Official Sony BD Mega-Changer Thread: BDP-CX7000ES & BDP-CX960 - Page 120 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 52Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3571 of 3588 Old 07-03-2016, 04:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the BDP-CX7000ex and like so many others all my disks say invalid and wont read. I have tried the power suggestion and a bunch of things I have read. I am on the latest firmware. Is there a way to go back in firmware> I have looked on the Sony site and the only one the have listed is the latest one. Does anybody have a copy they can share? I dont even know if I can go backwards.

If I do need that lens replacement, are there people in the Chicagoland area that go to your home and do it or does it really need to go back to Sony?

Man, this was just a great device, I hate to toss it.
budeone is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3572 of 3588 Old 07-03-2016, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own world!
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by budeone View Post
I have the BDP-CX7000ex and like so many others all my disks say invalid and wont read. I have tried the power suggestion and a bunch of things I have read. I am on the latest firmware. Is there a way to go back in firmware> I have looked on the Sony site and the only one the have listed is the latest one. Does anybody have a copy they can share? I dont even know if I can go backwards.

If I do need that lens replacement, are there people in the Chicagoland area that go to your home and do it or does it really need to go back to Sony?

Man, this was just a great device, I hate to toss it.
As much as you would like to believe that older firmware will fix this..it just is not the case.
The problem is a bad laser. I had read some posts in the past that Sony has returned units with the statement that the part is no longer available. Has anyone had a laser replacement recently?
I doubt any repair tech is willing to spend that kind of time to perform an in-home repair.
The laser units are available for purchase on-line. If you are willing to try the repair yourself, it is possible.
budeone likes this.

John

FS: Lumagen VIDEXT HDMI Cable Extender
Maybe FS: Sony BDP-CX7000ES (3)
FS: Quantum Data 780 Pattern Generator/Analyzer

Last edited by netroamer; 07-03-2016 at 08:18 AM.
netroamer is offline  
post #3573 of 3588 Old 07-03-2016, 03:15 PM
Member
 
philadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
optical

Search cx7000es on ebay and you will see that some one has one for sale.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-OPTICAL-...QAAOSwPgxVSHsP
budeone likes this.
philadam is offline  
post #3574 of 3588 Old 07-05-2016, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Briant73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just a note to anyone coming into this thread recently - there are messages by myself and others in this thread going over the invalid disc issue and how to replace the laser a search in the thread should find those messages. Good luck!
Briant73 is offline  
post #3575 of 3588 Old 07-05-2016, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
There is no way I can replace anything. I would smash it and throw out the window in under 10 min.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
budeone is online now  
post #3576 of 3588 Old 07-05-2016, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Briant73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by budeone View Post
There is no way I can replace anything. I would smash it and throw out the window in under 10 min.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
Well that would be a problem for sure and i believe some of the authorized repair centers are not doing the laser replacement anymore but you may want to check with them.

I found taking apart the unit tedious but not hard, just a lot of screws and wires that needed removed to get to the laser itself. Also make sure to remove all discs before taken part
Briant73 is offline  
post #3577 of 3588 Old 07-05-2016, 01:27 PM
Member
 
philadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by budeone View Post
There is no way I can replace anything. I would smash it and throw out the window in under 10 min.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
Just google "cx7000es service manual" and you will find several places where you can get the service manual. Very helpful for remembering where everything goes when puting back together.
philadam is offline  
post #3578 of 3588 Old 07-05-2016, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
footballcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[QUOTE=budeone;45163153]There is no way I can replace anything. I would smash it and throw out the window in under 10 min.

i see you're in the Chicago area. I've used Deltronics on halsted in the city for other Sony products. When I worked for Sony in the 90's they would always order parts from our service center. Might be worth a shot. I've had pretty good dealings with them.
footballcop is offline  
post #3579 of 3588 Old 07-06-2016, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 3,973
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 975 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Exclamation Attention Denon/Marantz DTS:X owners!

Look what the latest FW log shows to be fixed as of 6/27/16!

"When customer connects the AV receiver with the specific BD player (Sony BDP-CX960 and Sony CX-7000 Blu-ray Jukebox) via the HDMI and playback the contents of "DTS-HD", the AV receiver doesn't recognize the audio of "DTS-HD". Therefore, the specific BD player outputs the audio signal with Multi ch PCM."

Haven't tested yet as I just now read this & wanted to share.

Ralph Potts and treytexag like this.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> The Richter Family 4K/3D Theater
krichter1 is online now  
post #3580 of 3588 Old 07-06-2016, 12:30 PM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 11,549
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
Look what the latest FW log shows to be fixed as of 6/27/16!

"When customer connects the AV receiver with the specific BD player (Sony BDP-CX960 and Sony CX-7000 Blu-ray Jukebox) via the HDMI and playback the contents of "DTS-HD", the AV receiver doesn't recognize the audio of "DTS-HD". Therefore, the specific BD player outputs the audio signal with Multi ch PCM."

Haven't tested yet as I just now read this & wanted to share.

Greetings,

I can confirm that it has in fact been fixed..

Regards,
krichter1 and treytexag like this.

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #3581 of 3588 Old 07-06-2016, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Potts View Post
Greetings,

I can confirm that it has in fact been fixed..

Regards,
Which firmware is being updated, the Denon/Marantz product, or the Sony BDP product? What is the updated firmware version number in this case?

Are Eleven Channels Really Enough?

Jedi is offline  
post #3582 of 3588 Old 07-06-2016, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 3,973
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 975 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi View Post
Which firmware is being updated, the Denon/Marantz product, or the Sony BDP product? What is the updated firmware version number in this case?
It came off the Denon thread but I assume the Marantz applies as well or will soon follow suit (and I concur with Ralph it does indeed work! )…

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> The Richter Family 4K/3D Theater
krichter1 is online now  
post #3583 of 3588 Old 07-06-2016, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Ah, sad to see my 960 is suffering from the laser problem as well of late. Not sure I want to work through the replacement, when I might be upgrading to 4k tv and might as well get a 4k blu player to replace this. It served me well for a fair number of years, but I suppose this was inevitable.
jackstar7 is offline  
post #3584 of 3588 Old 07-07-2016, 01:40 PM
Member
 
philadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackstar7 View Post
Ah, sad to see my 960 is suffering from the laser problem as well of late. Not sure I want to work through the replacement, when I might be upgrading to 4k tv and might as well get a 4k blu player to replace this. It served me well for a fair number of years, but I suppose this was inevitable.
Better get one before they are all gone.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-OPTICAL-...QAAOSwPgxVSHsP
philadam is offline  
post #3585 of 3588 Old 07-07-2016, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by philadam View Post
Better get one before they are all gone.
I appreciate that, but I think I might just let the ol' thing go and pick up a 4k blu ray player.
jackstar7 is offline  
post #3586 of 3588 Old 07-07-2016, 04:10 PM
Member
 
philadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackstar7 View Post
I appreciate that, but I think I might just let the ol' thing go and pick up a 4k blu ray player.
I have a 4K UHD blu-ray player and while they are nice, there will never be 4K source for all the movies that I own so you can't beat the convenience of having them all cataloged and stored in one device.
superleo likes this.
philadam is offline  
post #3587 of 3588 Old 07-11-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 3,973
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 975 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Quote:
Originally Posted by budeone View Post
There is no way I can replace anything. I would smash it and throw out the window in under 10 min.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk

Hey make sure you take pictures for us if you do!

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> The Richter Family 4K/3D Theater
krichter1 is online now  
post #3588 of 3588 Old Today, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My 960 had a few invalid discs but played most of my 100+ discs just fine until a week ago. It then seemed to have lost most of the discs. When you open the cover and then closed it suddenly there were only a few unknown discs. Each time I open the cover it tells me there is a different number (anywhere from 5 to 95) unknown discs. You can program them in and Gracenote works fine, but power the unit off or open the cover and poof they are gone. I purchased a new laser and installed it put everything back together and it does exactly the same thing. I left the cover off so I could watch and see exactly what it was doing and when you open the cover and shut it it says it is loading but the carosel makes a 360 degree turn, never loads a disc and the 960 says no disc is present. I have looked over 20 or so pages but I have not found any similar problem. Anyone have a suggestion on what may be the problem and if so an idea how to solve it. I hate to lose the functionality of this device. Thanks in advance.
Purplezebra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer , Pioneer Dv F727 , Pioneer Elite , Sony , Sony Dvp Cx777es 400 Disc Dvd Cd Changer
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off