PS3 Slim Audio Issue - Firmware 3.0 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Are You have problems with bitsatream DTS-HD MA audio on PS3 Slim with 3.0 firmware?
My PS3 Slim with 3.0 firmware bitstreams DTS-HD MA normally. 0 0%
My PS3 Slim with 3.0 firmware is having problems bitstreaming DTS-HD MA tracks. 0 0%
I don't understand the question. 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 303 Old 09-03-2009, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is definitely a bug in the 3.0 firmware causing problems for some people using bitstream output of advanced audio codecs, mostly DTS-HD MA. I'm curious to see how widespread and if the problem is specific to certain brands of receivers or processors.

Please post make and model of receiver or processor in the thread if the poll questions applies to you (and you elect to answer it).

For me, Pioneer Elite SC-07. Firmware 2.76 works normally, 3.0 results in dropping of DTS-HD MA audio tracks.
Robert George is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 303 Old 09-03-2009, 09:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Pioneer 1018AH-K issue with DTS-HD MA on firmware 3.0. Never had a chance to check out if dts-hd worked on the previous firmware.
dazz87 is offline  
post #3 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 01:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
SAVholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Porta del Sol, PR
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yamaha RX-V1800 2.76 & 3.0 with no problems

"My English is not very good looking" - Celia Cruz

SAVholic is offline  
post #4 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 09:12 AM
Member
 
THE DU3C3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Denon 4308 no problems.
THE DU3C3 is offline  
post #5 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 3,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Denon 1909 with 3.00 and no problems...tested with Valkyrie last night, jumping back and forth with chapter and I could not make it drop out once. I will vote, once I get more DTS-HD MA dics under my belt. But I'm 2 for 2 now playing fine.

PSN ID: dogdoctor
dogdoctor is offline  
post #6 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Denny_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Here
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAVholic View Post

Yamaha RX-V1800 2.76 & 3.0 with no problems

I have the same setup (Yamaha 1800 and 2.76), this is good news.
I may try the 3.0 this weekend. If it causes any issues, I could just exchange the unit for another new one.
Denny_S is offline  
post #7 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 10:30 AM
Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Pioneer Elite VSX-91TXH, no issues here.
skip61 is offline  
post #8 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This few PS3 owners that use the bitstream feature? Obviously more than the actual number of votes here, but 290 views and 7 votes?

That is more interesting than the results of the poll.
Robert George is offline  
post #9 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert George View Post

This few PS3 owners that use the bitstream feature? Obviously more than the actual number of votes here, but 290 views and 7 votes?

That is more interesting than the results of the poll.

There aren't that many Slims out there yet.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #10 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hobbs47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Huntington Beach,CA
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

There aren't that many Slims out there yet.

Yep. I am still considering it. I have a 1st gen 20GB PS3,it has been perfect, except it doesn't have built in wifi, and it doesn't bitstream. Are those feautures enough for me to buy a slim? Maybe. I may wait for amazon to bundle it with some free movies or something though. And yeah, I guess I would like to see my receiver light up with truehd,etc.

hobbs47 is offline  
post #11 of 303 Old 09-04-2009, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched two DTS-HD MA bds on my PS3 slim so far after updating to 3.0 & no problems bitstreaming.
tboo is offline  
post #12 of 303 Old 09-06-2009, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Denny_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Here
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboo View Post

Just watched two DTS-HD MA bds on my PS3 slim so far after updating to 3.0 & no problems bitstreaming.

Which receiver are you using?
Denny_S is offline  
post #13 of 303 Old 09-06-2009, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny_S View Post

Which receiver are you using?

Yamaha Z-11
tboo is offline  
post #14 of 303 Old 09-07-2009, 04:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Pioneer SC-05 with problems. Worked fine before firmware 3.0 update.
Mikazaru is online now  
post #15 of 303 Old 09-07-2009, 07:54 AM
Member
 
rajendra82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What does are you have mean? I don't understand the question.
rajendra82 is offline  
post #16 of 303 Old 09-07-2009, 09:28 AM
Member
 
roadroach357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer SC-07 with DTS-HD MA and TrueHD bitstreaming problems with PS3 firmware 2.76 and 3.0.
roadroach357 is offline  
post #17 of 303 Old 09-08-2009, 09:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 828
I had no problem with my PS3 Slim bitstreaming to a Denon 3808 when I tried it out on Friday.

But for me it really doesn't matter anyway since I don't normally use any discs with my PS3. I mainly use it for digital downloads. The PS3 Slim uses much less power than my PS3 FAT does.
I just wish the PS3 Slim was quieter. I have no problem hearing it from 20 feet away, just like I can hear the fans in the TiVo from 20 feet away, only the PS3 Slim is much louder.

Although the PS3 SLim is quiter than my PS3 FAt after it's been on for around 10 minutes. The first 10 minutes my PS3 Fat is on, it's quieter than my PS3 SLim.
The Slim noise level seemed to be constant and never really changed for the couple of hours I had it on when testing it.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #18 of 303 Old 09-08-2009, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toeside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW, I had a very similar issue with an LG BD370 bitstreaming to a Pioneer VSX-819h and Yamaha RX-V465. I'm not sure that issue has been fixed in firmware yet by LG. I took the player back and bought a Panasonic DMP-BD60.

I'm interested in this issue as I'm considering a PS3 slim (connected to an Onkyo TX-SR507) for the rec room.

My Media Room Construction thread. Work began 2/15/05, finished 7.1 install 6/2005. Sold house 7/2007.
Toeside is offline  
post #19 of 303 Old 09-08-2009, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
JeffNebraska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Onkyo 886 pre/pro is getting bitstream without a hitch. Loved my PS3 fat, loving my PS3 slim.

Jeffnebraska
After 7 Years With a JVC RS1 - Starting to Get the Upgrade Itch
JeffNebraska is offline  
post #20 of 303 Old 09-08-2009, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
vav16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my slim last friday. Watched 2 movies one with bitstream DTS HD and one with bitstream dolby true HD - no issues.

Update to 3.0 on Sunday (wish I had seen this topic first!) and bitstream DTS HD works only occasionally. My wife was watching Twilight and some chapters would play DTS HD then for others the AVR would switch to PCM (instead of DTS HD) and there would be no sound.

I have a Pioneer VSX-01TXH AVR.

Called Sony and they have not seen any other reported cases of this issue so not currently working to correct.

Should I bring my slim back and exchange for a new one and not upgrade the firmware?
vav16 is offline  
post #21 of 303 Old 09-08-2009, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 3,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vav16 View Post

Just got my slim last friday. Watched 2 movies one with bitstream DTS HD and one with bitstream dolby true HD - no issues.

Update to 3.0 on Sunday (wish I had seen this topic first!) and bitstream DTS HD works only occasionally. My wife was watching Twilight and some chapters would play DTS HD then for others the AVR would switch to PCM (instead of DTS HD) and there would be no sound.

I have a Pioneer VSX-01TXH AVR.

Called Sony and they have not seen any other reported cases of this issue so not currently working to correct.

Should I bring my slim back and exchange for a new one and not upgrade the firmware?

It's up to you. Technically there is nothing wrong with your PS3. It updated fine and if you didn't have the Poineer, as it seems, you'd still be in the clear. So, you can either keep it and change the Audio to LPCM and hope that Sony released a patch fix (or Pioneer does). I would call Sony every other day until you get a case number and try to share case numbers with other AVSers so you don't all get the "I've think your the first to report this" standard line. Or, you could just return it, not upgrade the FW and hope Sony releases a patch. If you do this however, you will never go online with the slim until that time happens. In either case, the wait for Sony could be very long.

PSN ID: dogdoctor
dogdoctor is offline  
post #22 of 303 Old 09-09-2009, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
As bad as this sounds -- I wish that the problem was more widespread. Since this seems to only affect a minority of people (Pioneer receiver owners), the chances of having this flaw addressed is less likely to occur. I don't want to exchange my Slim for another one though (being a gamer, accessing PSN is more important than bitstreaming DTS HD MA).
Mikazaru is online now  
post #23 of 303 Old 09-09-2009, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


As bad as this sounds -- I wish that the problem was more widespread. Since this seems to only affect a minority of people (Pioneer receiver owners), the chances of having this flaw addressed is less likely to occur.

Being one of the affected Pioneer owners, I would agree with you. However, there are other issues with this latest update that is affecting many more people, and I suspect the bitstream audio issue is a result of changes made in the firmware that is also affecting other features. My hope is that whatever fixes are put in place for other problems will solve the bitstream problem as well.
Robert George is offline  
post #24 of 303 Old 09-10-2009, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
benareeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
why not just switch to LPCM? Problem solved and the sound should be indentical...no?
benareeno is offline  
post #25 of 303 Old 09-10-2009, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


why not just switch to LPCM? Problem solved and the sound should be indentical...no?

No.

If internal decoding to PCM from the PS3 sounded identical to native bitstream output to my receiver, I wouldn't have sold my first gen and bought a Slim in the first place.

Besides, bitstream output is a feature of the new console. It not working is a defect. You believe people should just accept defective products?
Robert George is offline  
post #26 of 303 Old 09-10-2009, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Got the same issue with my UK Slim on 3.0 and a Pioneer VSX1018 (Euro version, natch).

These Pio's ain't exactly bullet-proof, are they? First the drop-outs on 1.5mbps DD+ tracks with my HD DVD deck, and now this.
Geoff D is offline  
post #27 of 303 Old 09-10-2009, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 194
There is a similar (but less severe) issue that TivoHD units have only when used with certain model Onkyo receivers (x05 series). Neither manufacturer has taken responsibility, or ever indicated there will be a fix.

Pioneer, like Onkyo, doesn't have a mechanism for easily doing firmware updates on installed units. Sony, like TiVo, does. It's even more transparent and automatic on the TiVo than it is on the PS3.

For you guys' sake I hope Sony is more responsive than TiVo has been. Has there ever been a "PS3 vs. Another Manufacturer's Product" incompatibility before?

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #28 of 303 Old 09-10-2009, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
benareeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't see how it could sound different...it's decoded into pcm bit for bit...it's like a zip file...it's lossless.
benareeno is offline  
post #29 of 303 Old 09-10-2009, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
I don't see how it could sound different...it's decoded into pcm bit for bit...it's like a zip file...it's lossless.

This is a whole other thread so we won't get into it here. Suffice to say there are many more variables than you are considering beyond basic decoding. You are looking at the issue from too narrow a perspective. But, rather than taking someone else's word for it either way, you can upgrade your audio system to one that can take advantage of this feature and is of sufficient quality to actually hear what some would call subtle differences in sound. Compare for yourself then judge whether "PCM is the same as bitstream".
Robert George is offline  
post #30 of 303 Old 09-11-2009, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
benareeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
bitstream becomes pcm either way....and like I said...it's a zip file scenario. This audio world is full of snake oil.
benareeno is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off