Denon DBP-4010UDCI - Page 42 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1257 Old 05-18-2014, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Here is an example picture I just took. The movie I am watching is Turbo and on EVERY chapter of the movie, it will automatically do a chapter pop up to show you the next chapter.

I am thinking either something is wrong with the bluray disc or the 4010 needs a software update.

Please click on image to enlarge:





I just tried to do a software update for this player and it is not working. Right now when I do the CHECK FOR UPDATE, the player is showing Please Wait...

And it still showing "Please Wait..." for about 30 minutes now. Maybe Denon is NOT supporting this player anymore.

Does anyone know when was the last software update or the latest software version for the 4010?

Thank you.
mantaraydesign is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1257 Old 05-18-2014, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Finally, the player is showing "Firmware is up to date".

So the problem is with the movie Turbo and not the 4010. I put the movie Turbo with my other bluray player and it is not showing the Chapter menu pop up.

I am thinking this player need another new software update to fix the problem with the Turbo movie. All other movies I played with the 4010 do not have the Chapter menu pop up.
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1233 of 1257 Old 05-18-2014, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not sure it will help, but I notice that on my dbp-a100, after I resume play following a pause, the chapter screen pops up at the next chapter break. That's it though, not throughout the whole movie. This "feature" isn't documented.

I watched Turbo in 3D, so can't say how it performed on the 4010's twin brother. In a few days I can check it out with my non-3d version of Turbo. Btw, loved that movie. I must be regressing into childhood cool.gif
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #1234 of 1257 Old 05-18-2014, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The bluray Turbo movie I have is in 2D. But yes, the chapter screen pops up throughout the whole movie, on every chapter. The chapter pop up screen will only stay for about 2 seconds.

Let me know about the 2D version of Turbo. The movie is brand new and not a rental. If it was a rental disc, I can understand the chapter screen pops up because of scratches on the disc.
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1235 of 1257 Old 05-18-2014, 10:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ImaStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oz in Michigan
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've had this happen when I have paused some movies then at chapter intervals the Chapter screen would pop up, but only noticeably after I've used the pause in certain movies. My player's software is up to date but such as the case with "Saving Mr. Banks" for instance. No big deal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLA View Post

Anyone tried playing Blu-Ray HD Audio discs on their 4010 player. I recently bought 3, tried playing them, not able to navigate the initial menu that pops up ( Elton John's Yellow Brick Road and two Beethoven discs ). I tried the disc layer button, which is the one to use, according to the owner's manual but that did not solve the problem. Appreciate any help. Thanks. PLA.

I initially had the same issue with the Blu-Ray HD Audio of Patricia Barber's "Modern Cool", but no problem with the Blu-Ray of "The Legends of Jazz". So figuring it may be the optical lens' ability to read high resolution audio I tried cleaning my player. Was a bit leery about using anything other than forced air after reading some issues with users' optical lenses quitting, but tried an old standby cleaning disc: "The Allsop Carbonedge 23321 Laser Lens Cleaner" -For DVD and CD players. Turns out it worked like a charm and played the Hd Audio disc without fail. Also seemed to help with finicky play of Fox titles like Avatar. I've since been using the cleaning disc regularly on both of my players with zero problems.

Knowing is not enough you must apply. Willing is not enough you must do. -Bruce Lee

ImaStar is offline  
post #1236 of 1257 Old 05-19-2014, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Just spoke with Denon this morning. The player just need a new firmware update and that should fix the chapter pop up menu. But they don't know when the next update will be.
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1237 of 1257 Old 05-24-2014, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Anyone got the emai address for Denon Tech support in Canada? Just picked up this player to do along with my Denon AVR A100. Put in the Avatar BluRay and it won't play.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1238 of 1257 Old 05-26-2014, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Watching the new Thor, the chapter pop up happens on Chapter 4, with a stutter
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1239 of 1257 Old 06-02-2014, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Chalk up another title not working. Promethius
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1240 of 1257 Old 06-02-2014, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Digione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post

Chalk up another title not working. Promethius

I have the A100 which is the same hardware and software as the 4010. It's firmware is up to date and I have no problems with either the chapter issue on any disc or any other issue come to that including Prometheus and Thor. However they all take "forever" to load; not so on my Oppo 103 smile.gif.
Digione is offline  
post #1241 of 1257 Old 06-10-2014, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Is it possible to do a Reset on this player? I mean to do a factory reset just like the first day you receive the player. I was not able to find the reset instruction within the manual.

Thanks for any advice!
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1242 of 1257 Old 06-16-2014, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
Chalk up another title not working. Promethius
Taken 2 and also A Good Day to Die Harder don't play.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1243 of 1257 Old 06-26-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Solved my issue. Did an exchange at my dealer and all is well. Time to get back to watching my collection again.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1244 of 1257 Old 06-28-2014, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The Denon Link 4th problems solved.

Last edited by mantaraydesign; 07-01-2014 at 06:38 PM. Reason: Solved
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1245 of 1257 Old 09-01-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Any one have an issue with Monuments Men? At the 22:27 point, it freezes on me?
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1246 of 1257 Old 09-06-2014, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Any videos or instructs on how to get at the laser lense. Want to give it an alcohol swab clean
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1247 of 1257 Old 09-06-2014, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
There was a post or two in this thread about opening the 4010 to get at the laser, but I don't think they went into any detail.
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #1248 of 1257 Old 09-06-2014, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
In post 1166 dilberttv has a link to some pictures that might help you.
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #1249 of 1257 Old 11-20-2014, 12:37 PM
Member
 
dilberttv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
There was a post or two in this thread about opening the 4010 to get at the laser, but I don't think they went into any detail.
Yea back at 1163 I said what I did to fix mine when it stopped reading blurays and linked some pics I found on the net of the 4010's inards a few posts later. I've had to repeat that procedure 1 more time since then. Getting at the 4010 lens is not easy but it looks more intimidating than it actually is. Last time I was in and out in like half an hour. The quickest way is to just undo the side with the least leads and carefully flip it and rest it, whereas the first time I completely removed it. I'd say its still a try at your own risk sort of thing...got it working fine again. As a side note, The Denon does'nt like to read some blus by Fox for some reason. I have an Oppo 103 besides and between the 2 machines I've been able to play anything but my go to player is the Denon.
dilberttv is offline  
post #1250 of 1257 Old 12-31-2014, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Had to send my player into Denon for repair. Having too many issues with not working with discs, even some of the newly released ones(Monuments Men, Live/Die/Repeat)
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1251 of 1257 Old 01-29-2015, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
Had to send my player into Denon for repair. Having too many issues with not working with discs, even some of the newly released ones(Monuments Men, Live/Die/Repeat)
Got the piece of crap unit back after 2mths from the Denon Authorized repair depot. Still not fixed. Have to hand it to my dealer. Got a full refund, even though I bought it last May. Really pays to do your business at one place.

Last edited by Kevin. W; 01-30-2015 at 07:56 PM.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1252 of 1257 Old 03-30-2015, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
MoFoHo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question, if anybody still owns one of these?

Does using denon link disable coaxial/optical digital output?

I was thinking of buying a small DAC/headphone amplifier, and connecting it to the coaxial/optical digital audio output. However, since I use DL4, and HDMI, the 'digital out' menu is greyed out. I wanted to change it from bitstream to LPCM. However I was only able to go into the 'digital out' sub-menu AFTER I'd turned off Denon Link.
Does this mean that coaxial/optical digital out is disabled when I re-activate Denon Link?
MoFoHo is online now  
post #1253 of 1257 Old 05-23-2015, 12:56 AM
Senior Member
 
ImaStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oz in Michigan
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilberttv View Post
Mine worked mostly well for a pretty long time (almost 3 years), but last week said "no disc" on any blurays (though it still would read DVD/CD/SACD with no problems). I had contacted Denon and they said I'd have to pay for any repair and could give me no estimate on what replacing the laser assembly would cost, if that was the problem (manufacturers sometimes cover units well beyond the warranty period especially for "known issues", but covered service was not offered by anyone I spoke to. I figured this was going to be at least a few hundred to ship and have them fix).
Over the weekend I decided to give it a go myself before resorting to sending for service. I took out the video board and the transport top to gain direct access to the laser assembly and gave both of the lenses a very thorough cleaning (compressed air. then a gentle swiping using cotton ball lightly dampened with pure alcohol, then more compressed air, then dabbed it with a small piece of Mr. Clean Magic eraser sponge moistened with a drop or two of disc doctor quick clean Lp cleaner, then more compressed air, then brushed with a super soft dry cosmetic brush, and finally more compressed air. I looked at the lenses with a magnifying glass afterwards and they are as clean and clear as they will ever be). I also oiled the tracks. Tested it out and my Denon 4010 Works A OK with all disc types now. After initial testing I watched a couple blurays which played perfectly.
Although I had some success with compressed air sprayed form drawer slot in the past it did not do the trick this time, also the bluray lens/disc type of cleaner I got at best buy did not resolve the issue either- so I had to go under the hood. People who have gone into their gear before to do maintenance or "mods" should'nt find it too difficult. But being a very expensive player, it is a little intimidating. Anyone who mounts phono cartridges on turntables might be familiar with that feeling, and the same degree of care and caution applies.
After you take the cover off, the video board has screws at the back and top, plus there's a lot of ribbon cables and 2 power supply wire plugs- they are'nt too hard to take on and off, gently pull and wiggle, and there's a couple that have the little latches on them, flip up for off and down to put back on (and you may in fact be able to get away with taking wires/ribbons off of board on left side only and flipping the board over to the right allowing access to the transport cover, which is probably what I'll try next time I clean it, I took the whole board out to spec out what was on it- like the Anchor bay video processing chip). The transport lid has really small screws but it lifts right off once you remove them- and there it is- your laser assembly- one lens for DVD/CD and one for bluray (which has the characteristic blue tint to it). In the past I have usually cleaned player lenses myself but was put off by how hard it is to get to the 4010's lens, and so avoided it until now.
One of my players is starting to not play most discs so I'm going to try and clean the laser lens(es) using your method. Just curious though of what did you use to oil the tracks? Also curious if you/someone has tried to replace the laser lens with those found on eBay? Somewhat daunting so advice would be fantastic.

Knowing is not enough you must apply. Willing is not enough you must do. -Bruce Lee

ImaStar is offline  
post #1254 of 1257 Old Yesterday, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
gregot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: near Paris, France
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi, I own the french / european version of this player (DBP-4010UD) and I have replaced the lens module on my own. After looking for a lens module that looked exactly the same as the one in the Denon player, I eventually found out that the DBP-4010UD and the Sony PS3 share the same lens module. Reference is KES-410A. I ordered one from ebay. As I wasn't sure whether it would work or not I chose the cheapest one I could find. I took the time to replace the lens module carefully.
It's been a year and a half that this PS3 module is in use in my Denon player and discs play just fine, exactly as they did before the original lens gave out. And I mean all discs (CD, DVD-V, DVD-A, SACD, BD).
The process of doing it yourself can be tricky but it's far from impossible. I took some pictures explaining how to do it. I can provide them if you like.
deckarep likes this.
gregot is online now  
post #1255 of 1257 Old Today, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ImaStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oz in Michigan
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Pictures would be great! I've actually seen some of those lenses on eBay. Interesting that these use the same lens module as the PS3. The PS3 starts so much faster (maybe even faster than Oppos) than the DBP-4010. But I don't mind the slow load time of the 4010 even while having the PS3 SACD unit and once the Oppo 83. The picture and sound using Denonlink with the 4010 is much bettter than these, and many other units in my experience

Knowing is not enough you must apply. Willing is not enough you must do. -Bruce Lee

ImaStar is offline  
post #1256 of 1257 Old Today, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
MoFoHo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before changing the lens module, have you tried just cleaning the lens with a cotton bud? I've done this twice now with great results. My DBP-4010 is used pretty much on a daily basis.
Last time I cleaned the lens I noticed quite a lot of dust around the sides of the disc tray, so gave that a good clean too.
MoFoHo is online now  
post #1257 of 1257 Old Today, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
ImaStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oz in Michigan
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Haven't tried with a cotton yet but that's my first step per post 1253. Up until now been cleaning with cleaner disc and compressed aerosol spray that worked fine. Just checking about the aftermarket lenses in the event of worst case scenario... But yeah that's cart before horse at this point. I'll do the cotton clean and share results in a couple days.

Knowing is not enough you must apply. Willing is not enough you must do. -Bruce Lee

ImaStar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Denon , Blu Ray Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off