Official Panasonic DMP-BD60/80 Owners Thread - Page 253 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7561 of 8263 Old 07-30-2010, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G View Post

So what's the deal with Avatar, does it play using firmware version 2.4 or not? I watched the Netflix rental disc with no issues just prior to upgrading (was at 2.3 at the time.) I'm concerned since several posts seem to indicate it doesn't play. Can someone confirm?

I've played it with 2.4 with no problem. It sounds as if fookoo_2010 had a problem with the player, not the firmware.
moxie1617 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7562 of 8263 Old 07-30-2010, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

I've played it with 2.4 with no problem. It sounds as if fookoo_2010 had a problem with the player, not the firmware.

Well, the entire story was that the BD-60 played Avatar BR until undated to the 2.4 firmware, after which nothing much could be done about it. I couldn't go back and re-install 2.3 because the BD-60 would recognize that it was an older firmware and would reject it, according to tech support. Calling to Panasonic tech support had me first reformat my USB drive to FAT 12 and that accomplished nothing. Then calling again, tech support said that I had to return it to TX. So that's what I did. The oddest thing is that my older BD-30 (which seems to be bullet proof, although a bit clunky in terms of weight and size) would play anything and that includes some of the audio BR's that the BD-60 kept coming up with the message to check the disc. In other words, it was the wrong region. Prior to sending back the BD-60, the tech support guy said not to update firmware unless something was wrong. I had updated firmware for the BD-60 from 2.1 through 2.4 and only when the 2.4 was installed did I have problems and specifically with Avatar BR. I had previously read that a firmware update isn't suppose to do what happened. So it isn't the firmware update alone, but something peculiar to my particular BD-60 because others can play Avatar BR. I am sure that Panasonic tech support tried to play Avatar BR and it didn't play. At which point, they sent me the refurbished BD-605 that is identical to the BD-60 except in model number.
fookoo_2010 is offline  
post #7563 of 8263 Old 07-31-2010, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
^
They are identical, the BD605 is the Costco version of the BD60.
The only difference is that the BD605 includes an HDMI cable.
Like wise the BD655 (Costco) is identical to the BD65.

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #7564 of 8263 Old 07-31-2010, 04:07 PM
Member
 
Lance_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys,

I brought my dmp-bd60 to my gf house so we could watch blurays. However, I forgot the remote at home. I saw that there is a flap where there is a stop, pause and play button. I pressed the play button and the disc played fine till the menu screen to play the movie. There nothing worked except the stop button. The pause button said this option not available and the play button did nothing.

Is there a way to press play on the menu selection screen without having the remote??

Thanks!
Lance_M is offline  
post #7565 of 8263 Old 08-01-2010, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
scratchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any chance your girlfriend has another Panasonic DVD player or something? I found out by accident last night that the "open" button on my BD60's remote will also open the disc tray on my mother-in-law's Panny DVD-CF2 5-disc DVD changer.
scratchie is offline  
post #7566 of 8263 Old 08-01-2010, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by catmother View Post

^
They are identical, the BD605 is the Costco version of the BD60.
The only difference is that the BD605 includes an HDMI cable.
Like wise the BD655 (Costco) is identical to the BD65.

I thought that it was kind of neat that Panasonic sent me: another instruction manual, a new remote, a new HDMI cable, 2 batteries, a power plug, and 2 RCA interconnect. Now I have to seriously think about whether or not to update the firmware because stuff like YouTube is currently inaccessible via the BD-605, although the BD Live does work and all that frequently does is bring up a lot of trailers that have to be zipped around. Yes, they are in HD, but I don't care.
fookoo_2010 is offline  
post #7567 of 8263 Old 08-03-2010, 10:19 AM
Member
 
texastengu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe someone knows the answer to this.
On most BD's you can choose your audio setup.
When I put on the Blockbuster "Clash of the Titans" the only option is play film.
I've only watched around two dozen BD's so I'm not sure if this is the norm.
So what audio are you getting on COTT?

Are we having fun yet?
texastengu is offline  
post #7568 of 8263 Old 08-03-2010, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The only thing I can think of is the title doesn't have any other audio tracks to choose, so no option. It should tell you on the keepcase what the audio track is but if you just have the disc, like with a rental, you can always find out here.
http://www.blu-raystats.com/Stats/De...s_883929106677

Here they say the audio is DTS MA HD 5.1. The Amazon listing for the title indicates it also has a French DD 5.1 track and Spanish DD 5.1 track.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7569 of 8263 Old 08-03-2010, 12:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,065
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by texastengu View Post

Maybe someone knows the answer to this.
On most BD's you can choose your audio setup.
When I put on the Blockbuster "Clash of the Titans" the only option is play film.
I've only watched around two dozen BD's so I'm not sure if this is the norm.
So what audio are you getting on COTT?

That is depend on how they author the disc, nothing to do with the player. For example, a lot of WB titles didn't even have a startup menu at all. You put disc in and it start to play.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #7570 of 8263 Old 08-03-2010, 01:18 PM
Member
 
snowjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it correct to say that the Panasonic BD60 become alot faster with the last firmware?
snowjim is offline  
post #7571 of 8263 Old 08-03-2010, 01:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,065
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 250
If you're talking about BD disc load time, it started from firmware 2.0.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #7572 of 8263 Old 08-03-2010, 01:50 PM
Member
 
snowjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

If you're talking about BD disc load time, it started from firmware 2.0.

Yes, I saw that these updates are done :

Code:
2010/5/24
Ver 2.4         

   1. VIERA CAST update

2010/4/5
Ver 2.3         

   1. BD disc playability improvement
   2. VIERA CAST improvement

2009/11/30
Ver 2.2         

   1. BD-V Playability

2009/10/5
Ver 2.1         

   1. DVD Playability
   2. Upgrade of VIERA CAST (since 2009/10/13)
      Update necessary for VIERA CAST since 2009/10/13

2009/9/14
Ver 2.0         

   1. BD disc response improvement
   2. DVD Playability

2009/7/22
Ver 1.9         

   1. Upgrade of VIERA CAST
   2. BD-V Playability

2009/6/3
Ver 1.7         

   1. BD-V Playability

2009/3/25
Ver 1.5         

   1. BD-V Playability
And suppose that it is the BD improvments from Ver 2.3 that I have notice. I have compared the startup time with BD with LG BD390 and the LG was for the most part arount 20 sec faster, sometime it was 50 sec faster and some time it was only a couple of sec. But its good that Panasonic BD60 is not that far behind.

Its grate that Panasonic have made this updates!
snowjim is offline  
post #7573 of 8263 Old 08-04-2010, 12:10 AM
Member
 
motorpotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I got the BD60 the other day on super clearance from Sears for $65(dunno if i can post the price, if not sorry) I have to say I like it so far. I bought it to replace the rather large and I feel slower DMP-BD10A player that I got back in mid-07. I did the latest firmware update, and its hooked up to my Pioneer VSX-1018AH, by HDMI. Then from the Reciever to the tv is HDMI. My tv is a Panasonic TC-P42S1. I was woundering what are the most optimal settings for the player. Thanks
motorpotor is offline  
post #7574 of 8263 Old 08-04-2010, 03:21 AM
Member
 
Andreas_CH_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by texastengu View Post

Maybe someone knows the answer to this.
On most BD's you can choose your audio setup.
When I put on the Blockbuster "Clash of the Titans" the only option is play film.
I've only watched around two dozen BD's so I'm not sure if this is the norm.
So what audio are you getting on COTT?

Have you tried pressing Top Menu or Popup Menu? I've noticed that quite a few BD launch directly, for example Fringe Season 1, and that I have to go into the menus after that to select episodes or audio etc.
Andreas_CH_M is offline  
post #7575 of 8263 Old 08-04-2010, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
BSTNFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by texastengu View Post

Maybe someone knows the answer to this.
On most BD's you can choose your audio setup.
When I put on the Blockbuster "Clash of the Titans" the only option is play film.
I've only watched around two dozen BD's so I'm not sure if this is the norm.
So what audio are you getting on COTT?

The disc defaults to a DTS-HD MA 5.1 track which is the only English audio available. It does have DD 5.1 in French, Spanish, and Portugese.
BSTNFAN is offline  
post #7576 of 8263 Old 08-05-2010, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
hopper810's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: athens,tx.
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I found refurb bd-605 at Amazon for a good price. From reading here I think this will make a great 1st Blu player for me. I'm not concerned about streaming,etc. etc. Just looking for a solid player with decent upscaling and that will play Blu-rays.

Thanks for any thoughts.

JERRY
hopper810 is offline  
post #7577 of 8263 Old 08-05-2010, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hopper810 View Post

I found refurb bd-605 at Amazon for a good price. From reading here I think this will make a great 1st Blu player for me. I'm not concerned about streaming,etc. etc. Just looking for a solid player with decent upscaling and that will play Blu-rays.

Thanks for any thoughts.

That's a great price for this player. I'd go for it.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7578 of 8263 Old 08-08-2010, 02:35 AM
Newbie
 
chromesons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hope it's not too sophisticated to use.
chromesons is offline  
post #7579 of 8263 Old 08-08-2010, 08:59 AM
Newbie
 
xer0derm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this has been answered before. I looked, but didn't notice anything.

I have the bd60 and love it. I haven't had any kind of problems with it all, until last night. All of a sudden while trying to watch a TVShow via Amazon, the entire unit turned off without warning. Then today, while trying to watch a different show, it did it again. It seemed to be having trouble connecting to Amazon, or at least it was taking awhile. I have used it MANY times before without issue.

I currently have it hardwired to my router and connected via HDMI to my Denon receiver. It is updated to the current firmware. Does anyone have knowledge of this problem? TIA
xer0derm is offline  
post #7580 of 8263 Old 08-08-2010, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by xer0derm View Post

Sorry if this has been answered before. I looked, but didn't notice anything.

I have the bd60 and love it. I haven't had any kind of problems with it all, until last night. All of a sudden while trying to watch a TVShow via Amazon, the entire unit turned off without warning. Then today, while trying to watch a different show, it did it again. It seemed to be having trouble connecting to Amazon, or at least it was taking awhile. I have used it MANY times before without issue.

I currently have it hardwired to my router and connected via HDMI to my Denon receiver. It is updated to the current firmware. Does anyone have knowledge of this problem? TIA

Unless this happens with your computer, it would seem to be an internet connection problem with Amazon and have nothing to do with the BD-60 which is only passing on info from the net. To be sure about this, try the network menu on the BD-60 and connect to YouTube and see if that runs.
fookoo_2010 is offline  
post #7581 of 8263 Old 08-09-2010, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
xer0derm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fookoo_2010 View Post

Unless this happens with your computer, it would seem to be an internet connection problem with Amazon and have nothing to do with the BD-60 which is only passing on info from the net. To be sure about this, try the network menu on the BD-60 and connect to YouTube and see if that runs.

I could see that, but then why is the player turning itself off... almost as if it's getting caught in a code loop?
xer0derm is offline  
post #7582 of 8263 Old 08-09-2010, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by xer0derm View Post

I could see that, but then why is the player turning itself off... almost as if it's getting caught in a code loop?

Then something is wrong. Call up Panasonic tech support. Hopefully you are still under warranty and they will replace the unit. If not, then buy something like the BD-65 because it just isn't worth it to fix the BD-60 and pay for it.
fookoo_2010 is offline  
post #7583 of 8263 Old 08-10-2010, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
1HD_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston Hills area, NY
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
After some trial and error with the recommended multiAVCHD program, I successfully put my HD videos on an SDHC card that play perfectly in my BD60.
The videos were recorded with my Sony HDR-SR11.

I had no clue how to make it work prior to reading this thread.
Thank you to all.

OTA with free HD is the only way I watch TV
1HD_addict is offline  
post #7584 of 8263 Old 08-10-2010, 11:14 AM
Member
 
spdracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G View Post

So what's the deal with Avatar, does it play using firmware version 2.4 or not? I watched the Netflix rental disc with no issues just prior to upgrading (was at 2.3 at the time.) I'm concerned since several posts seem to indicate it doesn't play. Can someone confirm?

It played fine after taking about 2 mins. to load on my BD60
spdracer is offline  
post #7585 of 8263 Old 08-11-2010, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
robsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spdracer View Post

It played fine after taking about 2 mins. to load on my BD60

Gotta agree here...it does seem to take forever to load...I was impatient at first, then just let it sit and it eventually played....

Gave me time to get the beer and popcorn

Ptree:

Sometimes, it's only afterwards, I find that I'm not there.
robsis is offline  
post #7586 of 8263 Old 08-12-2010, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
ambientcafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Recently tried to play a Region 'B'-locked disc (did not play, as I suspected) on my BD60. Ever since then, the player has not been able to play Region 'A' BDs or regular dvds properly. When trying to play a disc, there's a noticeable vibration, along with flashing, intermittent picture & crackling audio w/dropouts. As well, the front panel readout will display either 'U73', or 'HDMI', or the elapsed time. Has this happened to anyone before? I sent an email to Panny a week ago w/no response yet....hoping that there is a fix Thanx for any input.

HiDef S c o p e Fanboy-man
ambientcafe is offline  
post #7587 of 8263 Old 08-12-2010, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambientcafe View Post

Recently tried to play a Region 'B'-locked disc (did not play, as I suspected) on my BD60. Ever since then, the player has not been able to play Region 'A' BDs or regular dvds properly. When trying to play a disc, there's a noticeable vibration, along with flashing, intermittent picture & crackling audio w/dropouts. As well, the front panel readout will display either 'U73', or 'HDMI', or the elapsed time. Has this happened to anyone before? I sent an email to Panny a week ago w/no response yet....hoping that there is a fix Thanx for any input.

Don't hold your breath about the e-mail. Suggest that you call the tech support telephone number ASAP: 1-800-211-PANA (7262).
fookoo_2010 is offline  
post #7588 of 8263 Old 08-12-2010, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by fookoo_2010 View Post

Don't hold your breath about the e-mail. Suggest that you call the tech support telephone number ASAP: 1-800-211-PANA (7262).

Agree with that advice. I e-mailled a question to Panasonic and by the time they called back I forgot what the question was about. They aren't Oppo but the do call back-----eventually.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7589 of 8263 Old 08-12-2010, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
heiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a region free bd60 and I have to press 1 and then turn the player on in order to tell the player which code the dvd is. try it.
heiwi is offline  
post #7590 of 8263 Old 08-12-2010, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
ambientcafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fookoo_2010 View Post

Don't hold your breath about the e-mail. Suggest that you call the tech support telephone number ASAP: 1-800-211-PANA (7262).

Thanks....took your advice & phoned them....from what they could tell me, I've actually damaged my player & suggested I bring it in for repairs. My warranty's over, and I suspect that repairs might cost me as much as buying a new player, so that's what I'll likely do....thanks again for the input. It's a good thing I have a region-free Oppo player as well. And I definitely won't be trying to play any region B titles on my other Panny BD30 anytime soon

HiDef S c o p e Fanboy-man
ambientcafe is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Panasonic Dmp Bd80k Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off