Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 501 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 105Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #15001 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 06:30 PM
Member
 
gsshiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my BDP83 connected to my Sony TV directly. I use Digital out (bitstream) to my receiver. Yday I upgraded the f/w to the beta version released earlier this month. I played a SD DVD (The Revenge of the Sith), mostly skipping chapters. I have noticed three instances when the TV screen would go black, but I still had audio (may be this was due to the bitstream, rather than HDMI). I have not seen this issue with other DVDs that I had played before the upgrade. My cable is a Monoprice/HDMI 1.3. Did report this to Oppo today and they suggested
- Turning off Deep color (which I happen to set to 30 bits)
- Try changing the cable
The thing is coming back to the same chapter where the screen blanks does not recreate the problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LM2008 View Post

Hello All,

It has been a while since my last post and only now that I have a chance to play more music video and again experience the same frustrating handshake issue with the tv going blank on and off. I have now tried to lower resolution from Auto to 1080p, to 1080i, to 720p and it still does not work. Finally I change (video setup>Output Resolution) to 480p and it seems to not be a problem.

Can anyone help me out to explain why lowering output resolution corrects the handshake problem between Oppo player, Yamaha receiver and Pioneer Elite tv? Also does reducing output resolution on Oppo to 480p mean that Oppo will not scale to 1080p before sending to tv? Or maybe I should ask if I set output resolution on Oppo to 480p, what is the output to tv? Again I know this maybe a dumb question before it says Output Resolution so if I set it to output 480p from Oppo. I have to ask anyway. So if Oppo out 480p to tv, then my Pioneer elite has to process the 480p and scale it up to 1080p?

I will also try to play sd dvd movie and set it at 1080p to see if it has the same problem. Again I apologize in advance for going over the same problem, but I only have limited time to watch tv. I thank you for anyone who is willing to answer my questions.

gsshiva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15002 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 06:39 PM
Member
 
10speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbobt View Post

Thanks for pointing this out. I'm surprised that DTS seems to be the default for BD's. Dolby seemed to have the edge for HD DVD. Just so happened that the 4 BD's I rented did not have trueHD.
Thanks again.

Last week I had a conversation with a multi award winning movie sound mixer. He and I both prefer DTS. Others may disagree but.....
10speed is offline  
post #15003 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10speed View Post

Last week I had a conversation with a multi award winning movie sound mixer. He and I both prefer DTS. Others may disagree but.....

Perhaps with lossy Codecs, but if they're both lossless, it shouldn't matter.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #15004 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 07:00 PM
Member
 
10speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowghost View Post

Perhaps with lossy Codecs, but if they're both lossless, it shouldn't matter.

Point well made. Perhaps our preferences formed when listening to DVD's are influencing our BD listening. But it also may explain why many BD's are mastered in DTS-MA. The subject came up on an occasion where we couldn't really persue the matter. Another time, maybe.
10speed is offline  
post #15005 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajivarora View Post

For now, for my setup, the only way I can get DSD natively is to unplug the HDMI to the projector. I haven't checked to see if I can also achieve this with the HDMI connected and the projector Off - not sure how much handshaking goes on when projector is "Off".

Couldn't you accomplish the same thing by turning on "Pure Audio" in the Oppo?

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #15006 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
You are still establishing a HDMI connection, even with Pure Audio enabled. Handshakes will likely still occur. I personally recommend pulling the HDMI cable from the player when using the analog outputs for DSD.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #15007 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10speed View Post

Point well made. Perhaps our preferences formed when listening to DVD's are influencing our BD listening. But it also may explain why many BD's are mastered in DTS-MA. The subject came up on an occasion where we couldn't really persue the matter. Another time, maybe.

Could be. For me it's not always a knee-jerk to use DTS over Dolby when it's lossy, but everything else equal, I'd pick the one with less compression, i.e. DTS. That being said, there are some DD 5.1 soundtracks that sound mighty good. Plus whichever I use, the DLPXIIx steering is awesome to overlay!

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #15008 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowghost View Post

Perhaps with lossy Codecs, but if they're both lossless, it shouldn't matter.

Assuming the player can bitstream them and they can be decoded in the pre-pro, or assuming the player can convert them to LPCM.

But if someone has a player that can only render the core from the lossless files, then some might prefer the DTS core (1.5mps) versus the Dolby "core" (640bps).

So, setting aside which technology costs a producer less to license, the DTS lossless solution "degrades" better than the Dolby lossless tech.

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #15009 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 08:31 PM
Member
 
rajivarora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

You are still establishing a HDMI connection, even with Pure Audio enabled. Handshakes will likely still occur. I personally recommend pulling the HDMI cable from the player when using the analog outputs for DSD.

Right, my thought exactly, but I'll give it a try, along with the projector off experiment. Also want to see if there are any settings in the projector to affect this.
rajivarora is offline  
post #15010 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
bambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

I know in my setup if I enable 24Hz or use Source Direct with a 24Hz source, I must use a 60~90ms Delay. When I let the BDP-83 do all video processing, I do not have to use a Delay at all.

Do you use the delay in the player, or in your processor/receiver?

When you say 24hz, you're referring to 1080p/24 - correct?
bambam is online now  
post #15011 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

SACD DSD is only 5.1 channels (Maximum). DTS will be 5.1 channel maximum, due to a lack of DTS-ES decoding, and this may also apply to Dolby Digital EX.

Dolby Digital TrueHD and DTS-HD Master supports up to 7.1 channels over multi-channel analog and HDMI (LPCM).

Check out the Online User's Manual, Page 55 for more information.

Thanks much. Page 55 = crystal clear!

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #15012 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom_Bombadil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Old Forest
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcreel View Post

50in Samsung 1080p plasma about 13ft away.

Sounds like a nice TV to be watching ... from 8'-9' away.

Unless one has superb eyesight (20/15 or better) there is essentially no difference in what one can perceive from 720p vs 1080p 50" sets from a distance of 13'. Even at 10' it can be difficult for most people.

http://www.engadgethd.com/2006/12/09...o-screen-size/
Tom_Bombadil is offline  
post #15013 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom_Bombadil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Old Forest
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can't find if this has been addresed earlier in the thread:

Has anyone compared the audio quality of the 83 vs the 980H as far as DVD-A and SACD are concerned?
Tom_Bombadil is offline  
post #15014 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vancouver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 4,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom_Bombadil View Post

Can't find if this has been addresed earlier in the thread:

Has anyone compared the audio quality of the 83 vs the 980H as far as DVD-A and SACD are concerned?

I asked the same question a couple weeks back and the answer I got was something along the lines of "its better, but not ground braking"
vancouver is offline  
post #15015 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 09:32 PM
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I browsed a bit but couldn't find one....Is there an official release date for this player yet?
dogone is offline  
post #15016 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 09:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajivarora View Post

Right, my thought exactly, but I'll give it a try, along with the projector off experiment. Also want to see if there are any settings in the projector to affect this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajivarora View Post

I have been in communication with Oppo on my finding above. Based on some experiments they suggested I try, they've isolated it as a problem relating to HDMI handshaking with my projector,

Oppo have indicated they're looking into it, but seem reluctant to log it as a bug. To me, the user's setting of HDMI Audio to Off should render any audio handshaking over HDMI moot, but Oppo does not agree. I'm not too hung up on that, but if anyone else can confirm this problem on their setup, please let Oppo know.

I can understand the frustration, but on the other hand the player is potentially protecting you from frying your PJ by enabling DSD over HDMI. That's not something that would be acceptable under any conditions.

In the way of a reality check, setting the player to output PCM for SACD is not the end of the world and in all likelihood you won't be able to hear any difference compared to DSD. Especially over analog.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #15017 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,550
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post

But if someone has a player that can only render the core from the lossless files, then some might prefer the DTS core (1.5mps) versus the Dolby "core" (640bps).

Correct me if I'm wrong, but this being a BDP-83 owners thread then absolutely everyone has )or will soon have) a machine that can either decode or bitstream; now they might still have an AVR that can't do PCM over HDMI, can't decode and has no analog - but those folks really should be planning an AVR upgrade

rick240 is offline  
post #15018 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 102
+1

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #15019 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vancouver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 4,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick240 View Post

Correct me if I'm wrong, but this being a BDP-83 owners thread then absolutely everyone has )or will soon have) a machine that can either decode or bitstream; now they might still have an AVR that can't do PCM over HDMI, can't decode and has no analog - but those folks really should be planning an AVR upgrade

not me!

I went from a mid level processor which could decode PCM via HDMI to a high end processor which can only decode core.

First fully spec lossy is very close to lossless and second a hi quality processor processing a full spec lossy signal sounds better then a mid level processor processing a lossless one.

That being said there is certainly something to said for the ease of HDMI
vancouver is offline  
post #15020 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 11:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingofKaty View Post

What he said.

That is also the way you roll back the firmware versions. Whatever is in the UPG folder gets uploaded.

I've chosen to remain with the 4.3 version of the firmware. Even though I have the Oppo set to automatically notify me of firmware upgrades, I don't get notice of the 6.01 version being available - I guess because this is a Beta release.

I loaded the 3rd party firmware just to try it out (it works as advertised) and then I went back to the original Oppo version. I have 2 folders on the thumb drive each with a BDP-83.BIN file in it. I just rename whichever folder I want to use to "UPG", then plug it into the Oppo.

Just out of curiosity, I thought I read that after you load the hacked fw, and then load a different firmware like you did, the region free aspect stays intact. Are you still region free after retrograding back to 4.3?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #15021 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post

Do you use the delay in the player, or in your processor/receiver?

I set the Delay on the BDP-83, as it is a pain in the ass going through the Integra DTC-9.8 as the GUI will interrupt whatever I am doing.
Quote:


When you say 24hz, you're referring to 1080p/24 - correct?

That is correct, and only for Blu-ray, as I do not see any benefit using it with DVD.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #15022 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 11:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Just out of curiosity, I thought I read that after you load the hacked fw, and then load a different firmware like you did, the region free aspect stays intact. Are you still region free after retrograding back to 4.3?

As I understand it, the DVD Region unlock is locked even if you do a Reset Factory Defaults. So any manipulation of the firmware (regression or upgrading) will cause the DVD Region to go back to their defaults.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #15023 of 40079 Old 06-22-2009, 11:58 PM
Member
 
arkangel_3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eatontown, NJ
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE ON THE UPDATES:

-Threw in the towel on using the USB stick; I burned a disc for the Beta Firmware instead. No problems!

-All DVD-A problems appear to be fixed. Played "Fragile" by Yes and "The Beatles Love" with no skips, pauses, or pops. They sounded absolutely WONDERFUL

-SACD via DSD is still great (I didn't have the "popping" problem before). Played some Moody Blues and Miles Davis...fantastic sound!

-For some reason, things looked and sounded better after applying the firmware. Me or the late hour, LOL?

-I then applied the Region Hack after checking that the "base" Beta Firmware was fine. Oh boy, I am a happy camper! Region 2 discs played wonderfully (Network remasters of "The Prisoner" and "Space 1999 Season One" as well as "Blake's 7" and some old and new Doctor Who.). Look and sound wonderful! I have no Region B or C Blus yet, but I might give it a whirl.

Two more questions:

-Does the Anchor Bay Chip appear engaged when using Region 2 or not? I tried demo mode to check, and the two sides were *very* close comparison wise, which leads me to believe that perhaps it isn't. On the newer titles, they all look great; but on the older titles, the look great but not as good as the Oppo 981. It's late and and to tell too, LOL! Any opinions here?

-I plan on ordering the complete "Thunderbirds" on Blu. I've seen that they are region Code free on certain sites, and Region B on others. Amazon UK has no Region listed for them at all, whereas most of their titles are listed if there is a Region Code with a warning. Any info on this would be greatly appreciated.

BTW, all my previous settings had to be restored after applying both sets of firmware...just a heads up for anyone considering an upgrade. Thanks for all your help (again)!



-

"May God stand between you and harm and all the empty places in which you must walk." - Harlan Ellison
arkangel_3 is offline  
post #15024 of 40079 Old 06-23-2009, 12:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: N. VA
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, OPPO savants....

I have a burn-in disc - "Ultra Burn-in CD3000"
http://testdisc.innuity.com/?mainURL...urn-in_CD.html

which has always played fine on all my CD and DVD players. Track 2, which is "5.1 surround burn-in," will not play on the OPPO; all I get is a background static hiss. I'm using SPDIF out. I've tried every setting permutation on the OPPO, but nothing works.

Any ideas what's going on?

"I am determined to be cheerful & happy in whatever situation I may be; for I have also learned from experience that the greater part of happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions & not upon our circumstances."
Martha Washington
rider is offline  
post #15025 of 40079 Old 06-23-2009, 12:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

I set the Delay on the BDP-83, as it is a pain in the ass going through the Integra DTC-9.8 as the GUI will interrupt whatever I am doing.

Isn't there an AUTO lip sync function with your Integra? Have you ever used it? I think my Onkyo TX-SR805 has the same, but I have never had the need to use it, and it's always turned off.
I understand maybe a need to leave it off for beta testing, but as a long term solution, have you considered it or tried it?
...or am I wrong in thinking that it's AUTOmatic?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #15026 of 40079 Old 06-23-2009, 12:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Auto HDMI LipSync only works if the "HDMI-compatible TV supports HDMI Lip Sync". Also does not work in Direct Mode (duh!) or with the multi-channel analog outputs (double duh!)
Neuromancer is offline  
post #15027 of 40079 Old 06-23-2009, 12:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkangel_3 View Post

-Does the Anchor Bay Chip appear engaged when using Region 2 or not? I tried demo mode to check, and the two sides were *very* close comparison wise, which leads me to believe that perhaps it isn't.

Demo does not disengage the ABT solution. It just splits the screen to show "normal" ABT processing (Right side) and "enhanced" ABT processing (Left side). "Enhanced" means that you have adjusted ABT specific settings, which include Y/C Delay and Digital and Edge Enhancement.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #15028 of 40079 Old 06-23-2009, 01:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Temple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 8,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom_Bombadil View Post

Can't find if this has been addresed earlier in the thread:

Has anyone compared the audio quality of the 83 vs the 980H as far as DVD-A and SACD are concerned?

Quote:


I asked the same question a couple weeks back and the answer I got was something along the lines of "its better, but not ground braking"

I guess it depends on who you talk to and your setup. I personally think the 83 is a much nicer sounding player for both SACD and DVD A. The 980 is sterile and somewhat tinny in comparison. I never had a problem with the 980 prior to plugging the 83. The 83 exhibits better resolution, separation, broader soundstage with an overall richer tone. That's to my ears, my rig via analog. YMMV

PS. Before I made the leap, I listened to a friend's rig who had used a 980 and Denon 2900. The 83 gave him similar benefits to what I have currently on different gear. It's what made me go for it.

I don't lurk as much as I used to and I NEVER listen. Comes from being old and cynical.

Ron Temple is online now  
post #15029 of 40079 Old 06-23-2009, 01:04 AM
Member
 
TNTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Utah
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the Oppo allow you to set the center channel to none/phantom? I don't have a center and my receiver doesn't support high definition codecs so I would need to use the analog outs. So I am wondering if I could use the analog outs or if I would have to use the optical/coaxial out (receiver doesn't support HDMI). TIA.
TNTguy is offline  
post #15030 of 40079 Old 06-23-2009, 01:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scubawoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Just out of curiosity, I thought I read that after you load the hacked fw, and then load a different firmware like you did, the region free aspect stays intact. Are you still region free after retrograding back to 4.3?

According to people in a U.K. forum who have been testing the region-free firmware: installing new official Oppo firmware negates region-free for blu-ray but the unit keeps region-free sd-dvd. So each time Oppo releases new firmware someone has to hack it to make blu-ray region free again and then the hacked firmware has to be installed. Because of this many in the U.K. are doing the hardware modification as they would rather have a permanent solution for blu-ray region-free that won't be affected by future firmware updates. Same applies to reinstalling older official Oppo firmware. So far the hardware mod is not affected by installing official Oppo firmware. (they tested with the last public Oppo release and the current beta firmware release)
Scubawoman is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off