Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 1312 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only]

Blu-ray Players

ti-triodes's Avatar ti-triodes
04:13 PM Liked: 70
post #39331 of 40079
05-22-2014 | Posts: 2,237
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco70 View Post

That's why they are famous. My BDP-83 still going strong, next release will be upgrade time. My original 971 is still working. And the 983 is still the best up-converting DVD player of all time.

Joe



Don't forget the resale value. I got more for both my 971 and 983 than I paid for them new. Amazing.
dsidney's Avatar dsidney
07:29 PM Liked: 10
post #39332 of 40079
06-02-2014 | Posts: 187
Joined: Nov 2006
Hi.

My 83 had never gave me any trouble before and I love it.

But suddenly my BDP-83 doesn't turn on anymore.

I haven't used for like two months. Then I rent a BR movie and when I tried to turn it on, nothing happens. No even the stand by led turns on.

I find it very strange how that could happen, because none of the other gear connected to the same energy conditioner (Panasonic Plasma, AV receiver, PS3, etc) had any problem.

My usage of it is very mildly.

Has anyone had this problem before ?

Does anyone have an idea what could have happened ?
[/B]

I don't live in USA, so to send it back to Oppo for repair would be cost prohibitive because of shipping costs and customs red tape work to do so.

Here I am afraid I won't find any tech-shop that will fix it.

Any help or input will be very much appreciated.

Thanks a lot.
laserjock II's Avatar laserjock II
07:37 PM Liked: 62
post #39333 of 40079
06-02-2014 | Posts: 582
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsidney View Post

Hi.

My 83 had never gave me any trouble before and I love it.

But suddenly my BDP-83 doesn't turn on anymore.

I haven't used for like two months. Then I rent a BR movie and when I tried to turn it on, nothing happens. No even the stand by led turns on.

I find it very strange how that could happen, because none of the other gear connected to the same energy conditioner (Panasonic Plasma, AV receiver, PS3, etc) had any problem.

My usage of it is very mildly.

Has anyone had this problem before ?

Does anyone have an idea what could have happened ?
[/B]

I don't live in USA, so to send it back to Oppo for repair would be cost prohibitive because of shipping costs and customs red tape work to do so.

Here I am afraid I won't find any tech-shop that will fix it.

Any help or input will be very much appreciated.

Thanks a lot.
The AC power cable is detachable.
Did you check on the unit side to make sure it is seated firmly?
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
07:41 PM Liked: 1014
post #39334 of 40079
06-02-2014 | Posts: 28,039
Joined: Jul 2004
^ Check the power plug both at the wall outlet and at the back of the player to make sure both ends are properly inserted. Use another device to check that the wall plug is truly live. If using a voltage adapter, make sure it is still set to the correct voltage for the player.

If no easy fix that way, unplug the player from wall power, and disconnect EVERYTHING ELSE from the player. Press and hold the power button on the front panel for a few seconds to discharge any residual power. Release that and let the player sit for about 1/2 hour. Plug the player back in (LEAVING EVERYTHING ELSE DISCONNECTED) and see if it turns on using the front panel buttons. Try both the front panel power button and the front panel Tray Open button.

If still no luck, then the player likely needs service. Odds are its power supply has failed.

Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. If they can diagnose what needs to be replaced, they may be able to ship you the parts.
--Bob
dsidney's Avatar dsidney
10:20 AM Liked: 10
post #39335 of 40079
06-04-2014 | Posts: 187
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post

The AC power cable is detachable.
Did you check on the unit side to make sure it is seated firmly?

Hi Laserjock II.

Yes, I checked both ends of the power cord. On the unit side the connector was kind of loose (I am sorry for my English). It was not disconnected but was a bit loose.

I pushed it back in and it was still have some up and down flexibility to move a lite. I pulled it out and put it back but it still have a bit of vertical looseness.

I don't remember to have noticed this before, but I think it should be normal that way to allow the weight of the cable to pull it a bit. This cable is very heavy and pulls the connector vertically downward.

The other end is connected to a Power Conditioner and I tested it in another outlet to make sure, but still nothing happens.

I opened the cover of the 83 and checked the fuse on the power supply board and it seems to be OK, and I didn't notice anything wrong inside or that would look even suspect.

The thing still looks like new inside. Just the usual aspect of high quality build of the Oppo's machines.

The internal part of the connector of the power cord looks normal too (I mean no visual wire broken or smell of burned wire or anything strange).

Thanks a lot for the help.
dsidney's Avatar dsidney
10:37 AM Liked: 10
post #39336 of 40079
06-04-2014 | Posts: 187
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Check the power plug both at the wall outlet and at the back of the player to make sure both ends are properly inserted. Use another device to check that the wall plug is truly live. If using a voltage adapter, make sure it is still set to the correct voltage for the player.

If no easy fix that way, unplug the player from wall power, and disconnect EVERYTHING ELSE from the player. Press and hold the power button on the front panel for a few seconds to discharge any residual power. Release that and let the player sit for about 1/2 hour. Plug the player back in (LEAVING EVERYTHING ELSE DISCONNECTED) and see if it turns on using the front panel buttons. Try both the front panel power button and the front panel Tray Open button.

If still no luck, then the player likely needs service. Odds are its power supply has failed.

Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. If they can diagnose what needs to be replaced, they may be able to ship you the parts.
--Bob

Bob,

Thanks for taking the time to try to help.

As you can see on my reply to Laserjock above, I tested a feel things already.

I am out of home for 16 days now and when I come back I will test your suggestions too. You are possible right on the power supply problem.

In the mean time I will connect Oppo too. They are always willing to help and they respond promptly.

I will let you guys know what will follow as soon as have new facts on this.

Thanks a lot.
laserjock II's Avatar laserjock II
10:07 PM Liked: 62
post #39337 of 40079
06-04-2014 | Posts: 582
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsidney View Post

Hi Laserjock II.

Yes, I checked both ends of the power cord. On the unit side the connector was kind of loose (I am sorry for my English). It was not disconnected but was a bit loose.

I pushed it back in and it was still have some up and down flexibility to move a lite. I pulled it out and put it back but it still have a bit of vertical looseness.

I don't remember to have noticed this before, but I think it should be normal that way to allow the weight of the cable to pull it a bit. This cable is very heavy and pulls the connector vertically downward.

The other end is connected to a Power Conditioner and I tested it in another outlet to make sure, but still nothing happens.

I opened the cover of the 83 and checked the fuse on the power supply board and it seems to be OK, and I didn't notice anything wrong inside or that would look even suspect.

The thing still looks like new inside. Just the usual aspect of high quality build of the Oppo's machines.

The internal part of the connector of the power cord looks normal too (I mean no visual wire broken or smell of burned wire or anything strange).

Thanks a lot for the help.
No problem, I was hoping that was the problem.
I don't remember if there are any fuses on the power board but I could check and do some voltage measurements if you are wanting any of that as well.
dsidney's Avatar dsidney
01:17 AM Liked: 10
post #39338 of 40079
06-05-2014 | Posts: 187
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post

No problem, I was hoping that was the problem.
I don't remember if there are any fuses on the power board but I could check and do some voltage measurements if you are wanting any of that as well.

Hi.
For sure there is a fuse on the power supply board, I saw it when I opened the player.

I didn't do any measurement though, but the fuse is visibly OK.

I appreciate the offer to do measurements but for now I will contact Oppo and see what they say about this.

If their answer didn’t help me then I will try to narrow the search to confirm the problem is in the power supply board and then I might accept your offer to help me further.

Thanks a lot for helping.
rahull's Avatar rahull
06:36 AM Liked: 10
post #39339 of 40079
06-06-2014 | Posts: 271
Joined: Nov 2005
You should either check the fuse voltage or replace it. I have seen them that appear good
but have come loose from the end cap and not work.
ti-triodes's Avatar ti-triodes
04:39 PM Liked: 70
post #39340 of 40079
06-06-2014 | Posts: 2,237
Joined: Mar 2007
^ Agreed. You have to physically test the fuse outside the unit with at least a continuity tester.
dsidney's Avatar dsidney
06:59 PM Liked: 10
post #39341 of 40079
06-07-2014 | Posts: 187
Joined: Nov 2006
Thanks for the tip.

I will check the voltage on the fuse too.

Oppo is willing to help me too, so I am not too concerned anymore with this.

They suggested me to do the same procedure that Bob Pariseau had suggested me above.

I believe this will reset the player to unstuck from any glitch.

In the end I will find out what is going and I will let you know.

It has never happened with my BDP-83 before and neither with my previous Oppo’s 2 DVD players.

Thanks.
gjamesk's Avatar gjamesk
12:30 PM Liked: 10
post #39342 of 40079
06-14-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2007
Has anyone else had problems with this disc set on the BDP-83? Plays fine on the PS3, but doesn't finish loading or play at all on the 83. Thanks for any help.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
12:34 PM Liked: 389
post #39343 of 40079
06-14-2014 | Posts: 17,776
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjamesk View Post
Has anyone else had problems with this disc set on the BDP-83? Plays fine on the PS3, but doesn't finish loading or play at all on the 83. Thanks for any help.
I've seen no reports. Have you tried this procedure: What do I do if a Blu-ray disc will not load or play, or if it freezes the player?

-Bill
gjamesk's Avatar gjamesk
02:00 PM Liked: 10
post #39344 of 40079
06-14-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I've seen no reports. Have you tried this procedure: What do I do if a Blu-ray disc will not load or play, or if it freezes the player?

-Bill
Thanks Bill. That took care of it. I've had this player since its introduction and this is the first issue with any disc.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
02:13 PM Liked: 389
post #39345 of 40079
06-14-2014 | Posts: 17,776
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjamesk View Post
Thanks Bill. That took care of it. I've had this player since its introduction and this is the first issue with any disc.
Very good!

We blame the disc authors for sloppy java programming on their titles, but the player could probably handle the issues more gracefully. It doesn't seem to happen as often on later models.

-Bill
weekendtoy's Avatar weekendtoy
07:59 AM Liked: 59
post #39346 of 40079
06-19-2014 | Posts: 398
Joined: Sep 2005
I was having the 'drawer not wanting to open' problem with my 83. I'm retiring the player down to the rec. room so I sent the unit back to Oppo for repair. I doubt my kids will remember to always leave a disc in the player.


Cleaned, repaired, updated and sent back (with better packaging and a new tote bag) at zero cost.


They easily got my $1,200 for my next player.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
08:10 AM Liked: 389
post #39347 of 40079
06-19-2014 | Posts: 17,776
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendtoy View Post

They easily got my $1,200 for my next player.
Welcome to the cult!

-Bill
Calypte's Avatar Calypte
11:51 PM Liked: 15
post #39348 of 40079
06-20-2014 | Posts: 63
Joined: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendtoy View Post
I was having the 'drawer not wanting to open' problem with my 83. I'm retiring the player down to the rec. room so I sent the unit back to Oppo for repair. I doubt my kids will remember to always leave a disc in the player.


Cleaned, repaired, updated and sent back (with better packaging and a new tote bag) at zero cost.


They easily got my $1,200 for my next player.
After a lightning strike damaged my gear, I sent my BDP-83SE to Oppo for repair ($79 total). It went out on a Monday. It was back in my system four days later. Granted, I benefitted from being in Calif., thus cutting shipping time. But I got it back, fully repaired, while I was still waiting for another vendor to merely crack open the unit I sent to them.
edisonbaggins's Avatar edisonbaggins
02:19 PM Liked: 0
post #39349 of 40079
06-27-2014 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jun 2014
Brand-new OPPO BDP-83 owner here (the unit is used though...)

Just sayin' hey. Lovin' it, so far!!!
yellowcanary73's Avatar yellowcanary73
10:29 PM Liked: 29
post #39350 of 40079
07-05-2014 | Posts: 2,397
Joined: Dec 2006
Anyone else having problems playing 300 Rise Of An Empire on your 83 I've tried everything unplugging power erase storage. But I can put the standard DVD in and it'll play just fine or I guess I could always play it on my 10 year old Panasonic BD10A but prefer to watch it through my projector on my 106 inch screen. Being a double Amputee it get a little hard crawling in and out of a wheelchair to try and get this Oppo to work.
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
12:20 AM Liked: 1014
post #39351 of 40079
07-06-2014 | Posts: 28,039
Joined: Jul 2004
^ Report the disc to OPPO and they can check it out. Give them the bar code number off the disc packaging to be sure they are looking at the identical version.

Try changing your BD-Live setting. Some discs need that turned OFF. Some need it turned ON even if you do not have networking set up.
--Bob
laserjock II's Avatar laserjock II
02:22 PM Liked: 62
post #39352 of 40079
07-10-2014 | Posts: 582
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsidney View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by laserjock II 

No problem, I was hoping that was the problem.
I don't remember if there are any fuses on the power board but I could check and do some voltage measurements if you are wanting any of that as well.


Hi.
For sure there is a fuse on the power supply board, I saw it when I opened the player.

I didn't do any measurement though, but the fuse is visibly OK.

I appreciate the offer to do measurements but for now I will contact Oppo and see what they say about this.

If their answer didn’t help me then I will try to narrow the search to confirm the problem is in the power supply board and then I might accept your offer to help me further.

Thanks a lot for helping.
Did you get a resolution yet?
Whatever1's Avatar Whatever1
06:49 PM Liked: 10
post #39353 of 40079
07-18-2014 | Posts: 91
Joined: Mar 2008
Question,
I have an 83SE and after playing a disc it comes out very warm. I have not noticed this on any other player I have.

Anyone have any thoughts ?
Jive Turkey's Avatar Jive Turkey
05:38 PM Liked: 23
post #39354 of 40079
07-19-2014 | Posts: 1,546
Joined: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whatever1 View Post
Question,
I have an 83SE and after playing a disc it comes out very warm. I have not noticed this on any other player I have.

Anyone have any thoughts ?
Never concerned me.
bebop654's Avatar bebop654
12:25 AM Liked: 10
post #39355 of 40079
07-20-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2011
Hi guys,

I have an Oppo 83 and I was watching Season 1 of Lost on blu ray today and when I went to listen to the commentary the episode starts up and it's on auto fast forward.
The original audio for the episode is 5.1 Dts-Hd and it plays fine but when I switch over to commentary which is 2.0 DD it resumes with a sped up episode. Pressing play again fixes it but I just wanted to know is that normal for it to do that.
The episodes Im watching commentary on are Pilot part 1 and 2, Walkabout and The Moth. They have all done it.

Cheers
Keenan's Avatar Keenan
11:24 AM Liked: 457
post #39356 of 40079
07-20-2014 | Posts: 28,546
Joined: Aug 2003
I think I already know the answer to my question but wanted to check with the very helpful folks here anyway.

I did a search for "drawer sticking"(1 return) and "tray sticking"(many returns) and I believe I suffer from the problem. When the player is not used for several days and I remotely(Harmony) try and open the tray it will stick and "cycle" and just not open. However, just the slightest pressure pulling outward on the the top lip of the tray it will open with a remote command and it will work fine the rest of the evening. After not being used again for a few days this whole sequence repeats itself.

Is a trip to Oppo in order? And will multi-region mods(JVB Digital) be left intact or should they be removed before shipping to Oppo?

Thanks!
rdgrimes's Avatar rdgrimes
11:34 AM Liked: 265
post #39357 of 40079
07-20-2014 | Posts: 16,541
Joined: Mar 2004
^^^
If you always leave a disc in the player it won't do that. But eventually it will wear to the point where nothing helps.
Oppo has been fixing these for free in the past, and turning them around in one day. You don't have to remove the mod, but you might put a note on the player telling them its there and you want to keep it. Of course the safest thing is to remove it, but mention it when you ask for the RMA..
Keenan's Avatar Keenan
12:06 PM Liked: 457
post #39358 of 40079
07-20-2014 | Posts: 28,546
Joined: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
^^^
If you always leave a disc in the player it won't do that. But eventually it will wear to the point where nothing helps.
Oppo has been fixing these for free in the past, and turning them around in one day. You don't have to remove the mod, but you might put a note on the player telling them its there and you want to keep it. Of course the safest thing is to remove it, but mention it when you ask for the RMA..
Ah yes, I remember reading about that trick now.

I will very likely send it down to them eventually, probably a good idea to do it sooner rather than later in case they've(may change) changed their policy on repairing the problem free of charge.

Thanks much!
weekendtoy's Avatar weekendtoy
01:27 PM Liked: 59
post #39359 of 40079
07-20-2014 | Posts: 398
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Ah yes, I remember reading about that trick now.

I will very likely send it down to them eventually, probably a good idea to do it sooner rather than later in case they've(may change) changed their policy on repairing the problem free of charge.

Thanks much!
I recently had my 83 repaired. I believe Oppo's policy is that if the repair requires parts there is a $75 flat fee. My repair didn't cost anything as the description was 'the removal of dust, hair, and lint'.

Either way for me it was money well spent (shipping) just to get it cleaned and checked over as I will be using it in a secondary system for years to come.
Keenan's Avatar Keenan
04:17 PM Liked: 457
post #39360 of 40079
07-20-2014 | Posts: 28,546
Joined: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendtoy View Post
I recently had my 83 repaired. I believe Oppo's policy is that if the repair requires parts there is a $75 flat fee. My repair didn't cost anything as the description was 'the removal of dust, hair, and lint'.

Either way for me it was money well spent (shipping) just to get it cleaned and checked over as I will be using it in a secondary system for years to come.
Yes, the cost is not an issue for me, and I plan to keep the unit for many more years, but free is always nice!
Tags: Blu Ray Players , Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3