Pioneer BDP-320/BDP-23FD Owner's Thread - Page 87 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post

Monoproice has an amplifier for long runs that might help. right? Designed for long run HDMI cable. Not very expensive.

yeah - it's been my experience that things get dicey around 10ft for most hdmi cables unamplified. usually it's snowflakes for dvd at 1080p. sometimes dvd and bd (at 24hz).
winston9332 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 01:08 PM
Member
 
ThomasAquinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
source direct didn't change the slight black line. I also don't see how it can be the long hdmi wire as the ps3 is running a 6ft hdmi and the line is still there.
ThomasAquinas is offline  
post #2583 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Any rumours / news yet around, why Pioneer will no longer make / sell BluRay players, as has been announced ?
gurkey is offline  
post #2584 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 04:38 PM
Newbie
 
lunarwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi folks,

hoping some insights before i make my purchase

My PS3 won't read dics so am in need of a replacement for my blu rays and DVDs.

I am tempted by the Pioneer BDP 320 as it seems almost identical to the LX52 except for multi PQLS (my receiver only support 2ch PQLS anyway). From many reviews/threads I have read it seems the Pio is very capable for DVD upconversion, almost as good as the Oppos, so hopefully should see an improvement over my PS3.

I have a few questions I was hoping that some of you could help me with

1. can i update firmware via ethernet directly or do i need to burn a CD?

2. apparently the last firmware has resolved the DVD layer change so it is no longer apparent. Is this true?

3. last FW also improved loading times. Can I please get a confirmation? although not that important to me but would be sugar on top

4. what is the length of warranty for these players from Pioneer? believe it or not, I could not find the info on the Pio UK website

5. sorry if this is naive, will it support 7.1 HD audio formats - not really specific on their website and I have a 7.1 set-up. I assume it does; however assumption is the mother of all screw ups, so would appreciate confirmation

6. apparently there seems to be a multi region DVD hack; but can't find it for the life of me - would appreciate the info if anyone knows.

I know that CES is happening now, but I can't wait until June before new models - anyway this may be the last Pio players since most will be sharps from what i have been reading

thanks for the feedback or suggestions

cheers

PS I refer to UK models not sure what the equivalent naming is in US
lunarwolf is offline  
post #2585 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakeson View Post

I think I have finally decided the 320 is the blu-ray player for me. Just plan to wait till it drops below $300 at Amazon..
[IMG]http://www.*******************/images/9332c513ef44b682e9347822c2e457ac.gif[/IMG]

the time is now.
winston9332 is offline  
post #2586 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
avman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
[quote]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunarwolf View Post

hi folks,

hoping some insights before i make my purchase

You really should read through winston9332's posts as you will find most of the answers to your questions and then some. It may take you a while to go through his many posts so let me attempt to get you a few quick answers as well.

Quote:
From many reviews/threads I have read it seems the Pio is very capable for DVD upconversion, almost as good as the Oppos, so hopefully should see an improvement over my PS3.

Since you have read many reviews, you probably know the Oppo scored better than the Pio and the Pio scored better than the PS3 in lab tests. Using real world DVDs I fail to see the improvement that I had expected to see. That's just me, and I am sure others have seen more improvements over their PS3.


Quote:
I have a few questions I was hoping that some of you could help me with

1. can i update firmware via ethernet directly or do i need to burn a CD?

Yes, you can do it either way.

Quote:
2. apparently the last firmware has resolved the DVD layer change so it is no longer apparent. Is this true?

According to Winston, this is true, I would think it also depends on how you define 'apparent'.

Quote:
3. last FW also improved loading times. Can I please get a confirmation? although not that important to me but would be sugar on top

Powering up definitely takes a few seconds less than before the update. Ejecting a disc is very quick but it was quick before the update. Overall I feel there are some slight improvements, but to me the out-of-the-box performance without the latest update wasn't really that bad.

Quote:
4. what is the length of warranty for these players from Pioneer? believe it or not, I could not find the info on the Pio UK website

It is one year in the US and Canada.

Quote:
5. sorry if this is naive, will it support 7.1 HD audio formats - not really specific on their website and I have a 7.1 set-up. I assume it does; however assumption is the mother of all screw ups, so would appreciate confirmation

Of course it does support 7.1 HD via the HDMI output. The North American models also have 7.1 analog outputs that supports HD audio formats but apparently (not really sure) the U.K. model does not offer 7.1 analog outputs.

Quote:
PS I refer to UK models not sure what the equivalent naming is in US

I assume you are talking about the BDP-320 or the Elite model BDP-23FD but you can take a look of the brochures for the US models and see if you can identify the one you are considering.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU....Support?tab=E
avman09 is offline  
post #2587 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunarwolf View Post

hi folks,

hoping some insights before i make my purchase

My PS3 won't read dics so am in need of a replacement for my blu rays and DVDs.

I am tempted by the Pioneer BDP 320 as it seems almost identical to the LX52 except for multi PQLS (my receiver only support 2ch PQLS anyway). From many reviews/threads I have read it seems the Pio is very capable for DVD upconversion, almost as good as the Oppos, so hopefully should see an improvement over my PS3.

I have a few questions I was hoping that some of you could help me with

1. can i update firmware via ethernet directly or do i need to burn a CD?

2. apparently the last firmware has resolved the DVD layer change so it is no longer apparent. Is this true?

3. last FW also improved loading times. Can I please get a confirmation? although not that important to me but would be sugar on top

4. what is the length of warranty for these players from Pioneer? believe it or not, I could not find the info on the Pio UK website

5. sorry if this is naive, will it support 7.1 HD audio formats - not really specific on their website and I have a 7.1 set-up. I assume it does; however assumption is the mother of all screw ups, so would appreciate confirmation

6. apparently there seems to be a multi region DVD hack; but can't find it for the life of me - would appreciate the info if anyone knows.

I know that CES is happening now, but I can't wait until June before new models - anyway this may be the last Pio players since most will be sharps from what i have been reading

thanks for the feedback or suggestions

cheers

PS I refer to UK models not sure what the equivalent naming is in US



these answers are for the us version 320/23, i do not believe the 320 in europe has analogue outputs. please refer to the faq on the first page for answers for many of your questions:

1. can i update firmware via ethernet directly or do i need to burn a CD?

you can update via ethernet or burned cd

2. apparently the last firmware has resolved the DVD layer change so it is no longer apparent. Is this true?

yes, no longer a layer change

3. last FW also improved loading times. Can I please get a confirmation? although not that important to me but would be sugar on top

correct

4. what is the length of warranty for these players from Pioneer? believe it or not, I could not find the info on the Pio UK website

1yr for 320/2 yrs for 23fd

5. sorry if this is naive, will it support 7.1 HD audio formats - not really specific on their website and I have a 7.1 set-up. I assume it does; however assumption is the mother of all screw ups, so would appreciate confirmation

in the us, yes. unsure about across the pond

6. apparently there seems to be a multi region DVD hack; but can't find it for the life of me - would appreciate the info if anyone knows.

there are regionfree hacked players. some folks have found workarounds.
winston9332 is offline  
post #2588 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Darth Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakeson View Post

I think I have finally decided the 320 is the blu-ray player for me. Just plan to wait till it drops below $300 at Amazon..
[IMG]http://www.*******************/images/9332c513ef44b682e9347822c2e457ac.gif[/IMG]

PM sent to you.
Darth Indy is offline  
post #2589 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 07:12 PM
Member
 
d3adpool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakeson View Post

I think I have finally decided the 320 is the blu-ray player for me. Just plan to wait till it drops below $300 at Amazon..
[IMG]http://www.*******************/images/9332c513ef44b682e9347822c2e457ac.gif[/IMG]

got mines at amazon open box for a bit over 200, check it out.
d3adpool is offline  
post #2590 of 6385 Old 01-04-2010, 10:44 PM
Newbie
 
lunarwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thx avman and winston. very helpfull

cheers
lunarwolf is offline  
post #2591 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Dragnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western part of Sweden
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BDP-320 and the BDP-LX52 (23FD) have only 2 channel analogue audio out overe here in Europe. It's a digital world

Yes, there is an hack for making these player DVD-region free. You need to transmit the following hex code via a Philips Pronto or similar. I had to redo it after the latest firmware update. Have the player switched on, transmit the code and then it switches off. Next startup it's region free

0000 0067 0000 0044 0155 00AC 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0404 0155 00AC 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0404
Dragnet is offline  
post #2592 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 02:58 AM
Newbie
 
lunarwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thx dragnet

I am all HDMI so analogue isn't an isue in my case

hopefully these codes will work with Harmony One
lunarwolf is offline  
post #2593 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 03:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Spinal Tap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clearwater , Florida
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakeson View Post

I think I have finally decided the 320 is the blu-ray player for me. Just plan to wait till it drops below $300 at Amazon..
[IMG]http://www.*******************/images/9332c513ef44b682e9347822c2e457ac.gif[/IMG]

I had just made the decision to go with this unit also, but when I went to BB to pick it up it was the last one in stock.
Just a heads up, with all the things I have read w/regards to Pioneer, they may be harder to find.

SKID
Spinal Tap is offline  
post #2594 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
rickcfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

if you're thinking about getting a 320 or a 23, i would go ahead and do it. From the sound of this announcement, it might be lights out for good for pioneer and blu ray players a la kuros last year: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post17826302

would imagine these will get gobbled up as inventory dwindles.

From your link

"Andy Parsons, Senior Vice President of Product Development at Pioneer Corp has stated in the latest Home Theater Geeks podcast that the company "won't be showing any blu-ray products at CES this year". Also seems like ETAP won't materialize for a while either.

Wow, disappointing to say the least "

Does this insuate they're getting out of the BD business or they have no NEW Bd players to show?
rickcfer is offline  
post #2595 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Even if they wouldn't have NEW players to show, why would they avoid then showing their existing line ? They surely would like to sell them, don't they ?
It is quite common, that only part of a manufacturers lineup at a consumer show is brand new, but do they leave all the others out then ? Usually not, because they are showing new and existing products, their complete portfolio.
Everyone else at least does.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickcfer View Post

From your link

"Andy Parsons, Senior Vice President of Product Development at Pioneer Corp has stated in the latest Home Theater Geeks podcast that the company "won't be showing any blu-ray products at CES this year". Also seems like ETAP won't materialize for a while either.

Wow, disappointing to say the least "

Does this insuate they're getting out of the BD business or they have no NEW Bd players to show?

gurkey is offline  
post #2596 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTMan34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinal Tap View Post

I had just made the decision to go with this unit also, but when I went to BB to pick it up it was the last one in stock.
Just a heads up, with all the things I have read w/regards to Pioneer, they may be harder to find.

I saw that Wally World has the 320 via their website for a pretty good price!

Go Celtics!
HTMan34 is offline  
post #2597 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
lunarwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok bought the the Pioneer BDP 320 today and thought I would share my first impressions.



NB:

- Please bear in mind that my PS3 died so I could not do back to back comparisons. These are just my thoughts.

- Pioneer BDP 320 is FW3.34a

- briefly tested over a dozen Blurays, few favourite audio CDs and DVDs



1. build quality: excellent. remote not as nice as Pio Plasma and AVR though. also no blue light on power button.



2. operations:

- set-up: easy as pie. does it automatically with pioneer plasma and AVR. have not fiddled yet since getting familiar with it

- disc loading is slower than PS3, albeit not as bad as expected after reading up on some forums

- home media gallery feature seems pretty useless. I do use this feature quite a lot on my AVR to stream music from PC, but will not be using it on BDP.

- haven't updated firmware yet, wanted to play with toy - menu said it could take 90 minutes . PS3 isn't really a stallion either tbh, always thought it was poor compared to Xbox.



3. BluRay: excellent. I briefly tested a dozen Blu Rays I am very familiar with.

- I can't see any difference with PS3 in PQ.

- AQ is louder than PS3, but that is a volume apsect not a quality one. However, I did notice an improvement on 300 - I always had an AQ issue with the True HD and PCM tracks on that with the PS3 and I no longer have this issue with 320. (I am sure of this since it really bothered me and would have no problem whatsoever getting it 100% right on blind test)



4. DVD:

- upconversion to 1080p is better than PS3. yeah I wasn't sure it would be before I bought it, so happy bunny

- layer change: haven't had time to test this. anyone know a specific disc where this happens so I could check it out fast. otherwise I will find out in due time.



5. CD: no comparison the Pio is better, I am really pleased. I do not know if it is attributable to PQLS, since I only been using that and didn't compare without it.



Conclusion. for BR PQ/AQ I can't say there is a difference between the PIO and PS3 (except that isolated instance I mentioned). I can't understand people who claim otherwise (I have seen the top of line Denon, Pio BDPLX71 and 51, Samsung 1580, S350 through in-store demos or at friends' and I never found any striking differences with the PS3). However for audio CD and DVD the Pio is superior to the PS3. As for reliability only time will tell, I certainly hope it fairs better than the PS3.
lunarwolf is offline  
post #2598 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 324
The PS3 slim BD playback have improved quite considerably (to my eyes) vs the old PS3. I had the old PS3 and I choose the PQ of BDP-05 immediately, the slim vs the 320/23 (which looks identical to BDP-05), they're about the same (for BD playback)

Slim PS3 loads BD much slower than the old PS3, and the 320/23 loads far faster than the 05/51, because of that, the loading time gap becomes narrower.

and I agree with the rest of your post. If you want overall quality, the BDP-320/23 is the answer, if you want a gaming machine, PS3 is the answer.

PS: with the latest firmware the BDP-320/23,05/51, the DVD layer change is instantaneous with the exception for a handful of DVDs such as Lord of the Rings Trilogy (2nd pressing only, the 1st pressing don't have this problem).

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #2599 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 05:12 PM
Member
 
plasmatics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunarwolf View Post

- haven't updated firmware yet, wanted to play with toy - menu said it could take 90 minutes . PS3 isn't really a stallion either tbh, always thought it was poor compared to Xbox.

My firmware update via ethernet times are much speedier than this. I assume they are giving some average time assuming poor connectivity so that folks don't get dissappointed. YMMV.
plasmatics is offline  
post #2600 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Spinal Tap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clearwater , Florida
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious, but the salesman told me the 320 uses Anchor Bay Tech. but I have yet to read anything in here or on Pioneers site?

SKID
Spinal Tap is offline  
post #2601 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 324
No it's not. It uses Pioneer proprietary chip. The only one that doesn't use Pioneer proprietary chip is the BDP-09 with Marvell QDEO chip.

ABT is used for the Pioneer and Elite receivers only.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #2602 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Spinal Tap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clearwater , Florida
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting Thank you,
Has anyone used the 320 with pre HDMI Yamaha AVRs. I am in the process of settiing it up to a Yam RX-V 1400. I can't really set up the audio for the house is asleep, but the P/Q is amazing (Mummy 3)BR.
The analogs are hooked up and the AVR is set to multi, I hear front ch. audio so something is right, ill finish it tomorrow.

SKID
Spinal Tap is offline  
post #2603 of 6385 Old 01-05-2010, 09:19 PM
Newbie
 
lunarwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmatics View Post

My firmware update via ethernet times are much speedier than this. I assume they are giving some average time assuming poor connectivity so that folks don't get dissappointed. YMMV.

that was a on-screen message prior to update. did it via ethernet and took less than 5min to download and install.

afterthought really happy with the player, but I am surprised audio CD take so long to load. Other than loading times, I can't fault this player so far.
lunarwolf is offline  
post #2604 of 6385 Old 01-06-2010, 04:12 AM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinal Tap View Post

Interesting Thank you,
Has anyone used the 320 with pre HDMI Yamaha AVRs. I am in the process of settiing it up to a Yam RX-V 1400. I can't really set up the audio for the house is asleep, but the P/Q is amazing (Mummy 3)BR.
The analogs are hooked up and the AVR is set to multi, I hear front ch. audio so something is right, ill finish it tomorrow.

Make sure you get into the player's setup and change the Output Terminal to Analog Audio, then change Audio Output Mode to Multi-channel (they are in different menu pages).

Have fun!

VMat

VMat
VMat is offline  
post #2605 of 6385 Old 01-06-2010, 03:11 PM
Member
 
snss94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the 23FD from Value Electronics. Is it safe to assume that I can use most, if not all, of the recommended settings that Ruined kindly provided in the Official BDP-51FD/05FD thread( Post #7 )?

Thanks in advance.
snss94 is offline  
post #2606 of 6385 Old 01-06-2010, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Spinal Tap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clearwater , Florida
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the latest FM update according to Pioneers website, I was under the impression there was a newer one?

Ver.3.41

CHANGE HISTORY:
- Corrects "Cannot play" with certain BDMV titles.
- Reduces the time for the layer change with certain DVD titles.
- Enhances stability of the "w/Subtitle Language" settings of BDMV/DVD-Video Menu Language.
- Enhances stability of BDAV functions and playback.

SKID
Spinal Tap is offline  
post #2607 of 6385 Old 01-06-2010, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
VMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No, that's the last one. Released just a few weeks ago (12/22, I think - why don't they put the release dates in the change history??).

VMat
VMat is offline  
post #2608 of 6385 Old 01-07-2010, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Butt_Love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are all 23fd's set to output 48bit or is this a setting in the menu? I don't see anything in the menu that alludes to 48bit.

Thanks
Marcus
Butt_Love is offline  
post #2609 of 6385 Old 01-07-2010, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Spinal Tap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clearwater , Florida
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After setting up the 320, I can't seem to figure out why the audio is down converting to 2 ch., Ive been through the menu 10x and everything seems to be right. The only audio cables I have are connected are the 3 RCAs. I ran the channel set up test and got white noise out of all 5 speakers save the LFE. It is set to analog...
I must be missing something?

SKID
Spinal Tap is offline  
post #2610 of 6385 Old 01-07-2010, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
blacklion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinal Tap View Post

After setting up the 320, I can't seem to figure out why the audio is down converting to 2 ch., Ive been through the menu 10x and everything seems to be right. The only audio cables I have are connected are the 3 RCAs. I ran the channel set up test and got white noise out of all 5 speakers save the LFE. It is set to analog...
I must be missing something?

Did you switch the primary audio output to analog multichannel? Did you turn off HDMI audio?

Denon X4000: Yamaha AS500;TS500;CDS300: Pioneer BDP62FD;BDP23FD;DV58AV;DV610: Panasonic DMP-BDT500; Sony BDP-S790; Samsung PS60E6500
blacklion is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off