Official Panasonic DMP-BD60/80 Owners Thread - Page 210 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6271 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 06:46 AM
Member
 
E.J.W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm connecting my BD80 to my older non-HDMI Integra AVR by using the 7.1ch connections. The inputs on the Integra are assignable so....
For 2ch sound, would it be desireable to assign these same inputs for use with CD's -or- would it be a better option to use the coax or optical cable connection and assign the "CD" input through one of them?
Thanks
E.

An afternoon spent tweaking your system but just never getting it exactly right is still better than a good day at work.
E.J.W. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6272 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

Ensure 24P is set to Off also.

Yes, it is off as well.
heiwi is offline  
post #6273 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by heiwi View Post

I switch from TV (1080p) to projector (720p) and the BD60 changes the settings automaticly.
I have it set to 720p (not automatic) but as soon as I send the signal to TV it changes to 1080p and remains there even if I send the signal to the projector (native 720p but accepts 1080p). How can I permanently set it to 720p?

In my experience,the BD 60 will always default to Auto and will not "remember" your preferred setting.
bradman is offline  
post #6274 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
gingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by heiwi View Post

I switch from TV (1080p) to projector (720p) and the BD60 changes the settings automaticly.
I have it set to 720p (not automatic) but as soon as I send the signal to TV it changes to 1080p and remains there even if I send the signal to the projector (native 720p but accepts 1080p). How can I permanently set it to 720p?

If you PJ can accept the 1080P and output at 720p see you get a better picture with the 1080p or the 720p. If the PQ is the same just let the player output it automatically. and your PJ can downscale the image.
gingus is offline  
post #6275 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingus View Post

If you PJ can accept the 1080P and output at 720p see you get a better picture with the 1080p or the 720p. If the PQ is the same just let the player output it automatically. and your PJ can downscale the image.

picture quality is certainly better sending out the native resolution to the projector (720) - very crisp, clear and natural image. Tried both.
I assume it does not keep 720 as default.
heiwi is offline  
post #6276 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

so which BD player is best for being able to download a divx file, put it on a usb key and playing it? i don't want to spend a ton of money on this though.
this panasonic 80 is already more than i wanted to spend.

Post your questions here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=969206
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6277 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
gingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by heiwi View Post

picture quality is certainly better sending out the native resolution to the projector (720) - very crisp, clear and natural image. Tried both.
I assume it does not keep 720 as default.

So, will sending out native resolution to the PJ be a better picture if it is 720 vs. 1080p and the pj downscaling it to 720?
gingus is offline  
post #6278 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingus View Post

So, will sending out native resolution to the PJ be a better picture if it is 720 vs. 1080p and the pj downscaling it to 720?

Yes - my experience is that you get a better picture feeding the projector its native resolution (in this case 720p).
heiwi is offline  
post #6279 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
scratchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sushinut View Post

I use powerline adapters, I have the older version of this Linksys one bellow. It's a little pricey ($150), but much less frustrating than wireless and it's very fast.

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-PLK300..._bxgy_e_text_b

I suspected that the flaky power lines in my old house would be less-than-ideal for video streaming, so I'm using one of these.

http://www.actiontec.com/products/product.php?pid=192

This uses the coax cable in my house to transmit ethernet traffic, so my BD60 has a hardwired connection to my FIOS cable modem without the need to lay any new cable.

Worked right out of the box with a cable splitter box from Radio Shack.

More info on using this with FIOS here.

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizo...3.0_Networking

If you don't have FIOS, but you have a cable modem, you can apparently get the same effect by using two of these boxes (one at the cable modem, one at the TV). Netgear also makes a similar device.
scratchie is offline  
post #6280 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Set845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up The Bourne Identity and the Bourne Supremecy today. They are a BD on one side and DVD on the other. Sort of like a dual disc. My BD80 won't play the BD side on either movie. It can't read the disks. The DVD side does play on both movies. I tried playing them with the SD card in and out, as well as BD Live enabled and disabled. Anyone try these yet? I think they are new releases.
Set845 is offline  
post #6281 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
phussey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get a "flicker" when watching some blurays. That is the best way to describe it, not from waves in my screen but rather a ripple in the image, very fleeting. Anyone have any idea what this might be ?

Thanks.
phussey is offline  
post #6282 of 8255 Old 01-20-2010, 10:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
gobrigavitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Prince Albert, Sk, Canada
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Read page 8 of the manual. Whenever DTS-HD is decoded, it always output as PCM 7.1. There is no way around this. That's how Panasonic does DTS-HD decoding on all its players.

That's what I thought.

Man it's hard to keep up with the all of the variables in Blu-ray players.

I decided to get a BD-60 and move the PS3 to another tv, but I didn't know it would have this effect.

So what does the BD-60 output through the back speakers for a 5.1 channel track?

Are they silent or does it just repeat the side channels?
gobrigavitch is offline  
post #6283 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 03:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by gobrigavitch View Post

So what does the BD-60 output through the back speakers for a 5.1 channel track?

Are they silent or does it just repeat the side channels?

DTS-HD has this special channel/speaker mapping thing. I assume the reason Panny decides to output PCM 7.1 all the time is because of this speaker mapping thing. You probably already has something in the rear speakers.

I use bitstream for my BD60 and don't affected by this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6284 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by gobrigavitch View Post

So what does the BD-60 output through the back speakers for a 5.1 channel track?

Are they silent or does it just repeat the side channels?

The surrounds are duplicated to the rears for DTS tracks on Blu-ray.
BIslander is offline  
post #6285 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 08:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by E.J.W. View Post

I'm connecting my BD80 to my older non-HDMI Integra AVR by using the 7.1ch connections. The inputs on the Integra are assignable so....
For 2ch sound, would it be desireable to assign these same inputs for use with CD's -or- would it be a better option to use the coax or optical cable connection and assign the "CD" input through one of them?
Thanks
E.

The BD80 has pretty good DACs so you'll probably get good 2-channel sound out of the analog outputs. But if you want to be able to use surround modes like PLIIx on your CDs then you will need to use a different input.

My recommendation would be to use 7.1 analog for Blu-rays only, and use coax or fiberoptic for CDs and DVDs. This way you can take advantage of your pre-amp's bass management and speaker calibration options which are probably more robust than the BD80's and you can play around with various surround modes for 2 channel and 5.1 channel material on CD and DVD. Also, this way you can decode DTS extensions on DVD such as DTS 96/24 and DTS-ES 6.1 which are not supported by the BD80's DTS-HD MA Essential decoder.

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #6286 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 09:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony9 View Post

[color="Blue"]Verifying........ turning 24 off will enable 60 hz only ? Helping my sis with her new BD60 player (I'm not there in person to help) ............. the Panny BD player should be set to 60Hz for 1080 playback? (she uses a 46G15 plasma). I read that the flicker issue occurs using 24Hz. UPDATE - I just learned that ideally - set the G15 display to 60hz for the 24p setting and set the BD60 to 24 ... ALLOW the plasma to do the processing

I disagree. When I'm watching a movie, I prefer to have the display running at a multiple of 24p with no motion interpolation so film motion is presented similar to the way it is shown at a movie theater.

My recommendation would be to set the player to 24p mode and turn ON Cinematic Playback on the G15 in order to display movies at 48 Hz. For some people the 48 Hz flicker is distracting but for me, the judder involved with 2:3 encoding to 60 Hz is worse. I find that my eyes adjust quickly to 48 Hz, particularly in a darkened room. I set it up this way for my neighbor as well who has no complaints.

But I admit this is a personal preference. For some people the 48 Hz flicker is too annoying to tolerate. The V series plasmas (V10 and upcoming VT20 and VT25) do 24p at 96 Hz which is ideal as it eliminates the flicker while still respecting the 24p frame rate.

The setting on the player is:

TV/Device Connection... HDMI Connection... 24p: ON

The setting on the TV is:

Menu... Picture... Advanced Picture... 24p Direct In: 48 Hz.

If she sets these and watches a few Blu-ray Discs this way, she can always change that back to 60 Hz if the flicker bothers her.

Also, be sure you take it out of "VIVID" picture mode and put it in "Standard" or "THX" mode for movies. THX might be a little too dark for average room lighting but looks good with the lights off or very low. "Vivid" mode is an abomination suitable only for bright showroom floors.

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #6287 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 10:08 AM
Member
 
E.J.W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

The BD80 has pretty good DACs so you'll probably get good 2-channel sound out of the analog outputs. But if you want to be able to use surround modes like PLIIx on your CDs then you will need to use a different input.

My recommendation would be to use 7.1 analog for Blu-rays only, and use coax or fiberoptic for CDs and DVDs. This way you can take advantage of your pre-amp's bass management and speaker calibration options which are probably more robust than the BD80's and you can play around with various surround modes for 2 channel and 5.1 channel material on CD and DVD. Also, this way you can decode DTS extensions on DVD such as DTS 96/24 and DTS-ES 6.1 which are not supported by the BD80's DTS-HD MA Essential decoder.

-CB

Thanks Chris for your reply. I do have a few DTS-ES music video DVD's and a few movies with the same. I think I have an unused coax cable lying around. I'll give that a go.
Thanks.

An afternoon spent tweaking your system but just never getting it exactly right is still better than a good day at work.
E.J.W. is offline  
post #6288 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 10:24 AM
Member
 
jcmo34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the BD60 have Blu Ray live out of the box or do you have to add external storage(ie USB thumb drive) to get it? From what I read it says: "BD-Live and BonusView support (BD Profile 2.0)" so wasn't sure.

Thanks
jcmo34 is offline  
post #6289 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 190
You need to add a SD card, not USB thumb drive, to support BD Live. However, with latest firmware 2.2, a few BD Live titles are known to not playing if you do have a SD card inserted.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6290 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 10:37 AM
Member
 
jcmo34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^
Thanks for the quicky reply Foxbat!
jcmo34 is offline  
post #6291 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
oedius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am on the verge of buying a BD60 to replace defective Samsung 2550. I will be using only HDMI to my Denon 790 receiver and 50" Samsung plasma 1080p TV. Can I expect reasonably close to same video and audio quality as with the Samsung 2550? I am especially concerned about quality of DVD upscaling. I chose the BD60 because it seems to have one of the best combinations of reliabilty, PQ & AQ for price.

I had also considered the Pioneer 320 but, at $100 more, wasn't sure if it would really offer that much more of what I'm looking for than the BD60. I do not care anything about Netflix streaming or any other internet features. I just want good, solid BD & DVD performance.

Thanks,
Steve
oedius is offline  
post #6292 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by oedius View Post

I am on the verge of buying a BD60 to replace defective Samsung 2550. I will be using only HDMI to my Denon 790 receiver and 50" Samsung plasma 1080p TV. Can I expect reasonably close to same video and audio quality as with the Samsung 2550? I am especially concerned about quality of DVD upscaling. I chose the BD60 because it seems to have one of the best combinations of reliabilty, PQ & AQ for price.

I had also considered the Pioneer 320 but, at $100 more, wasn't sure if it would really offer that much more of what I'm looking for than the BD60. I do not care anything about Netflix streaming or any other internet features. I just want good, solid BD & DVD performance.

Thanks,
Steve

I had an an Oppo 983 with the ABT processor that I had intended to keep in my rack for DVD playback. After watching DVD's on the Panny I felt no need to keep the Oppo-I use the 60 for Blu-Ray and DVD. You may want to check winstons thread here http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post16678116

He rates the Samsung, Panny and Pio and thinks DVD's are better on the Sammy than the Panny, and that the Sammy and Pio are equal on DVD's. You'd have to read why he thinks that.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #6293 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Ben Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oedius View Post

I am on the verge of buying a BD60 to replace defective Samsung 2550. I will be using only HDMI to my Denon 790 receiver and 50" Samsung plasma 1080p TV. Can I expect reasonably close to same video and audio quality as with the Samsung 2550? I am especially concerned about quality of DVD upscaling. I chose the BD60 because it seems to have one of the best combinations of reliabilty, PQ & AQ for price.

I had also considered the Pioneer 320 but, at $100 more, wasn't sure if it would really offer that much more of what I'm looking for than the BD60. I do not care anything about Netflix streaming or any other internet features. I just want good, solid BD & DVD performance.

Thanks,
Steve

I have both a BD60 with an HDMI connection and a Philips DVP5140 with a component connection attached to my Samsung 50" HL50A650 DLP HDTV. The Philips is not upconverting and I have it set for 480i output. I keep it mostly for PAL region 2 discs. I cannot tell the difference between a DVD played in the Philips and the same one played in the BD60. The Samsung does the upconverting for the Philips. I think the only people who can tell the difference are those with projectors which give out 100"+ images.
Ben Franklin is offline  
post #6294 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
oedius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. More and more, it's sounding like the BD60 will be just fine. I have a large collection of DVD's and do not plan on replacing them all with blu rays.
oedius is offline  
post #6295 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
assuming you have a high speed internet service, is this Viera Cast free?
velocci is offline  
post #6296 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

assuming you have a high speed internet service, is this Viera Cast free?

Yes but Netflix and Amazon VOD will be a fee service in the US. Content depends on what license agreements the providers have with countries, Netflix said they are working on bringing their service to Canada later this year.
moviegeek is offline  
post #6297 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Keizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey gents, I just picked up the Costco Panasonic DMP-BD605P-K. I have it all connected and everything seems to work great! I did want to double check my setting with those interested in reading on.

I have the DMP-BD605P-K connected to my Onkyo HT-RC160 via HDMI cable. I then have an HDMI cable to my HDTV from the HDMI out on my Onkyo. The weakest link in this setup is my HDTV. It's an older Visio GV46L - 46" LCD HDTV. It's basically a 720p HDTV, but can accept 1080i.

Ok, so under "Digital audio output" I have "bitstream" selected for both, and "BD video secondary audio" set to off. Then I have "Component video resolution" set to 720p. Under "HDMI video mode" I have "HDMI resolution" set to Auto.

With that said, I originally had the DMP-BD605P-K set at 1080i under both "Component video resolution" and "HDMI resolution" . But, after reading through many threads, I'm not sure that is the best setting. As I understand it, blu-ray disks are 1080P. If my settings were 1080i, then the DMP-BD605P-K has to down scale from 1080p to 1080i. Then it sends that through my receiver to the HDTV where the HDTV down scales it even further to 720P. Is this correct? So it's getting processed twice right?

So am I better to have it set up the way I have it now? That is 720 p out of the gate? That way the DMP-BD605P-K down scales from 1080p to 720p and then it's displayed on my HDTV at 720p. It's only getting processed once right?

I hope I used the right terminology!! Thanks for reading.
Keizer is offline  
post #6298 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 10:17 PM
Member
 
XEagleDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SC
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keizer View Post

Hey gents, I just picked up the Costco Panasonic DMP-BD605P-K. I have it all connected and everything seems to work great! I did want to double check my setting with those interested in reading on.

I have the DMP-BD605P-K connected to my Onkyo HT-RC160 via HDMI cable. I then have an HDMI cable to my HDTV from the HDMI out on my Onkyo. The weakest link in this setup is my HDTV. It's an older Visio GV46L - 46" LCD HDTV. It's basically a 720p HDTV, but can accept 1080i.

Congrats, I hope you enjoy your BD60 as much as I do!
Like you, I am also using a 720P HDTV until I have the $$ to upgrade.


Quote:


Ok, so under "Digital audio output" I have "bitstream" selected for both, and "BD video secondary audio" set to off. Then I have "Component video resolution" set to 720p. Under "HDMI video mode" I have "HDMI resolution" set to Auto.

To force the BD60 to output a 720p signal, you may need to set the HDMI Resolution to "720p" setting. The "Auto" setting may or may not choose the HDTV's native 720p resolution.

FYI: The Component Video Resolution setting is immaterial since you are connected via HDMI.


Quote:


With that said, I originally had the DMP-BD605P-K set at 1080i under both "Component video resolution" and "HDMI resolution" . But, after reading through many threads, I'm not sure that is the best setting. (IT DEPENDS) As I understand it, blu-ray disks are 1080P. (TRUE) If my settings were 1080i, then the DMP-BD605P-K has to down scale from 1080p to 1080i. Then it sends that through my receiver to the HDTV where the HDTV down scales it even further to 720P. Is this correct? So it's getting processed twice right?

FWIW:The 1080p to 1080i change is called "Interlacing" and the 1080 to 720 change is called "Scaling". Some folks not-quite-acurately lump these two separate and distinct processes together and call them "up-conversion" or "down-conversion".

However, your premise to reduce the number of video processes is generally correct.


Quote:


So am I better to have it set up the way I have it now? That is 720 p out of the gate? That way the DMP-BD605P-K down scales from 1080p to 720p and then it's displayed on my HDTV at 720p. It's only getting processed once right?

The BD60's and the HDTV's deinterlacers and scalers are not the same. Theoretically you shouldn't, but sometimes you might, get better results by feeding a 1080i signal to the HDTV.

Therefore, try both to see if there is a noticable improvement in 1080i. But, if you don't see an improvement, stick with 720p (this avoids "interlacing" a "progressive" signal). Your display is designed for a 720p, i.e. progressive signal!


Clear as Mud??


Cheers,
XEagleDriver

Cheers,
XEagleDriver

SACD Collection: http://www.sa-cd.net/library/7966/1
XEagleDriver is offline  
post #6299 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 10:35 PM
Member
 
voidpointer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XEagleDriver View Post

FWIW:The 1080p to 1080i change is called "Deinterlacing" and the 1080 to 720 change is called "Scaling".

Going from 1080p to 1080i would be interlacing, not deinterlacing, no?
voidpointer is offline  
post #6300 of 8255 Old 01-21-2010, 10:43 PM
Member
 
XEagleDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SC
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by voidpointer View Post

Going from 1080p to 1080i would be interlacing, not deinterlacing, no?

Yup!

Missed that one, probably since it is normally not a desired change in the video signal.

FWIW: Corrected the mistake in the 01:17 AM post.

Thanks,
XEagleDriver

Cheers,
XEagleDriver

SACD Collection: http://www.sa-cd.net/library/7966/1
XEagleDriver is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Panasonic Dmp Bd80k Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off