Sony BDP-S360 and BDP-S560 Blu-ray players (and BDP-BX2) - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1364 Old 01-08-2010, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Yazon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,
I've got N460 on the way, but wondering if I should switch to BDP-BX2 from Costco.

I already have Bravia LCD TV, so it has netflix and all other streaming options that are on the N460. BDP-BX2 sells at a $110 right now, which is cheaper than the $188 I've paid for N460 and it comes with HDMI cable and backlit remote.

What's the word from the crowd?
Yazon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1364 Old 01-08-2010, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Streaming is the only reason to get the 460 over other players. If you've already got that, then it would be a waste of money to get the 460. I don't know anything about the bravia, but does it really have all the streaming content the 460 does (about 25 providers, last time I checked)? The cable and backlit remote don't do much for me since I use a universal remote anyway and get monoprice cables for $4 a piece. Another advantage of a universal remote is you get an eject button.
mdavej is offline  
post #813 of 1364 Old 01-08-2010, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Streaming is the only reason to get the 460 over other players. If you've already got that, then it would be a waste of money to get the 460? I don't know anything about the bravia, but does it really have all the streaming content the 460 does (about 25 providers, last time I checked)?

Sony should release a software update that would allow streaming on the S360 and s560. But they will not do that. Do not know why, it would create great customer loyalty and good customer service.
GPowers is offline  
post #814 of 1364 Old 01-08-2010, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Yazon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Streaming is the only reason to get the 460 over other players. If you've already got that, then it would be a waste of money to get the 460. I don't know anything about the bravia, but does it really have all the streaming content the 460 does (about 25 providers, last time I checked)? The cable and backlit remote don't do much for me since I use a universal remote anyway and get monoprice cables for $4 a piece. Another advantage of a universal remote is you get an eject button.

Yes - all the same providers.

The only difference that i can see that may matter is that BDP-BX2 does do DTS Master Audio - Only Dolby TrueHD.
Yazon is offline  
post #815 of 1364 Old 01-08-2010, 02:50 PM
Member
 
punman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BISlander replied: 96/24 depends on whether your AVR supports 96kHz sampling rates. Check your AVR manual. My manual says it does - so that means I use the 96/24 setting?
Thanks for the responses from Punman.
punman is offline  
post #816 of 1364 Old 01-08-2010, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yazon View Post

Yes - all the same providers.

The only difference that i can see that may matter is that BDP-BX2 does do DTS Master Audio - Only Dolby TrueHD.

It decodes both, same as the 460.
mdavej is offline  
post #817 of 1364 Old 01-08-2010, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by punman View Post

BISlander replied: 96/24 depends on whether your AVR supports 96kHz sampling rates. Check your AVR manual. My manual says it does - so that means I use the 96/24 setting?

Sure. But, it won't matter very often. Most discs have 48kHz sampling rates.
BIslander is online now  
post #818 of 1364 Old 01-09-2010, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Yazon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

It decodes both, same as the 460.

Wierd. On Sony's site in the specs PDF is only mentions regular DTS and on 460's it says DTS-Master Audio.

Have you tried playing MA content on it?
Yazon is offline  
post #819 of 1364 Old 01-09-2010, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Dafunky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got both of these players on boxing day and need to choose one.

Anyone have any thoughts on BDP560 vs Samsung 1600? Samsung is a very highly rated player but I'm wondering if I'll be losing out on features that the sony has?

Thoughts anyone?
Dafunky1 is offline  
post #820 of 1364 Old 01-09-2010, 09:29 AM
Member
 
battscrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the 49th
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafunky1 View Post

I got both of these players on boxing day and need to choose one.

Anyone have any thoughts on BDP560 vs Samsung 1600? Samsung is a very highly rated player but I'm wondering if I'll be losing out on features that the sony has?

Thoughts anyone?

I have read that the samsung can be glitchy? I may be thinking about a different model? Check Cnet
battscrew is offline  
post #821 of 1364 Old 01-09-2010, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Yazon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
People in Denon audio threads complain about Samsungs not "syncing" well with Denon AVRs over HDMI.

Other than that I haven't personally seen any problems. My friend has a Samsung BluRay and is very happy with it (don't know which model, but one that comes with wireless adapter in the box).
Yazon is offline  
post #822 of 1364 Old 01-10-2010, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Elparquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll just apologize now, but after doing several failed searches on the 28 pages in this thread, I'll just ask.

Simple question - I just need a recommendation for a wireless adapter that will work with a the Sony BDP-BX2. I'm not seeing a USB port listed, so is there even such a wireless device?

Thanks!
Elparquito is offline  
post #823 of 1364 Old 01-10-2010, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
Cheap Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elparquito View Post

I'll just apologize now, but after doing several failed searches on the 28 pages in this thread, I'll just ask.

Simple question - I just need a recommendation for a wireless adapter that will work with a the Sony BDP-BX2. I'm not seeing a USB port listed, so is there even such a wireless device?

Thanks!

Don't apologize, I'm trying to find the same solution. The only thing I'd like is that it not cost an arm and a leg. Otherwise, I'm going to try to return it and get a Samsung that will allow Netflix streaming.

Can anyone help?
Cheap Guy is offline  
post #824 of 1364 Old 01-10-2010, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
jjthenovice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Antelope, CA
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheap Guy View Post

Don't apologize, I'm trying to find the same solution. The only thing I'd like is that it not cost an arm and a leg. Otherwise, I'm going to try to return it and get a Samsung that will allow Netflix streaming.

Can anyone help?

I'm using an Airlink 101 Model AP431W set up as an AP Client. It plugs into your ethernet port. I actually have a S560 but use the Airlink for my LG 80PS60 Plasma. It will work with your player as well or should. I have no problem streaming netflix vudu and youtube. So the solution is not with your usb port but find a wireless printserver or the likes and plug it into your ethernet port.
jjthenovice is offline  
post #825 of 1364 Old 01-10-2010, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elparquito View Post

I'll just apologize now, but after doing several failed searches on the 28 pages in this thread, I'll just ask.

Simple question - I just need a recommendation for a wireless adapter that will work with a the Sony BDP-BX2. I'm not seeing a USB port listed, so is there even such a wireless device?

Thanks!

Unless you really want BD-Live (which is worthless), there's really no reason to add wireless to the BX2. You can do firmware updates via USB or disc (there is a USB port on the back), and the BX2 isn't a streaming player anyway.

If you insist on adding wireless, you'll have to get what's called a wireless bridge or gaming adapter that plugs into the ethernet port as other's have pointed out. Any model will do. To save money, I use an old linksys router ($30) that I converted to a bridge using a custom DD-WRT firmware.
mdavej is offline  
post #826 of 1364 Old 01-10-2010, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

You can do firmware updates via USB or disc (there is a USB port on the back)

My manual on the 360 doesn't discuss firmware updates via USB; do I simply copy the file as I have done with friends' Samsungs? Or do you have a procedure?
gbynum is offline  
post #827 of 1364 Old 01-11-2010, 12:34 AM
Senior Member
 
thalazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will allow Netflix streaming, as well as many others.

http://gear.ign.com/articles/105/1059695p1.html


Sony's BDP-S570
This entry level model allows you to wirelessly stream photos, videos, and music from your computer via your home network; access online entertainment content through NetFlix, Amazon Video on Demand, YouTube and Slacker; and use your iPhone or iTouch as a remote control for the player simply by downloading a free app.
thalazy is offline  
post #828 of 1364 Old 01-11-2010, 01:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post

My manual on the 360 doesn't discuss firmware updates via USB; do I simply copy the file as I have done with friends' Samsungs? Or do you have a procedure?

Sorry. You're right. Can't do it via USB. I've had so many different players, it's just one big blur. You can do updates via disc per THIS procedure.
mdavej is offline  
post #829 of 1364 Old 01-11-2010, 04:48 AM
Member
 
Zip41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bumpass, Va
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zip41 View Post

I just picked-up the BX2 and I'm having the problem the HDMI connection. I get the startup screen and then the picture goes out. I'm connecting straight to my projector which is a older Panasonic (AE700). I even used the cable that came with the unit and it does the same thing, so I know it not the cable.

I checked the thread and found about a half dozen people with the same problem, but I could find what was causing the problem. Is it a bad unit, a combatibility issue or a setting problem?

Any help would be appreciated.

Ken

Just thought I would throw out a update of what I found. It was a capability issue. I took the Sony player back to the store and had them hook it up to a display model to make sure the HDMI was working. I exchanged the Sony for a Panasonic, hooked it up and it worked great.

Thanks to everyone that tried to help.

Thanks
Ken T
Zip41 is offline  
post #830 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Yazon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone positively confirm that BX2 plays DTS Master Audio (outputs and decodes)?
Yazon is offline  
post #831 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yazon View Post

Can someone positively confirm that BX2 plays DTS Master Audio (outputs and decodes)?

I have the BDPS-360 and I can confirm that it does decode and correctly handle DTS Master Audio. If use the Info button on the remote it says "DTS master Audio 3/2/1".
s2mikey is offline  
post #832 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Yazon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2mikey View Post

I have the BDPS-360 and I can confirm that it does decode and correctly handle DTS Master Audio. If use the Info button on the remote it says "DTS master Audio 3/2/1".


S360 is very similar but not 100% the same. One of the issues is that S360 actually lists Master Audio on it's spec and I yet to find an official Sony doc that shows Master Audio on BX2
Yazon is offline  
post #833 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yazon View Post

S360 is very similar but not 100% the same. One of the issues is that S360 actually lists Master Audio on it's spec and I yet to find an official Sony doc that shows Master Audio on BX2

The published specs are wrong or incomplete. The BX2 and S360 are 100% exactly the same machine. They have different model numbers and accessories for the different sales channels (retail versus price club). That's it. Both do DTS-MA.
mdavej is offline  
post #834 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Yazon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, thanks!
Yazon is offline  
post #835 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 12:55 PM
Member
 
TontoGoldstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Unless you really want BD-Live (which is worthless), there's really no reason to add wireless to the BX2.


Can you explain why it's worthless?
TontoGoldstein is offline  
post #836 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
It's so obviously bad and sucks on so many levels, I don't really know where to start. I've just never seen any BD-Live content worth looking at (chat rooms, crappy trailers, advertisements, etc.), and gave up even bothering a long time ago. I've disabled it on my player. I think you'll have a hard time finding anybody who's impressed with BD-Live. HERE's one of many threads about it. There may even be some BD-Live threads on this board. The only good use of it would be something like the folks at blutv are doing. When that rolls out, BD-Live will be awesome. But today it sucks.
mdavej is offline  
post #837 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 02:11 PM
Member
 
TontoGoldstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

It's so obviously bad and sucks on so many levels, I don't really know where to start. I've just never seen any BD-Live content worth looking at (chat rooms, crappy trailers, advertisements, etc.), and gave up even bothering a long time ago. I've disabled it on my player. I think you'll have a hard time finding anybody who's impressed with BD-Live. HERE's one of many threads about it. There may even be some BD-Live threads on this board. The only good use of it would be something like the folks at blutv are doing. When that rolls out, BD-Live will be awesome. But today it sucks.

Thank you for this. I was stressing about getting a router so I could connect my BX2 to BD Live, but after your information, I will not do this. Seems like a hokey feature. Thanks again.
TontoGoldstein is offline  
post #838 of 1364 Old 01-12-2010, 07:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by TontoGoldstein View Post

Thank you for this. I was stressing about getting a router so I could connect my BX2 to BD Live, but after your information, I will not do this. Seems like a hokey feature. Thanks again.

Good choice. Check the link in my signature.
htwaits is offline  
post #839 of 1364 Old 01-13-2010, 04:14 AM
Member
 
wfranklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I attempted to set up a new system for my mom yesterday, running HDMI from BDP-S560 to Sony STR-DH500 receiver to Sony Bravia KDL-46V5100, with Bravia sync enabled. The audio and video passthrough to the monitor work fine; however, I cannot get any audio output from the receiver itself. I spent an inordinate amount of time with all 3 manuals, to no avail. Short of bypassing the receiver (BDP HDMI straight to KDL) and bringing line level audio back from the monitor to the receiver, is there anything I can do to get my audio control back at the receiver where it belongs? (Note: running a 3.1 configuration from the receiver, no rear channels. Audio tones tested o.k., and audio from analog sources (FM, cassette deck) work fine. I just hate to lose the multichannel HDMI audio feed from the BDP if I don't have to.)
wfranklin is offline  
post #840 of 1364 Old 01-13-2010, 08:54 AM
Member
 
TontoGoldstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How are you connecting the audio into the receiver? If digital coax or optical, did you set the BX2's audio settings to Priority Coax? Not HDMI?
TontoGoldstein is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony Bdp S360 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player Accessory Kit , Sony Bdp S560 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony , Sony Bdv T11 Home Theater System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off