Official PS3-Slim Master Thread-Post all comments and questions here! - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 1011 Old 05-10-2010, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 66
So I popped my Akira blu-ray into my new-er slim PS3 (had the fat one before) and since the movie started playing from its last spot, I hit display to see if it was in TruHD already, it wasn't--it was playing in Dolby lossy; however, it was already set to the Japanese Dolby TruHD track in the menu!! Even when the truHD track is selected, it's only showing up as Dolby lossy 640 kbs!!!! Now I can't recall if this was also the case with my older, fat PS3 (as I can't remember if I ever verified it was playing in TruHD) but I do not recall the sound ever quite living up to its reputation; frankly I was always a little underwhelmed considering the hype this soundtrack gets.

The firmware is up-to-date and I switched around from bitstream to PCM output and no matter what, it does not show that it is outputting/decoding/whatever at anything other than Dolby lossy (unless it is the 2-channel PCM track.) And yes, that includes me toggling through the soundtrack options.

WHAT IS GOING ON???!!!

Does anybody know if there was a faulty disc running around that had this problem or if a new firmware update for the PS3 somehow caused this? I did some searches for this problem but I've seen PS3 owners mention that they got the soundtrack. I did however see problems with Onkyo receivers and although I have one (TXSR 806), wouldn't the PS3 still say that it is processing the Tru-HD codec? I also just manually set up the audio output and all the 192khz options were checked. Still nothing. Bizarre. Someone help?
javanpohl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 1011 Old 05-10-2010, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I would check your settings in the menu for the ps3 itself. I would use pcm track for it.

Jacob
Jacob305 is online now  
post #903 of 1011 Old 05-10-2010, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Already did that, and, like I said, have switched between PCM and bitstream. I even returned the settings to default. Another strange thing is that there is only one True-hd track showing up in the menu even though from what I've read online there are supposed to be two: one in Japanese and one in English.
javanpohl is offline  
post #904 of 1011 Old 05-10-2010, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
the japan track is trueHD only. I own the bluray. it has a 192 track.. your receiver is probably having a hard time decoding it.. so best to set it with pcm.

Jacob
Jacob305 is online now  
post #905 of 1011 Old 05-11-2010, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 66
So when you select the TruHD soundtrack on your ps3 while watching Akira and hit the display button, it shows that it is decoding TruHD at 30mbs-ish? Do you have the fat or slim ps3?
javanpohl is offline  
post #906 of 1011 Old 05-12-2010, 04:43 AM
Senior Member
 
moodyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you using the HDMI connection??
moodyman is offline  
post #907 of 1011 Old 05-12-2010, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Yes.

Would it be worth-while for me to point out that I'm no newbie? Been in this home theater rodeo for about 15 years. Really what I'm looking for is someone with a slim PS3 to pop Akira into their player and confirm whether or not the are actually getting the PS3 to decode or bitstream the TruHD track.

Well, really, I'd like for someone to explain to me what exactly is going on but, seeing as I haven't found anything related to this specific problem on the net, I don't think that'll happen.
javanpohl is offline  
post #908 of 1011 Old 05-12-2010, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I own the akira blu ray but not the ps3 slim.
I cannt help you there.

Jacob
Jacob305 is online now  
post #909 of 1011 Old 06-09-2010, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Lo and behold--it is a defective disc. I got a copy from Netflix and it plays as is supposed to: Dolby TruHD 192 khz when I hit display. Weird that there's nothing about this online.
javanpohl is offline  
post #910 of 1011 Old 06-10-2010, 01:44 PM
Newbie
 
thashobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just noticed that a while back someone was wondering why their ps3 was still making noise when off. The reason is because of the psp remote turn on ability. if u activate this under settings it forces the wifi adapter inside to always stay on. this means the fan runs at a very low rpm to cool the wifi card.

hope this helps
thashobs is offline  
post #911 of 1011 Old 07-04-2010, 04:05 PM
Newbie
 
Ludesh01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both of my ps3 slims are skipping on blurays. Pausing some moments, skipping on others... I've turned off the Internet connection, I've cleaned the lens, I've done everything I can think of. One of them started up a few months ago, is this a firmware problem, if so what's the fix on the ps3?
Ludesh01 is offline  
post #912 of 1011 Old 07-05-2010, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
No skipping problems here. Both doing same thing? Anything special or unique about the blu-rays you are trying?

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #913 of 1011 Old 07-05-2010, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Guibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any reason I shouldn't get a Ps3 slim as a bluray player? Need a good bluray player with a good dvd upscaler and passing dolby 5.1 through optical cable. Just bought my first 1080P TV and looking to jump into the bluray scene.
Guibs is offline  
post #914 of 1011 Old 07-05-2010, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
moodyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guibs View Post

Any reason I shouldn't get a Ps3 slim as a bluray player? Need a good bluray player with a good dvd upscaler and passing dolby 5.1 through optical cable. Just bought my first 1080P TV and looking to jump into the bluray scene.


Optical is ok for audio..but you will not get the high def audio...but if your not setting up a home theater its a non issue.

Why not connect via HDMI???
moodyman is offline  
post #915 of 1011 Old 07-05-2010, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Guibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by moodyman View Post


Optical is ok for audio..but you will not get the high def audio...but if your not setting up a home theater its a non issue.

Why not connect via HDMI???

My home theatre doesn't have an hdmi connector. It's old but get the job done. So, will I be able to get surround sound still using an optical cable ?
Guibs is offline  
post #916 of 1011 Old 07-05-2010, 03:18 PM
Member
 
LAMBERT R CONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

I have one of those and it's reasonably effective and quiet -- IF (big if) you provide a source of cool air. Just recirculating the hot air inside the cabinet won't do much good. You need a cool-air intake on one side, and an exhaust port on the other.

I use these fans on my anthem pre pro's a-5 , mca-50 , d2 , 2 on each componet , i use them to pull air out . i have a very open rack . i just bought a ps3 slim for blue ray love it , i game xbox360 , i used a couple fans behind the ps3 slim , seems to work well . my son gave me a nyko intercooler i hooked it up but i believe the two 120 mm fans do a better job of pulling air out of the system seening the are not directly connected . just my observation . and when my d2 is in full effect these fans pull lots of hot air out . great thread new to ps3 .

bert
LAMBERT R CONE is offline  
post #917 of 1011 Old 07-05-2010, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guibs View Post

My home theatre doesn't have an hdmi connector. It's old but get the job done. So, will I be able to get surround sound still using an optical cable ?

Yes optical will provide surround sound for you. You will get Dolby Digital and DTS just like any other DVD player. You will not get the newer formats (Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD, DTS Master Audio and DTS High Resolution) via optical.

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
post #918 of 1011 Old 07-05-2010, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Guibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cws_kahuna View Post


Yes optical will provide surround sound for you. You will get Dolby Digital and DTS just like any other DVD player. You will not get the newer formats (Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD, DTS Master Audio and DTS High Resolution) via optical.

Thanks that's what I wanted. Getting a new receiver will be my next thing. I just bought a new tv, new harmony remote and about to buy my first bluray player. It will follow later this year or next year.

Thanks.
Guibs is offline  
post #919 of 1011 Old 07-06-2010, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 3,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guibs View Post

Thanks that's what I wanted. Getting a new receiver will be my next thing. I just bought a new tv, new harmony remote and about to buy my first bluray player. It will follow later this year or next year.

Thanks.

Then you need to consider one very important point. The PS3 used BT communications as it's form of remote control. Therefor to maximize the benefit of your new Harmony remote you will either need to get a stand alone BD player that is IR compatable (all of them I think) or you will be getting a PS3 and should be looking to get either the BT remote and just have 2 remotes (harmony and PS3) or getting a IR to BT conveter box. I know many here will recommend the logitech PS3 adaptor, but many more of us that have been burned by Sony's FW updates and like the abilty to tweak the boxes control of the PS3 (or jumped into the fray long before logitech released their device) will tell you that PS3toothfairy and Schmartz PS3IR-1000 excellent choices.

PSN ID: dogdoctor
dogdoctor is offline  
post #920 of 1011 Old 07-06-2010, 01:58 PM
Member
 
MrMcCrackin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys,

i have been scanning the 30+ pages of this thread - hopefully someone can sum up in a single post



- What is needed to play BluRay rips from a USB 2.5" drive on the PS3 Slim?





i picked up a PS3 Slim yesterday from Costco and a WD 1TB USB drive.

i have BluRay rips on my HTPC as ISO's
MrMcCrackin is offline  
post #921 of 1011 Old 07-12-2010, 02:28 PM
Member
 
knoxbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Winter Haven, FL USA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought that I read someplace (DBSTalk maybe) that Sony was coming out with a firmware upgrade which would include the ability to get to Netflix without using the Netflix disc. Am I dreaming or what?
knoxbh is offline  
post #922 of 1011 Old 07-12-2010, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxbh View Post

I thought that I read someplace (DBSTalk maybe) that Sony was coming out with a firmware upgrade which would include the ability to get to Netflix without using the Netflix disc. Am I dreaming or what?

Yes this is true maybe this year or next. We have to wait until the xbox 360 contract as the only console to support Netflix natively.
bori is offline  
post #923 of 1011 Old 07-12-2010, 04:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

Yes this is true maybe this year or next. We have to wait until the xbox 360 contract as the only console to support Netflix natively.

Supposedly that should be this fall. But only time will tell.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #924 of 1011 Old 07-16-2010, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
Enochian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how come there are two ps3 master threads?
Enochian is offline  
post #925 of 1011 Old 07-16-2010, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
Enochian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how is ps3 for streaming netflix?

I am giving it a try.

Its going to be my replacement for cable.
Enochian is offline  
post #926 of 1011 Old 07-16-2010, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enochian View Post

how is ps3 for streaming netflix?

My experience is based on having a 1.5Mbps connection. I have compared it to several stand alone players and the WD HDTV Live Plus and it holds its own. The interface is as good as any (offers the extended features). One thing to keep in mind is that the PS3 doesn't scale Netflix and passes either 480p or 720p to the display and the display itself scales it to 1080p (presuming you're using a 1080p display). So to a large degree the image is influenced by the display.

Compared to the other models I'd say...

Sony BDP-S570 - looked worse (at maximum it would only use 1/3 of available bandwidth)
Insignia - had a little more contrast (appeared sharper)
WD HDTV Live Plus - looked sharper (but overblown)
Samsung (various) - looked close
LG (various) - looked close

Again since my display (relatively new 1080p LED DLP) is doing the scaling with the PS3 and most of the other players are scaling the image you're not comparing apples to apples. Also with different bandwidth your results may vary...
Charles R is offline  
post #927 of 1011 Old 07-16-2010, 04:31 PM
Newbie
 
Enochian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow, what an in depth reply!
Enochian is offline  
post #928 of 1011 Old 07-16-2010, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enochian View Post

how come there are two ps3 master threads?

Ones for the older PS3 models, one is for the newer PS3 Slim models.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
post #929 of 1011 Old 07-20-2010, 10:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
cp1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enochian View Post

how is ps3 for streaming netflix?

I am giving it a try.

Its going to be my replacement for cable.


I have heard that regular def programs are pkay, but hi-def is not that great. How about the sound (Dolby Digital, DTS) quality? I am pretty sure the hi-def audio formats is not available with the service.
cp1966 is offline  
post #930 of 1011 Old 09-21-2010, 11:06 AM
Member
 
lonestarwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm considering purchasing a PS3 as a blu ray player. It'd be nice to play some games too.

I remember 2 or 3 years ago, it seems like the PS3 didn't support HD audio formats. Is this still the case, or can it do that now?

I don't even have an HDMI receiver at this point, so for now video will go straight to the TV via HDMI and I'll use analog stereo outputs for audio. I'd like HD audio options for the future though.

Is the fan noise still pretty bad?

I understand the PS3 is 3D capable too, which should be good since my TV is.

Thanks!

Also: What are my options with universal remotes compatible with the PS3?
lonestarwings is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off