Official Sony BD Mega-Changer Thread: BDP-CX7000ES & BDP-CX960 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 3322 Old 09-18-2009, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own world!
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just put the second of two players on line. I'll be loading discs for the next few days. I am using a system remote and am in need of the discrete codes for on/off, open/close for the second and third code sets. The first is the standard Sony DVD code set. If anyone comes across them, I would appreciate a heads-up.

John
netroamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 3322 Old 09-18-2009, 05:26 PM
 
quickfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NorthEast Tennessee
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Sony BDP-CX960 400 Disc Blu-ray Disc / DVD MegaChanger starts shipping September 28th.......atleast thats what the lady at SONYS store told me.
quickfire is offline  
post #273 of 3322 Old 09-18-2009, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
uw69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by netroamer View Post

I just put the second of two players on line. I'll be loading discs for the next few days. I am using a system remote and am in need of the discrete codes for on/off, open/close for the second and third code sets. The first is the standard Sony DVD code set. If anyone comes across them, I would appreciate a heads-up.

In setup, under system setting, scroll down to coimand mode. You can select BD1, BD2 or BD3.

I think that's what you were looking for.

I miss the rosewood sides on the old Pioneer Elite equipment!

Blu-ray - 576


HD DVD - 81

uw69 is offline  
post #274 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own world!
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post

In setup, under system setting, scroll down to coimand mode. You can select BD1, BD2 or BD3.

I think that's what you were looking for.

Thanks. I am aware of the code settings. However, the way my system is set up, I need discrete on/off and open/close codes for BD2 and BD3 instead of the toggle codes in the remote.

John
netroamer is offline  
post #275 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Fonceur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by netroamer View Post

Thanks. I am aware of the code settings. However, the way my system is set up, I need discrete on/off and open/close codes for BD2 and BD3 instead of the toggle codes in the remote.

For the rs232 control part, just replace the 80 by 81 or 82 and compute the checksum on:

- PowerOff is 02 03 80 60 00 CheckSum
- PowerOn is 02 03 80 60 01 CheckSum
- Open is 02 03 80 50 00 CheckSum
- Close is 02 03 80 50 01 CheckSum
- Eject is 02 03 80 50 02 CheckSum

Not sure if there's any direct translation to using a remote... So are the changers somehow daisy chained or the BD1/BD2 part is just a setting?
Fonceur is offline  
post #276 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own world!
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post

For the rs232 control part, just replace the 80 by 81 or 82 and compute the checksum on:

- PowerOff is 02 03 80 60 00 CheckSum
- PowerOn is 02 03 80 60 01 CheckSum
- Open is 02 03 80 50 00 CheckSum
- Close is 02 03 80 50 01 CheckSum
- Eject is 02 03 80 50 02 CheckSum

Not sure if there's any direct translation to using a remote... So are the changers somehow daisy chained or the BD1/BD2 part is just a setting?

Thanks for the info.

Sony has three sets of IR codes for the 7000. BD1 is the standard Sony code set used for Blu-Ray players. BD2 and BD3 are new sets to control additional units in the same IR transmission area. It is the discrete codes for these IR sets that I am looking for. Both the remote and player may be set up to send/receive either of the 3 sets. But I need discrete codes to program my system controller to prevent the units from turning on/off when I don't want them to.

John
netroamer is offline  
post #277 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 02:37 PM
Member
 
bellaireroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Satullo View Post

Of the last ten discs I've entered, Gracenote has found NONE of them. My roster of unknown discs is becoming a problem. I get no indication that there's an internet connection problem, but I'm scoping that out. Ethernet is still connected and appears active.

Nick

Are these recent releases? Gracenote is painfully slow in updating their database. There is stlll no data for watchmen released 7/21
bellaireroad is offline  
post #278 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
uw69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hand 8 disks in a row that showed no data, took them out and wiped them down with a microfiber cloth. All loaded fine the second time around.

I miss the rosewood sides on the old Pioneer Elite equipment!

Blu-ray - 576


HD DVD - 81

uw69 is offline  
post #279 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 02:44 PM
Member
 
rdkavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

I purchased my BDP-CX7000ES a couple of weeks ago. I just noticed today that there was a strange noice coming from the player. When I checked there were five consecutive discs that had a scratch on them. This is very worrisome as I heard rumours of this happening on past players. I am not sure what to do as I am a Canadian resident and I purchsed this product in the US. Please advise.
rdkavs is offline  
post #280 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 03:31 PM
Member
 
geoffrsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellaireroad View Post

Are these recent releases? Gracenote is painfully slow in updating their database. There is stlll no data for watchmen released 7/21

I just hooked up my CX7000ES this week. I loaded 335 discs, including Watchmen, and Gracenote found the info for all but one disc, an odd Humphrey Bogart title.

Cover art is a different story. Success rate there is around 65-70%.
geoffrsc is offline  
post #281 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 04:29 PM
Member
 
rdkavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just started unloading all 395 disks from my BDP-CX7000ES player. It appears that every disc I have played to date has a scratch across it caused by the player. The purpose of this post is to warn everyone to be careful. Hopefully this won't happen to you but it's been a very expensive experience for me as I'm looking at at least 20 discs so far that have been damaged. If anyone out there has experienced this please let me know.
rdkavs is offline  
post #282 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 06:00 PM
Member
 
Noah Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have you noticed scratches on the disks you did not play? The reason I ask is to see if they are being damaged when being played or damaged when being taken out.
Noah Winter is offline  
post #283 of 3322 Old 09-19-2009, 06:53 PM
Member
 
chas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine arrived yesterday. My experience mirrors the others--a couple unrecognized and no cover art on a quarter to a third of the 246 discs. It's slow, but the video and sound are great, as is the DVD up-rez.

Many of my DVD's are also recognized under Photos as "Data DVD". The folders may contain an .html file, but nothing opens. The videos still open just fine in the Video Section. Does anyone have a similar situation? Any idea how to get rid of them? I've ejected and reloaded with no effect.

Thanks.

C.
chas is online now  
post #284 of 3322 Old 09-20-2009, 04:29 AM
Member
 
SORAPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: West Plam Beach, FL
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just under 300 discs in my BDP-CX7000ES, a mix of DVD and Blu-Ray. I checked several of the discs I have watched and found no evidence of scratches on any of them. I did not check all of them, but I think this is representative. I have had the unit since early August.
SORAPP is offline  
post #285 of 3322 Old 09-20-2009, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
uw69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hard to imagine why a nice piece like this has no provision for manually entering cover art.

I miss the rosewood sides on the old Pioneer Elite equipment!

Blu-ray - 576


HD DVD - 81

uw69 is offline  
post #286 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Man I'll have a tough decision between the ES and non-ES if the ES takes a decent price-hit once the other is released. It would have to be huge though I guess, as $799 and $1899 are worlds apart.

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #287 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post

Man I'll have a tough decision between the ES and non-ES if the ES takes a decent price-hit once the other is released. It would have to be huge though I guess, as $799 and $1899 are worlds apart.

James

mastermaybe,

I doubt you'll see any price changes on the ES version when the non-ES version arrives. The Sony CX777ES was priced double due to it's serial control over the 985. And when the 985 came out, the CX777ES remained at the same price. I'm guessing Sony assumes if you want to control the changer, you might have an automation system, which might mean you can afford the extra cost. Just theory on my part.
mcascio is offline  
post #288 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own world!
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkavs View Post

I just started unloading all 395 disks from my BDP-CX7000ES player. It appears that every disc I have played to date has a scratch across it caused by the player. The purpose of this post is to warn everyone to be careful. Hopefully this won't happen to you but it's been a very expensive experience for me as I'm looking at at least 20 discs so far that have been damaged. If anyone out there has experienced this please let me know.

When you first loaded the discs, I assume you had the unit do a Gracenotes search for title info. At that time each disc would have been loaded and scanned for title info, the same way as if it were played. Logic would assume that ALL the discs would have been scratched at that time if the player has a mechanical problem. It seems odd that only the discs actually watched would be scratched.

John
netroamer is offline  
post #289 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkavs View Post

I just started unloading all 395 disks from my BDP-CX7000ES player. It appears that every disc I have played to date has a scratch across it caused by the player. The purpose of this post is to warn everyone to be careful. Hopefully this won't happen to you but it's been a very expensive experience for me as I'm looking at at least 20 discs so far that have been damaged. If anyone out there has experienced this please let me know.

Can you post a picture of some discs as what the scratches look like? Perhaps someone who knows the mechanics of the changer can comment...

Thanks
thrang is offline  
post #290 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
uw69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just loaded in 400 disks over the weekend. Didn't notice any damage to the disks. It is amazing what Gracenote does not have in it's database. Has some very new titles like Duplicity, but didn't recognize the first Spiderman movie. Weird.

I miss the rosewood sides on the old Pioneer Elite equipment!

Blu-ray - 576


HD DVD - 81

uw69 is offline  
post #291 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 12:37 PM
Member
 
Noah Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How about take a dvd out that has not been played, inspect it to make sure it does not have scratches, then play it and see if scratches appear. It may be that the scratched dvds represent the most liked/played in his collection and had been scratched before being placed in the mega changer.
Noah Winter is offline  
post #292 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 02:03 PM
Member
 
rdkavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope it was an isolated incident but I know the scratches were new because there was a powder residue along the scratch which was probably the residue from the scratch itself. The only thing I can think of that may have caused the problem is when I had to power off the machine while it was attempting to load the disc info from Gracenote. I had to power off because the load was taking forever and there was no way I could cancel it. I actually had to turn off the power bar which was not wise but I tried everything else.

I am testing the machine now with a couple of discs and everything looks fine so far.
Could turning off the machine during the load process cause damage to several discs at once? I was mistaken when I said it was only the discs that i"ve watched. It appears to have been the discs that were in the same area of the machine but I am not 100% sure.
rdkavs is offline  
post #293 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 03:05 PM
Member
 
xtremxterra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkavs View Post

I hope it was an isolated incident but I know the scratches were new because there was a powder residue along the scratch which was probably the residue from the scratch itself. The only thing I can think of that may have caused the problem is when I had to power off the machine while it was attempting to load the disc info from Gracenote. I had to power off because the load was taking forever and there was no way I could cancel it. I actually had to turn off the power bar which was not wise but I tried everything else.

I am testing the machine now with a couple of discs and everything looks fine so far.
Could turning off the machine during the load process cause damage to several discs at once? I was mistaken when I said it was only the discs that i"ve watched. It appears to have been the discs that were in the same area of the machine but I am not 100% sure.

Take a pic of one i have had the 777 changer for years and its similiar mechanism never one scratched. My 7000 is due to arrive this week.
xtremxterra is offline  
post #294 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
mr stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post

Hard to imagine why a nice piece like this has no provision for manually entering cover art.

can you at least manually enter text if it doesn't recognize the disc?
mr stroke is offline  
post #295 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
uw69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr stroke View Post

can you at least manually enter text if it doesn't recognize the disc?

Yes it has provision for entering disk title, actor, and director .

I miss the rosewood sides on the old Pioneer Elite equipment!

Blu-ray - 576


HD DVD - 81

uw69 is offline  
post #296 of 3322 Old 09-21-2009, 10:31 PM
Member
 
starstreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So do you think getting the cx960 is ok? There's a few things missing. I don't need the serial connection but its missing the:
HD Reality Enhancer
Super Bit Mapping (14bit processor)
Film Grain Reducer
Deep Color
Playback memory

Are these gimmiks or something that matters?
starstreak is offline  
post #297 of 3322 Old 09-22-2009, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
uw69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by starstreak View Post

So do you think getting the cx960 is ok? There's a few things missing. I don't need the serial connection but its missing the:
HD Reality Enhancer
Super Bit Mapping (14bit processor)
Film Grain Reducer
Deep Color
Playback memory

Are these gimmiks or something that matters?

I got the 7000 but I would wager that PQ and AQ of the 960 will be just as good. Not gimicks, but some addition tweaks for those that have the time and patience.

I miss the rosewood sides on the old Pioneer Elite equipment!

Blu-ray - 576


HD DVD - 81

uw69 is offline  
post #298 of 3322 Old 09-22-2009, 06:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up and installed the BDP-CX7000ES. Is there a way to send the information to gracenote?
budeone is offline  
post #299 of 3322 Old 09-22-2009, 10:17 AM
Member
 
bellaireroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkavs View Post

I just started unloading all 395 disks from my BDP-CX7000ES player. It appears that every disc I have played to date has a scratch across it caused by the player. The purpose of this post is to warn everyone to be careful. Hopefully this won't happen to you but it's been a very expensive experience for me as I'm looking at at least 20 discs so far that have been damaged. If anyone out there has experienced this please let me know.

Yes, I have experience with this. Not with the new BD player, but with the DVP-CX777ES. What happens is, when the disc is in the play mode, it is pulled about half way out of the slot, and spins rapidly during playback. If there is even the slightest bit of misalignment, it will cut a cresent shaped groove in the PLAYING SURFACE of the disc that is next to it. Six months ago, I had to send my DVDM 100 back to escient for a mother board replacement. When that happens, all the discs have to be looked up again.

I had two sonys attached. One of them started eating discs. I had about 100 of the 400 discs badly damaged. It looked like someone had taken a grinder to the playing surface, and cut a crescent groove in them.

I thought that they were totaled, but I tried a disc doctor on them, and was actually able to salvage almost all of them.

the unit was just under 5 years old. I sent it back to sony, and they replaced the drive mechanism for free. I have two of these, and sent the other back as well, for good measure. It was about to run out on warranty. They replaced the drive mechanism in it as well.

This is a documented problem with the sony changer. I assume they are using the same drive mechanism in the BD changer. GOOGLE it, there are quite a few reports on this problem
bellaireroad is offline  
post #300 of 3322 Old 09-22-2009, 01:41 PM
Member
 
starstreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I'm using a PS3 for my BD playback now, I'll still be getting better PQ and AQ with the changer so I should still be happy? I'm trying to justify to myself that I'm doing good in saving $500+ by getting the lower featured BD changer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post

I got the 7000 but I would wager that PQ and AQ of the 960 will be just as good. Not gimicks, but some addition tweaks for those that have the time and patience.

starstreak is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer , Pioneer Dv F727 , Pioneer Elite , Sony , Sony Dvp Cx777es 400 Disc Dvd Cd Changer
Gear in this thread - F727 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off