Pioneer BDP-320/BDP-23FD Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 6393 Old 06-01-2009, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
electric turd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Kage, you nailed it on the head - speed and optimization are this player's biggest achilles heel at the moment. Should Pioneer address it with firmware, I think it would be the most formidable player in the $300 range.

Dont get your hopes up about speed and optimization. Pioneer promised a performance update to the 51/05fd late winter/early spring and it never happened.
electric turd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 6393 Old 06-01-2009, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by electric turd View Post

Dont get your hopes up about speed and optimization. Pioneer promised a performance update to the 51/05fd late winter/early spring and it never happened.

I am a realist and a firm believer of buying emerging technologies for only what they can do out of the box. Look at the fiasco the 51/05 are with dts hd ma. I doubt it will get faster - one would have thought they would have optimized it a long time ago.
winston9332 is offline  
post #633 of 6393 Old 06-01-2009, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
nelson57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rino13 View Post

Welcome back to the Pioneer family my friend
I went to upgrade my firmware yesterday and discovered my player was already 3.13 firmware. Anyone else experience that ?

Thanks Sam. So far I have not been disappointed. The unit has performed well with both movies and music. I am keeping my optimism in check, but if early impressions remain steady, I may just pick up another one.
nelson57 is offline  
post #634 of 6393 Old 06-01-2009, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by nelson57 View Post

Thanks Sam. So far I have not been disappointed. The unit has performed well with both movies and music. I am keeping my optimism in check, but if early impressions remain steady, I may just pick up another one.

Beat you to the punch! for how cheap these things have gotten I just picked up another to use as my quiet BD playback (ie not through receiver) in my den. The PQ is terrific when paired with a kuro.
winston9332 is offline  
post #635 of 6393 Old 06-01-2009, 08:45 PM
Member
 
lambo881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got to spend some time setting up and testing my 320 today. The PQ is fantastic, definitely the best picture for this price range. Speed is slow, but I guess I'm used to it. Thought about the Oppo, but can't justify $200 price difference just for speed especially since I'm not going to make use of the other features (SACD and DVD-Audio).

Did do the firmware update, download was fast and went smoothly. Was hoping it would improve BD-Live performance, but after trying BD-Live on a few disc, I've already given up, just not a feature I'm going to be using.

Still need to play with audio settings. I'm using the analog multi-channel outs (no HDMI on my receiver), but I may just stick with the fixed output and use the settings from my receiver (Pioneer Elite VSX-49txi). Anyone have any thoughts on whether or not this is the way to go with the audio?

I'm also debating on whether the digital output is better for SD-DVD. So far I've compared digital vs. analog on Star Wars I, which is encoded with Dolby EX. Digital allows me to play back in THX Ultra2 which I seem to like better. Would be great to hear other thoughts. Thanks.
lambo881 is offline  
post #636 of 6393 Old 06-01-2009, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lambo881 View Post

Finally got to spend some time setting up and testing my 320 today. The PQ is fantastic, definitely the best picture for this price range. Speed is slow, but I guess I'm used to it. Thought about the Oppo, but can't justify $200 price difference just for speed especially since I'm not going to make use of the other features (SACD and DVD-Audio).

Did do the firmware update, download was fast and went smoothly. Was hoping it would improve BD-Live performance, but after trying BD-Live on a few disc, I've already given up, just not a feature I'm going to be using.

Some people are willing to pay a premium on the Oppo over other blu-ray players to have PS3 loading speeds and don't care about the extra features. If they want fast loading and don't care about the extra features, they should look at JVC's bd players or the Samsung's bd player. Others say that the Oppo is good value because they will be using most of its features.

BD-Live is not good yet. I prefer to have an ethernet port on the back of of a bd player, because it makes firmware updates easier to install.
Kage is offline  
post #637 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 12:44 AM
Senior Member
 
everunman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post

Some people are willing to pay a premium on the Oppo over other blu-ray players to have PS3 loading speeds and don't care about the extra features. If they want fast loading and don't care about the extra features, they should look at JVC's bd players or the Samsung's bd player. Others say that the Oppo is good value because they will be using most of its features.

Reading about Oppos customer service, i think you can add this as another reason why some would want to pay a premium, you could rely more on Oppo than Pioneer or Jvc to address firmware much much more quicker for new discs that are hitting us weekly that wont play.
everunman is online now  
post #638 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
JulieWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked and it wasn't listed. Still wondering where I can buy a 23-FD
JulieWhite is offline  
post #639 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 09:48 AM
Member
 
plasmaguy11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pioneer 50" 111 FD and a new Pioneer SC 07 reveiver. Would I be best to get the 23 FD since its an elite player. Is it worth the price difference? Thanks all!
plasmaguy11 is offline  
post #640 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmaguy11 View Post

I have a Pioneer 50" 111 FD and a new Pioneer SC 07 reveiver. Would I be best to get the 23 FD since its an elite player. Is it worth the price difference? Thanks all!

Are you using a pure HDMI transport? If so, you will not be using most of the benefits of the 23 over the 320. If you bitstream to the receiver and have the kuro connected via hdmi, i think you are best opting for the 320 and saving the $200 or so. The benefits of the 320 will be shown if in its audio section, component video section, and MC PQLS if you are decoding in the unit.
winston9332 is offline  
post #641 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hello! A few comments on the performance, if I may:

Like most people in this forum, I believe, I look for superb picture quality and hi-fi multi-channel audio more than performance on loading discs or layer change breaks. On the other hand, I also believe that current technology should be enough to serve us much better in terms of performance. Now, thinking out of the box, for most users out there, especially those who are very satisfied with SD DivX and two-channel mp3 audio, it's hard to understand how we can pay $300 for a player that takes 1 minute to load a disc and stumps for 2 seconds while changing layers, and also needs a firmware upgrade every other month to keep up with the newest titles. I think we need better usability if we want to reach real mass production and make the prices drop.

VMat

VMat
VMat is offline  
post #642 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Now, a quick question: I still haven't decided if I'll buy this player - the 320 - or not, so while I make up my mind, I'd like to know from you if it can be made DVD-region-free. Has anyone tried the remote control hack yet?

Thanks a lot,

VMat

VMat
VMat is offline  
post #643 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 12:02 PM
Member
 
pixar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eastern seaboard
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VMat View Post

Now, a quick question: I still haven't decided if I'll buy this player - the 320 - or not, so while I make up my mind, I'd like to know from you if it can be made DVD-region-free. Has anyone tried the remote control hack yet?

Thanks a lot,

VMat

Wow, I'd be curious to know if anyone has tried that out as well seeing as it just came out in May.
pixar is offline  
post #644 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 12:06 PM
Member
 
pixar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eastern seaboard
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VMat View Post

Hello! A few comments on the performance, if I may:

Like most people in this forum, I believe, I look for superb picture quality and hi-fi multi-channel audio more than performance on loading discs or layer change breaks. On the other hand, I also believe that current technology should be enough to serve us much better in terms of performance. Now, thinking out of the box, for most users out there, especially those who are very satisfied with SD DivX and two-channel mp3 audio, it's hard to understand how we can pay $300 for a player that takes 1 minute to load a disc and stumps for 2 seconds while changing layers, and also needs a firmware upgrade every other month to keep up with the newest titles. I think we need better usability if we want to reach real mass production and make the prices drop.

VMat


We would have to stick with DVD players with those kinda grievances...as far as I can tell there arent any BD players that can load up [as in to the main movie menu] in less than one minute. I for one can take the load times as long as the PQ is up to my taste...why is everyone always in a rush and caught up with load times...patience is a virtue...
pixar is offline  
post #645 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Yung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do either of these players support DivX?
Yung is offline  
post #646 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 12:47 PM
Member
 
pixar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eastern seaboard
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yung View Post

Do either of these players support DivX?

The 320 doesnt unfortunately. I use the Philips DVP5990 for divx and avi files. Its a fairly inexpensive dvd player.
pixar is offline  
post #647 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 01:08 PM
Member
 
gtmorgan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so as firmware updates are concerned, the 320 has an ethernet port and can hook to the internet but with the 51 you have to burn a disk...

is this correct.

Def Tech members club
gtmorgan23 is offline  
post #648 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 01:19 PM
Member
 
danr1707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Flower Mound, TX and Pagosa Springs, CO
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtmorgan23 View Post

so as firmware updates are concerned, the 320 has an ethernet port and can hook to the internet but with the 51 you have to burn a disk...

is this correct.

No, the latest firmware upgrade on the 320 requires burning a disc. I was not a big deal though.
danr1707 is offline  
post #649 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
sheedoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danr1707 View Post

No, the latest firmware upgrade on the 320 requires burning a disc. I was not a big deal though.

I was able to update via ethernet.
sheedoe is offline  
post #650 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 02:14 PM
Member
 
pixar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eastern seaboard
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheedoe View Post

I was able to update via ethernet.

Hey Sheedoe does it make any diff? I actually havent checked the firmware on the 320 since I got it less than two weeks ago.
pixar is offline  
post #651 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 02:29 PM
Member
 
plasmaguy11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what scenario would justify getting the 23fd?
plasmaguy11 is offline  
post #652 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 02:30 PM
Member
 
plasmaguy11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Are you using a pure HDMI transport? If so, you will not be using most of the benefits of the 23 over the 320. If you bitstream to the receiver and have the kuro connected via hdmi, i think you are best opting for the 320 and saving the $200 or so. The benefits of the 320 will be shown if in its audio section, component video section, and MC PQLS if you are decoding in the unit.

Then what scenario would justify buying the 23fd over the 320? Thanks
plasmaguy11 is offline  
post #653 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by danr1707 View Post

No, the latest firmware upgrade on the 320 requires burning a disc. I was not a big deal though.

Don't think that is correct - I loaded the latest firmware via the ethernet connection on both of my 320s.
winston9332 is offline  
post #654 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
sheedoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixar View Post

Hey Sheedoe does it make any diff? I actually havent checked the firmware on the 320 since I got it less than two weeks ago.

I haven't noticed any change after updating. But I think you are better off getting the upate so that you don't run into problems playing certain discs. Don't know which ones are affected, but pioneer must've corrected it since this update addresses playability issues.
sheedoe is offline  
post #655 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmaguy11 View Post

Then what scenario would justify buying the 23fd over the 320? Thanks

1. Display that only accepts component
2. Receiver/Amp that does not have hdmi inputs and you consider yourself an audiophile.
3. You have $225 to burn and want the elite look/longer warranty
winston9332 is offline  
post #656 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 23Fd today.

Some quick observations.

BD picture quality is outstanding.

DVD quality is very good but the Oppo is better. I compared the Tom Petty
"Running Down a Dream" concert video and "Elizabeth". The Pioneer produced
more ringing on titles and had a "softer" image. The Oppo was sharper, clearer. IMO.

Load times on "Hellboy 2" BD from tray close to menu.

Pioneer 23FD 2:18
Oppo BDP-83 1:07

For a Pioneer Elite player I was surprised on how light it was. I would not characterize the build quality as any different from the 320 which was a big disappointment. I prefer Oppo's build quality. It just feels more solid.

CD

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #657 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 04:31 PM
Newbie
 
fpsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cattledog: i'm interested in bdp-23fd analog audio L+R (2 channel) experience. How is it? Do you know what is the dac (producer and type)? I'm debated between bdp-23fd and oppo bdp-83, to me a good (audiophile maybe?) 2ch analog out is a must, i have read that the Oppo is too harsh on high frequencies. Thanks.
fpsoft is offline  
post #658 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fpsoft,

I don't have have the 23FD hooked up to the analog outs. I only use HDMI. For
music I use HDMI DSD out from my Oppo to my SC-07

CD

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #659 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattledog View Post

fpsoft,

I don't have have the 23FD hooked up to the analog outs. I only use HDMI. For
music I use HDMI DSD out from my Oppo to my SC-07

CD

cd,did you have a 51 or 05? any differences in PQ?
winston9332 is offline  
post #660 of 6393 Old 06-02-2009, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

cd,did you have a 51 or 05? any differences in PQ?

No, this is my first Pioneer BD player.

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off