Official Sony BD Mega-Changer Thread: BDP-CX7000ES & BDP-CX960 - Page 111 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 3322 Old 01-25-2014, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Briant73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOSHLives View Post

Posted my question last year and not one response from anyone. Needless to say a disappointed new member that will likewise move on as a result. Anyways, to add what I can to the "Invalid Disk" portion of this thread before I do....

What I did do (last year), after my post, was I went ahead and just filled out a Sony repair request online. I was uncertain of this since Sony is a large corp with an extensive product line and from the latest confirmed posts a year plus ago not clear if still worth a shot. Would have been nice to confirm a site url, process,  POC or phone number here since this issue is unclear if fixable/supported currently or if I need to do anything in particular to validate exact issue ,warranty or as just posted a need to place the unit in ship mode. I was also unsure if this unit was going to go to the right place or group. But I went ahead and shipped the unit out in (Ship mode), attached a letter requesting the replacement of the drive with the Part Number in my above post, detailed the "Invalid disk" issue and that it was a known issue, and mentioned the fact that the unit was in ship mode.

Once shipped and sent back, I never did receive any call or email response from Sony through out the whole process. I checked online for status, and it did finally change within 3 days saying it was being sent back. But needless to say that got me worried even more because it didn't necessarily state any other info such as being repaired. When I finally received the returned unit, it came with a "Statement of Work" showing all line items as N/C (No Charge), but still no detail if anything was performed or replaced.

Needless to say this looked like more of the same around here and I was worried. I didn't want to waste any more of my time guessing so I did use the phone number I finally received through the "Statement of Work" and called to verify what was done. After talking with a real live person on the phone(!), low and behold it was confirmed that they did replace the Bluray drive as I had instructed on my attached letter when I sent the unit out. Needless to say I was relieved and impressed that they followed instructions without a battle for justification. With the quick turn around I was able to enjoy my system during the Christmas holidays. I have install my repaired BDP-CX7000ES ever since without any issues including the "Invalid Disk " error. I have over 200 disks loaded consecutively and have been adding to it ever since. The only thing that seems to remain is for how long will these good times of a perfectly running BDP-CX7000ES last? Only the other folks whom I have not heard from on this site can verify any further insight. I 'm approaching 2 months so far, for anyone in a similar situation and wondering if a unit can be repaired.

This BDP-CX7000ES is quite the satisfied customer maker when up and running. An extreme disappointment to add to Sony's dwindling reputation if they do not plan to support or recap through a new product in the future.

My 2 cents, good luck...

Thanks for your post!
Briant73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 3322 Old 01-25-2014, 08:48 PM
Member
 
bmerk2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. Just curious, what was the cost of the repair?
bmerk2010 is offline  
post #3303 of 3322 Old 01-25-2014, 11:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmerk2010 View Post

Hi. Just curious, what was the cost of the repair?

You missed the part where he mentioned that there was no charge for his repair.
Johnla is offline  
post #3304 of 3322 Old 01-26-2014, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Great to hear your unit is working again. Thanks for the update on the process!
dreaux is offline  
post #3305 of 3322 Old 02-05-2014, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Taz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spring Grove(York)PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Everyone, I just encountered a problem with my cx960. Last night it worked fine. This morning I see the display of the dvd player reading " DIAG_MODE". I then jog the dial and it reads: PCONT_CHEC sel, KEY_CHECK sel, TEMP_CHECK sel, SIRCS_CHECK. sel, FLD_CHECK sel, ADJUST_MODE sel, CIS_CHECK sel, ADJUST_MODE sel. The only bottons work are the play, pause and stop. How do I get out of this? I have hardly used this player since I got it.😟
Taz1 is offline  
post #3306 of 3322 Old 02-06-2014, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
gprace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taz1 View Post

Hello Everyone, I just encountered a problem with my cx960. Last night it worked fine. This morning I see the display of the dvd player reading " DIAG_MODE". I then jog the dial and it reads: PCONT_CHEC sel, KEY_CHECK sel, TEMP_CHECK sel, SIRCS_CHECK. sel, FLD_CHECK sel, ADJUST_MODE sel, CIS_CHECK sel, ADJUST_MODE sel. The only bottons work are the play, pause and stop. How do I get out of this? I have hardly used this player since I got it.😟

Have you tried to disconnect the power, wait a minute, then reconnect to power?
gprace is offline  
post #3307 of 3322 Old 02-06-2014, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Taz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spring Grove(York)PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Taz1 is offline  
post #3308 of 3322 Old 02-06-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Hold power button down for 20 secs, it should reboot back to normal mode.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is online now  
post #3309 of 3322 Old 02-06-2014, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Taz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spring Grove(York)PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still doesn't work. Held down the power for a minute.
Taz1 is offline  
post #3310 of 3322 Old 02-06-2014, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
That sucks. How long have you had the unit?
dreaux is offline  
post #3311 of 3322 Old 02-07-2014, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Taz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spring Grove(York)PA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought it in 2010 and watched like 120 movies or so on it.
Taz1 is offline  
post #3312 of 3322 Old 02-07-2014, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Sounds like you have to contact Sony it appears.

When turning the player on, appears
on the screen, and “SYSTEM ERROR”
appears in the front panel display.
, Disconnect the power cord and wait for a
while, then re-connect the power cord. If the
condition persists, contact your nearest
Sony dealer or local authorized Sony
service facility.
dreaux is offline  
post #3313 of 3322 Old 04-06-2014, 11:00 PM
Moderator
 
Mike C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just posted 2 - 7000ES's for sale with an Escient VS-100 controller in the classifieds:
7000ES - AVS Classifieds

The cheese fell off my cracker a long time ago...
Mike C is offline  
post #3314 of 3322 Old 04-25-2014, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
prscustom24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post

Sounds like you have to contact Sony it appears.

When turning the player on, appears
on the screen, and “SYSTEM ERROR”
appears in the front panel display.
, Disconnect the power cord and wait for a
while, then re-connect the power cord. If the
condition persists, contact your nearest
Sony dealer or local authorized Sony
service facility.
Don't know if this has been mentioned before (not gonna check 111 pages of this thread to check it out either) but here's what happened to my CX960 recently: had a FAN ERROR followed by an auto-shutdown. I went ahead and replaced the fan -- it was a $12 item -- but the FAN ERROR persisted. I was pretty certain that it was a stored fault that would not clear, because the time to display it varied depending on what combination of front panel buttons I pushed/held to force various power-up function sequences to execute before the thing could go check its stored-error table. But I could not find the lucky front-panel button combo that would clear the error table out. Then I had a chat with an online sony service tech who provided me with a copy of the service manual. I studied that and found that on the IMD(HF) board there's a momentary-contact switch named, curiously enough, 'Reset'. What you do is, punch the power-on switch, then while getting the PLEASE WAIT display, punch this reset switch (S1001). This will clear the error table. It saved my BDP-CX960 a trip to the Sony service center; perhaps it might do the same for yours. Remove the cover to access it.

Sony goes to great lengths to keep this switch a secret, apparently. The tech I talked with didn't mention it. He had me going down a path looking at a possible faulty thermistor, resistor, or PGA IC. All were good.
prscustom24 is offline  
post #3315 of 3322 Old 06-17-2014, 06:01 AM
Member
 
dcrocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may already be answered but I couldn't find it. I have the BDP-CX960, does anyone know of a way to get a list of all the discs that are in there? Other than writing them down manually I mean.
dcrocker is offline  
post #3316 of 3322 Old 06-18-2014, 05:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcrocker View Post
This may already be answered but I couldn't find it. I have the BDP-CX960, does anyone know of a way to get a list of all the discs that are in there? Other than writing them down manually I mean.
You might try the Media Remote app or DLNA.
http://esupport.sony.com/perl/model-...l?mdl=BDPCX960
dreaux is offline  
post #3317 of 3322 Old 07-05-2014, 06:46 AM
Member
 
spexman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct display of non 16:9 material?

I recently purchased a BDP-CX960 with FW .015 on it; I am disappointed to discover that when playing a BD-R with a1920x800 format track on it, the 960 will ALWAYS stretch it vertically to fill the screen.
I have a BDP-S580, and when 'TV Type' is set to 4:3 and 'Screen Format' is set to Fixed Aspect Ratio, it DOES correctly play it without stretching the image; I 'assumed' that if I used these SAME settings on the 960, that I would get proper results, but this is not the case.(thanks for the consistency, Sony!)
Has anyone encountered this? Has anyone found a way to achieve proper output? Was this issue perhaps addressed in a newer firmware?
ANY help would be much appreciated!
Thanks in advance.
spexman is offline  
post #3318 of 3322 Old 10-04-2014, 11:37 AM
Member
 
jdodd64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping you guys can help me. I have the BDP-CX960, and for the last few months I have been having issues with connecting with the internet. I have contacted Sony through email and was told to try the following but I am still having the same issue. I have tried multiple cables and they all work on other computers. I am using a Motorola SBG6580 Wireless Cable Modem. If any one has had the same issues and knows of a solution please let me know.

Please follow the steps below to troubleshoot and verify if the network connection and settings are correct.

1. In the Network Setup menu of the Blu-ray Player, manually select the IP settings and change the Primary DNS as 8.8.8.8 and 4.4.4.4 for the Secondary DNS.
2. In the Network Settings menu, under Network Connection Status, check that both Physical Connection or Wireless Connection and Internet Status are labeled as OK.If not,
Turn off the power to your network equipment: (DSL/cable) modem, router, and player.
Turn on the player and check the Network Status. Press the HOME button >> Setup >> Network Settings >> View Network Status.
Make sure the Connection Method is Wireless and Make sure an IP address is shown.
If you would like to set the IP address manually, please follow the steps provided in the below link.

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answer...+be+confirmed/
3. If the problem still exists, perform a Factory Reset.

Press Home >> Setup >> Resetting >> Reset to Factory Default Settings.
4. In the Settings menu, select Network Update to perform the firmware update.

Jeff

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts. -- Winston Churchill
jdodd64 is offline  
post #3319 of 3322 Old 10-04-2014, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Ex_Brit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdodd64 View Post
I'm hoping you guys can help me. I have the BDP-CX960, and for the last few months I have been having issues with connecting with the internet. I have contacted Sony through email and was told to try the following but I am still having the same issue. I have tried multiple cables and they all work on other computers. I am using a Motorola SBG6580 Wireless Cable Modem. If any one has had the same issues and knows of a solution please let me know.

Please follow the steps below to troubleshoot and verify if the network connection and settings are correct.

1. In the Network Setup menu of the Blu-ray Player, manually select the IP settings and change the Primary DNS as 8.8.8.8 and 4.4.4.4 for the Secondary DNS.
2. In the Network Settings menu, under Network Connection Status, check that both Physical Connection or Wireless Connection and Internet Status are labeled as OK.If not,
Turn off the power to your network equipment: (DSL/cable) modem, router, and player.
Turn on the player and check the Network Status. Press the HOME button >> Setup >> Network Settings >> View Network Status.
Make sure the Connection Method is Wireless and Make sure an IP address is shown.
If you would like to set the IP address manually, please follow the steps provided in the below link.

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answer...+be+confirmed/
3. If the problem still exists, perform a Factory Reset.

Press Home >> Setup >> Resetting >> Reset to Factory Default Settings.
4. In the Settings menu, select Network Update to perform the firmware update.
I have the CX7000ES but the Network Settings must be the same.

You state "I have tried multiple cables" so I assume you've tried connecting the unit by LAN cable to the wired sockets on the Modem, right? In which case the setting would be Use DHCP and the DNS Server Acquisition configuration would be automatic - if necessary scroll right to the bottom item and do a Network Diagnostic. That doesn't work for you?

Peter
Toronto, Canada
Ex_Brit is offline  
post #3320 of 3322 Old 10-08-2014, 09:29 AM
Member
 
jdodd64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex_Brit View Post
I have the CX7000ES but the Network Settings must be the same.

You state "I have tried multiple cables" so I assume you've tried connecting the unit by LAN cable to the wired sockets on the Modem, right? In which case the setting would be Use DHCP and the DNS Server Acquisition configuration would be automatic - if necessary scroll right to the bottom item and do a Network Diagnostic. That doesn't work for you?
I have DHCP and DNS set to automatic and I still get network error when I run the Network Diagnostic.

Jeff

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts. -- Winston Churchill
jdodd64 is offline  
post #3321 of 3322 Old 10-08-2014, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Ex_Brit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Then I'm not sure, but I'm no network expert.

Peter
Toronto, Canada
Ex_Brit is offline  
post #3322 of 3322 Old 10-11-2014, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Bujee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a CX-BD960. Had it since 2010. Lately, some Blu rays have started freezing and skipping about 3/4 into the movie. Older Blu Rays continue to play just fine. I have had this problem with "Now You See Me", "Riddick", and now "the Winter Soldier".

Any ideas?

120" Electric Motorized Remote Projection Screen Movie Projector Black Matt 16:9, Elite Screens R115WH1-WIDE ezFrame Fixed Projection Screen (115" 2.35:1 AR)(CineWhite), Onkyo TX-NR616 7.2-Channel THX Select2 Plus Certified Network A/V Receiver(Black), Klipsch Reference Series R-1650-C In-Wall/In...
Bujee1 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer , Pioneer Dv F727 , Pioneer Elite , Sony , Sony Dvp Cx777es 400 Disc Dvd Cd Changer
Gear in this thread - F727 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off