New Sony ES Player BDP-S1000ES - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1194 Old 06-23-2010, 06:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Youth in Revolt (Blu ray) looked amazing using the 1000ES. Of course the JVC 990 played a small part as well.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1194 Old 06-24-2010, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FremontRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fed Ex just dropped off my Sony BDP-S1000ES on my doorstep. I don't see an "official" forum for this blu ray player and I need to update my firmware. Can anyone point me to a website where I can download the latest firmware version? Also, does anyone know the number of the latest firmware version? Thanks!
FremontRich is offline  
post #543 of 1194 Old 06-24-2010, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by FremontRich View Post

Fed Ex just dropped off my Sony BDP-S1000ES on my doorstep. I don't see an "official" forum for this blu ray player and I need to update my firmware. Can anyone point me to a website where I can download the latest firmware version? Also, does anyone know the number of the latest firmware version? Thanks!

Sorry, don't know the current # but you can get it at
www.blu-raydisc.com/forbestresults . Last update was last October. If you have a wireless connection, it will update online on it's own after a little prodding from you. Being that it's last update was last October, your unit may already have the lastest Firmware.
p5browne is offline  
post #544 of 1194 Old 06-24-2010, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
HDpalooza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FremontRich View Post

Fed Ex just dropped off my Sony BDP-S1000ES on my doorstep. I don't see an "official" forum for this blu ray player and I need to update my firmware. Can anyone point me to a website where I can download the latest firmware version? Also, does anyone know the number of the latest firmware version? Thanks!

Latest firmware is v.007 released in October '09 You can download or request a disc at esupport.sony.com
HDpalooza is offline  
post #545 of 1194 Old 06-24-2010, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FremontRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDpalooza View Post

Latest firmware is v.007 released in October '09 You can download or request a disc at esupport.sony.com

Thanks!

I just finished watching Tim Burton's "Alice in Wonderland" in Blu Ray and there were no glitches in the movie. I also have an LG BH200 Dual Format player and it used to drop the audio at around 14 minutes into the movie. The video is gorgeous and I'm a happy camper.
FremontRich is offline  
post #546 of 1194 Old 06-24-2010, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FremontRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

Sorry, don't know the current # but you can get it at
www.blu-raydisc.com/forbestresults . Last update was last October. If you have a wireless connection, it will update online on it's own after a little prodding from you. Being that it's last update was last October, your unit may already have the lastest Firmware.

Thanks!
FremontRich is offline  
post #547 of 1194 Old 06-24-2010, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
HDpalooza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FremontRich View Post

Thanks!

I just finished watching Tim Burton's "Alice in Wonderland" in Blu Ray and there were no glitches in the movie. I also have an LG BH200 Dual Format player and it used to drop the audio at around 14 minutes into the movie. The video is gorgeous and I'm a happy camper.

Agreed, this is a wonderful Blu ray player which has played everything I have thrown at it, including several burned DVD's. Mine came with the latest version installed.
HDpalooza is offline  
post #548 of 1194 Old 06-25-2010, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
tn001d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking about getting this player to replace my older BDP-S500. I dont care about 3D, Streaming, Netflix, or other useless features. Just wished the S500 had DTS-MA. Its a beautiful player and Sony just dont make them like the used too (exception of the 5000es). I dont want to wait to the fall for the new denon2011 that will be $800.

Havent pulled the trigger yet though

Denon DVD-3800BDCI, Sony BDP-S550, Sony BDP-S1000ES
Toshiba HD-XA2, Toshiba HD-A35
tn001d is offline  
post #549 of 1194 Old 06-25-2010, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FremontRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tn001d View Post

Thinking about getting this player to replace my older BDP-S500. I dont care about 3D, Streaming, Netflix, or other useless features. Just wished the S500 had DTS-MA. Its a beautiful player and Sony just dont make them like the used too (exception of the 5000es). I dont want to wait to the fall for the new denon2011 that will be $800.

Havent pulled the trigger yet though


I bought mine from Vanns via Amazon for $199.88. This player is wonderful. It will be discontinued soon so don't wait too long!
FremontRich is offline  
post #550 of 1194 Old 06-25-2010, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
elove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this player better than the BPD S570 that can be had at costco for the same price?
I don't really care about the 3D, netflix, streaming cabilities, etc. I just want a good bluray picture and sound.

Thanks
elove is offline  
post #551 of 1194 Old 06-25-2010, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by elove View Post

Is this player better than the BPD S570 that can be had at costco for the same price?
I don't really care about the 3D, netflix, streaming cabilities, etc. I just want a good bluray picture and sound.

Thanks

The BDP-S1000ES was originally built to sell at the $699 price point. When 3D came out, it was time to dump inventory at a deep discount price. Now you have a New Model out selling at $200 with new bells and whistles right off the bat. Something, but what something, now made it able to be manufactured and sold at the $200 Price Point? Rule of thumb of the business world - take the Retail Price and divide by 8 to come up with the actual cost to build.
p5browne is offline  
post #552 of 1194 Old 06-25-2010, 05:29 PM
Member
 
FuneralDancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SA, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know how long these players will last on amazon/vanns? i plan on ordering soon, maybe in a week, i hear their being discontinued as well?
FuneralDancer is offline  
post #553 of 1194 Old 06-25-2010, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by tn001d View Post

Thinking about getting this player to replace my older BDP-S500. I dont care about 3D, Streaming, Netflix, or other useless features. Just wished the S500 had DTS-MA. Its a beautiful player and Sony just dont make them like the used too (exception of the 5000es). I dont want to wait to the fall for the new denon2011 that will be $800.

Havent pulled the trigger yet though

I would purchase from Crutchfield. Same price as Vanns, but a much better return policy.


Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #554 of 1194 Old 06-28-2010, 06:48 PM
Member
 
FuneralDancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SA, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ordering mine from Vanns tomorrow. cant wait
FuneralDancer is offline  
post #555 of 1194 Old 06-29-2010, 03:24 AM
Newbie
 
alam99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this player from Vanns (via Amazon) about two weeks ago. I've only watched DVDs on it so far, but the upconversion quality seems excellent. I bought this player because of the good price and reputed DVD playback quality. I am looking forward to trying out blu rays on it.

While watching the Lord of the Rings DVD trilogy (extended cut), I noticed a very brief pause when it seemed to transition between DVD layers. Is this normal?
alam99 is offline  
post #556 of 1194 Old 06-29-2010, 05:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Congrats everyone! Get them while they're hot!!!

Yes, a dvd layer change is normal...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #557 of 1194 Old 06-29-2010, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by alam99 View Post

I bought this player from Vanns (via Amazon) about two weeks ago. I've only watched DVDs on it so far, but the upconversion quality seems excellent. I bought this player because of the good price and reputed DVD playback quality. I am looking forward to trying out blu rays on it.

While watching the Lord of the Rings DVD trilogy (extended cut), I noticed a very brief pause when it seemed to transition between DVD layers. Is this normal?

alam99,

Which movies in the trilogy are tripping up the Sony? I know there is a layer change on FOTR disc 2, but I can't recall the time stamp. Do any of the other discs in the trilogy have a noticeable layer change? Another disc to use to check layer changes would be Star Wars disc 2. I'll post the time stamps for both discs when I have a moment. I'll also check myself.

"Is this normal?" The layer change itself is normal, but if it is more than 1 second, then that is not very good.


Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #558 of 1194 Old 06-29-2010, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I watched a few DVD movies on my 760 and didn't notice any significant pause. It may depend on the movies too.
Vishwa Somayaji is offline  
post #559 of 1194 Old 06-29-2010, 04:16 PM
Member
 
FuneralDancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SA, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can someone plz take a picture of the player with the lights on?
FuneralDancer is offline  
post #560 of 1194 Old 06-30-2010, 05:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91

LL

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #561 of 1194 Old 06-30-2010, 05:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Just picture the white strip above the Blu ray symbol in the middle of the 1000ES Blue when its playing a Blu ray title.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #562 of 1194 Old 06-30-2010, 11:08 PM
Member
 
FuneralDancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SA, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so it lights up in blue?
FuneralDancer is offline  
post #563 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 02:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you have replay issues with a certain disc or multiple disc's time to start burning copies, to save cash all to often cheap media disc's are used, this is where you have layer change issues for the most part, **** media used poor replay value happens...
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #564 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic_sniper28 View Post

if you have replay issues with a certain disc or multiple disc's time to start burning copies, to save cash all to often cheap media disc's are used, this is where you have layer change issues for the most part, **** media used poor replay value happens...

Couldn't get National Lampoons - Book of Love to Work properly on my BDP-S760 (Canadian Version) - Put it on my older BDP-S560 and it worked OK. How do you Burn Blu-ray copies - are they not copy protected?
p5browne is offline  
post #565 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic_sniper28 View Post

if you have replay issues with a certain disc or multiple disc's time to start burning copies, to save cash all to often cheap media disc's are used, this is where you have layer change issues for the most part, **** media used poor replay value happens...

mystic_sniper28,

Cheap media really has nothing to do with layer changes. A layer change is a pause or break when the laser reads video materials continuing from one layer to another at the layer break on a dual-layer disc. How well and where this transition is authored into the disc varies from studio to studio.

Some players handle this transition better than others to the point where the layer-change is "seamless". Unfortunately, it seems that this Sony may not. I personally don't find much fault in a player if the layer change is less than a second and between chapters, but I've heard of people talking about layer changes of 2 to 3 seconds on some players.

I have a list of titles with known layer changes and where they occur so I may test a few on the Sony.


Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #566 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

Couldn't get National Lampoons - Book of Love to Work properly on my BDP-S760 (Canadian Version) - Put it on my older BDP-S560 and it worked OK. How do you Burn Blu-ray copies - are they not copy protected?

p5browne,

I'm not aware of layer change issues with blu-ray media. Your problem may be a playback issue with the BDP-S760.


Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #567 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 06:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cheap media causes layer changes to be present..

I found this when doing my own test, some of the cheap media discs that are used in the reproduction process have been known to cause the layer issue to be present on replay..

if they uses quality disc's each time they do a burn I would suspect we wouldn't be bitching about layering faults on dvd's and blue ray disc's...

while I haven't seen the issue in blue ray as of yet. I have multiple disc's in the hundreds with such layering faults, when i did a couple of test burn on sony and tdk media disc's I had no faulting trouble with the copies i had made..

I suspect in the rush to get as many disc's out on sale shelves quality control on the disc's and so forth goes out the window....

my personal opinion when you burn on cheap disc's as a replicator expect people less than $5 for your disc's trying to flog on crap media between 24.95-34.95 with plenty of fault then watch people start bitching..

trust me it's just not the the small studio's doing this it's also the big 1's they mostly don't give 2 shits what their product is on as long as it sells and they're making a profit from it they don't really give craps which media it is on..

money rule king quality in what they produce goes to crap..
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #568 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FremontRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuneralDancer View Post

so it lights up in blue?

Yes! Only if you play a Blu Ray disc otherwise it stays white.
FremontRich is offline  
post #569 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic_sniper28 View Post

cheap media causes layer changes to be present..

I found this when doing my own test, some of the cheap media discs that are used in the reproduction process have been known to cause the layer issue to be present on replay..

if they uses quality disc's each time they do a burn I would suspect we wouldn't be bitching about layering faults on dvd's…

I have multiple disc's in the hundreds with such layering faults, when i did a couple of test burn on sony and tdk media disc's I had no faulting trouble with the copies i had made..

mystic,

We can agree to disagree on whether or not cheap media lends itself to layer changes. I just tested several DVDs which have known layer changes. Lord of the Ring: FOR, disc 2, time stamp 54:34 and Star Wars II, chapter 28, @ approximately 1:06:28. My Pioneer BDP-320 and 23FD had seamless layer changes while the Sony exhibited a ½ to 1 second delay on both.

It has been proven on more than one occasion that some players are more adept at handling layer changes than others using the exact same DVD.

It is quite possible that your authoring software may have helped when you burned your own copies, but you may have yielded the same results had you used a cheaper media.

There is a lot of information available about layer changes and I’ve read nothing that points to inferior media, but I haven’t read every article. Also, I've read a lot of postings on the various blu-ray owner threads I frequent and your post is the 1st post I've read that speaks of cheap media being the reason for layer changes on DVDs.


Willie

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #570 of 1194 Old 07-01-2010, 04:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuneralDancer View Post

so it lights up in blue?

Did I stutter?

Of course Blu...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps1000es Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Blu Ray Player 3d Black , Sony Bdp S560 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off