Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only] - Page 595 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17821 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:18 PM
Member
 
golfshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have been enjoying my BDP-83 since it arrived a number of months ago. I do have an issue that from what Oppo is telling me is a blu-ray disc issue.

While playing a standard DVD, if I press "stop" it will hold the stopping place so when I press "play", it will begin from the spot where I stopped. Not so with the blu-ray discs I have played. If I go through the same sequence, when I press "play" it begins at the beginning of the disc. Is this normal for blu-rays? Oppo says it has something to do with Blu-rays using BD-Java. So what is the scoop and is there any way around this??

Thanks.
golfshore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17822 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Let's not get the official fw and the beta fw mixed up. The older beta fw was just recently made "official", so at that point all players would have gotten a notice to update if they have auto notification turned on.
Then there is the new beta fw, which has to be loaded manually via USB flash drive or cd methods, and is not available for download over ethernet connection.

I understand this can get confusing, as there were 2 betas just a while ago. Then the older beta was eliminated and the newer beta was made official, then a brand new beta was released. So we now have 1 new beta fw, and one new official fw.

If you check the OPPO website, it will list both of the FWs, and will also list what your player should read to have loaded on it when you go into the service menu to verify it.

Dave,

Good post. I was going to mention this. I think some people may be getting the official fw and the beta fw mixed up also. Since I already had the June 26, 2009 public beta test version I didn't receive an auto notification once it became official. As you stated I had to download the 0722 beta and install it manually. I wonder how many people were still running the 0430 firmware and skipped the 0620 beta?


Respectfully,
Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #17823 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestyk View Post

Just doing my first firmware upgrade. What is this UPG folder that Oppo's instructions mention? When I unzip the file that I download from their web site, there is one file in the zip and that is BDP-83.bin. Is this all I need to put on my USB stick? Thanks!

Majestyk,

When you unzipped the file it should have created the UPG folder with the file in it. Also, make sure this is the only folder on this USB stick.


Respectfully,
Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #17824 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 15,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfshore View Post

Have been enjoying my BDP-83 since it arrived a number of months ago. I do have an issue that from what Oppo is telling me is a blu-ray disc issue.

While playing a standard DVD, if I press "stop" it will hold the stopping place so when I press "play", it will begin from the spot where I stopped. Not so with the blu-ray discs I have played. If I go through the same sequence, when I press "play" it begins at the beginning of the disc. Is this normal for blu-rays? Oppo says it has something to do with Blu-rays using BD-Java. So what is the scoop and is there any way around this??

Thanks.

BD discs with BD-JAVA cannot be resumed, you have to set a bookmark. No way around this. Thank the BDA for adopting JAVA as a standard. The good news is that there are still discs being made without JAVA, but I believe that JAVA is a requirement for BD-Live. Complain to the makers of discs.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #17825 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

the beta 31-620 had three files when i installed it 06/28/2009.

+1

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #17826 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:28 PM
Member
 
alull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

Watched 12 Rounds last night without incident

what about the 108 minutes? does the new FW give them back? any news on that?
alull is offline  
post #17827 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfshore View Post

Have been enjoying my BDP-83 since it arrived a number of months ago. I do have an issue that from what Oppo is telling me is a blu-ray disc issue.

While playing a standard DVD, if I press "stop" it will hold the stopping place so when I press "play", it will begin from the spot where I stopped. Not so with the blu-ray discs I have played. If I go through the same sequence, when I press "play" it begins at the beginning of the disc. Is this normal for blu-rays? Oppo says it has something to do with Blu-rays using BD-Java. So what is the scoop and is there any way around this??

Thanks.

golfshore,

Unlike dvd's bookmarks on blu-ray vary by studio and has nothing to do with the player. You don't believe Oppo? lol

Respectfully,
Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #17828 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 01:48 PM
Member
 
golfshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not that I don't believe them. Always hope that someone will figure something out!
golfshore is offline  
post #17829 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 02:21 PM
Member
 
hpreston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfshore View Post

Have been enjoying my BDP-83 since it arrived a number of months ago. I do have an issue that from what Oppo is telling me is a blu-ray disc issue.

While playing a standard DVD, if I press "stop" it will hold the stopping place so when I press "play", it will begin from the spot where I stopped. Not so with the blu-ray discs I have played. If I go through the same sequence, when I press "play" it begins at the beginning of the disc. Is this normal for blu-rays? Oppo says it has something to do with Blu-rays using BD-Java. So what is the scoop and is there any way around this??

Thanks.

Willie beat me to it.

Oppo is not lying, and no, there is no way around it.
hpreston is offline  
post #17830 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

BD discs with BD-JAVA cannot be resumed, you have to set a bookmark. No way around this.

The first first player that can hibernate (like a laptop computer) will be very popular. That's all it needs to solve the resume problem, and at today's storage costs it's not an expensive solution.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #17831 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Injector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Barring that, it would be nice if the studios would auto bookmark on Stop, and then after loading the Java program on next play offer to resume from that bookmark.
Injector is offline  
post #17832 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The latest firmware update (34-0722) did not work for me. Following the player going OFF, I removed the USB drive. Turned the player back on, into Setup and then selected Reset Factory Default.
Player went into a black screen and stayed there. Nothing happened. I powered down and repeated the procedure, this time erasing persistent storage per Oppo's advisory, before selecting Factory Reset again, with the same results.
I ended up reverting back to the 31-0620 firmware, and now everything is normal again.
I gave this info to Oppo support along with my serial number, FWIW.
videoaddikt is offline  
post #17833 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Try turning off your unit, disconnecting the power for 10 minutes, then trying again.

Another person also stated that they had to change their BD-Live Storage device from Internal to USB, clear the persistent storage, then Reset Factory Defaults.

Also, you do not need to Reset Factory Defaults. It is recommended, but not required.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #17834 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 04:42 PM
Member
 
joe1515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How should I set up my oppo for cd playback? Will it sound better with analog interconnects as opposed to a digital coaxil.

I guess the question is would you rather have Opp decode the music via analog or the Arcam AVR 600 with its on board DAC?

Joe
joe1515 is offline  
post #17835 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
PCTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is the best place to purchase these?
PCTools is offline  
post #17836 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 05:43 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,356
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCTools View Post

Where is the best place to purchase these?

That depends on where you live. In the US, you can buy direct from Oppo or from Amazon. In Europe, CRT Projectors is probably the way to go. There is also a distributor or 2 in Canada you can buy from (I don't know the details). And there's always eBay.
gsr is online now  
post #17837 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 05:44 PM
Member
 
maximus1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Tried playing Watchmen (Netflix Bluray) today on the Oppo...movie skips and freezes a lot..tried playing the same movie on my Samsung BDP 1500 - did not play on the Samsung at all..the Samsung just froze...anyonelse having a problem with Watchmen..? Have ordered another disc from Netflix..

Max
maximus1971 is offline  
post #17838 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
electric turd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have my oppo set to decode everything but when anything other then dts-hdma or dolby truehd are sent to my denon avr-789 my denon shows Dolby PLII. I dont know if I changed something by accident or what. I thought if I was decoding at the player it should say Multi-in, it showed that until the other day. Like I said, I dont know what i did but I cant figure it out.
electric turd is offline  
post #17839 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus1971 View Post

Hi,

Tried playing Watchmen (Netflix Bluray) today on the Oppo...movie skips and freezes a lot..tried playing the same movie on my Samsung BDP 1500 - did not play on the Samsung at all..the Samsung just froze...anyonelse having a problem with Watchmen..? Have ordered another disc from Netflix..

Max

My rental copy from Blockbuster played flawlessly on the Oppo. I do not have the latest beta installed.

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding cause she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #17840 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim HTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to update to the latest firmware 7/24 via network and it said congratulation I have the latest firmware. NOT. So I used a USB stick to update it. What's the point of using the network connection for updates if it doesn't detect newer versions?
Jim HTPC is offline  
post #17841 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Dolby PL II is a processing that converts 2.0 or 5.1 into 7.1. It's one of those DSP processing modes your AVR supports. Read your AVR manual.

Normally, you want this to be on for better surround processing. But your AVR will have a Direct mode to let you playback audio un-processed. Like I said, RTFM of your AVR
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #17842 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim HTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus1971 View Post

Hi,

Tried playing Watchmen (Netflix Bluray) today on the Oppo...movie skips and freezes a lot..tried playing the same movie on my Samsung BDP 1500 - did not play on the Samsung at all..the Samsung just froze...anyonelse having a problem with Watchmen..? Have ordered another disc from Netflix..

Max

I scrapped my netflix subscription. Even though it costs less than "one or two" at a time unlimited in-store rentals @ blockbuster, the lack of timely blu-rays actually makes it more expensive per disc. Especially when I can go 5 minutes around the corner and swap the two movies I just watched for two more. I could literally watch 60+ blu-ray movies in a month @ bb, not possible with netflix. My blockbuster rental of watchmen played just fine.
Jim HTPC is offline  
post #17843 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim HTPC View Post

I tried to update to the latest firmware 7/24 via network and it said congratulation I have the latest firmware. NOT. So I used a USB stick to update it. What's the point of using the network connection for updates if it doesn't detect newer versions?

The network update works correctly - for the firmware branch you have. If you have an official firmware version installed, it won't detect public beta firmware or any private betas that might exist. On the one hand, it does require users to use USB or CD-R to load firmware when changing branches. On the other hand, it insures that users don't end up with public beta firmware unless the intentionally seek it out.

gonk
Beta tester: BDP-83 / BDP-80
gonk is offline  
post #17844 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 06:32 PM
vld
Senior Member
 
vld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southwest Desert
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus1971 View Post

Hi,

Tried playing Watchmen (Netflix Bluray) today on the Oppo...movie skips and freezes a lot..tried playing the same movie on my Samsung BDP 1500 - did not play on the Samsung at all..the Samsung just froze...anyonelse having a problem with Watchmen..? Have ordered another disc from Netflix..

Max

Purchased copy played perfectly fine for me. I'm using the BDP83-31-0620 firmware.
vld is offline  
post #17845 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

Dave,

Good post. I was going to mention this. I think some people may be getting the official fw and the beta fw mixed up also. Since I already had the June 26, 2009 public beta test version I didn't receive an auto notification once it became official. As you stated I had to download the 0722 beta and install it manually. I wonder how many people were still running the 0430 firmware and skipped the 0620 beta?


Respectfully,
Willie

One question. Do the latest betas have everything that the prior official firmwares included? If I had the 0430 firmware and went to the 0722 beta would I miss something that was updated in the 0620 firmware?

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #17846 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
cdvision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a strange problem since day one and with every version of firmware. I get a snow/static noise occuring in text that is white and some white backgrounds (the eyes of the red car in "Cars"). It only occurs in the menus or previews and has not shown up during playback of a movie. The same content is fine on my PS3 and I have tried 3 different HDMI cables (including the one on the PS3) without any luck. Has anyone else noticed this with their OPPO? Other than that this is an incredible machine.

"If it's smaller than 92" it's not Home Theater...It's just a room with a big TV"
cdvision is offline  
post #17847 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 07:05 PM
vld
Senior Member
 
vld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southwest Desert
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post

One question. Do the latest betas have everything that the prior official firmwares included? If I had the 0430 firmware and went to the 0722 beta would I miss something that was updated in the 0620 firmware?

No.

Anything that did not have an issue in the previous versions of firmware would also be included in the newer firmware.
vld is offline  
post #17848 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 07:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus1971 View Post

Hi,

Tried playing Watchmen (Netflix Bluray) today on the Oppo...movie skips and freezes a lot..tried playing the same movie on my Samsung BDP 1500 - did not play on the Samsung at all..the Samsung just froze...anyonelse having a problem with Watchmen..? Have ordered another disc from Netflix..

Max

We watched the Blu-ray version from Netflix last night, and had zero problems. We have FW 620 installed.
htwaits is offline  
post #17849 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching The Watchmen on Blu Ray from Blockbuster, no worries.
Martin Butler is offline  
post #17850 of 39352 Old 07-26-2009, 07:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim HTPC View Post

I tried to update to the latest firmware 7/24 via network and it said congratulation I have the latest firmware. NOT. So I used a USB stick to update it. What's the point of using the network connection for updates if it doesn't detect newer versions?

You probably haven't been reading this thread. If you use an Internet connection, you can update to the latest official FW. You probably already have version 620 installed. The 7/20 firmware is a beta version so OPPO doesn't want it to install automatically via the Internet. Use a USB thumb drive or a DVD to load the Beta version.

So many people ask the same question that it's probably already been answered ten times before I get through typing.
htwaits is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off