel: 650-961-1118
Fax: 650-961-1119"

Well I tried the above... 3 Times and did a factory reset ...no luck...

Does the tray recall? Yes

Press OPEN/CLOSE. Does the tray eject? No. In fact I can't seem to get it to open on its own at all now.

Thanks, It was a good try... guess I will be calling OPPO, bummer.

Long Live The Gorn!
bvader is offline  
post #33046 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 08:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Kick-Ass sure is a pain. I had 859MB free in persistent storage, but I guess that wasn't enough, then it took a few minutes to load, but at least no trailers.

Blu-ray sure is the most user unfriendly format they could devise. Incredibly slow and totally unnecessary java menus, forced trailers that on some discs you can't even skip through, no stop and resume on most discs. And with some movies if you want to buy it you have to pay a lot because they throw in two discs not everyone wants.

Update: disc glitched during one of the key scenes. How frustrating. Initially I found some gunk on the disc, after a thorough cleaning there was no change though. Anybody else have any problems?

Download my IR hex codes for the Denon AVR-4810ci and other Denon receivers here.
For Logitech Harmony support, ask Logitech for the Denon receiver in the account kmickunas.

Keith Mickunas is online now  
post #33047 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 08:59 PM
 
sillysam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvader View Post

Just wanted to report, I am having the tray opening issue with my ~ 1year old unit. All FW up to date etc, my unit is well cared for and moderately used over the last year. I Will be contacting OPPO Monday.

Same thing happened to my unit. Intermittent and then permanent. Couldn't get the tray to open. Oppo replaced the drive.
sillysam is offline  
post #33048 of 39409 Old 08-08-2010, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
narkspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvader View Post

Thanks, It was a good try... guess I will be calling OPPO, bummer.

It appears to be a chronic problem with a certain loader they've been using. Happened to me too. The good news is you now get to experience Oppo's astonishing customer service, which is one of the main reasons a lot of us are here.

It is a bummer, but I bet it won't be as bummy as you might be thinking.
narkspud is offline  
post #33049 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave_6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I guess mine has finally quit reading discs. I seemed to have the same problems everyone else is having with Kick-Ass but it would finally load and play the movie fine. On Saturday afternoon, I put on the new remastered Gladiator and watched part of it and it worked fine. Then went to put Kick-Ass back in, and no matter what I did, it would not ever make it back to the Top Menu. I deleted persistent storage, disabled BD-Live, whatever. I then tried to watch Gladiator again, The Incredible Hulk, WOTW and everytime with them it would just say 'No Disc'.

Any idea(s) on what could be wrong with it?

PSN: DaveS78
Dave_6 is offline  
post #33050 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 06:13 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,449
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_6 View Post

Well I guess mine has finally quit reading discs. I seemed to have the same problems everyone else is having with Kick-Ass but it would finally load and play the movie fine. On Saturday afternoon, I put on the new remastered Gladiator and watched part of it and it worked fine. Then went to put Kick-Ass back in, and no matter what I did, it would not ever make it back to the Top Menu. I deleted persistent storage, disabled BD-Live, whatever. I then tried to watch Gladiator again, The Incredible Hulk, WOTW and everytime with them it would just say 'No Disc'.

Any idea(s) on what could be wrong with it?

It sounds like yet another loader problem - contact Oppo. It does seem like we're seeing a trend of a number of bad loaders all of a sudden here.
gsr is offline  
post #33051 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave_6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ugh. Good thing I have a PS3, even if it is the old, loud hot one.

PSN: DaveS78
Dave_6 is offline  
post #33052 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 06:34 AM
 
sillysam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by narkspud View Post

It appears to be a chronic problem with a certain loader they've been using. Happened to me too. The good news is you now get to experience Oppo's astonishing customer service, which is one of the main reasons a lot of us are here.

Indeed. Oppo made returning and getting back my player as easy as possible. And turnaround was very quick. I can't imagine any better customer service.
sillysam is offline  
post #33053 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
FreyTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amish Country Lancaster, PA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Well, My 83 is only a week or two away from being 1 year old - I'll be keeping my fingers crossed on this tray loader issue... and I probably just jinxed myself posting this...

One good thing, If I would have to send my 83 back for service anytime soon, I'll probably spring to get the SE upgrade done on it while it's in, since I use the 7.1 analog out to a Parasound 7100 for my audio...

FEEL an awesome 3D Blu-ray movie in the Frey Theater - Now with projection in glorious "FREYMAX" 3D!

FreyTheater is offline  
post #33054 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
JimL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysam View Post

Same thing happened to my unit. Intermittent and then permanent. Couldn't get the tray to open. Oppo replaced the drive.

Same for mine as I posted here previously - had to finally send to Oppo and it was fixed and returned very quickly - no further issue, been working perfectly since.
JimL is offline  
post #33055 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 10:47 AM
Member
 
regs4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pleasanton, Ca.
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OPPO will be releasing a new blu ray player ending 2010 or beginning 2011. No details at this time.
regs4 is offline  
post #33056 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 10:55 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,449
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by regs4 View Post

OPPO will be releasing a new blu ray player ending 2010 or beginning 2011. No details at this time.

Hopefully it will add the following features to the BDP-83:

1) FLAC support
2) Digital audio input to use the DAC for external sources
3) HDMI input so the ABT video processor can be used for external sources
3) Smoother fast forward / rewind functionality
4) 3D support
5) Cost $199

I think the above should address most of the questions and complaints that show up here over and over.
gsr is offline  
post #33057 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 10:59 AM
XJ6
Member
 
XJ6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

It sounds like yet another loader problem - contact Oppo. It does seem like we're seeing a trend of a number of bad loaders all of a sudden here.

+1, mine was intermittently exhibiting the problem last week. Out of a few attempts (hitting the eject button on the front panel) it would fail to eject the tray once. Then yesterday it got bad: it happened every time I needed to change the disc. I hate being w/o it for a few days but I think I will have to send it in. Mine is one of the first fifty-nifty, BTW.
XJ6 is offline  
post #33058 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by regs4 View Post

OPPO will be releasing a new blu ray player ending 2010 or beginning 2011. No details at this time.

What's your source?
progprog is offline  
post #33059 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 12:02 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

It sounds like yet another loader problem - contact Oppo. It does seem like we're seeing a trend of a number of bad loaders all of a sudden here.

Same problem here I had to send it to Oppo and even so the warranty had expired the did all the work and I didn't have to pay anything at all including shipping Their turn around time was 24 hours it took longer to get there and to return than to fix the problem

Try that with any other brands, I am looking forward to their next release

Forget Sony, Denon, Marantz.... their customer service is horrendous
wse is online now  
post #33060 of 39409 Old 08-09-2010, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

Hopefully it will add the following features to the BDP-83:

1) FLAC support
2) Digital audio input to use the DAC for external sources
3) HDMI input so the ABT video processor can be used for external sources
3) Smoother fast forward / rewind functionality
4) 3D support
5) Cost $199

I think the above should address most of the questions and complaints that show up here over and over.

lol...

don't forget separate bit rate counters...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off