Sony BDP-S360 and BDP-S560 Blu-ray players (and BDP-BX2) - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 1365 Old 07-22-2009, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
wdkerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Hi all, can you point me to key differences between the S360 and S560. Also, I only have a 720p TV, we'll I still be able to get 720p picture from these players to the TV via component connection? thanks

720p is possible with these players. You will have to check the manual for the connection types, but I think you are OK.

A full comparison can be made on www.sonystyle.com. Manuals can also be downloaded somewhere on the Sony site (look in the Support section)

-- David
wdkerbow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 1365 Old 07-22-2009, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ewing Twp, NJ
Posts: 1,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkerbow View Post

From the SonyStyle website:



Determining if running the cable for it is worth it, is up to you.

You can also download firmware updates via the ethernet connection.
mikeewing is offline  
post #303 of 1365 Old 07-22-2009, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkerbow View Post

720p is possible with these players. You will have to check the manual for the connection types, but I think you are OK.

A full comparison can be made on www.sonystyle.com. Manuals can also be downloaded somewhere on the Sony site (look in the Support section)

I'd already compared the two players from the sony website and saw NO DIFFERENCES. But I think there must be something not listed at the site.
smokarz is offline  
post #304 of 1365 Old 07-22-2009, 05:11 PM
Member
 
SillyConVal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gar1138 View Post

Looks like new firmware is out today (v006) on esupport.sony.com. Anybody give it a try yet? Thanks,

Garrett

I just updated the firmware from version 11.1.002 to 11.4.006 and did not notice any difference afterwards. Does anyone know what changes Sony made?
SillyConVal is offline  
post #305 of 1365 Old 07-22-2009, 05:16 PM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

I'd already compared the two players from the sony website and saw NO DIFFERENCES. But I think there must be something not listed at the site.

I think the 560 is wi-fi enabled.
TRT is offline  
post #306 of 1365 Old 07-22-2009, 07:07 PM
Member
 
THUNDER8268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody here seen a worthwhile professional review on the S360 on the net? Seems there is are lot of "amateur bull" and "short summary reviews" out there but no really good professional reviews. Even Ultimate AV mag that came out with very good detailed reviews on the S300 and S350, seems to have "skipped" the s360? Well if someone has seen a worthwhile review lately, please let us know.
THUNDER8268 is offline  
post #307 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ewing Twp, NJ
Posts: 1,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by THUNDER8268 View Post

Anybody here seen a worthwhile professional review on the S360 on the net? Seems there is are lot of "amateur bull" and "short summary reviews" out there but no really good professional reviews. Even Ultimate AV mag that came out with very good detailed reviews on the S300 and S350, seems to have "skipped" the s360? Well if someone has seen a worthwhile review lately, please let us know.

Here is the link to the Home Theater Magazine review from June 2009.

http://hometheatermag.com/discplayer...lu-ray_player/
mikeewing is offline  
post #308 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ewing Twp, NJ
Posts: 1,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

I'd already compared the two players from the sony website and saw NO DIFFERENCES. But I think there must be something not listed at the site.

I compared the 2 owner's manuals and these appear to be the major differences between the two players.

The 560S has all the features of the 360S PLUS:
1) USB jack on front panel for displaying photos;
2) DLNA network compatible so that photos can be streamed from a DLNA source via the network connection;
2) S-Video connection;
3) WLAN network connection.

The 560S front panel USB jack cannot be used for external memory. The EXT jack on the rear panel is the only jack that can be used for external memory. Note that both the 360S and 560S need to have this separate memory drive installed in the EXT jack for BD-Live, etc.

Whether or not these features are worth the extra money is up to the buyer.
mikeewing is offline  
post #309 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
tranle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does anybody knows if there will be a Costco version of the BDP-S560 ?
tranle is offline  
post #310 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 10:23 AM
Member
 
jakowako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone who is interested in the S560 may want to check their local Best Buy. I stopped by there at lunch today to pick up Coraline and Watchmen and they had two of these on the shelf. I was surprised to see these as the official release looks to be another 3 to 4 weeks away. Will report later on the overall experience.
jakowako is offline  
post #311 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
mdLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ordered the S360 yesterday off the Amazon with free shipping and received today. Hooked up right away and updated the firmware with no issues whatsoever.

Will get back after I test the playback.

This is my first BD player btw..
mdLCD is offline  
post #312 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeewing View Post

I compared the 2 owner's manuals and these appear to be the major differences between the two players.

The 560S has all the features of the 360S PLUS:
1) USB jack on front panel for displaying photos;
2) DLNA network compatible so that photos can be streamed from a DLNA source via the network connection;
2) S-Video connection;
3) WLAN network connection.

The 560S front panel USB jack cannot be used for external memory. The EXT jack on the rear panel is the only jack that can be used for external memory. Note that both the 360S and 560S need to have this separate memory drive installed in the EXT jack for BD-Live, etc.

Whether or not these features are worth the extra money is up to the buyer.


thanks, those features are not worth $1 more for me since I won't be touching any of them. looks like the S360 is the way to go.
smokarz is offline  
post #313 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I originaly bought a Panny BD60 and thought the player was awesome. I ended up returning it because it had some freezing issues and wasn't sure if Panasonic was going to fix it within a reasonable time....Enter the Sony S360. At first, I thought this Sony player was awesome, nice looking and even better PQ, I even think the PQ was better than the Panny. But.....I don't have an audio equipment so the player was hooked directly to the TV. The first thing I noticed was the audio on some movies with the legacy Dolby audio was way too low and the dialog hard to hear. You have to raise the volume to like 70 or 80 just to hear the dialog, but when the action started it becomes way too loud. I played around with the audio settings including the DRC but that did not help much. There's a TV mode that you can use, but basically what it does is compressed the sound so much that explosions and gun shots just doesn't sound right. In other words, it sux. Then there's the movies with the HD Master Audio. Again, dialog hard to hear, and action sequences way too loud. So, the audio on this player was the deal breaker for me. Maybe because I don't have any audio equipment? Maybe, I don't know but I went back to the Panny BD60 which they just released a firmware update that supposely fixed the freezing issues. I am much more happier with the Panny player, and it also has a "Dialog Enhancer" that makes the dialog much more louder and clear without having to use compression. Hope this helps out people that are looking into buying the Sony S360 player.
Cortiz is offline  
post #314 of 1365 Old 07-23-2009, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
mdLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samswife View Post

What time did u order? do they deliver it next day if u order before a certain time?

thanks

Ordered in the morning and they shipped the same day. They have a warehouse very close to my area, thats why I got it on the next day.
mdLCD is offline  
post #315 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 03:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakowako View Post

Anyone who is interested in the S560 may want to check their local Best Buy. I stopped by there at lunch today to pick up Coraline and Watchmen and they had two of these on the shelf. I was surprised to see these as the official release looks to be another 3 to 4 weeks away.

FWIW, Amazon says August 17, 2009.
kucharsk is offline  
post #316 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 06:03 AM
Newbie
 
Spooky222's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up a S560 yesterday at Best Buy. Quick thoughts: setup was easy (no problems with getting Wi-Fi to work); Wi-Fi is a, b, g, or n compatible; SD picture quality on par with previous S350; probably around 20% faster than S350 loading Blu-Rays.
Spooky222 is offline  
post #317 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 07:17 AM
Senior Member
 
mdLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have watched a couple SD movies on my new S360 just to see how it handles the SD discs. The upconvertion is pretty good, I would say very close to my Oppo 980H quality. But when it comes to speed, the S360 is still slow compared to Oppo. I also get "low" sound levels and the bass management not as good as Oppo. So I would say Oppo sound quality is twice better than the S360? Huh?

I haven't tested any BD content, so I can't really comment on that. I bought this only for BD and I hope it will not disappoint, but so far I am not really impressed.
mdLCD is offline  
post #318 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
vahid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky222 View Post

Picked up a S560 yesterday at Best Buy. Quick thoughts: setup was easy (no problems with getting Wi-Fi to work); Wi-Fi is a, b, g, or n compatible; SD picture quality on par with previous S350; probably around 20% faster than S350 loading Blu-Rays.


Does it do Divx? Also any zoom functions?
vahid is offline  
post #319 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
bggruff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky222 View Post

Picked up a S560 yesterday at Best Buy. Quick thoughts: setup was easy (no problems with getting Wi-Fi to work); Wi-Fi is a, b, g, or n compatible; SD picture quality on par with previous S350; probably around 20% faster than S350 loading Blu-Rays.

I stopped into BB yesterday to see if they had one on display, but only had two in stock not yet out of the box.

Spooky, I'd like to know if the remote is backlit and has the eject and mute buttons on it please.

I have one on order from Sony Rewards, but I was mighty tempted to pick one up yesterday.
bggruff is offline  
post #320 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 12:08 PM
Newbie
 
Spooky222's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bggruff View Post

I stopped into BB yesterday to see if they had one on display, but only had two in stock not yet out of the box.

Spooky, I'd like to know if the remote is backlit and has the eject and mute buttons on it please.

I have one on order from Sony Rewards, but I was mighty tempted to pick one up yesterday.

No backlight, eject, or mute buttons on the remote.
Spooky222 is offline  
post #321 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Spooky222's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vahid View Post

Does it do Divx? Also any zoom functions?

No DIVX or zoom functions.
Spooky222 is offline  
post #322 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
bggruff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky222 View Post

No backlight, eject, or mute buttons on the remote.

Thanks

Disappointing since my S550 has those same features on the remote control. Guess I'll have to break down and buy the Harmony One and tie my system together that way.
bggruff is offline  
post #323 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
wdkerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Stopped by Best Buy yesterday. They had two 560s in stock, but said they were not allowed to sell them until July 26th. (The same day I leave for vacation) Will have to wait until I get back I guess.

-- David
wdkerbow is offline  
post #324 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 12:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,160
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by bggruff View Post

Thanks

Disappointing since my S550 has those same features on the remote control. Guess I'll have to break down and buy the Harmony One and tie my system together that way.

FYI, you can easily add the missing functions to a cheap remote too per THIS post. That post also has codes for frame advance, if you want to try them.
mdavej is offline  
post #325 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
vahid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky222 View Post

Picked up a S560 yesterday at Best Buy. Quick thoughts: setup was easy (no problems with getting Wi-Fi to work); Wi-Fi is a, b, g, or n compatible; SD picture quality on par with previous S350; probably around 20% faster than S350 loading Blu-Rays.

How much?
vahid is offline  
post #326 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 02:39 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just received my BDP-S360. Watching Push on BD now. Neat, but heck, that HOME button is nasty. It should be under a plastic cover like the old switches that the used to launch rockets and missiles.
bicker1 is offline  
post #327 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 06:29 PM
Member
 
jakowako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$349.00 but I had a 10% coupon, $50.00 gift card from work, and $15 in RZ dollars so I walked out the door at ~ $260.00. Great players and the wi-fi is worth it.
jakowako is offline  
post #328 of 1365 Old 07-24-2009, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
stopped into best buy in oklahoma city, had two s560 on the shelf, bought one and will set it up tomorrow morning.. still one left for any other OKC people here.. after tax was $378.xx

My Home Theater
JacobC1983 is offline  
post #329 of 1365 Old 07-25-2009, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 68
you can get the S360 for free or S560 for just $50.

just sign up for the Sony credit card. that's what I did. once my card gets here, my first charge on the Card will be the S360, Dark Knight and Boltz blurays.
smokarz is offline  
post #330 of 1365 Old 07-25-2009, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
wdkerbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just got back from Best Buy to try again with the 560. They had three on the shelf today. Picked one up with a 4GB Geek Squad USB stick and "The Dark Knight". I used $160 in gift cards. Spent about $250 of my own cash for the bundle.

Setup was easy. Connected to my Onyko AVR with HDMI with no problem. Had a little user education entering my wireless security code, but it worked like a charm after I got it entered.

Tried a SD disk of "Troy". Looks good so far. Tonight the Dark Knight makes an appearance.

I am updating my Harmony 880 right now. The player is already in their database. Cool. No need for the Sony remote anymore.

-- David
wdkerbow is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony Bdp S360 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player Accessory Kit , Sony Bdp S560 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony , Sony Bdv T11 Home Theater System
Gear in this thread - S560 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off