Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 1331 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 87Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #39901 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 01:30 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 947
^ This firmware does NOT address the various, older problems for which there were already well known workarounds -- e.g., use Bitstream output for DTS-HD MA 7.1 tracks, use LPCM output for TrueHD 7.1 tracks, and the procedures already described in the FAQ for dealing with movies which do not start from Top Menu (such as Erasing Persistent Storage). This firmware is SPECIFICALLY for this new issue of "Wrong Disc" errors, resulting from Fox's oddball, new authoring technique.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #39902 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Note the BDP83-60-1110 FW update works on BDP-83 BD players in both USA and UK locations.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #39903 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 01:51 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ This firmware does NOT address the various, older problems for which there were already well known workarounds -- e.g., use Bitstream output for DTS-HD MA 7.1 tracks, use LPCM output for TrueHD 7.1 tracks, and the procedures already described in the FAQ for dealing with movies which do not start from Top Menu (such as Erasing Persistent Storage). This firmware is SPECIFICALLY for this new issue of "Wrong Disc" errors, resulting from Fox's oddball, new authoring technique.
I've found nothing to make Stripes work, unfortunately.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39904 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Adinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Oppo for still supporting the BDP 83 with this firmware update. I am an original owner and have had no hardware problems with this player.
What are some of you buying as a backup blu ray player that is less than $100? Any recommendations?
Not ready to purchase another Oppo yet. Thanks!
Adinn is offline  
post #39905 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 02:14 PM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adinn View Post
Thank you Oppo for still supporting the BDP 83 with this firmware update. I am an original owner and have had no hardware problems with this player.
What are some of you buying as a backup blu ray player that is less than $100? Any recommendations?
Not ready to purchase another Oppo yet. Thanks!
I got the Samsung BD-H5900. Very highly-rated, even by Consumer Reports. $74 shipped from Amazon, though it's under the $68 Black Friday sale at other sites (NYS has to pay sales tax), including Samsung's own. The BD-H6500 seems to be the same thing, but with 4k video. It's a lot more expensive and I have no use for that.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39906 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Timo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone recall any reports of analogue problems with this player? I had an impulse to see if I could detect a difference between the dacs on my oppo to the dacs on my T175 so I plugged in some rca cables. I've had it strictly HDMI up to this point, for years. I get nothing from the 2ch stereo outputs, or the 7.1 front l/r outputs. I know it's not the NAD as I plugged in another source and got sound. I tried turning off HDMI audio, even unplugged it.
I searched this thread but couldn't find anything relevant.
Timo11 is offline  
post #39907 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 06:33 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo11 View Post
Does anyone recall any reports of analogue problems with this player? I had an impulse to see if I could detect a difference between the dacs on my oppo to the dacs on my T175 so I plugged in some rca cables. I've had it strictly HDMI up to this point, for years. I get nothing from the 2ch stereo outputs, or the 7.1 front l/r outputs. I know it's not the NAD as I plugged in another source and got sound. I tried turning off HDMI audio, even unplugged it.
I searched this thread but couldn't find anything relevant.
No issues. And the Analog outputs are always live, so no need to turn off HDMI Audio.

Check the Volume buttons (top of the remote) and make sure you don't have the Volume turned down -- Volume only affects the Analog outputs.

If that doesn't do it, give OPPO Tech Support a call. They can help you figure out if the player needs hardware service. If so, OPPO offers reasonably priced, flat-rate service for players out of warranty.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #39908 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
Timo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
No issues. And the Analog outputs are always live, so no need to turn off HDMI Audio.

Check the Volume buttons (top of the remote) and make sure you don't have the Volume turned down -- Volume only affects the Analog outputs.

If that doesn't do it, give OPPO Tech Support a call. They can help you figure out if the player needs hardware service. If so, OPPO offers reasonably priced, flat-rate service for players out of warranty.
--Bob
You nailed it! Thank you very much for the quick help! Problem solved. I did notice the volume down all the way when I was trying to figure it out, but didn't really pay any attention to it. I guess I assumed it would still send something out as if it were a standalone player.
I get to go to bed tonight less stupid!

On a side note, as expected, I didn't notice any real difference between the NAD and the Oppo. They both sound excellent in flipping between Nad/HDMI/stereo, Oppo/analogue/stereo and Oppo/analogue/anaogue bypass. The biggest difference being the latter with no sub. (Although the first two should sound the same anyways). Not very scientific, I know...

Thanks again!
Timo11 is offline  
post #39909 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Indeed; I received my email about the update...


But, I told OPPO that because I didn't care for the X-Men film, personally, I wasn't going to purchase the Blu-ray and thus I didn't think I needed the firmware update...


Still, I am unsure if this update will "affect" anything going forward...i.e. other Fox titles that may cause hiccups?

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #39910 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
No issues. And the Analog outputs are always live, so no need to turn off HDMI Audio.

Check the Volume buttons (top of the remote) and make sure you don't have the Volume turned down -- Volume only affects the Analog outputs.

If that doesn't do it, give OPPO Tech Support a call. They can help you figure out if the player needs hardware service. If so, OPPO offers reasonably priced, flat-rate service for players out of warranty.
--Bob
You know, OPPO had made a similar mention to me about the "volume needing to be turned up" when I was discussing PCM tracks in the past with them -- I never really understood the "necessity" for a "volume control" via a remote on a source player...what is the point of this? I can understand a volume control on a TV's remote (or, of course, on a dedicated audio component) but why is there a volume control on a Blu-ray player's remote?


And this control IN NO WAY affects the digital/HDMI connections?


As a side note, I DO have my Onkyo receiver's "IntelliVolume" input level control turned up for the OPPO's input (HDMI 1) which acts like a "volume" balance for connected sources to the AVR, but I'm still lost about why one would need a volume control on a BD player...

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #39911 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I think some people connect their 83 directly to a power amp, making a volume control necessary.

(LCD - Sony KDL - XBR4) (Receiver - Sony STR-DA4ES)(Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83) (PS3)( Dish Hopper DVR With Sling) Speakers (L & R - Paradigm Studio 20) (Center -Paradigm CC-470) (Surrounds & Back Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15R in walls) (Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12) (Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100)
Skytrooper is offline  
post #39912 of 39925 Old Yesterday, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: east texas
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
OPPO will be sending out individual E-Mails, but due to the volume of E-Mails and phone calls, it will not be possible for them to contact everyone. Since a large portion of the people affected are AVS members, it make sense to have a post here to get the word out to as many people as possible.

OPPO has a firmware that you can download now (or direct to the player connected with Ethernet when it goes Official) that should resolve issue with X-Men: Days of Future Past and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. To quote:



BDP-80 users will need to wait a little longer, as OPPO needs to confirm this firmware is working first on the BDP-83 before they go through the verification and testing with the BDP-80.
Thanks, Neuro! Any idea when this update will be available via ethernet? Just tried to play X-Men: DFP and got the "wrong disc" message. Also, I got no email from Oppo, even though I was one of the first purchasers of the 83 direct from Oppo.

mtrot is online now  
post #39913 of 39925 Old Today, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer
OPPO has a firmware that you can download now (or direct to the player connected with Ethernet when it goes Official) that should resolve issue with X-Men: Days of Future Past and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.
Thanks for the update, Neuromancer.

And thanks to the folks at OPPO for stepping up and addressing this issue. You guys rock!


\m/ > , < \m/
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #39914 of 39925 Old Today, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Downloaded the firmware last night, loaded with no problems, works. Oppo is the Best!

bguzman is offline  
post #39915 of 39925 Old Today, 07:50 AM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed the update last night and can also confirm that the X-Men BD loads fine. Loads really slowly, but it loads. Damn it's annoying that you can't skip past the preview. I'll assume it's the BD's programming on that and blame Fox.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39916 of 39925 Old Today, 08:05 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,618
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
Damn it's annoying that you can't skip past the preview. I'll assume it's the BD's programming on that and blame Fox.
That would be a safe assumption. I don't mind watching previews ONCE, but if I watch the movie again, I really don't want to see the previews again.
gsr is online now  
post #39917 of 39925 Old Today, 08:07 AM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
That would be a safe assumption. I don't mind watching previews ONCE, but if I watch the movie again, I really don't want to see the previews again.
It's really irritating. With VHS, a friend of mine used to actually cut and splice the tape to get rid of the previews.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39918 of 39925 Old Today, 08:15 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 947
^ Just another one of the many, customer-unfriendly things Fox likes to do. Come the revolution, etc., etc.

Fox uses Prohibited User Operation authoring to force viewing of the load-time previews. You can't jump directly to Top Menu, nor can you Chapter Forward over each preview. HOWEVER, you CAN use Fast Forward speed 5 to zoom through each preview. At the end of each preview, the player reverts to normal Play, so you will need to do Fast Forward again for each of them in turn.

In the past Fox has been doing this primarily on their Rental Special discs -- i.e., the type they sell to Netflix. Typically you can tell you've got one of these if it is missing most or all of the Extras content found on the normal, retail version. I view a ton of rental discs as part of Beta Testing, so I've pretty much seen all the games the studios play with these. (Like Lionsgate putting only lossy audio tracks on THEIR rental Blu-rays.) In the case of Fox, it wouldn't surprise me at all if they are now forcing previews on retail discs, too.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #39919 of 39925 Old Today, 08:31 AM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bob, the X-Men I have at home is a Netflix rental. I still find the practice insulting.

But thanks for that info. I did in fact scan forward.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39920 of 39925 Old Today, 09:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 947
^ Yep, that disc from Netflix is a Rental Special -- marked by the fact that the only Extra it includes is the sneak peak of "Exodus".
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #39921 of 39925 Old Today, 09:37 AM
Member
 
kenmoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Yep, that disc from Netflix is a Rental Special -- marked by the fact that the only Extra it includes is the sneak peak of "Exodus".
I love how they consider that an extra.
kenmoto is offline  
post #39922 of 39925 Old Today, 10:33 AM
Member
 
robmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
OPPO will be sending out individual E-Mails, but due to the volume of E-Mails and phone calls, it will not be possible for them to contact everyone. Since a large portion of the people affected are AVS members, it make sense to have a post here to get the word out to as many people as possible.

OPPO has a firmware that you can download now (or direct to the player connected with Ethernet when it goes Official) that should resolve issue with X-Men: Days of Future Past and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. To quote:



BDP-80 users will need to wait a little longer, as OPPO needs to confirm this firmware is working first on the BDP-83 before they go through the verification and testing with the BDP-80.
Confirming this update clears the issue and I'm able to load X-men Days of Future Past. BDP-83.

Kudos to Oppo for the continued support!
robmc is offline  
post #39923 of 39925 Old Today, 10:43 AM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
I love how they consider that an extra.
I just watched Independence Day last night... couldn't do anything to get to the MuV without viewing the "Don't steal me or you'll be fined and/or locked up forever" screens http://www.avsforum.com/forum/images/smilies/mad.gif If I bought it (and I did!) I shouldn't have to watch anything I don't want to...

I used to use MacTheRipper just because I could eliminate that problem from DVDs. Now, mostly I use Make MKV for the same reason, but if I want to get the HD audio (I'm a Mac person and Apple will not support any HD audio) I watch the disk on my Oppo and grind my teeth for a few minutes at the start of the film.

Rem facias, rem
si possis, recte, si non, quocumque modo, rem.
grubavs is offline  
post #39924 of 39925 Old Today, 10:44 AM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoto View Post
I love how they consider that an extra.
I just rewatched Independence Day last night... couldn't do anything to get to the MuV without viewing the "Don't steal me or you'll be fined and/or locked up forever" screens If I bought it (and I did!) I shouldn't have to watch anything I don't want to...

I used to use MacTheRipper just because I could eliminate that problem from DVDs. Now, mostly I use Make MKV for the same reason, but if I want to get the HD audio (I'm a Mac person and Apple will not support any HD audio) I watch the disk on my Oppo and grind my teeth for a few minutes at the start of the film.

Rem facias, rem
si possis, recte, si non, quocumque modo, rem.
grubavs is offline  
post #39925 of 39925 Old Today, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: east texas
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
OPPO will be sending out individual E-Mails, but due to the volume of E-Mails and phone calls, it will not be possible for them to contact everyone. Since a large portion of the people affected are AVS members, it make sense to have a post here to get the word out to as many people as possible.

OPPO has a firmware that you can download now (or direct to the player connected with Ethernet when it goes Official) that should resolve issue with X-Men: Days of Future Past and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. To quote:



BDP-80 users will need to wait a little longer, as OPPO needs to confirm this firmware is working first on the BDP-83 before they go through the verification and testing with the BDP-80.
Thanks again for this info. I'm not technically savvy, but I got a USB drive and copied and pasted the firmware, then put the drive in the 83 and it worked! It updated three different things, not sure what they all are, and it now loads Days of Future Past.

mtrot is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off