New Pioneer BD players BDP-120/320 & BDP-LX52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 04-14-2009, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ssak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today Pioneer Japan announced more info about BDP-120/320 & BDP-LX52.

The google translated link is : http://209.85.129.132/translate_c?hl...uGzS6WgpYZlz9A


New amps supporting the Multichannel PQLS (SC-LX72 and SC-LX82) will come in Summer with availability from September - October.
LL
LL
LL
LL
ssak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 04-14-2009, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link. I'm getting a 54G10 and trying to decide b/t the 320 and the Oppo.
RYANtheTIGER is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 09-22-2009, 12:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
blacklion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm looking for reviews of the Pioneer 120 and would love to hear from actual owners. Already have a Pio 320 but would like to get another Pio for guestroom/second bedroom.

One reviewer on amazon.com claims that his was region free for SD DVD out of the box. Any confirmations of this?

Denon X4000: Yamaha AS500;TS500;CDS300: Pioneer BDP62FD;BDP23FD;DV58AV;DV610: Panasonic DMP-BDT500; Sony BDP-S790; Samsung PS60E6500
blacklion is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 09-22-2009, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacklion View Post

I'm looking for reviews of the Pioneer 120 and would love to hear from actual owners. Already have a Pio 320 but would like to get another Pio for guestroom/second bedroom.

One reviewer on amazon.com claims that his was region free for SD DVD out of the box. Any confirmations of this?

search the 320 forum. think i have it linked on the first page. it's a sharp re-badge. don't get it.
winston9332 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 09-22-2009, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacklion View Post

I'm looking for reviews of the Pioneer 120 and would love to hear from actual owners. Already have a Pio 320 but would like to get another Pio for guestroom/second bedroom.

One reviewer on amazon.com claims that his was region free for SD DVD out of the box. Any confirmations of this?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post16551589
winston9332 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 09-22-2009, 07:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
blacklion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks! do you know if the harmony remote hack for region free DVD on the BDP51 (described by wrinklefree) also works on the 120? thanks again!

Denon X4000: Yamaha AS500;TS500;CDS300: Pioneer BDP62FD;BDP23FD;DV58AV;DV610: Panasonic DMP-BDT500; Sony BDP-S790; Samsung PS60E6500
blacklion is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 09-22-2009, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Blackraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting stuff there

Btw, I saw something in this pic.


Well in this pic, there is like a blue sticker (close to the right side of the BDP-LX52 device) which says "BDP-23FD".

So I guess that will be the the LX-52 will be known as "BDP-23FD" when this reaches stateside? (if this info is correct)
Blackraven is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 01-09-2010, 01:50 AM
Newbie
 
IHateSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone, thank you for reading my message.

I recently purchased a Pioneer BDP-120 player from Richer Sounds, UK. This player is suppose to only play Region 2 DVDs as it was purchased in the UK, but it was sold as Multiregion, so I presume it must have been modified somehow. This is great as I have a few Region 1 DVDs from way back that I still want to watch. As it stands this all works; I can play Blu-ray, and all Region DVD.

I would like to update the firmware on this player as it seems mine is fairly out of date. However, I'm concerned I will lose the Multiregion DVD playback as a result if I do. This is based on my assumption that the Multiregion DVD feature is part of a firmware upgrade performed before it was sold to me.

My current version is: BP9060800

Please tell me what you think. Is the Multiregion capability part of the firmware, and will I lose this if I perform the official firmware upgrade? What are my options?

Thanks so much for reading all this, I owe you one big time.

All the best!
IHateSnow is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 01-21-2010, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
IHateSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, as my thread was deleted and my post moved to this thread I'm not sure if my message got any exposure, so I'm sorry for this BUMP
IHateSnow is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 01-24-2010, 10:43 AM
Member
 
jyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NewEngland
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IHateSnow View Post


Please tell me what you think. Is the Multiregion capability part of the firmware, and will I lose this if I perform the official firmware upgrade? What are my options?

most Pioneer region hack are done via special remote codes instead of firmware mods.
from experience, the BDP-51 and BDP-320 remain dvd-region free after firmware update.

BDP-120 is unfortunately a Sharp OEM unit so YMMV.
jyzz is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 02-02-2010, 11:30 PM
Newbie
 
IHateSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you jyzz, you put me at a little more ease, but I had the chance to go into the store I purchased it from and they said that it "should" be okay because they got these players shipped from Pioneer like this.

So I did the update and all seems fine.
IHateSnow is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 02-06-2010, 01:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyzz View Post

most Pioneer region hack are done via special remote codes instead of firmware mods.
from experience, the BDP-51 and BDP-320 remain dvd-region free after firmware update.

BDP-120 is unfortunately a Sharp OEM unit so YMMV.

i got pio 120 for around $100 from walle world, can it do pal, divx and be made region free
zoro is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 02-11-2010, 01:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyzz View Post

most Pioneer region hack are done via special remote codes instead of firmware mods.
from experience, the BDP-51 and BDP-320 remain dvd-region free after firmware update.

BDP-120 is unfortunately a Sharp OEM unit so YMMV.

is there 320 region hack too?
zoro is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 03-28-2010, 12:47 PM
Member
 
metalmaker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
at this point do you think it would be worth it to pick up a pioneer 320 on clearance?

Or wait until the 330?

has anyone heard of any pioneer 330 talk in the USA yet?
metalmaker1 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 03-28-2010, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
enchntr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore, NJ
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalmaker1 View Post

at this point do you think it would be worth it to pick up a pioneer 320 on clearance?

Or wait until the 330?

has anyone heard of any pioneer 330 talk in the USA yet?

I just picked up one for the main TV as our Samsung crapped out.

You cannot beat the deal...let's just say where I went, they completely blew away MSRP...I was literally shocked.
enchntr is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 04-10-2010, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
dalton3409's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought a BDP-120 from Richer Sounds, multi region on DVD. When I tried playing a Blu Ray it doesn't play but it will play DVDs, I've tried a couple of Blu Rays so its not the discs. Figured it must be the firmware so I tried to upgrade using the supplied memory stick as described in the manual. Unfortunately this hangs after a couple of minutes and I have to restart the device.

This unit has been returned to Richer Sounds and replaced with an identical multi regioned machine. Surprise, surprise this unit does the exact same thing. Plays DVDs but not Blu Rays and hangs when I try to upgrade the firmware.

Any ideas as to what the problem may be?
dalton3409 is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 10-28-2010, 01:36 AM
Newbie
 
hselburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have a Pioneer BDP-120 and I'm trying to get BD-Live to work. I have Netgear wnr1000v2 and a Linksys wvr200 routers. I use WPA2 security and I have MAC Access set up. The Blu-Ray was connected to the Linksys but the network is still not available via the Linksys.

I have Internet access via the netgear router (Comcast) so the Internet connection itself is not the issue. Do I need to buy either an access point or bridge instead of the Linksys? I also noted that the Blu-Ray won't let me enter a passphrase.
hselburn is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 08-25-2011, 09:19 AM
Member
 
recoveryone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New update 9200900, whats does it really do????
recoveryone is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off