New Sony ES Player BDP-S1000ES - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1201 Old 10-08-2009, 09:42 PM
Member
 
celsior360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I remember not to long ago reviewing the S5000ES. I was very impressed with the overall picture quality. It reminded my family of a PS3 with its GUI. And since we still use a PS3 as our utility player to this day, the 1000ES is very easy for everyone to operate. So what best describes the 1000ES? That's simple. A 5000ES Lite. Seems like I have been using the lite term a lot lately. The 1000ES is no exception. It weighs a ton less, but to be perfectly frank, that is the main difference. The 1000ES is even better in pic Q (mainly due to it having a Marvell chip like the 09FD) and loads very fast. Sure many will complain about its msrp (699.00) but wat does it do to justify it? Read on...

Features... Sony has really made an impact on me with its Super Bit Mapping and HD Reality Enhancer. I was a big fan of these features on the 5000ES but even more so now. Super Bit Mapping smooths out background shadow and color gradients and HD Reality Enhancer sharpens moving edges to create the finest video output available from Sony. And yes, that includes the 5000ES. I hate to admit it but I am getting an excellent image that is as good as the Denon DVD-A1 and Pioneer 09FD (my current champs). This little player (weighs just 6.6 pounds) has to be the lightest player I ever touched with this good an image!

Other features...Here is another good one. Wi-Fi which connects to the net very easily. Speaking of the net, It also includes 4GB external memory for BD-Live. I did not have any trouble with any of the Disney titles I played with. You can also do Photo Streaming to. I have to also report that the 1000ES has a "quick start" mode which allows you to put a disc in very quickly. I am a huge fan of being able to put a disc in within seconds!

Real-Time viewing... I started with Supernatural Season 4. Dean's 67 Impala looked so clear you could almost see your own reflection in it! I then went to Roadhouse which looked the best I have seen to date. I could have sworn there was smoke (scene when Dalton is first telling like it is) coming out of the screen. It looked that good. On to the Skynet T2 movie. Yes, it played! And it looked terrific. I spent a lot of time with Gladiator and Braveheart. Both titles made me very happy I upgraded from my SD dvds. Notice the details in the pics below. And yes, we watched Hannah Montana. The colors were deep and rich with plenty of depth but also natural. The Sony S1000ES allows for YCbCr 4:4:4 with 12 bit upconverted color. The results were as good as I seen to date. Going 1080p/24 into my Sony VW200 PJ yielded excellent results. You get picture adjustments (including a complex but effective Gamma slider) as well as Sony's own picture settings. I left it in Standard (even though there is a theater, brighter room and memory selection) for the most part. I did do some tweaking but the Standard picture setting was very accurate... As for SD dvds, I was very impressed with the improvement over the 5000ES. The upconversion is nearly as good as the higher end models and most will be more than satisfied. Kudos goes to Sony for making progress.

Audio... I won't spend much time on it. I mainly bitstreamed but the 1000ES does have 7.1 analog outs with speaker settings. The brief time I did spend testing it out yielded pretty good results. Though I will say that is the only area the 1000ES falls behind the big boys (DVD-A1, 09FD to name a few). If you plan to use HDMI then there is nothing to worry about.

Remote (pic below)... The most important parts light up nicely. I especially like the way the bottom feels. It won't slip out of your hand! Hitting Display (pic below) shows the resolution, sound mode, disc type, Mpbs count and of course the spot in the movie. There is also a really cool scene search button. I was also successful when using an IR emitter without making it messy. You can easily slide it in from the side and it won't intrude.

Final thoughts... So where do we go from here? Honestly, your guess is as good as mine. We have truly reached the pinnacle of picture quality and the 1000ES proves it. Sony has outdone themselves as well as many others. If your main concern is picture quality and plan to bitstream then you cannot do any better than the 1000ES. Sony claims it was made for movie lovers by movie makers. Within seconds of first turning it on you can see that is not far fetched. I now have some tough choices of my own to make. Yes, it is that good! And as the 1000ES says when you tur it off, See You...

I have always been a firm believer that build quality meant something. The 1000ES is the first player I have come across where it doesn't.

Thanks for this wonderful review!! Now I have confidence to get this awesome player. One more thing, does it has a resume function? It didn't mention anything on sony US site. Or does it always start from the beginning to play ??
celsior360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1201 Old 10-08-2009, 09:47 PM
Member
 
celsior360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

If I remember correctly it does and I turned it off in the menu. I cut all of my equipment's power at the surge suppressor (I only use the room a few times a month) and have no interest in start-up time along with other speed issues. All I care about is the video and audio.

You should use it more often since you have this great player. Both video and audio are equally important to make the movie alive!!! You are absolutely right!!
celsior360 is offline  
post #183 of 1201 Old 10-08-2009, 10:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,232
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by celsior360 View Post

You should use it more often since you have this great player.

If you are referring to the Sony I didn't think it was that great so I returned it.
Charles R is offline  
post #184 of 1201 Old 10-08-2009, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Quilty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand why there is not more interest in this player. It seems tough to beat, even without regard to price.

My setup is 2-channel (Levinson 380S Preamp, Levinson 334 Amp, Proceed DAP DAC). It would be used on a 110" screen, Sharp 10000 projector. PQ is very important to me, but so is audio quality. I would be using the coax pcm digital out for audio. So, I don't care about the analog audio outputs.

Is there any other blu-ray player to consider under the circumstances? I don't really care about the price too much, and I don't see an advantage of the high-end Denon, Marantz, and Pioneer offerings over the Sony 1000.
Quilty is offline  
post #185 of 1201 Old 10-09-2009, 07:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,232
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quilty View Post

I don't understand why there is not more interest in this player. It seems tough to beat, even without regard to price.

I posted my reasons...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post17282225
Charles R is offline  
post #186 of 1201 Old 10-09-2009, 07:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
The 1000ES is an excellent player but it is overpriced compared to what else is out there. Especially when much lesser priced players (BD 390) are offering great features!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #187 of 1201 Old 10-09-2009, 10:05 AM
Member
 
celsior360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

The 1000ES is an excellent player but it is overpriced compared to what else is out there. Especially when much lesser priced players (BD 390) are offering great features!

In your opinion, what is a reasonable price for the 1000ES?
celsior360 is offline  
post #188 of 1201 Old 10-09-2009, 10:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Probably 549.00.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #189 of 1201 Old 10-09-2009, 10:19 AM
Member
 
celsior360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Probably 549.00.

Thanks all your advices and comments!
celsior360 is offline  
post #190 of 1201 Old 10-09-2009, 10:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
No problem.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #191 of 1201 Old 10-10-2009, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Goatspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked one of these units up after comparing it to the marantz 7004. They are to very different players, but in the end speed and picture won it over for me.

Since I set it up, I haven't been able to update firmware. I continue to get can't connect to server. Mind you, this is only the last 24 hours I've tried to do this. My internet access is fine, and the player's ip networking seems to be functioning. Are others having trouble getting to Sony's update server? Is the problem perhaps on that end?
Goatspeed is offline  
post #192 of 1201 Old 10-11-2009, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sergiohm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by celsior360 View Post

Thanks for this wonderful review!! Now I have confidence to get this awesome player. One more thing, does it has a resume function? It didn't mention anything on sony US site. Or does it always start from the beginning to play ??

It resumes (after you power it off while watching a movie) if the Blu-ray title is not using bd-java animated menus. So with some titles it works, for others it does not.
sergiohm is offline  
post #193 of 1201 Old 10-11-2009, 09:12 PM
Member
 
celsior360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi joerod,

would you reckon the PQ is superior than pioneer 320 or even on par with LX-52??
celsior360 is offline  
post #194 of 1201 Old 10-11-2009, 09:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
They are pretty close but for SD dvds I would give the nod slightly to the 1000.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #195 of 1201 Old 10-11-2009, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LaoChe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goatspeed View Post

Just picked one of these units up after comparing it to the marantz 7004. They are to very different players, but in the end speed and picture won it over for me.

Since I set it up, I haven't been able to update firmware. I continue to get can't connect to server. Mind you, this is only the last 24 hours I've tried to do this. My internet access is fine, and the player's ip networking seems to be functioning. Are others having trouble getting to Sony's update server? Is the problem perhaps on that end?

Make sure your player is pulling down the correct DNS servers. If your DNS servers entries are not set properly, you'll most likely have problems accessing Sony's update servers.
LaoChe is offline  
post #196 of 1201 Old 10-13-2009, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirJohnFalstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So, I received my BDP-S760 this morning. It was a nice surprise on my last day of unemployment. Tomorrow I start my new job, and thus, start saving for a new (JVC) projector in January. Ha!

After playing around with some Blu-ray disks including The Nightmare Before Christmas, Crank 2, and Gladiator, as well as the DVD of Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith, I wanted to post my initial views. The S760 is much faster than my Panasonic BD30. It’s more responsive, quicker to power up/shutdown, and feels more refined. Once I had the set-up complete—bitstreaming to my Denon AVR-3808CI and displaying on a Panasonic PT-AE2000 and a 118” Carada BW screen—I found the audio and video quite pleasing. No it isn’t a massive improvement over my old BD30. In fact I can’t really see or hear much of a difference with Blu-rays. I played with the Reality Enhancer quite a bit, but haven’t yet noticed any real difference on the Blu-ray movies I auditioned. However for DVD everything changes, that’s where the Reality Enhancer really improved the picture quality. I’d have to say that picture-wise, the S760 is about as good with DVD upconversion as my Denon DVD-3930CI. With the Reality Enhancer cranked all the way up to 3, the details of Revenge of the Sith were brought out without any noticeable artifacts. Audio was fine, but one can expect that much with bitstreaming.

As far as the Wi-Fi goes, well, as I predicted I can’t get it to connect with my router. I swear Telus makes this kind of task a nightmare. I’ll have to wait until tonight to get some help from my wife—she’s the router expert in our house. I did connect via Ethernet cable just to make sure everything works. Sony included a 4 GB USB stick with my order, so I was happy when Crank 2 booted up quickly and without incident. Overall I’m happy with the S760. It’s an improvement in performance over my BD30, but as I now know for myself, bitsreaming and blu-ray all look and sound the same if you have decent equipment. I’ve sold my BD30, I just hope this S760 will be as stable as that old Panasonic was. This is the first Sony product I’ve owned since the mid-90’s, so my future purchases rest solely on the what happens between now and when I upgrade to a profile 3 blu-ray player in a couple of years time. For an MSRP of $499 Canadian, I think this is a great player, especially with DVD upconversion, ease of use, and response time. Based on features and price, if you’re looking for a mid-priced option, I’d recommend this player. Sony has a decent reputation of customer service and firmware updates—in my opinion a must for choosing a blu-ray player.

"Not throwing my hands up or my dress above my ears don't mean I ain't awestruck." Al Swearengen

SirJohnFalstaff is offline  
post #197 of 1201 Old 10-13-2009, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirJohnFalstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For the past few hours I've been throwing a few more Blu-rays and DVD's at this player. It does a very good job upconverting, but after seveal different disks I have to conclude that it's not as good as my DVD-3930. On some titles it seems to be as good, but on titles that aren't great-looking and have a lot of noise, the S760 adds a bit more pixilation to the image. It's minor, and in truth I'm only seeing it on a 118" screen. On a smaller display one would probably not notice the extra noise. But as for operation, when compared to my BD30, this player feels like a DVD player in the way it responds. My BD30 was always sluggish, with little control such as frame advance, and took too long of a pause when you advanced forward or jumped back, but the S760 is way quicker. It feels like how my DVD players used too--not counting my Oppo DV-980H, though. That's thing's on speed, or something.

"Not throwing my hands up or my dress above my ears don't mean I ain't awestruck." Al Swearengen

SirJohnFalstaff is offline  
post #198 of 1201 Old 10-14-2009, 01:06 AM
Member
 
Quilty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

They are pretty close but for SD dvds I would give the nod slightly to the 1000.

Hmm. Sounds like there may not be anything with better PQ than the 1000ES. I am curious about the forthcoming NAD M56, however.
Quilty is offline  
post #199 of 1201 Old 10-14-2009, 08:49 AM
nc
Member
 
nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by celsior360 View Post

Thanks for this wonderful review!! Now I have confidence to get this awesome player. One more thing, does it has a resume function? It didn't mention anything on sony US site. Or does it always start from the beginning to play ??

I spent time over the long weekend with a friend of mine in New York. He puchased an s1000es, has it hooked uo to a 60' ISF calibrated Pioneer Elite TV and we went through some unbelievable numbers of SD and BD discs. He came to the conclusion without any prompting from me or anyone else that that his unit was nowhere near as good as my S5000ES and OPPO 83. He has seen my ISF calibrated set several times. SD upconversion is not as accomplished as compared the Oppo or even the s5000. The s5000 ofers 14-bit processing to the s1000's 12-bit. The unit is flimsy. cheap circuitry and power supply. We took it apart and it does NOT have A Marvell Qdeo processor as you claim!!! Just where did you get this hogwash!!! Mysterioso!!
nc is offline  
post #200 of 1201 Old 10-14-2009, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Quilty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The plot thickens....
Quilty is offline  
post #201 of 1201 Old 10-14-2009, 03:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc View Post

I spent time over the long weekend with a friend of mine in New York. He puchased an s1000es, has it hooked uo to a 60' ISF calibrated Pioneer Elite TV and we went through some unbelievable numbers of SD and BD discs. He came to the conclusion without any prompting from me or anyone else that that his unit was nowhere near as good as my S5000ES and OPPO 83. He has seen my ISF calibrated set several times. SD upconversion is not as accomplished as compared the Oppo or even the s5000. The s5000 ofers 14-bit processing to the s1000's 12-bit. The unit is flimsy. cheap circuitry and power supply. We took it apart and it does NOT have A Marvell Qdeo processor as you claim!!! Just where did you get this hogwash!!! Mysterioso!!

Exactly what does the chip say? I don't think it says Marvell on it.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #202 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 08:01 AM
nc
Member
 
nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony Creas and NEC chipset. Marvell, as you claim is nowhere to be found!!! The S50000ES has a much more sophisticated video processor (ie. a better version of the Marvell/Creas LSI). If they used the Marvell chipset, as specified, they would have to adhere to their specifications. The unit is not even close to the quality of the S5000ES!!!!
nc is offline  
post #203 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
bonscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carmichael,Ca
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc View Post

Sony Creas and NEC chipset. Marvell, as you claim is nowhere to be found!!! The S50000ES has a much more sophisticated video processor (ie. a better version of the Marvell/Creas LSI). If they used the Marvell chipset, as specified, they would have to adhere to their specifications. The unit is not even close to the quality of the S5000ES!!!!

Its also less then half the price.
bonscott is offline  
post #204 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 12:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc View Post

Sony Creas and NEC chipset. Marvell, as you claim is nowhere to be found!!! The S50000ES has a much more sophisticated video processor (ie. a better version of the Marvell/Creas LSI). If they used the Marvell chipset, as specified, they would have to adhere to their specifications. The unit is not even close to the quality of the S5000ES!!!!

I never opened one up before I was going by what was said to me. I claimed? What are the numbers on the Creas chip? Care to post some pics? Then you should obviously keep the 5000 and not wory about the 1000. But isn't it even more sad that it puts out a better picture with less quality?

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #205 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 01:10 PM
nc
Member
 
nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are nothing more than flavor of the weak!!!!!!!!!!
nc is offline  
post #206 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 02:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc View Post

You are nothing more than flavor of the weak!!!!!!!!!!

Then it must be one long WEEK!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #207 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 02:41 PM
nc
Member
 
nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dr. end user clinician. Actually, which end do you use???
nc is offline  
post #208 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 02:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Good one. Did it take you 42 minutes to come up with that one?

Fine, you can start doing all the reviews on the players for AVS. Have at it.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #209 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

Quick question for owners....

Also, random, but when I'm in the menu (sony cross bar nav) I have all this static playing on the screen like noise when you have bad channel reception with an antenna. Then, when I start a blu-ray, the static goes away....any ideas?

Just to follow up on this, in case anyone sees something similar, I traced it down to a crappy HDMI cable. All is good now, and I'm very pleased with the player!

mookie b is offline  
post #210 of 1201 Old 10-15-2009, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
One more question....does the Superbit Mapping need to be turned on somewhere, or is it on by default? I couldn't find it in the menu.

mookie b is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdps1000es Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Blu Ray Player 3d Black , Sony Bdp S560 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - S560 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off