Official Samsung BD-P1600 Owners/master thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3602 Old 03-06-2009, 10:20 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I try to do BD Live it says please confirm your player is connected to the internet. It is connected so what do I need to do. On the network connection test it says its working properly. Or do you have to set it up for bdlive all Ive done is plug my internet cord into my player.Is their more you have to do for bdlive?
mphs68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 03:02 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once I plugged memory in it worked fine.
mphs68 is offline  
post #63 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
rebs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejez View Post

that sucker better have HQV or else it's doomed @ 399.

does anyone know if the 1500 has HQV ?
rebs is offline  
post #64 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geaux Tigers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebs View Post

does anyone know if the 1500 has HQV ?

Only the Samsung BD-P2500 & BD-P2550 have HQV. The discontinued Samsung BD-U5000 combo HD DVD / Blu-ray player also had HQV.
Geaux Tigers is offline  
post #65 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geaux Tigers View Post

Only the Samsung BD-P2500 & BD-P2550 have HQV. The discontinued Samsung BD-U5000 combo HD DVD / Blu-ray player also had HQV.

The discontinued P1200 had HQV processing as well, but it lacked the ability to bitstream or decode lossless audio codecs.

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #66 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 08:28 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you use Bitstream Audophie in the audio setup if you have a optical connection it says to use with hdmi audio connection.
mphs68 is offline  
post #67 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barney_DaPurple1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mphs68 View Post

Can you use Bitstream Audophie in the audio setup if you have a optical connection it says to use with hdmi audio connection.

It's probably not worthwhile to bitstream (audiophile) if you're using FO. You probably couldn't bitstream lossless audio with FO connection.

bitstream (re-encode) is the optimum setting if you're connected with FO. This will re-encode primary and secondary audio to DTS so you can bitstream it with a FO connection. HTH.

-
Samsung BD-P1400 Questions?
The 1400 Technical Boomoo Reviews
7.1 Boomoos

Official Boomoo Reviewer
High Def Junkies
-
Be INTOLERANT! Some things are just too stupid to put up with.
Barney_DaPurple1 is offline  
post #68 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 08:48 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The recommened choice for optical is bitstream RE Encode and the manual says the con to this is a lower audio quality. it reencodes it to dts bitstream but its lower volume than bitstream Audophile.
mphs68 is offline  
post #69 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barney_DaPurple1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The first part of the statement is true. The second part is questionable. Volume and quality should not be mixed up.

The reason why Bitstream (Re-encode) can be lesser of quality than Bitstream (Audiophile) is because of lossless codecs, e.g. TrueHD and Master Audio. After the 1600 decodes them, it must be "re-encoded" to DTS to be bitstreamed to the receiver as such. Thus loss in sound quality. As for sound volume loss, that depends and there are other variables and codec attributes involved. For the sake of discussion volume and quality should be separated.

Bitstream (Audiophile) should be used with HDMI connection. The only problem is secondary audio is not heard if you like BonusView material or Director's commentaries while playing the movie.

-
Samsung BD-P1400 Questions?
The 1400 Technical Boomoo Reviews
7.1 Boomoos

Official Boomoo Reviewer
High Def Junkies
-
Be INTOLERANT! Some things are just too stupid to put up with.
Barney_DaPurple1 is offline  
post #70 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 09:30 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will it hurt to use Bitstream Audiophile with optical?
mphs68 is offline  
post #71 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barney_DaPurple1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think it hurts any. Just keep in mind the two things affecting this route with FO connection.
  1. TrueHD and Master Audio will allow only Dolby Digital and DTS (core) to be bitstreamed via FO.
  2. No secondary audio (audible) via FO.

With Bitstream (Re-encode) and FO connection, you gain almost the same quality on the list above (DTS), but secondary audio is mixed in.

HTH.

-
Samsung BD-P1400 Questions?
The 1400 Technical Boomoo Reviews
7.1 Boomoos

Official Boomoo Reviewer
High Def Junkies
-
Be INTOLERANT! Some things are just too stupid to put up with.
Barney_DaPurple1 is offline  
post #72 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 09:51 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats FO? Fiber optical?
mphs68 is offline  
post #73 of 3602 Old 03-07-2009, 10:09 PM
Member
 
thejez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes
thejez is offline  
post #74 of 3602 Old 03-08-2009, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
cval2300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im in the market for a blu ray, and i dont know anything about them and was helping you guys could help me out. I have narrowed it down between the samsung bd-p2500 and the bd-p1600, because of the netflix live stream. I really liked the option of wi-fi (with dongle)with the p1600 because my computer is in the other room, but within line of site. Then you guys started talking about hqv processing(which i have no idea what that is) and now Im having a hard time trying to figure out which one to buy. The extra 50 dollars for the p1600 is not a huge concern for me. Will the dongle work with the 2500 as well or will the 2500 always have to be plugged in via ethernet cable. One last concern for me is my internet speed is only 3100 kbs and was wondering how the netflix live stream will work with that. thanks in advance
cval2300 is offline  
post #75 of 3602 Old 03-08-2009, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #76 of 3602 Old 03-08-2009, 07:23 PM
Member
 
jsl262's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: east coast
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What does pc connection feature in samsung 3600 do?
jsl262 is offline  
post #77 of 3602 Old 03-08-2009, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barney_DaPurple1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cval2300 View Post

Im in the market for a blu ray, and i dont know anything about them and was helping you guys could help me out. I have narrowed it down between the samsung bd-p2500 and the bd-p1600, because of the netflix live stream. I really liked the option of wi-fi (with dongle)with the p1600 because my computer is in the other room, but within line of site. Then you guys started talking about hqv processing(which i have no idea what that is) and now Im having a hard time trying to figure out which one to buy. The extra 50 dollars for the p1600 is not a huge concern for me. Will the dongle work with the 2500 as well or will the 2500 always have to be plugged in via ethernet cable. One last concern for me is my internet speed is only 3100 kbs and was wondering how the netflix live stream will work with that. thanks in advance

I think most of your questions can be answered in the 2500/2550 thread, especially the internet connection speed with Netflix.

The 2500/2550 has a usb port and a LAN port in the back. I'm not sure if a wireless USB dongle can be used there or not. It's probably used for BD-Live content storage and FW updates from an already downloaded FW update file, not using it as a network connection. Again check the master thread for confirmation.

HQV is an involved discussion. Something I don't really know a lot about. There are 4 main things HQV processing does to improve the picture quality. Number 1 on the list is reduces noise of an image. IMHO, HQV processing is not really a must have. But if you can get it built-in the player or receiver then it's a bonus. On an average or entry level HT setup, without a trained eye, one can't really tell the difference with or without HQV processing . With a trained eye, and a dedicated system, maybe with a 200" screen or so, then yes, HQV processing can make a difference.

It has been discussed on other BD player threads concerning the upscaling PQ of DVDs of BD players not being adequate. In this case, having HQV processing done with the Realta or Reon chip can help.

I better stop here before the videophiles begin to brand me... if they haven't started to do so already . Hope you have enough to get started.

-
Samsung BD-P1400 Questions?
The 1400 Technical Boomoo Reviews
7.1 Boomoos

Official Boomoo Reviewer
High Def Junkies
-
Be INTOLERANT! Some things are just too stupid to put up with.
Barney_DaPurple1 is offline  
post #78 of 3602 Old 03-08-2009, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by cval2300 View Post

Im in the market for a blu ray, and i dont know anything about them and was helping you guys could help me out. I have narrowed it down between the samsung bd-p2500 and the bd-p1600, because of the netflix live stream. I really liked the option of wi-fi (with dongle)with the p1600 because my computer is in the other room, but within line of site. Then you guys started talking about hqv processing(which i have no idea what that is) and now Im having a hard time trying to figure out which one to buy. The extra 50 dollars for the p1600 is not a huge concern for me. Will the dongle work with the 2500 as well or will the 2500 always have to be plugged in via ethernet cable. One last concern for me is my internet speed is only 3100 kbs and was wondering how the netflix live stream will work with that. thanks in advance

Buy a 2550 and 2 of these http://shop3.frys.com/product/559679...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG
laserjock II is offline  
post #79 of 3602 Old 03-09-2009, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
drgnflyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a 1600 last week at BB. I have been lurking here at everyone's feedback. This is my first Blu-ray and my TV is on that way so I can't really give it a fair assessment. Like most, my DVD collect is abudant so upscaling is pretty important. I got a 58" Panasonic and would hate to have bad imagine on that big a TV. The Pandora and Netflix set up was fast. The volume seems a bit uneven though. Pandora blares at the same volume as watching a movie off Netflix. I'm also interested in the upscaling for other reasons. I create a lot of videos for people. My video gear is HD but I output to DVD. I'm wondering how those video's will look or if I am better off redoing to Blu-ray.

My biggest concern now is setting up my player to work with a Harmony remote. Does the remote for the 1600 have similair buttons to the 1500 or 2500?
drgnflyz is offline  
post #80 of 3602 Old 03-09-2009, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgnflyz View Post

My biggest concern now is setting up my player to work with a Harmony remote. Does the remote for the 1600 have similair buttons to the 1500 or 2500?

I've had several Samsung players (P1000, UP5000, P2550) and haven't update my Harmony since I originally programmed it for the P1000... all of the IR codes have been the same for all three players, and I'm pretty sure they physical remotes are identical as well. I would say any of the Samsung BD models should work fine for Harmony programing purposes.

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #81 of 3602 Old 03-09-2009, 12:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,004
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgnflyz View Post

My biggest concern now is setting up my player to work with a Harmony remote. Does the remote for the 1600 have similair buttons to the 1500 or 2500?

Why? First of all, it is already in Harmony online database. Second of all, if some buttons not listed, you can always learn them from your OEM remote.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #82 of 3602 Old 03-09-2009, 07:12 PM
Member
 
mphs68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Memphis Tn
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched Underworld once and went back to watch it again and got a message disk cant play. Anyone have any idea why this might happen? Could it be a bad disk?
mphs68 is offline  
post #83 of 3602 Old 03-10-2009, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
drgnflyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Why? First of all, it is already in Harmony online database. Second of all, if some buttons not listed, you can always learn them from your OEM remote.

I have to say I'm shocked. It is suprising to see Harmony is more up to date than Best Buy or even Samsung. Neither have the 1600 listed on their web yet they are obviously selling them. Regardless thanks Foxbat for pointing it out. Now if you could only yell at the delivery company who is holding up my TV.
drgnflyz is offline  
post #84 of 3602 Old 03-11-2009, 12:05 AM
Senior Member
 
nathanjbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BD-P1600 just popped up on Amazon...For those without a Best Buy in the near vicinity of home

Nathan
nathanjbrown is offline  
post #85 of 3602 Old 03-12-2009, 07:27 AM
Member
 
michaelnel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I picked one of these up at the SF Harrison Street BB last night, along with the Dark Night Blu-Ray DVD. This is actually the first time I have owned a Blu-Ray player and the first time watching a Blu-Ray movie, and I must say I am really impressed.

The Dark Knight is a really stupid story, but I bought it for the special effects and because I had heard it was a great demo of Blu-Ray, and it sure seems to be.

I don't have it on my LAN yet so have not checked out Netflix and Pandora. There don't seem to be any FW upgrades available on the Samsung site yet, but with my very short trial of the unit so far, I don't see need of any upgrades.

Sucks that the remote isn't backlit though. Fortunately, I was able to easily program my Logitech Harmony One and it works great.
michaelnel is offline  
post #86 of 3602 Old 03-12-2009, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelnel View Post

I.

The Dark Knight is a really stupid story, but I bought it for the special effects and because I had heard it was a great demo of Blu-Ray, and it sure seems to be.

Stupid story??? Boy are you opening a can of worms.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #87 of 3602 Old 03-12-2009, 07:51 AM
Member
 
DenM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In my old DVD player, a Bravo D2, I ran an optical audio out to my new Sony 7.1 receiver and it pretty much did a handshake with auto format detection turned on (AFD set to "on" on the receiver). When I would play a DTS ES discrete disc (non-blue ray), the Sony would display "DTS ES discrete 7.1" with scrolling text upon the detection of the audio signal.

I replaced the D2 with the bd-p1600, and so far I cannot get the same result with non-blue ray discs. Any words of wisdom here? I have tried all audio formats going out of the 1600.

Thanks for any tips
DenM3 is offline  
post #88 of 3602 Old 03-12-2009, 09:07 AM
Member
 
michaelnel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

Stupid story??? Boy are you opening a can of worms.

Hey, it's my opinion. I thought the whole thing was overly predictable and way too long. The only acting in it that I liked was Ledger's Joker, and I still think Jack Nicholson should have had the role.
michaelnel is offline  
post #89 of 3602 Old 03-12-2009, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
luigionlsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenM3 View Post

In my old DVD player, a Bravo D2, I ran an optical audio out to my new Sony 7.1 receiver and it pretty much did a handshake with auto format detection turned on (AFD set to "on" on the receiver). When I would play a DTS ES discrete disc (non-blue ray), the Sony would display "DTS ES discrete 7.1" with scrolling text upon the detection of the audio signal.

I replaced the D2 with the bd-p1600, and so far I cannot get the same result with non-blue ray discs. Any words of wisdom here? I have tried all audio formats going out of the 1600.

Thanks for any tips

Looks like your AVR will decode DTS-ES, but are you connecting your 1600 via optical or HDMI? If it's HDMI, it's possible your receiver will only process multichannel PCM, or your player is set to PCM mode (legacy codecs will also be sent as PCM and decoded by the player). If you're using optical, it's possible that option is also set to PCM mode, and while you're actually hearing the proper DTS-ES, the audio has been already decoded and the receiver is getting PCM.
luigionlsd is offline  
post #90 of 3602 Old 03-12-2009, 12:34 PM
Member
 
DenM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am connecting audio via optical.

The cord to my projector is a DVI(connected via a HDMI to DVI adaptor), so I am not using the HDMI audio (or did not plan to).

thanks again
DenM3 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Bd P1600 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Samsung Ln32a330 32 Inch 720p Lcd Hdtv , Xbox 360 Media Remote
Gear in this thread - P1600 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off