Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 1313 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #39361 of 39367 Old 07-22-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Calypte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Anza, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendtoy View Post
I recently had my 83 repaired. I believe Oppo's policy is that if the repair requires parts there is a $75 flat fee. My repair didn't cost anything as the description was 'the removal of dust, hair, and lint'.

Either way for me it was money well spent (shipping) just to get it cleaned and checked over as I will be using it in a secondary system for years to come.
Hmm. They charged me $79 back in April.
Calypte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #39362 of 39367 Old 07-22-2014, 11:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calypte View Post
Hmm. They charged me $79 back in April.
Cheap at twice the price!

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #39363 of 39367 Old 07-23-2014, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calypte View Post
Hmm. They charged me $79 back in April.
The flat fee could be $79 and I just mis-remember. Either way you can't go wrong.


I suppose you could keep the $79 and replace the BDP-83 with a Sansu

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #39364 of 39367 Old 07-24-2014, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Report the disc to OPPO and they can check it out. Give them the bar code number off the disc packaging to be sure they are looking at the identical version.

Try changing your BD-Live setting. Some discs need that turned OFF. Some need it turned ON even if you do not have networking set up.
--Bob
After talking with Oppo and trying everything they told me to try still could not play. They never asked to send in disk they did say that they would report it but wouldn't say it would ever be fixed. So I guess I'll have to watch it on my 10 year old Panasonic BD player and 50 inch instead of my 106 inch screen with sound system.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #39365 of 39367 Old 07-24-2014, 07:54 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ They would only need to borrow your disc if it was one they could not readily purchase. These reports don't get trashed. But if it's a decoder problem they also can't give you a trial fix since that has to be generated by the decoder chip maker.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #39366 of 39367 Old 07-28-2014, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Calypte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Anza, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Several years ago I had an SACD that wouldn't play (hung up after about the 22nd track). Oppo asked me to lend it to them, which I did. The problem was fixed in the next firmware release. I'm currently having a problem with the player chopping off the very first notes. It does this with several different recordings of Beethoven's Eroica Symphony. I've never had a problem with a pop or jazz disc.
Calypte is offline  
post #39367 of 39367 Old 07-29-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowcanary73 View Post
After talking with Oppo and trying everything they told me to try still could not play. They never asked to send in disk they did say that they would report it but wouldn't say it would ever be fixed. So I guess I'll have to watch it on my 10 year old Panasonic BD player and 50 inch instead of my 106 inch screen with sound system.
I haven't got 300 Rise Of An Empire yet but I plan to get the US release and will try it on my '83. Did they at least mention if others had reported the issue? You might post your question in the official thread at Blu-ray.com. Make sure you specify which release you have.
AVfile is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off