Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 1313 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #39361 of 39388 Old 07-22-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Calypte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Anza, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendtoy View Post
I recently had my 83 repaired. I believe Oppo's policy is that if the repair requires parts there is a $75 flat fee. My repair didn't cost anything as the description was 'the removal of dust, hair, and lint'.

Either way for me it was money well spent (shipping) just to get it cleaned and checked over as I will be using it in a secondary system for years to come.
Hmm. They charged me $79 back in April.
Calypte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #39362 of 39388 Old 07-22-2014, 11:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calypte View Post
Hmm. They charged me $79 back in April.
Cheap at twice the price!

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #39363 of 39388 Old 07-23-2014, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calypte View Post
Hmm. They charged me $79 back in April.
The flat fee could be $79 and I just mis-remember. Either way you can't go wrong.


I suppose you could keep the $79 and replace the BDP-83 with a Sansu

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #39364 of 39388 Old 07-24-2014, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Report the disc to OPPO and they can check it out. Give them the bar code number off the disc packaging to be sure they are looking at the identical version.

Try changing your BD-Live setting. Some discs need that turned OFF. Some need it turned ON even if you do not have networking set up.
--Bob
After talking with Oppo and trying everything they told me to try still could not play. They never asked to send in disk they did say that they would report it but wouldn't say it would ever be fixed. So I guess I'll have to watch it on my 10 year old Panasonic BD player and 50 inch instead of my 106 inch screen with sound system.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #39365 of 39388 Old 07-24-2014, 07:54 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 838
^ They would only need to borrow your disc if it was one they could not readily purchase. These reports don't get trashed. But if it's a decoder problem they also can't give you a trial fix since that has to be generated by the decoder chip maker.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #39366 of 39388 Old 07-28-2014, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Calypte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Anza, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Several years ago I had an SACD that wouldn't play (hung up after about the 22nd track). Oppo asked me to lend it to them, which I did. The problem was fixed in the next firmware release. I'm currently having a problem with the player chopping off the very first notes. It does this with several different recordings of Beethoven's Eroica Symphony. I've never had a problem with a pop or jazz disc.
Calypte is offline  
post #39367 of 39388 Old 07-29-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowcanary73 View Post
After talking with Oppo and trying everything they told me to try still could not play. They never asked to send in disk they did say that they would report it but wouldn't say it would ever be fixed. So I guess I'll have to watch it on my 10 year old Panasonic BD player and 50 inch instead of my 106 inch screen with sound system.
I haven't got 300 Rise Of An Empire yet but I plan to get the US release and will try it on my '83. Did they at least mention if others had reported the issue? You might post your question in the official thread at Blu-ray.com. Make sure you specify which release you have.
AVfile is offline  
post #39368 of 39388 Old 08-02-2014, 11:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowcanary73 View Post
Anyone else having problems playing 300 Rise Of An Empire on your 83 I've tried everything unplugging power erase storage. But I can put the standard DVD in and it'll play just fine or I guess I could always play it on my 10 year old Panasonic BD10A but prefer to watch it through my projector on my 106 inch screen. Being a double Amputee it get a little hard crawling in and out of a wheelchair to try and get this Oppo to work.
Got the Netflix rental BD. Played with no problems... too bad, it's a pretty lousy MuV and used much footage from the original

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #39369 of 39388 Old 08-02-2014, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubavs View Post
Got the Netflix rental BD. Played with no problems... too bad, it's a pretty lousy MuV and used much footage from the original
Even tho its a bad movie I'd still like to be able to watch it on the 106 or 65 then my 9 year old 50 Panasonic.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #39370 of 39388 Old 08-10-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my BDP-83SE for years now and it's great. No problems at all, but I recently got the Stripes Blu-ray and it won't play. I insert it and the player just sits there doing nothing. Hitting buttons on the remote will give me the red "prohibited" symbol, but that's it. Anyone else by any chance try this disc in the player? I wonder is there's anything I can do to get it to play. I contacted Oppo and they said that it could be a compatibility issue, but I seriously doubt there are any more firmware updates coming.

Thanks.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39371 of 39388 Old 08-10-2014, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ti-triodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Damfino
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
I've had my BDP-83SE for years now and it's great. No problems at all, but I recently got the Stripes Blu-ray and it won't play. I insert it and the player just sits there doing nothing. Hitting buttons on the remote will give me the red "prohibited" symbol, but that's it. Anyone else by any chance try this disc in the player? I wonder is there's anything I can do to get it to play. I contacted Oppo and they said that it could be a compatibility issue, but I seriously doubt there are any more firmware updates coming.

Thanks.

Are you sure the disc is not the problem? Any other player you can try it in?
ti-triodes is offline  
post #39372 of 39388 Old 08-10-2014, 03:22 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ti-triodes View Post
Are you sure the disc is not the problem? Any other player you can try it in?
It's not the disc. Sorry to not have mentioned that. I have a Samsung Blu-ray drive connected to my Mac via USB and it plays through that.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39373 of 39388 Old 08-10-2014, 07:12 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
It's not the disc. Sorry to not have mentioned that. I have a Samsung Blu-ray drive connected to my Mac via USB and it plays through that.
Have you followed this procedure: What do I do if a Blu-ray disc will not load or play, or if it freezes the player?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #39374 of 39388 Old 08-12-2014, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everybody. I found this thread when I was trying to diagnose what's wrong with my player. It's a 5 year old standard BDP-83. Four days ago it stopped playing more than 5 minutes of any Blu-ray disc I try in it. It still plays CD's, DVD's and DVD-R's just fine. If I try to watch a Blu it only works normally for about 4 minutes then the image starts to slow down, hesitate a bit and then freeze. I've tried BD's from Paramount, Fox, MGM, Twilight, Sony, etc. BD's that played just fine last Thursday won't play for more than 5 minutes now. The player isn't connected to the Internet, BD-Live is off, storage has been erased, I've tried several factory resets, cleaning the lens (several times) with a Q-tip and alcohol and it has the latest firmware. I couldn't find anything else to try from the watershade page. Oppo said I can send it to them and it'll be $79 if they have to replace any parts. I'd rather try to fix it myself.
What could cause it to work fine with DVD's and CD's but not Blu-ray? Do you guys have any suggestions?
itskeith is offline  
post #39375 of 39388 Old 08-12-2014, 11:32 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by itskeith View Post
What could cause it to work fine with DVD's and CD's but not Blu-ray? Do you guys have any suggestions?
Welcome to AVSForum.

Blu-ray uses a different laser than the other discs. Something is wrong with it, or the arm that carries it or the circuitry that supports it.

If the cleaning you've done so far hasn't helped then I think it's time for OPPO service.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #39376 of 39388 Old 08-12-2014, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by itskeith View Post
Hi everybody. I found this thread when I was trying to diagnose what's wrong with my player. It's a 5 year old standard BDP-83. Four days ago it stopped playing more than 5 minutes of any Blu-ray disc I try in it. It still plays CD's, DVD's and DVD-R's just fine. If I try to watch a Blu it only works normally for about 4 minutes then the image starts to slow down, hesitate a bit and then freeze. I've tried BD's from Paramount, Fox, MGM, Twilight, Sony, etc. BD's that played just fine last Thursday won't play for more than 5 minutes now. The player isn't connected to the Internet, BD-Live is off, storage has been erased, I've tried several factory resets, cleaning the lens (several times) with a Q-tip and alcohol and it has the latest firmware. I couldn't find anything else to try from the watershade page. Oppo said I can send it to them and it'll be $79 if they have to replace any parts. I'd rather try to fix it myself.
What could cause it to work fine with DVD's and CD's but not Blu-ray? Do you guys have any suggestions?
Take Bill suggestion.
Chise is offline  
post #39377 of 39388 Old 08-12-2014, 02:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by itskeith View Post
Hi everybody. I found this thread when I was trying to diagnose what's wrong with my player. It's a 5 year old standard BDP-83. Four days ago it stopped playing more than 5 minutes of any Blu-ray disc I try in it. It still plays CD's, DVD's and DVD-R's just fine. If I try to watch a Blu it only works normally for about 4 minutes then the image starts to slow down, hesitate a bit and then freeze. I've tried BD's from Paramount, Fox, MGM, Twilight, Sony, etc. BD's that played just fine last Thursday won't play for more than 5 minutes now. The player isn't connected to the Internet, BD-Live is off, storage has been erased, I've tried several factory resets, cleaning the lens (several times) with a Q-tip and alcohol and it has the latest firmware. I couldn't find anything else to try from the watershade page. Oppo said I can send it to them and it'll be $79 if they have to replace any parts. I'd rather try to fix it myself.
What could cause it to work fine with DVD's and CD's but not Blu-ray? Do you guys have any suggestions?
Adding to what's already been posted; $79 is CHEAP for a flat rate repair, and this is not a user-repairable issue. They will turn it around in one day.
Its still worth several times that much on the used market.
ti-triodes likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #39378 of 39388 Old 08-13-2014, 05:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Send it to Oppo? Come on. I thought you people would embrace the challenge of trying to figure out the problem. Compared to me, you're Oppo experts. For all I know it could be a broken filangee or the quasar alignment of somethingsomething. If it is the laser, why would it still play DVD's and CD's? Is there more than one laser?
itskeith is offline  
post #39379 of 39388 Old 08-13-2014, 05:39 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by itskeith View Post
Send it to Oppo? Come on. I thought you people would embrace the challenge of trying to figure out the problem. Compared to me, you're Oppo experts. For all I know it could be a broken filangee or the quasar alignment of somethingsomething. If it is the laser, why would it still play DVD's and CD's? Is there more than one laser?
More than one laser: yes, I said so above.

It's your player, do what you want. We've given you the advice we have.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #39380 of 39388 Old 08-13-2014, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
benleeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keith,

It's probable your BR laser is kaput, most likely out of alignment.

Recently, the DVD laser on my unit exhibited similar malady - slow, hesitate, play, freeze and stop when it encountered the second layer. Several cleanings did not help. Oppo tech thought it an alignment problem and recommended a new drive. Shipped it to me half way round the globe. Drive cost $60 plus express shipping. Self installation was a 10 min affair and it's playing now like new.

Hope it helps.
Ben
benleeys is offline  
post #39381 of 39388 Old 08-16-2014, 10:20 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Thanks, Bill, and apologies for the delay. I've done everything except for a total reset. BD-Live was always disabled and persistent storage was oddly (or not?) only using 1MB. I emptied it anyway and still no luck. I guess I'll have to do the reset, although having to put back all my settings will be annoying.

I just encountered an old DVD of Evil Under the Sun tonight that was problematic. The whole beginning of the disc once inserted sort of froze after 13 seconds and then instead of showing the previews and the main menu after a while just started playing the movie. And then it completely froze up when changing layers. No problem in my old Toshiba HD-DVD player.

Update: reset made no difference for Stripes BD. But after deleting the persistent storage earlier did seem to help that DVD.

Last edited by kenmoto; 08-16-2014 at 10:34 PM. Reason: update
kenmoto is offline  
post #39382 of 39388 Old 08-17-2014, 05:19 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
Thanks, Bill, and apologies for the delay. I've done everything except for a total reset. BD-Live was always disabled and persistent storage was oddly (or not?) only using 1MB. I emptied it anyway and still no luck. I guess I'll have to do the reset, although having to put back all my settings will be annoying.

I just encountered an old DVD of Evil Under the Sun tonight that was problematic. The whole beginning of the disc once inserted sort of froze after 13 seconds and then instead of showing the previews and the main menu after a while just started playing the movie. And then it completely froze up when changing layers. No problem in my old Toshiba HD-DVD player.

Update: reset made no difference for Stripes BD. But after deleting the persistent storage earlier did seem to help that DVD.
STRIPES is the only problem Blu-ray? Others are ok? Email OPPO and ask if there is a known problem with that disc on the -83.

Given your DVD problem, I'd consider opening the player, blowing out any dust, paying close attention to the laser heads, maybe clean those gently with alcohol. Also reseat any internal connectors.

You might ask OPPO what they recommend first. They will do it for you: out of warranty service is about $70 last time I heard, you pay shipping one way.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #39383 of 39388 Old 08-17-2014, 11:06 AM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
STRIPES is the only problem Blu-ray? Others are ok? Email OPPO and ask if there is a known problem with that disc on the -83.

Given your DVD problem, I'd consider opening the player, blowing out any dust, paying close attention to the laser heads, maybe clean those gently with alcohol. Also reseat any internal connectors.

You might ask OPPO what they recommend first. They will do it for you: out of warranty service is about $70 last time I heard, you pay shipping one way.
Stripes is the only problematic disc so far. I got a response from Oppo, but I have no hope for a fix.

"We have received another report of similar issues so it is likely related to the BD-JAVA used on the title. This will require a new firmware upgrade for the player."

I asked if this is an update that will definitely come out for the BDP-83, and they said,

"This is something that we hope to improve upon, but due to the age of the player, this is not something that we can guarantee will be added to a future firmware release."

My guess is no.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39384 of 39388 Old 08-17-2014, 01:55 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made some progress. I tried ripping it with DVDFab and then burning it to a BD-R and it works. There are some weird delays when starting up, but it seems to work. I think DVDFab strips out copy protection. Interesting.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39385 of 39388 Old 08-17-2014, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
LCSeminole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
I made some progress. I tried ripping it with DVDFab and then burning it to a BD-R and it works. There are some weird delays when starting up, but it seems to work. I think DVDFab strips out copy protection. Interesting.
AnyDVDHD from Slysoft works wonders with Java.
LCSeminole is offline  
post #39386 of 39388 Old 08-17-2014, 02:04 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LCSeminole View Post
AnyDVDHD from Slysoft works wonders with Java.
I'm on a Mac. But DVDFab works fine.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39387 of 39388 Old 08-17-2014, 02:27 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
I made some progress. I tried ripping it with DVDFab and then burning it to a BD-R and it works. There are some weird delays when starting up, but it seems to work. I think DVDFab strips out copy protection. Interesting.
I would have recommended that if I knew you had backup tools. Copying just the main feature solves a lot of disc authoring problems, which often reside in the java used for the menus.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #39388 of 39388 Old 08-17-2014, 08:19 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I would have recommended that if I knew you had backup tools. Copying just the main feature solves a lot of disc authoring problems, which often reside in the java used for the menus.
Actually, I did a full disc copy.
kenmoto is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off