Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 1375 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 351Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41221 of 41235 Old 05-21-2017, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 192
I have such a huge region 2 dvd concert collection that I guess its Oppo for life for me.

Matt
mattg3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #41222 of 41235 Old 05-21-2017, 07:51 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,266
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked: 1271
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
I have such a huge region 2 dvd concert collection that I guess its Oppo for life for me.
Even though sticking with Oppo isn't a bad choice, do be aware that there ARE region free mods available for quite a few players; Bob was just answering your specific question about the Superdisc mod. Some are as simple as entering a secret code with the remote, some require hardware changes, and there's obviously the free Superdisc option you mentioned for the Oppo's. Some of the options, such as the Superdisc, only make the player region free for DVD while other options also cover Bluray (the hardware mod options for the Oppo players cover both DVD and Bluray). Options for other players are best discussed elsewhere as it's off topic in this thread.
mattg3 likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #41223 of 41235 Old 05-21-2017, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,434
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2390 Post(s)
Liked: 1710
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
Does anyone know if that free software file burned to a disc that makes dvds played on an Oppo region free can be used on other blu ray players to make dvd playback region free?
I think its supposed to work on other players based on the MTK SOC. Do some searching for the "Super Disc.iso" topic and you should find discussions.
mattg3 likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
 
post #41224 of 41235 Old 06-03-2017, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KramerTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Huntersville, NC, US
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The tray in my 83 won't open anymore. Before I contact Oppo to send it for repair, does anyone know if they'll accept a unit that has the region free kit installed? It's a simple install as I recall but threw away the instructions a long time ago. I'd hate to get it back without the kit.
It has the latest firmware installed already.
KramerTC is offline  
post #41225 of 41235 Old 06-03-2017, 12:04 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,146
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3236 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by KramerTC View Post
The tray in my 83 won't open anymore. Before I contact Oppo to send it for repair, does anyone know if they'll accept a unit that has the region free kit installed? It's a simple install as I recall but threw away the instructions a long time ago. I'd hate to get it back without the kit.
It has the latest firmware installed already.
Region free is usually not a problem; you didn't do any soldering, right? That's not required for user-installed mods. Just tell them about the mod.

They might have some diagnostics for you to try before sending it in.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #41226 of 41235 Old 06-03-2017, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KramerTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Huntersville, NC, US
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Region free is usually not a problem; you didn't do any soldering, right? That's not required for user-installed mods. Just tell them about the mod.

They might have some diagnostics for you to try before sending it in.

-Bill
Hi,
No soldering; I just don't remember which cable I unplugged to insert the mod
I'll contact them on Monday. The tray started acting up more than a year ago. Unplugging the power cord always fixed it until now
KramerTC is offline  
post #41227 of 41235 Old 06-03-2017, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,434
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2390 Post(s)
Liked: 1710
Quote:
Originally Posted by KramerTC View Post
Hi,
No soldering; I just don't remember which cable I unplugged to insert the mod
I'll contact them on Monday. The tray started acting up more than a year ago. Unplugging the power cord always fixed it until now
Short term, just leaving a disc in it at all times usually prevents the issue.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #41228 of 41235 Old 07-28-2017, 07:24 AM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I have a minor issue with my OPPO 83. I frequently watch DVDs with multiple episodes on the disc. I sometimes watch a single episode then turn off the OPPO and leave the disc in the player. When I want to watch the next episode, I power on the 83 expecting the disc to resume from where I left off. However, instead of resuming, the disc starts from the beginning. I checked the settings and I have Auto Resume turned on. Is there another setting that I need to change? Thanks

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
post #41229 of 41235 Old 07-28-2017, 07:41 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,146
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3236 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemathre View Post
I have a minor issue with my OPPO 83. I frequently watch DVDs with multiple episodes on the disc. I sometimes watch a single episode then turn off the OPPO and leave the disc in the player. When I want to watch the next episode, I power on the 83 expecting the disc to resume from where I left off. However, instead of resuming, the disc starts from the beginning. I checked the settings and I have Auto Resume turned on. Is there another setting that I need to change? Thanks
It ought to work as you expect; I don't know if DVDs are 100% resumable but in my memory they seemed to be.

Are you doing an orderly shutdown the same way each time? Not just cutting the power to the player?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #41230 of 41235 Old 07-28-2017, 08:04 AM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Thanks for the response Bill. When I have finished watching an episode, I press the stop button and when the disc has stopped, I power off. It is not a big deal. It is just a little inconvenient. I have tried one of the same discs in my 93, 103, and 203 and the resume function works ok on all of them. I just like using my 83 for DVDs.

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
post #41231 of 41235 Old 07-28-2017, 08:25 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,146
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3236 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemathre View Post
Thanks for the response Bill. When I have finished watching an episode, I press the stop button and when the disc has stopped, I power off. It is not a big deal. It is just a little inconvenient. I have tried one of the same discs in my 93, 103, and 203 and the resume function works ok on all of them.
If the behavior has gotten worse then that might indicate memory failure in the player.

Quote:
I just like using my 83 for DVDs.
Understood.

-Bill
leemathre likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #41232 of 41235 Old 07-28-2017, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,434
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2390 Post(s)
Liked: 1710
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemathre View Post
Thanks for the response Bill. When I have finished watching an episode, I press the stop button and when the disc has stopped, I power off. It is not a big deal. It is just a little inconvenient. I have tried one of the same discs in my 93, 103, and 203 and the resume function works ok on all of them. I just like using my 83 for DVDs.
Try erasing persistent storage in the 83, then power off.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #41233 of 41235 Old 07-28-2017, 10:20 AM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Try erasing persistent storage in the 83, then power off.
Such a basic trouble shooting step and I hadn't thought of it. I will give it a try.

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
post #41234 of 41235 Old 07-28-2017, 10:36 AM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Unfortunately, erasing persistent storage did not resolve the issue. I might shoot OPPO support an email, but it is something that I can live with. I appreciate the assistance from both of you. Thanks

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
post #41235 of 41235 Old 08-09-2017, 04:09 PM
Member
 
84lion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnf14 View Post
Yes! I'm having the same problem. I read another post where someone else was having the same issue with his BDP-93. This prompted me to finally break down and get a 103 which plays the Sopranos discs as designed.

I discovered a work-around of sorts. Press the play episode button in the on screen menu ('play all' or a single episode) the machine will then stall on a black screen, now press the pop-up menu button on the remote and choose EPISODE 1 (or 2,3 etc.). The episode will then start, however, at the end of the chosen episode the machine will stall again. You might have to stop and restart the same procedure for each new episode. A real pain but at least you can watch the show.
I'm having the same trouble. I got the Sopranos box set as an Amazon "deal of the day" sometime last year. I finally got around to watch it and lo and behold, the machine stalls just as mentioned above. I can also confirm that my Panny BDT-210 will play the discs fine. And, I can also confirm that the above work-around works - with a caveat. I chose Episode 1 (season 1) and the disc stalled, the pop-up menu came up, but if I chose Ep 1, it remained stalled. I had to choose Ep 2 via the pop-up, then choose Ep 1 via the pop-up. Very frustrating, and yes, I've updated the BDP-83 firmware.
84lion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
105d , 83se , Blu Ray Players , Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off