Official Panasonic DMP-BD60/80 Owners Thread - Page 265 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7921 of 8257 Old 05-01-2011, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Georgeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewey1200 View Post

i just got a roy orbison blu-ray from netflix and my bd60 won't play it.is there a way to tell if it is a damaged disc or a update is needed? this blu-ray was released in 2008.aren't updates required only for the newest releases? every other disc plays perfectly and i've never done any updates.

Rental discs can be a problem in some players, especially if they have greasy thumbprints on the playing surface. Give the disc a good cleaning and then try it.
Georgeb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7922 of 8257 Old 05-02-2011, 12:16 AM
Senior Member
 
wymann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewey1200 View Post

i just got a roy orbison blu-ray from netflix and my bd60 won't play it.is there a way to tell if it is a damaged disc or a update is needed? this blu-ray was released in 2008.aren't updates required only for the newest releases? every other disc plays perfectly and i've never done any updates.

I've have a few discs that wouldn't play until I took out the SD memory card.
wymann is offline  
post #7923 of 8257 Old 05-02-2011, 06:53 AM
Member
 
DECJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: La Sal, Utah
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wymann View Post

I've have a few discs that wouldn't play until I took out the SD memory card.

Just curious, but what would an SD memory card have to do with some discs not playing?
DECJ is offline  
post #7924 of 8257 Old 05-02-2011, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by DECJ View Post

Just curious, but what would an SD memory card have to do with some discs not playing?

I just thought I'd let everyone here know, that I gave my panny 601 to my mom. She'd mainly use it as a DVD player, with maybe an occasional blu-ray, and certainly won't be using the online streaming, or anything internet related.

I got back from her my Magnavox profile 1.1 player which is rock solid, and is just a player. I really don't use any profile 2.0 features, which makes those players a bother to me, with their random issues. I will say the panny 85 in the living room still works solid, and i'll use some streaming services sometimes. e.g. the sony in the bed room is dedicated as a streaming device right now. For now, seems like i've worked out a solid BD solution and streaming solution by using 1 device in the living room, and separate devices in the bed room.
MacinMan is offline  
post #7925 of 8257 Old 05-02-2011, 09:16 AM
Member
 
calbbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DECJ View Post

Just curious, but what would an SD memory card have to do with some discs not playing?

I have had the same experience where if I took out the SD card the movie would then play. I may be wrong and someone can correct me if I am, but I think it comes from writing things to the SD card from the internet for BD Live content. It may also be used for bookmarking? One other time I just reformatted the card and the movie then played for me with the card still in. Personally I have found the BD Live content rather useless and since there has not been a firmware update in quite a while I'm about to disconnect my BD60 from my Airport Express.
calbbs is offline  
post #7926 of 8257 Old 05-03-2011, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the BD60 will never get netflix what does a person suggest to be able to get it?
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #7927 of 8257 Old 05-04-2011, 04:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeborgdot View Post

Since the BD60 will never get netflix what does a person suggest to be able to get it?

I bought a Roku box, that way I never have to worry about how well will my player streams Netflix. It's wireless so it doesn't use a port in my switch, and small so it can sit on top of an existing component.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7928 of 8257 Old 05-15-2011, 05:33 AM
Member
 
dbshelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been having problems with my BD60 playing a Blueray for a few minutes, then turning off. Start over and sometimes no more problems, other times same problem happens. Tried the discs in my BD85 and they work fine. Is the BD85 more "forgiving" about playing discs? This has happened on new discs and rental discs alike. Should I try updating the firmware?
dbshelton is offline  
post #7929 of 8257 Old 05-15-2011, 05:43 AM
Member
 
Plasma Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: West Haven, Connecticut
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update the firmware to version 2.5 and see what happens. If there is no change, then the laser reader may be defective. Good Luck.
Plasma Fan is offline  
post #7930 of 8257 Old 05-15-2011, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It also helps to reformat or erase the SD cards memory. I had a few BD's that would hang on start up. Once the memory was cleared, no problems.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7931 of 8257 Old 05-15-2011, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
srt4mth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just joined the forum and have found it helpfull, but I have a problem I can't figure out.
When I play a blu-ray sometimes the picture is perfect and in some secens it is pixilated.
I updated the firmware to 2.5 and no difference. I have a 54" panasonic plasma G10 series, DB60 blu ray, Denon 591 ba surround and dish network sat. Everything is connected with hdmi threw the Denon. What could cause this to happen. When I play animated movies it doesn't happen. I have tried changing some settings (24p) and still the same.
Thanks from the newb
srt4mth is offline  
post #7932 of 8257 Old 05-15-2011, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by srt4mth View Post

I just joined the forum and have found it helpfull, but I have a problem I can't figure out.
When I play a blu-ray sometimes the picture is perfect and in some secens it is pixilated.
I updated the firmware to 2.5 and no difference. I have a 54" panasonic plasma G10 series, DB60 blu ray, Denon 591 ba surround and dish network sat. Everything is connected with hdmi threw the Denon. What could cause this to happen. When I play animated movies it doesn't happen. I have tried changing some settings (24p) and still the same.
Thanks from the newb

Make sure your HDMI cables are v1.3 and 1080p high-bandwidth capable (I use MonoPrice cables). 10 ft. long or shorter is usually better. Connect the BD60 directly to the plasma to check those two (remove Denon from equation).

Tesla1856 is offline  
post #7933 of 8257 Old 05-15-2011, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
srt4mth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I connected the blu ray directly to the tv and it still looks the same. I also intalled and formated a sd card into the blu ray to see if that helps, but it didn't. I know the cables are good because the hd channels on my sat sometimes look better than the blu ray.
srt4mth is offline  
post #7934 of 8257 Old 05-15-2011, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by srt4mth View Post

I connected the blu ray directly to the tv and it still looks the same. I also intalled and formated a sd card into the blu ray to see if that helps, but it didn't. I know the cables are good because the hd channels on my sat sometimes look better than the blu ray.

So, if you have the SAT connected directly to the plasma (and it's using a 1080p signal) and it works fine ... the TV is likely ok.

If you also have the BD60 connected directly to the plasma and it still does it, then that leaves the DB60 being bad. The only other thing it could be is something like a bad cable (no, all HDMI cables are not the same ... nor can they all handle 1080p and 24bit color) or a bad or scratched disc.

You can also compare VieraCast (HD Content) on the TV vs the BD60 ... and HD movies on flash media. But if anything is bad on the BD60, it's likely the drive mech or laser. Have you tried carefully cleaning it? Maybe with a special disc based cleaner? Are all your discs clean and un-scratched?

Tesla1856 is offline  
post #7935 of 8257 Old 05-16-2011, 01:09 AM
Newbie
 
srt4mth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll look into cleaning the laser. I've tried two different cables
and watched three movies, one of which is brand new.
srt4mth is offline  
post #7936 of 8257 Old 05-19-2011, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
srt4mth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cleaned the laser and still had had pixels, turns out
it was the settings on the tv. I had the tv set on vivid
because my wife wanted it brighter. Now I can search
for different settings to try.
Thanks
srt4mth is offline  
post #7937 of 8257 Old 05-20-2011, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
hhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Des Moines Iowa
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,
I have a new problem with a year old BD60. Recordings I have made from Directv in 16X9 are all of the sudden showing up with gray bars on the side, in the center of the TV screen. The (Panny 16x9) TV is set to" full" mode, the Panny player is connected via HDMI. To double check I put the discs in my Panny EH69 recorder. It is connected via component and plays them in 16X9 just fine, also on the TV's "full" mode.
We recently connected the player to the internet and did a software update. I don't know how but am wondering if either of these two things are somehow effecting the machine. The player is and has been set for 16x9 (and not 16x9 full) and up til now has worked flawlessly. My son sometimes uses it but I cannot figure out what he would have changed to cause this to happen. Please HELP!!!!!!
hhawk is offline  
post #7938 of 8257 Old 05-21-2011, 05:48 PM
Member
 
roberteyewhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeborgdot View Post
Since the BD60 will never get netflix what does a person suggest to be able to get it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post
I bought a Roku box, that way I never have to worry about how well will my player streams Netflix. It's wireless so it doesn't use a port in my switch, and small so it can sit on top of an existing component.
Same here (Roku XD). However, be advised to go to Netflix first if you only plan on streaming and see what is available. Do a search and you will see (lots on disk only). I have watched a lot of movies so after a couple of months I just watch TV shows (No Reservations, Man vs. Food, Bizarre Foods, etc.) along with Documentaries. To me, very limited selections on movies--streaming wise.

I am on the unlimited streaming only plan.

Still happy with the Roku purchase as other channels are available with more to come.
roberteyewhy is offline  
post #7939 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 04:17 AM
Member
 
dbshelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbshelton View Post
I've been having problems with my BD60 playing a Blueray for a few minutes, then turning off. Start over and sometimes no more problems, other times same problem happens. Tried the discs in my BD85 and they work fine. Is the BD85 more "forgiving" about playing discs? This has happened on new discs and rental discs alike. Should I try updating the firmware?
I had already updated the firmware on my BC60 and went ahead and updated my Yamaha 867 receiver. No differences, plays a few minutes, then turns itself OFF. I noticed that the problem seems to only happen when I am using my Epson projector. Seems to be OK when watching my Mitsu 65" DLP TV. The receiver has separate HDMI outputs, but with the TV being OFF, could that be doing something strange?
It sounds like this could be an HDMI setting on the TV, receiver, or BD60 that I need to change, but what?
dbshelton is offline  
post #7940 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbshelton

I had already updated the firmware on my BC60 and went ahead and updated my Yamaha 867 receiver. No differences, plays a few minutes, then turns itself OFF. I noticed that the problem seems to only happen when I am using my Epson projector. Seems to be OK when watching my Mitsu 65" DLP TV. The receiver has separate HDMI outputs, but with the TV being OFF, could that be doing something strange?
It sounds like this could be an HDMI setting on the TV, receiver, or BD60 that I need to change, but what?
Check your VieraLink settings and ensure it is set to off.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7941 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 07:42 AM
Member
 
dbshelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post
Check your VieraLink settings and ensure it is set to off.
Thanks, I'll try that. BTW What will that do?
dbshelton is offline  
post #7942 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbshelton View Post

Thanks, I'll try that. BTW What will that do?

VieraLink is Panasonic's name for HDMI's CEC Control Spec. It is capable of turning components on and off, switching inputs on AVR's and/or TV's to the component just powered up, allowing single remote control from your TV's remote of all components. Since HDMI is two-way communications, it is possible that your Yamaha or projector is sending a power off signal to your player.

An example is that you have a TV and player with CEC Control. You power off the TV and the Player will power off.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7943 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 09:50 AM
Member
 
dbshelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the good explanation. So maybe since the TV is off while watching the projector, there is nothing telling the BD60 to stay on after a few minutes?
dbshelton is offline  
post #7944 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbshelton View Post

Thanks for the good explanation. So maybe since the TV is off while watching the projector, there is nothing telling the BD60 to stay on after a few minutes?

That could be it. Check the TV to see if it has a Viera Link equivalent and turn it off there too.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7945 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 08:28 PM
Member
 
dbshelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

That could be it. Check the TV to see if it has a Viera Link equivalent and turn it off there too.

The Mitsu manual talks about a "HDMI CEC control" and a "NetCommand Control" would that be the equivalent?
Does the Epson Pro 810 projector have something like that too?
Heck, I didn't realize my components were all talking to each other!
dbshelton is offline  
post #7946 of 8257 Old 05-23-2011, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbshelton View Post

The Mitsu manual talks about a "HDMI CEC control" and a "NetCommand Control" would that be the equivalent?
Does the Epson Pro 810 projector have something like that too?
Heck, I didn't realize my components were all talking to each other!

Yes, Viera Link is the Panasonic implementation of the HDMI CEC control. I don't know about the projector though. Hopefully that was the issue and your problem goes away.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7947 of 8257 Old 05-24-2011, 03:51 PM
Member
 
dbshelton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far, it looks like turning the Viera Link off at the BD60 took care of my problem.
Thanks for the tip!
dbshelton is offline  
post #7948 of 8257 Old 05-28-2011, 04:13 PM
Member
 
dbergs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, so I've had the BD 60 for I think a year, and just recently I've tried to play regular old DVDs in it. Every DVD I try to play in it, I get an error message "This disc is incompatible" I have my player hooked only by HDMI to my TV. What is going on, or what setting do I need to change to be able to play DVDs?
dbergs is offline  
post #7949 of 8257 Old 05-28-2011, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbergs
ok, so I've had the BD 60 for I think a year, and just recently I've tried to play regular old DVDs in it. Every DVD I try to play in it, I get an error message "This disc is incompatible" I have my player hooked only by HDMI to my TV. What is going on, or what setting do I need to change to be able to play DVDs?
It sounds like the laser may have died or you are trying to play PAL media. No settings can fix either of them.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #7950 of 8257 Old 05-29-2011, 12:00 AM
Member
 
dbergs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are just your regular old DVD movies you find in any store. No DVDs play in it. Blu Rays play fine.
dbergs is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players , Panasonic Dmp Bd80k Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd60 Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Panasonic

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off