Official Samsung BD-P1600 Owners/master thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 3602 Old 02-28-2009, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOW LOL that is SAD...
Steve Carr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 3602 Old 02-28-2009, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
SatinKzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, no one can say samsung isn't consistent.

That does suck though snaphook, especially with an older title.
SatinKzo is offline  
post #33 of 3602 Old 02-28-2009, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by snaphook View Post

updated: this unit will not play 310 to yuma. simply says this disc cannot be played.

called support, they want to send me a firmware cd or download from site but that's funny like a previous poster said there is no firmware for the 1600 yet.

I'm on hold.........

Are you sure the disc just wasn't bad?
ack_bk is offline  
post #34 of 3602 Old 02-28-2009, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
mistrz23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my first bd-p1600 was faulty, but I just got the new one and it works perfectly The interface is nice, well designed, and it loads the discs fast.It's lighter and the box is finally smaller. It retails for $299 but I'm pretty sure that after it will be officially released in about few weeks we should be able to find it for $199-$249 on amazon. BTW, I went to best buy yesterday and today again to exchange the player and I got the last one! they sold over 35 units within 20 hours! According to one of the reps. they are phasing out bd-p1500 right now and we should we able to see bd-p1600 on their website soon, hopefully with some price brake. Looks like best buy pulled the string earlier, because there is no word of this player on samsung website or anywhere else. It's an excellent entry level player, and hopefully with a lower price tag of $199 it might be a hit.
mistrz23 is offline  
post #35 of 3602 Old 02-28-2009, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
SatinKzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how was it faulty?
SatinKzo is offline  
post #36 of 3602 Old 03-01-2009, 08:03 AM
Newbie
 
mistrz23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It didn't read BD discs. It only read 1 out 6 discs that I had. The new one I got works flawlessly.
Any ideas why is say "you don't have enough memory to use BD-Live" even when I connect flash drive?? Is flash drive need to be completely free?
mistrz23 is offline  
post #37 of 3602 Old 03-01-2009, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Barney_DaPurple1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm guessing here, but I think the 1600 may do a check first to see if it's Profile 2.0 compliant. Internal + external persistent memory should be >= 1GB?


Then the actual content maybe downloaded initally is ~4 to 5 MB and any additional trailers.


Recommendation maybe is to get a 1 to 4 GB flash drive with bout 500 MB of free space... incase of a multitude trailer downloads of GGW vids ... just as a suggestion ?

-
Samsung BD-P1400 Questions?
The 1400 Technical Boomoo Reviews
7.1 Boomoos

Official Boomoo Reviewer
High Def Junkies
-
Be INTOLERANT! Some things are just too stupid to put up with.
Barney_DaPurple1 is offline  
post #38 of 3602 Old 03-01-2009, 10:44 AM
Member
 
jason_f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question: Will the BD-P1600 output 1080p/24? Looking at the BD-P1500 manual online, I don't see any option for 24hz output.
jason_f is offline  
post #39 of 3602 Old 03-01-2009, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barney_DaPurple1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
top of page 38.

It's like the 1400. Option to turn On/Off "Movie Frame (24 Fs)".

I am unable to download the 1600 manual. It is not available at this time. I would suspect it is the same option...

-
Samsung BD-P1400 Questions?
The 1400 Technical Boomoo Reviews
7.1 Boomoos

Official Boomoo Reviewer
High Def Junkies
-
Be INTOLERANT! Some things are just too stupid to put up with.
Barney_DaPurple1 is offline  
post #40 of 3602 Old 03-01-2009, 02:50 PM
Member
 
snaphook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Are you sure the disc just wasn't bad?" Yep. It worked flawlessly on the sony 350 I swapped it for. I had no way to find out if the disc was at fault but I was pretty suspicious it was the player esp. with sammy's record.

I still want the 2500/50 though wish BB would have had one in stock, so this one may be going back during the 30day return period.
snaphook is offline  
post #41 of 3602 Old 03-02-2009, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Until the price ticks down $50-$100, I still see the P2500 for $311 from Amazon, or $180 refurbished from E Outlet Canada (when they're in stock) as a much better deal, especially for folks with large front projection screens. I have a modest 720p projector and 100" screen at 15'... there are several DVDs in my collection that are nearly unwatchable with mediocre scaling (Toshiba A2, Philips DVP5982) but are passable with HQV scaling (UP5000, P2550).

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #42 of 3602 Old 03-03-2009, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tes7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got back from my local Best Buy a few hours ago, and sure enough they had 8 Sammy BD-P 1600's on the shelf.It's even smaller than the Sony BD350 and the front flips down hiding the disc drawer behind it(as someone above also stated).It has Netflix and Pandora built in also.It's a might expensive at $299, though my buddy picked one up anyway.So far we've tried 3 BRD discs(King Kong,How the West was Won, and From Russia With Love) and found the picture quality to be excellent(imo exactly the same as the BDP-1500).Bluray disc loading is on average a tad slower than the 1500 but it's with DVD loading that the loading is much faster.The DVD uppscaling isn't in the league of BDP2500/2550 quality but i find the color representation to be better than the BDP1500's with the 1600 being slightly better in the DVD upscaling dept.(we tested The Wizard of Oz,Transformers, and Sleeping Beauty dvds in the 1600).

For someone that doesn't yet have a Bluray player or is upgrading from a 2nd gen Bluray player, i'd easily reccommend picking up the BDP1600,but if you already own a Samsung BDP1500,Sony BD350,Panasonic BD35 players, or one of the higher end units(BDP2500/2550,BD55,BD550),then there really isn't any need to buy into a newer unit as it would be a sideways purchase(unless you absolutely have to have Netflix/Pandora streaming and don't own a BDP2500/2550/LG BD300/Xbox360)and at $299 atm is a bit steep for a player that'll likely be $190 on Amazon in a month or so.Also, if you can wait a month the BDP3600 will have 7.1 built in, as well a a gig of built in memory(the 1600 has no built in memory for BDLive support)and will come with the wireless USB dongle(which the 1600 DOES NOT INCLUDE).Better yet, if you absolutely have to have a new Bluray player today and want an excellent player, don't spend $299 on the 1600 when you can pick up a BDP-2500/2550 for a few bucks more before they disappear.IMO there is no better player for Bluray playing/DVD upscaling/feature sets around for that ammount of money.
Tes7769 is offline  
post #43 of 3602 Old 03-03-2009, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
hoyty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Parkville, MD
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I can buy a 2 GB SD card for $4 retail, which means it probably costs Samsung something like $.50 for it since they already manufacture it. Why didn't they just include 1 GB on the motherboard? To save maybe $.25? Wow. I just can't believe some stupid choices with this player.
hoyty is offline  
post #44 of 3602 Old 03-03-2009, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoyty View Post

Ok I can buy a 2 GB SD card for $4 retail, which means it probably costs Samsung something like $.50 for it since they already manufacture it. Why didn't they just include 1 GB on the motherboard? To save maybe $.25? Wow. I just can't believe some stupid choices with this player.

Then they couldn't sell you the Samsung 2600 at a $50 premium...
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #45 of 3602 Old 03-03-2009, 07:18 PM
Member
 
YukonJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just wondering about the BD-1600. My BD-1500 is identified as a BD-1600 by my Sharp Aquos LCD, which I thought was strange. I dont have the most recent firmware update (heard some strange stuff about it). Has anyone seen anything similar?
YukonJack is offline  
post #46 of 3602 Old 03-03-2009, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barney_DaPurple1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If yaw are interested, the online manual is available for download.

http://org.downloadcenter.samsung.co...0,1600-XAA.pdf

-
Samsung BD-P1400 Questions?
The 1400 Technical Boomoo Reviews
7.1 Boomoos

Official Boomoo Reviewer
High Def Junkies
-
Be INTOLERANT! Some things are just too stupid to put up with.
Barney_DaPurple1 is offline  
post #47 of 3602 Old 03-04-2009, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Was at my local BB today and they had both the 1600 and 3600- The 3600 has 7.1 analog out and wireless (comes with the antenna). They want $399.99 for the 3600.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #48 of 3602 Old 03-04-2009, 10:50 AM
Member
 
thejez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

Was at my local BB today and they had both the 1600 and 3600- The 3600 has 7.1 analog out and wireless (comes with the antenna). They want $399.99 for the 3600.

that sucker better have HQV or else it's doomed @ 399.
thejez is offline  
post #49 of 3602 Old 03-04-2009, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejez View Post

that sucker better have HQV or else it's doomed @ 399.

Nope- didn't say it on the box. I looked specifically for that. Funny thing is the 2550 is selling for $349.99 right beside it. $50.00 for wireless but no HQV LOL

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #50 of 3602 Old 03-04-2009, 11:40 AM
Member
 
thejez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

Nope- didn't say it on the box. I looked specifically for that. Funny thing is the 2550 is selling for $349.99 right beside it. $50.00 for wireless but no HQV LOL

there really is no other difference between the 2 right??? Here is all your getting:

* wifi
* faster load times

?? am i missing anything? I keep asking myself, surely they've done something else to distinguish this player from last years?
thejez is offline  
post #51 of 3602 Old 03-04-2009, 01:06 PM
Member
 
bmonlycg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up the bd-p1600 to replace my panny 30. Compared to the panny its great. Picture quality is alot better imo. The loading times is night and day. Not sure if i am going to keep it though. I really wanted the new panny 60 so hopefully panasonic starts to put some of there things on the shelves!
bmonlycg is offline  
post #52 of 3602 Old 03-04-2009, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejez View Post

that sucker better have HQV or else it's doomed @ 399.

No HQV for the 3600? Odd.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #53 of 3602 Old 03-05-2009, 10:30 AM
Member
 
thejez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

Nope- didn't say it on the box. I looked specifically for that. Funny thing is the 2550 is selling for $349.99 right beside it. $50.00 for wireless but no HQV LOL

does the 2550 mention HQV on the box?
thejez is offline  
post #54 of 3602 Old 03-05-2009, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejez View Post

does the 2550 mention HQV on the box?

Yes it did- I checked to compare the two.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #55 of 3602 Old 03-06-2009, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tes7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SKoprowski is correct. I just checked out the BD-P3600 at my local BB and didn't see any mention of HQV on the box anywhere.I'm looking to pick one up to replace my PS3 as the bedroom BR player, but just may pick up another 2500 or 2550 instead.I don't need the wireless(have a wireless router a few feet away and can simply use a 3 foot cable)and the slightly faster load times are a big deal to imo.The BB salesman is going to hook both the 3600 and 2550 up to big screen lcd for me and let me play back a few of my blurays and regular dvds if i go back tomorrow morning.

If i DO go, i'll stop back here and let you all know what my observations were.
Tes7769 is offline  
post #56 of 3602 Old 03-06-2009, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If there's no HQV, step ups of the 3600 over the 1600 the included wireless and 7.1 analog?

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #57 of 3602 Old 03-06-2009, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
reallynotnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post

If there's no HQV, step ups of the 3600 over the 1600 the included wireless and 7.1 analog?

Also built in 1GB.
reallynotnick is offline  
post #58 of 3602 Old 03-06-2009, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That's not adding up to a convincing reason to spend $100 more in my book... I'm not seeing much of anything, available or anounced, offering a more compelling package than the 2500/2550... not on image quality, useful features, or bang/buck.

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #59 of 3602 Old 03-06-2009, 04:59 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got one today at Bestbuy. What do you have to get to use BD Live? What is pandora?
mphs68 is offline  
post #60 of 3602 Old 03-06-2009, 05:18 PM
Member
 
thejez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just went my local BB and looked at the 3600 and the 2550... the 3600 box said AVCHD only and made no mention of HQV..... I bought the 2550 because it was a no brainer... $50 less and a better upscaler and buttons on the front instead of the top (annoying). The BB guy said he thought the 3600 had a farajouda upscaler in it... i think he was making a wild guess.
thejez is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Bd P1600 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Samsung Ln32a330 32 Inch 720p Lcd Hdtv , Xbox 360 Media Remote
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off