Official PS3-Slim Master Thread-Post all comments and questions here! - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1011 Old 11-22-2011, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Disable BD-Live auto-connection and see if that helps. In some cases, this can cause significant issues when loading a BD. I have 100+ titles on BD and I've experienced at most loading issues twice in 3 years.

If you continue to experience problems, it may be an issue with your PS3.
tezster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1011 Old 12-01-2011, 10:22 AM
Member
 
alrha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a 320GB Slim (replacing an old Fat one) - boy it feels so much lighter. almost feels like its missing something - feels like a real nice toy.

Pioneer Elite SC-57
Playstation3 (Slim 320GB)
Samsung SMT-C5320 (Cablevision box)
4x Mirage OMD-5
1x Mirage OMD-C1
1x Martin Logan Dynamo 500 SW
2x Mirage OmniSat V2 (Kitchen)
alrha is offline  
post #993 of 1011 Old 12-01-2011, 10:32 AM
Member
 
XTRME 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by alrha View Post

Just got a 320GB Slim (replacing an old Fat one) - boy it feels so much lighter. almost feels like its missing something - feels like a real nice toy.

It is missing something, PS2 capabilities, SACD support, a couple of USB Ports, and a jet engine fan on the power supply!
ez1dog likes this.
XTRME 94 is offline  
post #994 of 1011 Old 12-01-2011, 10:43 AM
Member
 
alrha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PS2 is so old school. lol.
Most people like us on here tend to always like to have the latest and the greatest. Why want PS2 quality when you have PS3?

Pioneer Elite SC-57
Playstation3 (Slim 320GB)
Samsung SMT-C5320 (Cablevision box)
4x Mirage OMD-5
1x Mirage OMD-C1
1x Martin Logan Dynamo 500 SW
2x Mirage OmniSat V2 (Kitchen)
alrha is offline  
post #995 of 1011 Old 12-01-2011, 11:04 AM
Member
 
XTRME 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by alrha View Post

PS2 is so old school. lol.
Most people like us on here tend to always like to have the latest and the greatest. Why want PS2 quality when you have PS3?

When I bought my FAT, I wanted BOTH. Now after 3 1/2 years, it's Blu-ray drive is dead again and I don't have many PS2 games left, so I bought a new slim. But my daughter still has a bunch of PS2 games she still plays, so instead of a new Slim, she wants me to get the old Fat fixed again and give it to her! :-)
XTRME 94 is offline  
post #996 of 1011 Old 12-01-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
alrha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just buy her new games instead of repairing the fat one.

Pioneer Elite SC-57
Playstation3 (Slim 320GB)
Samsung SMT-C5320 (Cablevision box)
4x Mirage OMD-5
1x Mirage OMD-C1
1x Martin Logan Dynamo 500 SW
2x Mirage OmniSat V2 (Kitchen)
alrha is offline  
post #997 of 1011 Old 12-01-2011, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
My slim seems to have problems with MANY older DVDs in that that sound like a jet engine is about to take off when inserted I've had to buy a DVD player to add to the system for these because of the noise. Anyone else experiencing this? I've had this slim for about a year but never used it for DVDs until now. Have always used it for PS3 games. It seems AOK with BluRays. Strange!!!
rakstr is offline  
post #998 of 1011 Old 12-01-2011, 05:54 PM
Member
 
mstrength's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a little pissed off that my 250GB slim won't play just about all of my blu rays now. It won't even load a couple that its previously played. Just makes the humming noise and then a loud clunk. I bought it more for the blu ray player than games and it won't even play them. Such a POS and I have tried everything and even did a total reset.
mstrength is offline  
post #999 of 1011 Old 12-06-2011, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
crakarjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstrength View Post

I have the 250GB slim PS3 and I've been having problems with it reading certain blu-ray discs. It plays every game I have (only 4) and every DVD just fine and even plays some blu-rays without a problem.

The wife wanted to watch Twilight again before she went to see the new Vampire crap so I put in the blu-ray. All I got was a loud clunking noise and nothing ever showed. I put in the DVD and it loaded fine. Is there some sort of fix for this type thing?

Thanks!

I had to replace the blu-ray laser in mine with one I got off ebay for ~$35. Mine was a slightly older 160Gb model. Mine would play DVDs but no games or blu-ray movies, which gave it away. If DVDs still work and BD stops working altogether, it's probable that this is the problem. Pretty easy to replace to laser via directions online.
crakarjax is offline  
post #1000 of 1011 Old 12-06-2011, 06:03 AM
Member
 
mstrength's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crakarjax View Post

I had to replace the blu-ray laser in mine with one I got off ebay for ~$35. Mine was a slightly older 160Gb model. Mine would play DVDs but no games or blu-ray movies, which gave it away. If DVDs still work and BD stops working altogether, it's probable that this is the problem. Pretty easy to replace to laser via directions online.

The thing that frustrates me is it will play every game I own flawless, and every DVD that its ever seen.

I never had a problem with blu rays really after I re-synced it to play 3D. I got Megamind 3D blu ray with my TV and others and it played them after the re-sync.

It played No Country for Old Men, Limitless, Megamind, and a couple other blu rays a few months ago.

I bought The Dark Knight and Inception on black friday for $5 and neither will play, so I tried No County, Megamind and one other and none would load. I popped in Talladega Nights and it loaded right up. The special features of Dark Knight loaded up as well.

Perhaps my laser is going bad, sucks that such an expensive piece of equipment dies so soon.
mstrength is offline  
post #1001 of 1011 Old 01-16-2012, 11:30 AM
Member
 
innatetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XTRME 94 View Post

It is missing something, PS2 capabilities, SACD support, a couple of USB Ports, and a jet engine fan on the power supply!

This is something I've been trying to figure out lately. I need to finally get around to buying a PS3. I'm going to go the ebay + squaretrade route. Should I go for the fat or slim? I'm fine with HW upgrades, so it seems like the best bet is to snag a cheap "fat" 40GB model used or refurbed and slap a 2.5" notebook hard-drive in there.

Is there a good reason to prefer the slim other than noise? In my study/screening room I sit directly under a Benq W6000, so I doubt I'll be hearing the PS3 fan over the PJ fan. In the LR, I sit a good 12' away from the TV & components, so probably not a huge issue there either.

PS2 compat does matter to me, because I haven't actively played consoles since PS2/xbox era, and still have plenty of those discs around. Plus I like preserving access to old titles long term.I still have all of my consoles back to the NES, somewhere (in various states of repair.) As I do still have a 2nd gen PS2 that works, maybe the Slim PS3 is a better choice, to maintain PS1 compatibility--which I don't have anymore? (Just how compatible is it?) Will the fat PS3 do a better job with PS2 games on an HDTV than will the PS2 itself?

Is a used fat PS3 a better choice to hopefully avoid Cinavia?

Any other thoughts appreciated, especially if there are conflicting BR player considerations vs. gaming considerations that escape me.
innatetech is offline  
post #1002 of 1011 Old 01-16-2012, 03:45 PM
Member
 
rupterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I would get a slim rather than a phat. Your getting the same quality in a more reliable design. How much more reliable is not certain quite yet. Any phat at this time is a ticking time bomb, Squaretrade or not. If you want to play PS2 games, just get that console as well. They are cheap and very reliable.
rupterr is offline  
post #1003 of 1011 Old 01-16-2012, 04:53 PM
Member
 
innatetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupterr View Post

I would get a slim rather than a phat. Your getting the same quality in a more reliable design. How much more reliable is not certain quite yet. Any phat at this time is a ticking time bomb, Squaretrade or not. If you want to play PS2 games, just get that console as well. They are cheap and very reliable.

Well, the 1st rev PS2's were not reliable. My second PS2, which is the revised version, still works. Sounds like the same deal all over again, if the first versions really are bound to fail sooner or later. I'll look at slims instead, I suppose. Guaranteed failure is a pretty strong con, heh.

Thanks.
innatetech is offline  
post #1004 of 1011 Old 01-16-2012, 05:06 PM
Member
 
XTRME 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
According to Sony, a Slim is cheaper to repair if it's outside of warranty than a Fat as well!
XTRME 94 is offline  
post #1005 of 1011 Old 11-12-2012, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
RobertWy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bellaire, Texas, 77401
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by innatetech View Post


This is something I've been trying to figure out lately. I need to finally get around to buying a PS3. I'm going to go the ebay + squaretrade route. Should I go for the fat or slim? I'm fine with HW upgrades, so it seems like the best bet is to snag a cheap "fat" 40GB model used or refurbed and slap a 2.5" notebook hard-drive in there.


Is there a good reason to prefer the slim other than noise? In my study/screening room I sit directly under a Benq W6000, so I doubt I'll be hearing the PS3 fan over the PJ fan. In the LR, I sit a good 12' away from the TV & components, so probably not a huge issue there either.


PS2 compat does matter to me, because I haven't actively played consoles since PS2/xbox era, and still have plenty of those discs around. Plus I like preserving access to old titles long term.I still have all of my consoles back to the NES, somewhere (in various states of repair.) As I do still have a 2nd gen PS2 that works, maybe the Slim PS3 is a better choice, to maintain PS1 compatibility--which I don't have anymore? (Just how compatible is it?) Will the fat PS3 do a better job with PS2 games on an HDTV than will the PS2 itself?


Is a used fat PS3 a better choice to hopefully avoid Cinavia?


Any other thoughts appreciated, especially if there are conflicting BR player considerations vs. gaming considerations that escape me.

I'm going to get the slim for my Onkyo home theater HDMI CEC (RIHD) which integrates with my TV.

Robert
RobertWy is offline  
post #1006 of 1011 Old 12-14-2012, 06:03 AM
Newbie
 
Rucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,
this is my first experience with the whole Home Theater system. Recently I have bought these stuff

1. PS3 Super Slim
2. Yamaha RX V473 Receiver
3. Harman Kardon 5.1 Surround Sound

I am already having a new HDTV.

So now my problem is that, the PS3 is not detecting my HDD where all my music/films are stored. I have tried it with the USB port on my receiver, but it says access not possible.

So can somebody answer these questions

1. What is the best way to hook up my HDD to my home theatre, I can directly hook it up to the HDTV but that means I cannot enjoy the surround sound.
2. Is there any possibility to hook it up with the receiver, I think I can forget it with my PS3?
3. If all the above mentioned things are not possible, then what is better solution for my problem?

Any information regarding this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks
Rucky is offline  
post #1007 of 1011 Old 12-28-2012, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
pghflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my PS3 slim connected to an Onkyo 818. Couldn't for the life of me figure out why I could only bitstream up to 5.1 audio. Went into my Sound Settings, which were set to auto and showing some options grayed out.

Just for the heck of it, I set it to manual and checked EVERY option. Now, everything is working again. Any idea why the PS3 auto function would be messed up?
pghflyer is offline  
post #1008 of 1011 Old 03-05-2013, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Is anyone alive?! I have a question about hooking up a ps3 as a CD player with a onkyo 3009.

Is anyone using a ps3 as a CD player with the 3009? I am and would like to get the best sound possible. How would I hook it up? Right now I am using a hdmi cable between the two. When I put in a cd, my 3009 is set to BD. am I using the internal DAC of the ps3, or the 3009 this way? I would like to bypass the DAC in the ps3 and use the one in the 3009. Should I use a optical cable into the cd input of the 3009?

My dual sealed LMS 5400 Ultra build
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...0-build-4.html
SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #1009 of 1011 Old 03-07-2013, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Zero G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rucky View Post

Hi guys,
this is my first experience with the whole Home Theater system. Recently I have bought these stuff

1. PS3 Super Slim
2. Yamaha RX V473 Receiver
3. Harman Kardon 5.1 Surround Sound

I am already having a new HDTV.

So now my problem is that, the PS3 is not detecting my HDD where all my music/films are stored. I have tried it with the USB port on my receiver, but it says access not possible.

So can somebody answer these questions

1. What is the best way to hook up my HDD to my home theatre, I can directly hook it up to the HDTV but that means I cannot enjoy the surround sound.
2. Is there any possibility to hook it up with the receiver, I think I can forget it with my PS3?
3. If all the above mentioned things are not possible, then what is better solution for my problem?

Any information regarding this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks
PS3 can only detect drives formatted in Fat32. Likely yours is NTFS. You could use PS3 Media server on a pc on your network and then share out your drive that way. The PS3 would be able to detect the media player and allow access to your files. I have 2 Western Digital WD Live Plus media players with a 1TB drive connected to each. They are both on my home network and I have my desktop pc with PS3 Media Server sharing the files of both. It works very well.
Zero G is offline  
post #1010 of 1011 Old 03-07-2013, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Zero G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingNirvana View Post

Is anyone alive?! I have a question about hooking up a ps3 as a CD player with a onkyo 3009.

Is anyone using a ps3 as a CD player with the 3009? I am and would like to get the best sound possible. How would I hook it up? Right now I am using a hdmi cable between the two. When I put in a cd, my 3009 is set to BD. am I using the internal DAC of the ps3, or the 3009 this way? I would like to bypass the DAC in the ps3 and use the one in the 3009. Should I use a optical cable into the cd input of the 3009?
HDMI sends out digital to your Onkyo, which in turn uses its dac. This method bypasses the PS3 dac. So in effect you are already doing what you need to.
Zero G is offline  
post #1011 of 1011 Old 03-07-2013, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Thanks for the reply

My dual sealed LMS 5400 Ultra build
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...0-build-4.html
SeekingNirvana is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off