Momitsu bdp-899 Region Free Blu ray Player - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 229 Old 07-05-2009, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
mugupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
should i get momitsu or the oppo blu-ray player with region free hack?
mugupo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 229 Old 07-05-2009, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugupo View Post

should i get momitsu or the oppo blu-ray player with region free hack?

oppo
RapalloAV is offline  
post #183 of 229 Old 07-05-2009, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Dragonsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugupo View Post

Does this player has patch update? has anyone experience disk problem?

See my previous post #169. I posted a link to a FW update.
Dragonsf is offline  
post #184 of 229 Old 07-05-2009, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsf View Post

See my previous post #169. I posted a link to a FW update.

I managed to miss that. Thanks for the reminder....

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #185 of 229 Old 07-06-2009, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsf View Post

See my previous post #169. I posted a link to a FW update.

I missed it too. Can you tell what it does?
Ted_K is offline  
post #186 of 229 Old 07-06-2009, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Dragonsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted_K View Post

I missed it too. Can you tell what it does?

Actually no, my player was already up to date.
Dragonsf is offline  
post #187 of 229 Old 07-06-2009, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsf View Post

See my previous post #169. I posted a link to a FW update.

So, the Momitsu doesn't automatically download firmware updates if it is connected to the internet?

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #188 of 229 Old 07-07-2009, 12:37 AM
Member
 
Dragonsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

So, the Momitsu doesn't automatically download firmware updates if it is connected to the internet?

Would you really like that? I wouldn't.
Dragonsf is offline  
post #189 of 229 Old 07-07-2009, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsf View Post

Actually no, my player was already up to date.

I suspect mine may be as well. How can you tell?
Ted_K is offline  
post #190 of 229 Old 07-07-2009, 05:02 AM
Member
 
Dragonsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My SW Version is:PKG-DVD-1-4-064-RC
Dragonsf is offline  
post #191 of 229 Old 07-07-2009, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsf View Post

Would you really like that? I wouldn't.

Well, I guess what I meant was, it doesn't give automatic firmware notifications like the other players do (if setup for that, at least). I think I worded my question incorrectly.

I guess it doesn't, because I downloaded the firmware and updated my player. If there were automatic notifications, I'm guessing it would have occurred by now, given the date listed on that file and how long I've had the Momitsu.

So, does anyone have any idea what the update does? I don't notice any added features, so perhaps it's just compatibility with certain discs, etc. that it fixes?

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #192 of 229 Old 07-07-2009, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Airboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 2,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

Airboss, did you ever get the firmware update for your 905? My 805 required it. The latter productions runs of this series might not have needed it? I'm not sure. I got my 805 early and had to get it as I was using it with a Panasonic 30 then. If you had the PS3 back then, maybe you didn't experience the DTS Boom or pop at random spots in several Fox BD's...? I'm not sure what all the equipment combination are that were affected. If you didn't get the firmware update, that looms as one of the possible culprits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboss View Post

I don't believe I did, I'll check that out. Thanks for the help.

Ok, upgraded the firmware on my Onkyo and problem solved, no more DTS Boom or pop.

Now I have another question. I set my Momitsu BDP for SD Region Free and Blu Ray Region B but when I shut it off it reverts back to SD Region 1 and BR Region A, is this the norm? If I set it to SD Region Free and BR Region Free will it stay there or do you have to reset it each time you turn it on?

Once again, watched a SD DVD tonight using the BDP-899 and the up-converted image was outstanding!! This is becoming my favorite upconverting player.

"Marines have no qualms about killing Martians"

2011 List

2009 List

2008 List
Airboss is offline  
post #193 of 229 Old 07-08-2009, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The player reverts back to Region A for blu-ray when it is powered off, since there is no equivalent to Region "0" for BD. If you set a code of 97350*, the player will stay in region "0" for SD, meaning that all-region play for SD sticks. And you're right, it's a great player overall, not just for SD!
Ted_K is offline  
post #194 of 229 Old 07-08-2009, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboss View Post

Ok, upgraded the firmware on my Onkyo and problem solved, no more DTS Boom or pop.

Now I have another question. I set my Momitsu BDP for SD Region Free and Blu Ray Region B but when I shut it off it reverts back to SD Region 1 and BR Region A, is this the norm? If I set it to SD Region Free and BR Region Free will it stay there or do you have to reset it each time you turn it on?

Once again, watched a SD DVD tonight using the BDP-899 and the up-converted image was outstanding!! This is becoming my favorite upconverting player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted_K View Post

The player reverts back to Region A for blu-ray when it is powered off, since there is no equivalent to Region "0" for BD. If you set a code of 97350*, the player will stay in region "0" for SD, meaning that all-region play for SD sticks. And you're right, it's a great player overall, not just for SD!

But Airboss seems to be saying that his player is reverting back to SD Region 1 even after he has set it to SD Region-Free when he powers off the unit, which is not the way it is supposed to work, unless he is mistaken.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #195 of 229 Old 07-08-2009, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

But Airboss seems to be saying that his player is reverting back to SD Region 1 even after he has set it to SD Region-Free when he powers off the unit, which is not the way it is supposed to work, unless he is mistaken.

I would make sure that the second to last number is "0" again and see what happens. Mine definitely stays region-free for SD after powering off. Maybe he put in a "2", thinking it would stay region 2, or some else like that.
Ted_K is offline  
post #196 of 229 Old 07-08-2009, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
EPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Or perhaps it makes a difference if you turn it off via remote (thereby putting it in "standby" mode) or if you use the indent button on the machine to turn it off?

I just received my Momitsu yesterday morning and have not had much time to play with it yet. I did test out that it does play the extras on "Feast of Love" (aka "Cup of Love") which my PS3 couldn't, and that "The Story of Anvil" will play (supposedly 1080i 50hz). Will probably not get a chance to really watch anything until the weekend.
EPlay is online now  
post #197 of 229 Old 07-08-2009, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPlay View Post

Or perhaps it makes a difference if you turn it off via remote (thereby putting it in "standby" mode) or if you use the indent button on the machine to turn it off?

I just received my Momitsu yesterday morning and have not had much time to play with it yet. I did test out that it does play the extras on "Feast of Love" (aka "Cup of Love") which my PS3 couldn't, and that "The Story of Anvil" will play (supposedly 1080i 50hz). Will probably not get a chance to really watch anything until the weekend.

Yes, I would think that turning the machine off completely via the power button on the front of the unit vs. putting it into standby with the remote could potentially wipe out the region-free setting. In fact, I think I recall that happening to me once, now that you mention it, but I'd have to double check that to say definitively.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #198 of 229 Old 07-09-2009, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I breezed through the manual last night looking for how to check the firmware type. I found nothing. Anybody know how?

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #199 of 229 Old 07-09-2009, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

I breezed through the manual last night looking for how to check the firmware type. I found nothing. Anybody know how?

Sure,

Go into the "Setup" menu, and scroll down to the "System" settings, which is the second to the last icon on the bottom left. Then, scroll to the right a bit ad move down to where it says "Software Version."

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #200 of 229 Old 07-10-2009, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the remote to power the unit on and off.
Ted_K is offline  
post #201 of 229 Old 07-10-2009, 08:49 PM
Member
 
Dragonsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted_K View Post

I use the remote to power the unit on and off.

This sets the unit to 'Standby'. 'Power off' is something different.
Dragonsf is offline  
post #202 of 229 Old 07-11-2009, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsf View Post

This sets the unit to 'Standby'. 'Power off' is something different.

I realize that. I was just indicating that is the procedure I use and perhaps that is why my SD region-free setting doesn't get cleared where some others' setting does.
Ted_K is offline  
post #203 of 229 Old 07-11-2009, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Airboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 2,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, I checked it again last night and using the remote to turn the unit off the SD code remains intact, just not the BD code. I'll try later tonight and see what happens when the unit loses power (via power button or unplugging).

Not sure what happened the last time I was messing with it but I may have had to unplug it and that could be why I lost both SD and BD codes.

"Marines have no qualms about killing Martians"

2011 List

2009 List

2008 List
Airboss is offline  
post #204 of 229 Old 08-10-2009, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Jacek Karpala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I just got my unit and noticed that the picture is much more vivid (the blacks are blaker and whites are whiter - almost oversaturated). Is there a way to adjust it on the unit? I didn't find a way yet...
Any firmware upgrades out there as off yet?
Thanks,
Jacek
Jacek Karpala is offline  
post #205 of 229 Old 08-25-2009, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Bleddyn H Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Billerica MA USA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of picking this one up. A couple of quick questions for Momitsu gurus...

I have a 1080i set that I have to use component video for, with HDMI for audio to an Onkyo 606.

* Is the Onkyo okay with outputting both component & HDMI at the same time?

* Reading this thread, there's a lot of 1080i/1080p talk. What would be good default settings for me on the Momitsu, and would I have to make any adjustments for various disc types?

Any help appreciated!
Bleddyn H Williams is offline  
post #206 of 229 Old 08-25-2009, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Dragonsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonsf View Post

I received my player yesterday and I must say, there is no noise at all.
The PQ from BD is really good (on an 80" projector screen).
But I couldn't get the player to play any .ts or .mp4 from disk. Any ideas why?
Or does the player only play files from USB?

From my seller, I got the following link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=0...5965eaa7bc68bc

Please see there for manuals and FW updates. I also learned, the machine is Linux based and can only use FAT32 formatted USB media.
All all playable video files must have an extension of .avi.

There seems to be a new FW available.
Dragonsf is offline  
post #207 of 229 Old 08-26-2009, 12:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mike171979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dragon, I was just coming in here to say the same thing.

On the page where the updates can be found, the software version has just been revised on 8/23/09.

This might fix the problem with T2 Skynet Edition, I'll have to download it and try it out.
mike171979 is offline  
post #208 of 229 Old 08-26-2009, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 70
The firmware just posted does not fix the problem with T2 Skynet Edition. It still freezes. The firmware seems to have been uploaded to the site recently but if you check the main file it does not seem to be new. I have the original download and the new one posted and all files are the same with the same dates.
rwestley is offline  
post #209 of 229 Old 08-26-2009, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Dragonsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

The firmware just posted does not fix the problem with T2 Skynet Edition. It still freezes. The firmware seems to have been uploaded to the site recently but if you check the main file it does not seem to be new. I have the original download and the new one posted and all files are the same with the same dates.

The main file is the Linux OS (as squashfs image). But the vmlinuz and .dat are from July.
So there must be some changes
Dragonsf is offline  
post #210 of 229 Old 08-29-2009, 05:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Is the Momitsu still being made? I've been going to HKFlix for a month or more, since its' one option for me to get a region free player - no stock & Momitsu has to resume production.

Also, Atacom's site seems to suggest it's no longer available.

What's the story?

Thanks!

ss9001

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player
Gear in this thread - Bh200 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off