Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 223 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6661 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 05:59 PM
Member
 
BrainOPain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geof View Post

I have a Sony set that displays everything in 1080p but cannot accept a 1080p signal (KDS-R60XBR1). My findings are:

Feeding the set a 1080i signal allows for maximum picture resolution.

Feeding the set a 720p signal improves deinterlacing (the VRS solution is better than the Sony solution).

So, sorry to say you've got to make a choice. In most cases I prefer improved deinterlacing but when I make the leap to FP I won't have to make that choice.

Geof,
Have you had the luxury of owning a different BD player and then checking the PQ difference with 83 on your TV?
BrainOPain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6662 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

I wonder how many "NO" votes are changed to "YES" with
the latest firmware.

Most of the "NO" votes were concerned about DVD-Audio
and OPPO has clearly made an improvement.

Its nice to see the 0402 FW released for EAP participants, now will it meet two most commented points? Time will tell.

1) Resolving DVD-A issues.
2) All people who felt 0320 FW was not good enough and a another FW release was needed.

Current stats:
Total Votes: 350
Pending Votes: 269 (76.9 %)
Yes Votes: 54 (15.4 %)
No Votes: 27 (7.7%)

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #6663 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Not Good
Anolog is off. Please Check. This is not the same.

Brian
Brian-HD is online now  
post #6664 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

I could make an observed deduction from that statement, but I'll keep it to myself.

The observed deduction: OPPO does not want to field firmware upgrade woes?!
Neuromancer is offline  
post #6665 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

Not Good
Anolog is off. Please Check. This is not the same.

Analog Audio? Press the Volume + button and ensure that the Volume has not been set to "0".

We had issues with some beta firmware which would cause some of the settings to be adjusted to non-user defaults, which includes the Volume setting.

If you are talking about Analog Video, change the output resolution to something like 1080i, then set the Primary Output to Component under Setup.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #6666 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Analog Audio? Press the Volume + button and ensure that the Volume has not been set to "0".

We had issues with some beta firmware which would cause some of the settings to be adjusted to non-user defaults, which includes the Volume setting.

If you are talking about Analog Video, change the output resolution to something like 1080i, then set the Primary Output to Component under Setup.

My CD is playing too fast.
Brian-HD is online now  
post #6667 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jam88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

I could be wrong, but I think PIP and SAP are possible without BD-J. I don't know that any studios provide it that way.

Popup menus work without BD-J.

-Bill

Quite possibly Bill. After all if a player has to have the functionality to support those features through BD-J function calls, there's no reason why it couldn't also do so independently through it's internal programming.
jam88 is offline  
post #6668 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

My CD is playing too fast.

more info please...
is it a DTS cd?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #6669 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

more info please...
is it a DTS cd?

Regular Cd 2ch. only
Brian-HD is online now  
post #6670 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

The observed deduction: OPPO does not want to field firmware upgrade woes?!

That's what they have you for right?
They can go home, relax, sip on some spirits and get a good nights sleep. Come in tomorrow refreshed and ready to take on the masses.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #6671 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:19 PM
Member
 
styx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just updated via internet. Very nice interface, very slick.

Did not fix my vibration issues (not under servo control or not addressed).

Actually I think the problem is with my particular unit and is hardware related. I just tried lightly touching the top of the closed tray and gave it a slight downward and outward pressure and the vibrations stopped. I can do this consistently with any of my disks that are vibrating. It feels as if the back of the tray is down slightly and by pressing down on the front I can feel the back of the tray rock up to a position more parallel to the base of the unit.

I just emailed OPPO to see what they say. Fix this and you get an immediate and hearty YES vote.

EAP-2
styx1 is offline  
post #6672 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

Regular Cd 2ch. only

Are you sure that it is not actually an Alvin and The Chipmunks album?
If not, what cd is it?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #6673 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Are you sure that it is not actually an Alvin and The Chipmunks album?
If not, what cd is it?

That's what it sound like. Maroon5 songs about jane
Brian-HD is online now  
post #6674 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin McCarthy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Smarty-pants, cc: NM:

I tried your suggestion to download to the flash drive. The drive now has both the zip folder and the BDP-83-18-0402 folder. Hmmn: Shouldn't it be 0406? Anyhow, the result was the same. The player didn't recognize it when I inserted the flash drive, and when I tried to force it via Setup, I got a "Cannot find a valid firmware upgrade" error.

Oh, and another biggie. The first DVD (SD; Carmen) that I tried last week failed to play. Oppo confirmed the issue and said that an upcoming firmware release would address it. Since then, I have mostly been using The Fifth Element and LOTR for SD testing, and we watched one Blu-ray film (Vicki Christina Barcelona). Tonight we tried to watch Stardust (BD). Despite multiple tries, the player simply displays "Loading" for way longer than it should, with a number of whirring sounds, followed by "No disk". This is not encouraging me that the BDP-83 (or perhaps just the unit I have) is ready for my theater, or prime time. Suggestions?
Kevin McCarthy is offline  
post #6675 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Your drive should look like this (with "X" being the name of the drive on your system)

X:\\UPG\\BDP-83.BIN

If it is anything other than this, then you are doing something wrong.

EDIT:

Also ensure that the flashdrive is formatted as FAT16 or FAT32. NTFS and HFS are not supported.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #6676 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Not sure if we are supposed to still be posting lip-sync errors but tonight "zoolander" was off when watching it.
HyperM3 is offline  
post #6677 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

My CD is playing too fast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

Regular Cd 2ch. only

If you use optical or digital coaxial, is the CD still "sped up"?

Is this the only disc which is "sped up?"
Neuromancer is offline  
post #6678 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post

Not sure if we are supposed to still be posting lip-sync errors but tonight "zoolander" was off when watching it.

Are you using a discrete resolution (example. 1080p/60Hz) or are you using 1080p/24Hz? If the later, does turning DVD 24p Conversion off resolve the issue?

Are you bit streaming over HDMI, digital coaxial, or optical, or decoding over HDMI or multi-channel analog?

If you stop playback, then resume playback, is it still out of sync?
Neuromancer is offline  
post #6679 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin McCarthy View Post

Smarty-pants, cc: NM:

I tried your suggestion to download to the flash drive. The drive now has both the zip folder and the BDP-83-18-0402 folder. Hmmn: Shouldn't it be 0406? Anyhow, the result was the same. The player didn't recognize it when I inserted the flash drive, and when I tried to force it via Setup, I got a "Cannot find a valid firmware upgrade" error.

Suggestions?

Is the USB drive formatted FAT/FAT32? It needs to be.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #6680 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jam88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post

Not sure if we are supposed to still be posting lip-sync errors but tonight "zoolander" was off when watching it.

Was that with the new firmware that came out this evening? Did you install it? If not, install it and see what happens...
jam88 is offline  
post #6681 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:37 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin McCarthy View Post

Smarty-pants, cc: NM:

I tried your suggestion to download to the flash drive. The drive now has both the zip folder and the BDP-83-18-0402 folder. Hmmn: Shouldn't it be 0406? Anyhow, the result was the same. The player didn't recognize it when I inserted the flash drive, and when I tried to force it via Setup, I got a "Cannot find a valid firmware upgrade" error.

Your USB flash drive must be formatted as FAT -- either FAT16 or FAT32. If you've been using the USB flash drive on a Mac you may have it formatted as NTFS.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6682 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Nothing about the HDCD in the firmware but I got this from Oppo Tech today.
Quote:


Tom,

HDCD expansion is done by the decoder chip internally. The audio data sent to the DAC and the HDMI output are already expanded to 20bit and packed in a 24-bit word.

Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc.

This is very very cool if it I'm interpreting it right. I take it to mean you are getting the decoding of HDCD over HDMI even if your receiver doesn't support HDCD. Now I'm wondering how you send the unencoded HDCD to your receiver. Who was that that said this couldn't be done.

I am this ---><--- close to voting yes but I need to go check out the new DVD-A firmware.
obie_fl is offline  
post #6683 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Are you using a discrete resolution (example. 1080p/60Hz) or are you using 1080p/24Hz? If the later, does turning DVD 24p Conversion off resolve the issue?

Are you bit streaming over HDMI, digital coaxial, or optical, or decoding over HDMI or multi-channel analog?

If you stop playback, then resume playback, is it still out of sync?

Im running 1080/24. Didnt try turning off conversion. Bitstreaming over HDMI. Didnt try stopping then replaying. Will try all these things including below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jam88 View Post

Was that with the new firmware that came out this evening? Did you install it? If not, install it and see what happens...

No, it was earlier so Ill try it with the new firmware.
HyperM3 is offline  
post #6684 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

If you use optical or digital coaxial, is the CD still "sped up"?

Is this the only disc which is "sped up?"

Not on HDMI but the unit is vibrating( fan is not on but I can hear the vibration) now with this CD
Brian-HD is online now  
post #6685 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post

Im running 1080/24

Turn Off DVD 24p Conversion, as this is the likely cause of your problem.
Quote:


We are still in the process of further improving audio/video synchronization, especially for DVD playback in 1080p 24Hz mode.

Neuromancer is offline  
post #6686 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

Not on HDMI but the unit is vibrating( fan is not on but I can hear the vibration) now with this CD

Try re-inserting the disc. Does the player reduce in vibration?
Neuromancer is offline  
post #6687 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 06:50 PM
Member
 
styx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if you want to try this. I posted earlier that I placed my fingers gently at the gap at the top of the closed tray and gave it a slight downward and outward pressure and the vibration stopped.

If you try this and it works let me know..... there may be a hardware issue with some of the units.

EAP-2
styx1 is offline  
post #6688 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 07:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin McCarthy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use Windows PCs and the flash drive works fine with them, so I have to presume that it is formatted with FAT/FAT32. The 1 GB flash drive works fine in my PC with any file. I deleted the contents, ignored the BDP-83-18-0402 folder, and only moved the UPG folder and its contents (BDP-83.bin) on the flash drive. It is still not recognized by the player, nor can a Setup force it; the error message is as before.

And the Stardust BD doesn't play. Not fun.

Kevin
Kevin McCarthy is offline  
post #6689 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
That are making a false assumption. Windows 2000 or higher has been designed with NTFS. It is possible that your drive is formatted incorrectly.

Put the thumbdrive into your PC.
Open My Computer.
Right Click then Properties on the thumbdrive.
What does it say under "File System"?

Try pressing Eject. Insert the USB drive into the player. The player should show "OPEN" then "USB IN" then finally "FW RDY".
Neuromancer is offline  
post #6690 of 39367 Old 04-06-2009, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin McCarthy View Post

I use Windows PCs and the flash drive works fine with them, so I have to presume that it is formatted with FAT/FAT32. The 1 GB flash drive works fine in my PC with any file. I deleted the contents, ignored the BDP-83-18-0402 folder, and only moved the UPG folder and its contents (BDP-83.bin) on the flash drive. It is still not recognized by the player, nor can a Setup force it; the error message is as before.

And the Stardust BD doesn't play. Not fun.

Kevin

Stardust BD since when? Its out in HD-DVD and SD format.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off