Pioneer BDP-320/BDP-23FD Owner's Thread - Page 214 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6391 of 6435 Old 08-01-2014, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilbisonte View Post
Thanks for the reply. I'd rather not go through returning and rebuying it since I got a good deal- can I fix it easily / cheaply?
I'm a cheap bastard. Instead of fixing the dead LED, I cut off the leg of the other blue LED, so now I only have the white LED light up

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6392 of 6435 Old 08-27-2014, 03:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help! BDP-23FD Control Startup?

Hi I have a 111FD, SC-77 and BDP-23FD

How is everyone's BDP-23FD function with Kuro Link or SR? Mine seems unable to turn on without pressing the front panel's power button or BD Player's remote power button.

-the Kuro's HDMI Control Setting Power On Test works for the 23FD and receiver
-all control via hdmi controls work when it is on
-power down from my tv to receiver to my bdp23fd works

But the 23 just won't turn on when I power up the tv. Pioneer support confirmed the problem on their end. Then techs sent out a bulletin saying that if "hold sound status is off" then it will power on. That didn't work for me and actually makes it so the receiver doesn't power on automatically either because the sound status of the TV is by default on the TV speakers.

I connected a 3.5mm mono plug to the SR Control out on the Kuro to the 23FD and that didn't do anything.

I connected the cable then from the BD player to the IR out on the SC-77. The receiver has an SR logo on the front face but no SR out / in on the back, so I figure this is the port. No change.

There is no way both the HDMI startup and the SR startup are bad. What am I missing here? What is everyone else's experience like?
Ilbisonte is offline  
post #6393 of 6435 Old 08-27-2014, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Personally I found it a bit flaky with my 320/Kuro 151 combo, so I have it turned off. It's no big deal for me to power on the 320 and 151 separately.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #6394 of 6435 Old 11-09-2014, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 410
My 320 seems to be becoming less reliable with less than perfect rental BDs (stutters or outright freezes and becomes unresponsive). I thought about trying to clean the laser (I've never done so since buying it about 4-5 years ago) to see if that helps. What's the best way to do so? Cleaning disc? Open up the drive and manually clean the laser head?

Maybe I can use this as an excuse to replace it with an Oppo, though the thought of dropping $500 (or more if I go region free) has me real hesitant.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #6395 of 6435 Old 11-09-2014, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
My 320 seems to be becoming less reliable with less than perfect rental BDs (stutters or outright freezes and becomes unresponsive). I thought about trying to clean the laser (I've never done so since buying it about 4-5 years ago) to see if that helps. What's the best way to do so? Cleaning disc? Open up the drive and manually clean the laser head?

Maybe I can use this as an excuse to replace it with an Oppo, though the thought of dropping $500 (or more if I go region free) has me real hesitant.
Always better to manually clean if you are able.

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Samsung 32" LCD, Oppo BDP83, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Panasonic LX-900, DirecTV H21-100, CElabs HDTV tuner, PS3, Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030-972, Def Tech; SM 450, SM 350, CLR 2002, BP2X, Pro Sub 100, Klipsch KSB1.1, Infinity PS12
Living Room, Mitsubishi HD4000, 92" screen, Samsung 40" LCD, Panasonic DMP-BT330, DirecTV HR24-200, Pioneer Elite VSX-53, Polk; CS1, RC80i (4), Klipsch Sub10
bguzman is offline  
post #6396 of 6435 Old 11-10-2014, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
Always better to manually clean if you are able.
Do you know where I can find directions on how to open it up to clean it?
Saturn94 is offline  
post #6397 of 6435 Old 11-10-2014, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
Do you know where I can find directions on how to open it up to clean it?
I lookwd around the web but could not find anything. I haven't taken my 320 apart but I have taken other players apart for various reasons and generally it is pretty straight forward once the cover is off. There are just a few screws that attach the cover. Once you get that far if you have a problem snap a picture and someone here should be able to guide you further.

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Samsung 32" LCD, Oppo BDP83, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Panasonic LX-900, DirecTV H21-100, CElabs HDTV tuner, PS3, Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030-972, Def Tech; SM 450, SM 350, CLR 2002, BP2X, Pro Sub 100, Klipsch KSB1.1, Infinity PS12
Living Room, Mitsubishi HD4000, 92" screen, Samsung 40" LCD, Panasonic DMP-BT330, DirecTV HR24-200, Pioneer Elite VSX-53, Polk; CS1, RC80i (4), Klipsch Sub10
bguzman is offline  
post #6398 of 6435 Old 11-10-2014, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
My 320 seems to be becoming less reliable with less than perfect rental BDs (stutters or outright freezes and becomes unresponsive). I thought about trying to clean the laser (I've never done so since buying it about 4-5 years ago) to see if that helps. What's the best way to do so? Cleaning disc? Open up the drive and manually clean the laser head?

Maybe I can use this as an excuse to replace it with an Oppo, though the thought of dropping $500 (or more if I go region free) has me real hesitant.

This is the current topic of conversation in the OPPO BDP 83 thread. The general consensus is to manually clean the lens with a Q Tip and alcohol.
Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only]


My 320 is still going and is getting some extra use lately as there is newer discs that will not play in the OPPO but play in the 320.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #6399 of 6435 Old 11-10-2014, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
I lookwd around the web but could not find anything. I haven't taken my 320 apart but I have taken other players apart for various reasons and generally it is pretty straight forward once the cover is off. There are just a few screws that attach the cover. Once you get that far if you have a problem snap a picture and someone here should be able to guide you further.
Yeah, I didn't find anything either. I guess I'll just dig in and see what I find.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
This is the current topic of conversation in the OPPO BDP 83 thread. The general consensus is to manually clean the lens with a Q Tip and alcohol.
Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only]


My 320 is still going and is getting some extra use lately as there is newer discs that will not play in the OPPO but play in the 320.
You have discs that won't play in the Oppo but will in the 320? That's not very encouraging. I'd rather not have to have 2 BD players in the rack if at all possible.

I'm curious, which titles gave the Oppo trouble?
Saturn94 is offline  
post #6400 of 6435 Old 11-11-2014, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
Yeah, I didn't find anything either. I guess I'll just dig in and see what I find.



You have discs that won't play in the Oppo but will in the 320? That's not very encouraging. I'd rather not have to have 2 BD players in the rack if at all possible.

I'm curious, which titles gave the Oppo trouble?

Jurassic Park, Total Recall, Monster University have audio issues. You have to switch the OPPO to output LPCM. My LG BH200 has the same issue. The 320 has no issues at all with these titles.
There is complaints that Transformers 4 and other new titles that do not play at all on the OPPO BDP83. OPPO is claiming that the studios are not adhering to the Blu ray specs and the MediaTek chip in the OPPO is to strict with the standard. As far as I know OPPO and MediaTek are looking into this.


I am finding that the 320 was one of the best Blu ray players I have bought so far. This includes HD DVD also. I did have issues with some Fox titles a few years ago but Pioneer fixed that with a firmware update. My OPPO had the same problems but they were much slower with a firmware update.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #6401 of 6435 Old 11-11-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
Jurassic Park, Total Recall, Monster University have audio issues. You have to switch the OPPO to output LPCM. My LG BH200 has the same issue. The 320 has no issues at all with these titles.
There is complaints that Transformers 4 and other new titles that do not play at all on the OPPO BDP83. OPPO is claiming that the studios are not adhering to the Blu ray specs and the MediaTek chip in the OPPO is to strict with the standard. As far as I know OPPO and MediaTek are looking into this.


I am finding that the 320 was one of the best Blu ray players I have bought so far. This includes HD DVD also. I did have issues with some Fox titles a few years ago but Pioneer fixed that with a firmware update. My OPPO had the same problems but they were much slower with a firmware update.
Wow, I guess I expected Oppo to be more reliable than the 320. Your experience seems to indicate otherwise.

I've never run into audio issues with my 320, but that may be because I'm using the optical output (yes, I know it's lossy) to my older/non-HDMI Anthem AVM20 pre pro. If I buy the Oppo 103 (it would replace both the 320 and my Oppo 980h players) I would use it's multichannel analog outputs to connect to the pre pro. I guess in this case I still wouldn't have the audio problems you mentioned? I'm thinking if a fix hasn't come yet, it's not coming since Jurassic Park has been out for quite some time.

I'm gonna try cleaning my 320 today and see if the Netflix disc I currently have still freezes up.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #6402 of 6435 Old 11-11-2014, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
Wow, I guess I expected Oppo to be more reliable than the 320. Your experience seems to indicate otherwise.

I've never run into audio issues with my 320, but that may be because I'm using the optical output (yes, I know it's lossy) to my older/non-HDMI Anthem AVM20 pre pro. If I buy the Oppo 103 (it would replace both the 320 and my Oppo 980h players) I would use it's multichannel analog outputs to connect to the pre pro. I guess in this case I still wouldn't have the audio problems you mentioned? I'm thinking if a fix hasn't come yet, it's not coming since Jurassic Park has been out for quite some time.

I'm gonna try cleaning my 320 today and see if the Netflix disc I currently have still freezes up.

I think the 103/103D/105/105D are OK as OPPO is using a newer MediaTeK chip. I have the first OPPO Blu ray player which is the 83 series. The only problem going forward is, will these same issues pop up when OPPO releases a newer player.


I am bit streaming with all my players. I do know that those using the analog audio outs do not have the issue with the audio drop outs. Right now the Pioneer is my go to player with problem titles.


The 103/105 use the Marvell QDEO chip and the 103D/105D use Anchor Bay VRS and Darbee. Darbee can be turned off if you do not want to use it.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #6403 of 6435 Old 11-11-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
I think the 103/103D/105/105D are OK as OPPO is using a newer MediaTeK chip. I have the first OPPO Blu ray player which is the 83 series. The only problem going forward is, will these same issues pop up when OPPO releases a newer player.


I am bit streaming with all my players. I do know that those using the analog audio outs do not have the issue with the audio drop outs. Right now the Pioneer is my go to player with problem titles.


The 103/105 use the Marvell QDEO chip and the 103D/105D use Anchor Bay VRS and Darbee. Darbee can be turned off if you do not want to use it.
Ah, thanks for the clarification. Looks like if I get the 103 I should keep the 320 as a backup (providing I don't break it trying to clean the lens ).

Btw, other than having trouble lately with less than perfect rental BDs, my 320 has been very reliable and a great performer.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #6404 of 6435 Old 11-11-2014, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 410
I opened up the 320 and was able to figure out how to get to the lens without too much trouble. It looked pristine in there, even with a magnifying glass. I went ahead and cleaned the lenses with alcohol as suggested.

I tried the problematic Netflix BD again. This time it played through where it froze before, but froze where it played through before. So I'm not sure cleaning had any effect whatsoever......sigh.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #6405 of 6435 Old 11-11-2014, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
Ah, thanks for the clarification. Looks like if I get the 103 I should keep the 320 as a backup (providing I don't break it trying to clean the lens ).

Btw, other than having trouble lately with less than perfect rental BDs, my 320 has been very reliable and a great performer.

Definitely hang on to it as long as it works as I find the 320 very reliable. You will like the OPPO as it is a very versatile player. It works good as a media streamer. Check out the 103D as you may like some of the extra features before you spring for the 103.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #6406 of 6435 Old 12-12-2014, 09:02 AM
GPM
Senior Member
 
GPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chamblee, Ga.
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel'son View Post
^^ ... fwiw Change History:

Ver 3.74
- Enhances playback compatibility with certain BD-ROM discs

BDP30A_V374 (97.8 Mb)
Greets!

Went to order a disc update, but it lists it as being v3.73 and repeated attempts to talk to a live person about it at Pioneer has been futile so far, so anyone know if v3.74 is only available as a download and will it help with at least some of the newer movies the 23FD currently won't play with v3.71?

If so, I'm pretty much out of luck getting such a large file with any degree of confidence that it will be an accurate one since I get so many DSL dropouts/speed reductions down to as little as <200 kb on a 1.5 mb service.

GM

Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.
GPM is online now  
post #6407 of 6435 Old 12-12-2014, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daniel'son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gulf Coast U.S.A
Posts: 2,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
^^ .. good-day GM -

if I may help, I could download the file (may already have it somewhere on-file), establish the integrity of the file by creating
a Hash (MD5/SHA-1) signature .. all you need to do is download (try using someone else's/friends DL signal), use the Hash
parameters I forward .. that should verify your DL.

I use MD5 & SHA-1 Checksum Utility (# 4) on this site cause its been simple to use in the past:

https://www.raymond.cc/blog/7-tools-...5-sha1-hashes/


Just get back if I can assist ..
daniel'son is offline  
post #6408 of 6435 Old 03-21-2015, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The Wrestler

This thread has been so quiet... not a good sign for me, I guess.

Just bought The Wrestler, and the player says "Cannot play this disk". The firmware is at 3.74. Anyone else can reproduce it?

Thanks,

VMat
VMat is online now  
post #6409 of 6435 Old 03-21-2015, 08:30 PM
GPM
Senior Member
 
GPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chamblee, Ga.
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Haven't got that one, but there's been a number of BD movies my 23FD either won't play or can take up to 20 min. to load, so have relegated it to just upscaling DVDs, the main reason I primarily bought it for since at the time it was rated just a 'tic' below the Oppo at half the price and all I had were DVDs. The last three years I have bought a < $50 'Black Friday' BD player to watch all BDs [so far] and at much faster load times.

Once I upgrade to a 4k TV though, I'm switching to Oppo and just do updates/upgrades since long term it will probably be cheaper as well as upscale DVDs better than the TV, not to mention I really like what Darbee can do to an upscaled DVD.

GM

Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.
GPM is online now  
post #6410 of 6435 Old 03-22-2015, 05:09 AM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks, GM.

I don't have so many titles here - around 90. Right now this is the only one that won't play, as far as I know (there are a few ones that have only been played before the last FW upgrade, so I can't be sure about those).

Anyway, I'd like to have a word from other owners before I try e-mailing Pioneer.

Eventually, I'll end up buying a second player as well - but I'd like to avoid it as much as possible.

VMat
VMat is online now  
post #6411 of 6435 Old 03-23-2015, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 201
The Wrestler plays on my BDP-320 without issues.

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #6412 of 6435 Old 03-23-2015, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
The Wrestler plays on my BDP-320 without issues.
Oh, boy... that probably means I've got a lemon... and I can't return it anymore.

I'll try it in a different player when I have a chance, just in case.

Thanks for replying!

VMat

Last edited by VMat; 03-23-2015 at 10:35 AM. Reason: Typo.
VMat is online now  
post #6413 of 6435 Old 03-24-2015, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by VMat View Post
Oh, boy... that probably means I've got a lemon... and I can't return it anymore.

I'll try it in a different player when I have a chance, just in case.

Thanks for replying!
Might just mean you need to wipe the disc (smudges?)

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #6414 of 6435 Old 03-24-2015, 08:43 AM
GPM
Senior Member
 
GPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chamblee, Ga.
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Might just mean you need to wipe the disc (smudges?)
Or if it's had a lot of usage, then the laser may need cleaning, especially if kids use it.

GM

Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.
GPM is online now  
post #6415 of 6435 Old 03-24-2015, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Might just mean you need to wipe the disc (smudges?)
As I said, I bought it recently. Brand new, went straight from the case to the player. No fingerprints or smudges. I do see a an area around the center where the finishing looks different, though. Not too close to the center (or the edge), so I'm not sure how that can prevent the disc from being loaded. But I'll double-check it anyway, when I get home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GPM View Post
Or if it's had a lot of usage, then the laser may need cleaning, especially if kids use it.

GM
No kids yet... And not so much usage, as I have many more titles than I can watch in my spare time...

VMat

Last edited by VMat; 03-24-2015 at 12:37 PM. Reason: Additional info
VMat is online now  
post #6416 of 6435 Old 04-20-2015, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I finally took it to my cousin's place to test it in a different player - an XBox. The disc played without issues - except for the parental guidance preventing us from watching the movie - his son was still logged in. After his son logged out, the disc played through the initial FBI screens, etc..

So I got back home and set up a parental guidance password, which I'd never did before, just for kicks. No luck. And after that I decided to try a few other discs that I already watched sometime. I had some interesting results (I think):

The Wrestler: Failed
Enemy Of The State: Failed
Labyrinth: Success
Enemy Of The State: Success
The Wrestler: Failed
Enemy Of The State: Failed
Labyrinth: Success
Enemy Of The State: Success
The Matrix Revolutions: Success
The Wrestler: Failed
Enemy Of The State Failed
Labyrinth (only halfway into the Sony Pictures intro): Success
Enemy Of The State: Failed
Labyrinth (up to top menu): Success
Enemy Of The State: Success

So, it seems that if I try The Wrestler and then Enemy Of The State, this one fails. If I play Labyrinth (past the first intro) and then Enemy Of The State, this one plays fine.

Maybe if I find the right title to play before The Wrestler, it will work too...

VMat

VMat
VMat is online now  
post #6417 of 6435 Old 04-20-2015, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
daniel'son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gulf Coast U.S.A
Posts: 2,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
^^ .. so, do you believe the latest firmware (v3.74) could have caused this problem; wonder if you could revert to previous version, the results would be the same.
daniel'son is offline  
post #6418 of 6435 Old 04-21-2015, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,644
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1294 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Another thing to try is to clear out the USB BD-Live/Bonus View memory. If your BDPlayer is networked, it might have filled it up with previews, etc. See page 17 et seq. of the owner's manual.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #6419 of 6435 Old 04-21-2015, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel'son View Post
^^ .. so, do you believe the latest firmware (v3.74) could have caused this problem; wonder if you could revert to previous version, the results would be the same.
I believe that is not the problem, since dsskid can watch the movie (I'm guessing his player is at 3.74 too).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Another thing to try is to clear out the USB BD-Live/Bonus View memory. If your BDPlayer is networked, it might have filled it up with previews, etc. See page 17 et seq. of the owner's manual.
One of the first things I tried when I had the error was to erase the memory card (I erased all the shared/individual/application data).

My player has never been hooked up to the network. I'm wondering if that might be the problem, should I try to connect it to the network? Maybe the disc tries to make the player check out something on the web before starting to play?

VMat

VMat
VMat is online now  
post #6420 of 6435 Old 04-22-2015, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,644
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1294 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by VMat View Post
I believe that is not the problem, since dsskid can watch the movie (I'm guessing his player is at 3.74 too).



One of the first things I tried when I had the error was to erase the memory card (I erased all the shared/individual/application data).

My player has never been hooked up to the network. I'm wondering if that might be the problem, should I try to connect it to the network? Maybe the disc tries to make the player check out something on the web before starting to play?

VMat
Connecting a player to the network usually isn't necessary if you don't plan to use any of its networking features. I think your symptoms indicate you have a lemon, maybe with a loose connection somewhere. My guess is that it's just by chance that a title will play after you play a certain other title. The store you bought it from should be willing to replace the player with one of the same model for no additional fee.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off