Denon DBP-4010UDCI - Page 42 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1248 Old 05-18-2014, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Here is an example picture I just took. The movie I am watching is Turbo and on EVERY chapter of the movie, it will automatically do a chapter pop up to show you the next chapter.

I am thinking either something is wrong with the bluray disc or the 4010 needs a software update.

Please click on image to enlarge:





I just tried to do a software update for this player and it is not working. Right now when I do the CHECK FOR UPDATE, the player is showing Please Wait...

And it still showing "Please Wait..." for about 30 minutes now. Maybe Denon is NOT supporting this player anymore.

Does anyone know when was the last software update or the latest software version for the 4010?

Thank you.
mantaraydesign is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1248 Old 05-18-2014, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Finally, the player is showing "Firmware is up to date".

So the problem is with the movie Turbo and not the 4010. I put the movie Turbo with my other bluray player and it is not showing the Chapter menu pop up.

I am thinking this player need another new software update to fix the problem with the Turbo movie. All other movies I played with the 4010 do not have the Chapter menu pop up.
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1233 of 1248 Old 05-18-2014, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Not sure it will help, but I notice that on my dbp-a100, after I resume play following a pause, the chapter screen pops up at the next chapter break. That's it though, not throughout the whole movie. This "feature" isn't documented.

I watched Turbo in 3D, so can't say how it performed on the 4010's twin brother. In a few days I can check it out with my non-3d version of Turbo. Btw, loved that movie. I must be regressing into childhood cool.gif
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #1234 of 1248 Old 05-18-2014, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The bluray Turbo movie I have is in 2D. But yes, the chapter screen pops up throughout the whole movie, on every chapter. The chapter pop up screen will only stay for about 2 seconds.

Let me know about the 2D version of Turbo. The movie is brand new and not a rental. If it was a rental disc, I can understand the chapter screen pops up because of scratches on the disc.
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1235 of 1248 Old 05-18-2014, 10:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ImaStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've had this happen when I have paused some movies then at chapter intervals the Chapter screen would pop up, but only noticeably after I've used the pause in certain movies. My player's software is up to date but such as the case with "Saving Mr. Banks" for instance. No big deal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLA View Post

Anyone tried playing Blu-Ray HD Audio discs on their 4010 player. I recently bought 3, tried playing them, not able to navigate the initial menu that pops up ( Elton John's Yellow Brick Road and two Beethoven discs ). I tried the disc layer button, which is the one to use, according to the owner's manual but that did not solve the problem. Appreciate any help. Thanks. PLA.

I initially had the same issue with the Blu-Ray HD Audio of Patricia Barber's "Modern Cool", but no problem with the Blu-Ray of "The Legends of Jazz". So figuring it may be the optical lens' ability to read high resolution audio I tried cleaning my player. Was a bit leery about using anything other than forced air after reading some issues with users' optical lenses quitting, but tried an old standby cleaning disc: "The Allsop Carbonedge 23321 Laser Lens Cleaner" -For DVD and CD players. Turns out it worked like a charm and played the Hd Audio disc without fail. Also seemed to help with finicky play of Fox titles like Avatar. I've since been using the cleaning disc regularly on both of my players with zero problems.

Knowing is not enough you must apply. Willing is not enough you must do. -Bruce Lee

ImaStar is offline  
post #1236 of 1248 Old 05-19-2014, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just spoke with Denon this morning. The player just need a new firmware update and that should fix the chapter pop up menu. But they don't know when the next update will be.
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1237 of 1248 Old 05-24-2014, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone got the emai address for Denon Tech support in Canada? Just picked up this player to do along with my Denon AVR A100. Put in the Avatar BluRay and it won't play.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1238 of 1248 Old 05-26-2014, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching the new Thor, the chapter pop up happens on Chapter 4, with a stutter
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1239 of 1248 Old 06-02-2014, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chalk up another title not working. Promethius
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1240 of 1248 Old 06-02-2014, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Digione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post

Chalk up another title not working. Promethius

I have the A100 which is the same hardware and software as the 4010. It's firmware is up to date and I have no problems with either the chapter issue on any disc or any other issue come to that including Prometheus and Thor. However they all take "forever" to load; not so on my Oppo 103 smile.gif.
Digione is offline  
post #1241 of 1248 Old 06-10-2014, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Is it possible to do a Reset on this player? I mean to do a factory reset just like the first day you receive the player. I was not able to find the reset instruction within the manual.

Thanks for any advice!
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1242 of 1248 Old 06-16-2014, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
Chalk up another title not working. Promethius
Taken 2 and also A Good Day to Die Harder don't play.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1243 of 1248 Old 06-26-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solved my issue. Did an exchange at my dealer and all is well. Time to get back to watching my collection again.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1244 of 1248 Old 06-28-2014, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
mantaraydesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The Denon Link 4th problems solved.

Last edited by mantaraydesign; 07-01-2014 at 06:38 PM. Reason: Solved
mantaraydesign is offline  
post #1245 of 1248 Old 09-01-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one have an issue with Monuments Men? At the 22:27 point, it freezes on me?
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1246 of 1248 Old 09-06-2014, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any videos or instructs on how to get at the laser lense. Want to give it an alcohol swab clean
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1247 of 1248 Old 09-06-2014, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There was a post or two in this thread about opening the 4010 to get at the laser, but I don't think they went into any detail.
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #1248 of 1248 Old 09-06-2014, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
In post 1166 dilberttv has a link to some pictures that might help you.
jasonmichaelh is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Denon , Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off