Official Panasonic DMP-BD60/80 Owners Thread - Page 261 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7801 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

hi all, i can't go through all 200 pages here. I have the BD80 with the original firmware. i now see 2.2 is available. does anyone have this? is it good?

The current firmware is 2.5, check here.
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...0/bd80_na.html
moxie1617 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7802 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
isn't that the japan site? if i go to www.panasonic.ca, its not available there. anyways, does this new firmware create any new problems or something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

The current firmware is 2.5, check here.
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...0/bd80_na.html

velocci is offline  
post #7803 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

isn't that the japan site? if i go to www.panasonic.ca, its not available there. anyways, does this new firmware create any new problems or something?

Yes it is but it is the firmware for North America. There have been no problems reported wit either 2.2 or 2.5. you should at least go to version 2.0 to get the faster BD load times.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7804 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since I have a network cable plugged into my player, I can do this using the menu of the player rather than creating the disc right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

Yes it is but it is the firmware for North America. There have been no problems reported wit either 2.2 or 2.5. you should at least go to version 2.0 to get the faster BD load times.

velocci is offline  
post #7805 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

since I have a network cable plugged into my player, I can do this using the menu of the player rather than creating the disc right?

Yes, it will grab that version and is the easiest way to grade.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7806 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aight, thanks. peace all, i'm out. merry christmas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

Yes, it will grab that version and is the easiest way to grade.

velocci is offline  
post #7807 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

aight, thanks. Peace all, i'm out. Merry christmas.

+1
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7808 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 12:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

The current firmware is 2.5, check here.
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...0/bd80_na.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

isn't that the japan site? if i go to www.panasonic.ca, its not available there. anyways, does this new firmware create any new problems or something?

Interesting.
I bought the 60 for my in-laws that I am visiting next week.

Any idea why the FW is on the "jp" site but not the "ca" site?

Mike
Mike_WI is offline  
post #7809 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post

Interesting.
I bought the 60 for my in-laws that I am visiting next week.

Any idea why the FW is on the "jp" site but not the "ca" site?

Mike

It's also on the US site, so it must be Canadian time

http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-e...DMP-BD80K.D#ts
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7810 of 8256 Old 12-24-2010, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

It's also on the US site, so it must be Canadian time

http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-e...DMP-BD80K.D#ts

I have the bd601k and currently 2.5 is the current firmware. I would install this firmware if you use3 vieracast because it puts these older players on par with the 65/85 it adds twitter pandora fox sports.. Stuff like netrflix and vudu, cinemanow etc aren't present due to hardware.
MacinMan is offline  
post #7811 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Retch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My bd-605 just stopped reading blu-rays and dvd's. Worked perfectly fine the night before. Every time i put in a disc it spins for a bit like it is trying to read it and then comes back with no disc error. Is my player dead?

Retch is offline  
post #7812 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retch View Post

My bd-605 just stopped reading blu-rays and dvd's. Worked perfectly fine the night before. Every time i put in a disc it spins for a bit like it is trying to read it and then comes back with no disc error. Is my player dead?

Try unplugging it for about a half hour and plugging it back in, if that doesn't work do a factory reset (the hard reset). If that doesn't work, chances are it's a dead laser. or other drive defect.

How old is the unit? My 601k purchased back in May 2009 still functions fine till this day.
MacinMan is offline  
post #7813 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Retch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

Try unplugging it for about a half hour and plugging it back in, if that doesn't work do a factory reset (the hard reset). If that doesn't work, chances are it's a dead laser. or other drive defect.

How old is the unit? My 601k purchased back in May 2009 still functions fine till this day.

Well i tried everything and it still doesn't work...i'm afraid my player is dead. I sent an e-mail to panasonic but i don't expect them to respond with any good news. I've only had it for a year. Looks like i'm in the market for a new player. Any suggestions for a good basic player for 100 to 120 dollars?

Retch is offline  
post #7814 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retch View Post


Well i tried everything and it still doesn't work...i'm afraid my player is dead. I sent an e-mail to panasonic but i don't expect them to respond with any good news. I've only had it for a year. Looks like i'm in the market for a new player. Any suggestions for a good basic player for 100 to 120 dollars?

If you got it from Costco return it for a full refund.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7815 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retch View Post

Well i tried everything and it still doesn't work...i'm afraid my player is dead. I sent an e-mail to panasonic but i don't expect them to respond with any good news. I've only had it for a year. Looks like i'm in the market for a new player. Any suggestions for a good basic player for 100 to 120 dollars?

Well if the costco option isn't an option for you. If wifi isn't a need and you don't care about 3D get the sony S270 or even the panasonic DMP BD65. If you want DLNA get the sony S370, but sony's DLNA support is flakey unless you use certain software that happens to have good transcode support.
MacinMan is offline  
post #7816 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Retch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

If you got it from Costco return it for a full refund.

My wife got it for me for christmas last year. She did get it at costco. How long do they allow for returns? If this is possible this may be the route to go.

Retch is offline  
post #7817 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 05:15 PM
Member
 
JedFRaybould's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One question to ask. Does anybody know if firmware version 2.5 will be the last firmware update for the BD60/80's or will there be more firmware updates in the future?

Jed "Freddy" Raybould
JedFRaybould is offline  
post #7818 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retch View Post

My wife got it for me for christmas last year. She did get it at costco. How long do they allow for returns? If this is possible this may be the route to go.

I bought in May 2009 and returned it in July 2010. I had purchsed a 70V in Feb 2010 and when Panasonic didn't bring Netflix to the 60's and 80's I got a little mad and returned the 60 to Costco. Here are the terms copied from my invoice for the BD605 from Costco.

Shop Confidently

Membership: We will refund your membership fee in full at any time if you are dissatisfied.

Merchandise: We guarantee your satisfaction on every product we sell with a full refund.
Exceptions: Televisions, projectors, computers, cameras, camcorders, iPOD / MP3 players and cellular phones must be returned within 90 days of purchase for a refund.

How to Return: Simply return your purchase at any one of our Costco warehouses worldwide for a refund (including shipping and handling). If you are unable to return your order at one of our warehouses, please contact customer service or call our customer service center at 1-800-955-2292 for assistance. To expedite the processing of your return, please reference your order number.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7819 of 8256 Old 12-28-2010, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JedFRaybould View Post

One question to ask. Does anybody know if firmware version 2.5 will be the last firmware update for the BD60/80's or will there be more firmware updates in the future?

You made me curious so I went to Panny's site and looked at the last firmware update for previous models. The BD55 was 4/26/2010; the BD50 was 11/30/2009; and the BD30 was June 2009. I think the 60/80 series was the 1st profile 2 player with BD live support, etc. Edit: The BD50 was profile 2 also. I think profile 2 players will require ongoing support because of the way studios keep changing copy protection and using new features of the Blu-ray spec.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7820 of 8256 Old 12-29-2010, 02:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

You made me curious so I went to Panny's site and looked at the last firmware update for previous models. The BD55 was 4/26/2010; the BD50 was 11/30/2009; and the BD30 was June 2009. I think the 60/80 series was the 1st profile 2 player with BD live support, etc. Edit: The BD50 was profile 2 also. I think profile 2 players will require ongoing support because of the way studios keep changing copy protection and using new features of the Blu-ray spec.

Was the panny BD30 profile 1.1 only?
MacinMan is offline  
post #7821 of 8256 Old 12-29-2010, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post


Was the panny BD30 profile 1.1 only?

The only info I could find was "Final Standard Profile", so I would say it's maybe only 1.0. Not sure, but not 1.2.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7822 of 8256 Old 12-31-2010, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Dmwc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a search of this thread and cannot find any mention of this specific problem I'm having with the BD-60. The player was fine a week ago, but all of a sudden one night the picture started to "flicker". When I turn it on and put a disc in, the video comes on fine at first, but then I start getting flashes of black every few seconds. Each black "flash" lasts about a second or so. The audio continues to play perfectly; only the image goes off. I would think a bad cable might be the issue, but after the player has been on for 5 minutes or so, the black flashes stop completely, and audio and video are fine as long as the player is left on. I've tried unplugging the player for a few minutes, but that has had no effect. Anybody have any idea what the problem might be?
Dmwc is offline  
post #7823 of 8256 Old 01-02-2011, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doug G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sat down to watch Robin Hood last night and at first I thought the disc (NF) was bad when it seemed to get stuck loading while displaying the animated Universal logo. It took over 5 minutes to load, probably closer to 7! Anyone else see the same thing? Entire movie played fine so I'm not sure it was the disc after all....wondering if lack of new firmware updates in the past few months may finally be catching up to this model.
Doug G is offline  
post #7824 of 8256 Old 01-02-2011, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G
Sat down to watch Robin Hood last night and at first I thought the disc (NF) was bad when it seemed to get stuck loading while displaying the animated Universal logo. It took over 5 minutes to load, probably closer to 7! Anyone else see the same thing? Entire movie played fine so I'm not sure it was the disc after all....wondering if lack of new firmware updates in the past few months may finally be catching up to this model.
i've had similar problems with other titles - clearing the data on the memory card helped.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7825 of 8256 Old 01-02-2011, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Georgeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G View Post
Sat down to watch Robin Hood last night and at first I thought the disc (NF) was bad when it seemed to get stuck loading while displaying the animated Universal logo. It took over 5 minutes to load, probably closer to 7! Anyone else see the same thing? Entire movie played fine so I'm not sure it was the disc after all....wondering if lack of new firmware updates in the past few months may finally be catching up to this model.
This happened to me when playing it on my BD35. I had to pull the plug, remove the disc and reload it and voila it started up after a minute or two.
Georgeb is offline  
post #7826 of 8256 Old 01-02-2011, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
Daka Larara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brasil
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone!

I had the same problem with this film Steelbook, UK version. Roughly about the same time that you have mentioned. And my version of firmware is the last.

At least, very strange.

Goodbye
Daka Larara is offline  
post #7827 of 8256 Old 01-05-2011, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
wvasko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central IL
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My BD 60 just decided to stop playing Blu-Rays, it will play DVD-R and Ram discs and regular DVDs Any ideas.

Please, Dumb It Down For Me.
wvasko is offline  
post #7828 of 8256 Old 01-05-2011, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
em-t-wallitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvasko View Post

My BD 60 just decided to stop playing Blu-Rays, it will play DVD-R and Ram discs and regular DVDs Any ideas.

I looked at a friend's BD60 player with the same problem. Took the drive apart. Tried cleaning the ribbon wire contacts and blu-ray lens. No go. IMO I think you need a new optical pickup or drive. You might as well buy a brand new player for what Panasonic charges for a drive replacement.
em-t-wallitt is offline  
post #7829 of 8256 Old 01-06-2011, 02:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
wvasko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central IL
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by em-t-wallitt View Post

I looked at a friend's BD60 player with the same problem. Took the drive apart. Tried cleaning the ribbon wire contacts and blu-ray lens. No go. IMO I think you need a new optical pickup or drive. You might as well buy a brand new player for what Panasonic charges for a drive replacement.

That's kinda what I thought, Amazon has a BD65 for 140.00 so I will probably jump on that because the 60's out of warranty and the cost of shipping unit in and back etc plus repair it doesn't pay. Oh well another door-stop.

Very interesting the BD65 is now on sale for 120.00, a 20.00 drop from yesterday.

I hope the BD65 will do the job because I liked my 60.

Thanks for reply.

Please, Dumb It Down For Me.
wvasko is offline  
post #7830 of 8256 Old 01-06-2011, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
em-t-wallitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvasko View Post

That's kinda what I thought, Amazon has a BD65 for 140.00 so I will probably jump on that because the 60's out of warranty and the cost of shipping unit in and back etc plus repair it doesn't pay. Oh well another door-stop.

You can always give the BD60 to someone who still has a dvd only collection, since it will still play those discs. Either that or put it on eBay (or craigslist) and get some money towards your new blu-ray player.
em-t-wallitt is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Panasonic Dmp Bd80k Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off