Sony BDP-S360 and BDP-S560 Blu-ray players (and BDP-BX2) - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1364 Old 09-29-2010, 12:00 PM
Member
 
egruber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mercer County, NJ
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post

The universal remote furnished with my Sony 46E2000 set controls my S360 fine.

Yes, but the remotes that Sony includes with the TV only control the TV and maybe the Blu Ray player. The $20 Sony remote I bought at Best Buy also controls my receiver and other equipment. You would think that Sony would include one of these with their TVs, but they don't. You spend a lot on a TV but get a very cheap remote.

I'm looking for a newer Sony remote that would control the TV, Blu Ray, FIOS box, Audio Receiver, etc. The one I have does not have codes for the Blu Ray player. I was hoping someone here had bought one and could share the model number.
egruber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1364 Old 10-01-2010, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Again I ask.....what title(s) does Version 008 supposedly fix? Surely, someone here has that information.
MrHT is offline  
post #1173 of 1364 Old 10-01-2010, 03:00 PM
Member
 
DarthPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHT View Post

Again I ask.....what title(s) does Version 008 supposedly fix? Surely, someone here has that information.

Not sure. I haven't updated yet. This player has played everything I've tried with 007 firmware. I haven't tried Iron Man 2 yet (I heard it locks up on some players).
DarthPrime is offline  
post #1174 of 1364 Old 10-01-2010, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthPrime View Post

Not sure. I haven't updated yet. This player has played everything I've tried with 007 firmware. I haven't tried Iron Man 2 yet (I heard it locks up on some players).

It works perfectly on mine with the 007 firmware. So, the 008 firmware is not for that.

Should I trust Sony and update my player? I'm a little scared. You see, I'm a former owner of a Samsung BD-P1600 and firmware updates were a nightmare for me. And those nightmares still haunt me from time to time. Is Sony good with releasing stable firmwares? I can only imagine they are since PS3 owners have been ok with firmware updates.
MrHT is offline  
post #1175 of 1364 Old 10-01-2010, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The hell with it. I just updated. I doubt I'll notice any difference as these updates are only minor enhancements anyway.
MrHT is offline  
post #1176 of 1364 Old 10-08-2010, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
prerunnerv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an opportunity to get a BDP-S360 for $60. Used but in great condition. Only thing is I notice the rear fan doesn't seem to come on. Is this supposed to be on all of the time or does it only come on when needed? I have a Walmart Magnavox blu-ray and the fan is on all of the time.

Just want to know what normal fan operation is supposed to be. Thanks.
prerunnerv6 is offline  
post #1177 of 1364 Old 10-08-2010, 07:23 PM
Member
 
ericgarvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anybody else having issues with this update? It won't even load "bugs life" and it had a helluva time loading ironman2. It worked with everything on previous firmware. Anyway to revert bake to previous firmware?
Thank
Eric
ericgarvin is offline  
post #1178 of 1364 Old 10-08-2010, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Odd. Iron Man 2 works just as fine on this firmware. It didn't seem any different to me.
MrHT is offline  
post #1179 of 1364 Old 10-08-2010, 09:38 PM
Member
 
ericgarvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ironman2 did work but it took about 60-80 seconds for it to load. Bugs life never did load thought
ericgarvin is offline  
post #1180 of 1364 Old 10-08-2010, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just tested IRON MAN 2 again just to verify. Loads fine to me. Loads just the way it did when I had firmware 007.

I don't own A BUG'S LIFE, so I can't help you there. Maybe someone else with that title can help you out.

Are those 2 titles the ONLY titles giving you trouble since the update?
MrHT is offline  
post #1181 of 1364 Old 10-09-2010, 07:14 AM
Member
 
ericgarvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will try more titles today. Thank you
Eric
ericgarvin is offline  
post #1182 of 1364 Old 10-09-2010, 09:25 PM
Member
 
joeye328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a S360 with 008 firmware, loaded Iron Man 2 just fine, took about 45s to do it. Tried Avatar as well w/o problems. Will try more titles later. So far I haven't noticed any differences.

LG 55" 55LD520, Onkyo TX-SR508
Polk Monitor 70, 30, R300, CS2, PSW10
Sony BDP-S360, Xbox 360 250G, HTPC
joeye328 is offline  
post #1183 of 1364 Old 10-10-2010, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, Firmware 008 seems fine to me. I've been busy watching "Bones: Season 5" on it since the update. So, that's the only thing I've fully tested since I updates. Seems ok to me.
MrHT is offline  
post #1184 of 1364 Old 10-11-2010, 01:02 PM
Member
 
karrank%'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We'd already viewed Iron Man 2 prior-- Didn't notice any difference with the "update"

BUT... I have a problem with the audio on cds not kicking in for the first fraction of a second (update independent)

Anyone know where to direct me to start looking to solve this?

Sony support solution (adjusting player audio delay) didn't work.

Handshake issues with my receiver? (pioneer vsx519--you can stop laughing now)

thanks for looking.
karrank% is offline  
post #1185 of 1364 Old 10-11-2010, 01:05 PM
Member
 
karrank%'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by prerunnerv6 View Post

I have an opportunity to get a BDP-S360 for $60. Used but in great condition. Only thing is I notice the rear fan doesn't seem to come on. Is this supposed to be on all of the time or does it only come on when needed? I have a Walmart Magnavox blu-ray and the fan is on all of the time.

Just want to know what normal fan operation is supposed to be. Thanks.

My manual says if you have quick start enabled the power consumption goes up and the fan may be engaged depending on ambient temp.

Hope that helps.
karrank% is offline  
post #1186 of 1364 Old 10-12-2010, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
prerunnerv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by karrank% View Post

My manual says if you have quick start enabled the power consumption goes up and the fan may be engaged depending on ambient temp.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the info. I might give it a shot.
prerunnerv6 is offline  
post #1187 of 1364 Old 10-16-2010, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
nikknightt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I've searched this thread and seen answers both ways ~ Will the s360 play mp3's from the usb flash drive? formatted to fat?

I just want a unit that will playback avchd disc and usb mp3's.
Thanks.
nikknightt is offline  
post #1188 of 1364 Old 10-16-2010, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikknightt View Post

I've searched this thread and seen answers both ways ~ Will the s360 play mp3's from the usb flash drive? formatted to fat?

No
MrHT is offline  
post #1189 of 1364 Old 10-23-2010, 11:18 AM
Member
 
ericgarvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I have an update. A week ago I was has having a problem loading Disney discs. Notably "a bugs life" and "monsters Inc.". Chatted with somebody at Sony via echat. 20 mins and no help.
Decided to do a reset and erase the local cache. BINGO!!! Now the films load fast and correctly.
Just posting this to help other users out.
Eric
ericgarvin is offline  
post #1190 of 1364 Old 10-30-2010, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vitod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockrock11 View Post

Has anyone had a problem with there 360 player of losing the Suround , Mine only play in 2.1 all of sudden ? At first I thought my amp was to blame but even with amp off it displays 2.1 . I got it last Dec , so it's not that old . I this point i'm clueless thanks Dock

I'm having the same issue. Any solution is appreciated.

S360 audio out via Coaxial and not HDMI. The 360 is mated to an Integra DTC-9.8. Thanks.

Evil is Good
vitod is offline  
post #1191 of 1364 Old 10-31-2010, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
bigfafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,
Anybody with issues reading "rocky horror picture show" and "romeo+juliette" on s360 firmware 008 ? These are the very first discs I have problems with (over 60 blu-rays owned), both pal edition and released by 20th century fox.
Thanx
bigfafa is offline  
post #1192 of 1364 Old 10-31-2010, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
bigfafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfafa View Post

Hi guys,
Anybody with issues reading "rocky horror picture show" and "romeo+juliette" on s360 firmware 008 ? These are the very first discs I have problems with (over 60 blu-rays owned), both pal edition and released by 20th century fox.
Thanx

And yes it works like a charm on my old S300, for both discs
bigfafa is offline  
post #1193 of 1364 Old 10-31-2010, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, the S360 (at least the one I have) does NOT support PAL, only NTSC. So that may explain your issue.
MrHT is offline  
post #1194 of 1364 Old 11-01-2010, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
bigfafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHT View Post

Well, the S360 (at least the one I have) does NOT support PAL, only NTSC. So that may explain your issue.

Well, I have a PAL S360 since I live in France, but I was wondering if anyone has the same issue with NTSC version of thoses discs.
bigfafa is offline  
post #1195 of 1364 Old 11-03-2010, 04:18 AM
3db
Advanced Member
 
3db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
How many firmware upgrades does one have to the S360 player? Every Bluray I tossed at it in the past year plays fine. For my player, I'm taking the attitude, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
3db is offline  
post #1196 of 1364 Old 11-06-2010, 06:17 AM
Newbie
 
bigfafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfafa View Post

Well, I have a PAL S360 since I live in France, but I was wondering if anyone has the same issue with NTSC version of thoses discs.

Some news : I de-activated internet access in S360 setup (i.e. BD-Live) and now it works like a charm
bigfafa is offline  
post #1197 of 1364 Old 11-06-2010, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3db View Post

How many firmware upgrades does one have to the S360 player? Every Bluray I tossed at it in the past year plays fine. For my player, I'm taking the attitude, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

There was one released a couple of months ago. That was the first firmware update released in a year. So, for a player like this, you won't have to update very often.

So far, I don't find any difference with this new firmware update. The player is still the same as it's always been. My guess is that the firmware updates are just DRM updates, so if a studio uses the latest DRM for their titles, there's a chance that the old firmware might not work with it.

But yeah, if it ain't broke, you don't have to fix it. If you want to wait until you encounter a problem and then update, that's fine. The choice is yours. Though, based on my experience with this unit, the chances of encountering any issue with a particular title is VERY slim.
MrHT is offline  
post #1198 of 1364 Old 11-08-2010, 06:16 AM
Member
 
SmartAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHT View Post

There was one released a couple of months ago. That was the first firmware update released in a year. So, for a player like this, you won't have to update very often.

So far, I don't find any difference with this new firmware update. The player is still the same as it's always been. My guess is that the firmware updates are just DRM updates, so if a studio uses the latest DRM for their titles, there's a chance that the old firmware might not work with it.

But yeah, if it ain't broke, you don't have to fix it. If you want to wait until you encounter a problem and then update, that's fine. The choice is yours. Though, based on my experience with this unit, the chances of encountering any issue with a particular title is VERY slim.

Once I had an issue with a bluray disc: 2012. The BDP-S360 did not accept it at all and said 'Invalid'. I think the disc was fine but I still have to get a different copy to verify.
Otherwise it has played every bluray disc I tried.

However I think this player is not very tolerant if a disc (DVD or bluray) is not according to spec. I have some DVDs that play just fine in other players but not in this one. Go figure...
SmartAV is offline  
post #1199 of 1364 Old 11-11-2010, 05:32 AM
Member
 
SmartAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartAV View Post

Once I had an issue with a bluray disc: 2012. The BDP-S360 did not accept it at all and said 'Invalid'. I think the disc was fine but I still have to get a different copy to verify.
Otherwise it has played every bluray disc I tried.

However I think this player is not very tolerant if a disc (DVD or bluray) is not according to spec. I have some DVDs that play just fine in other players but not in this one. Go figure...

Finally I was able to obtain another copy of the 2012 bluray disc and this one played flawlessly Now it is clear that the first disc had an issue and the player reliably plays bluray discs.

So, the BDP-S360's honor is restored
SmartAV is offline  
post #1200 of 1364 Old 11-20-2010, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
audioNeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just had my first problem play a blu-ray on my S360, in over 150 disks watched.

It was the Avatar Collector's edition. I have the latest firmware update. Is this likely a problem with the disk (i.e. data goes to the edge of the disk, and the player can't read it), or is it something with the DRM scare from earlier in the year?

The player shows the "this needs the latest firmware warning", and then does nothing for 10 minutes. The extras disks play, but also take minutes before working.

Will resetting the system help? Should I just get a new copy of the disk?

I have my machine connected to the internet, with a 1GB stick in the back.
audioNeil is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony Bdp S360 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player Accessory Kit , Sony Bdp S560 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony , Sony Bdv T11 Home Theater System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off