Ayre DX-5 bluray player - Page 49 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2014, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
scottsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Evanston, Il
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
Thanks for the answer. Do you work for Ayre or have inside information?? Or is this just a guess??


I was kind of hoping that Ayre was going to use the Oppo 105 as a platform for a new universal player.


Tom
I've been an Ayre dealer since 1994 when their only product was the V-3 power amp.

Things can always change, but as of now things don't seem to be headed that way.
scottsol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2014, 05:58 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Hansen View Post
Quote:

We know that many people like surround sound, which is why we paid so much attention to its implementation. It is by far the best HDMI audio output around. First of all, there are separate grounds for the audio side of the player and video side. This makes a really big difference in both audio and picture quality. It is very important to keep them separated. So the first thing to do is to run all of the video cables directly to your display and all of the audio cables to the SSP. Never run your video signals to the SSP. This will degrade the PQ due to the extra circuitry in the SSP, plus it will re-connect the video and audio grounds.

Ayre Acoustics, Inc.
Hello Charles,

You have written several times how important it is to separate the audio and video signals, sending video only to the display and audio only to the SSP.

Is there an advantage to sending a video only signal to the projector if you do not have a DX-5 with its separate grounds?

As you know better than anyone HDMI must always carry a video signal. I understand it can be a "blank" video signal and it can be 720p or 1080p. Is there an advantage using the "blank" video when sending audio to the SSP?

I have read in another thread that just plugging in an HDMI cable to an SSP activates its video circuits, which can create noise and affect the DACs unless the SSP is very well designed. The extreme approach would be to have external DACs.

BTW I have a Datasat RS20i. I hope the proposed project with them goes through.

Thanks for your help.
GGA is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Sword of Levi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monsters University and the Captain America 2 disc has audio errors on the discs and they are both Disney. The problems only occur on my Ayre player.

The Monsters University disc randomly has the audio go out. I turn the player off and back on and it fixes the problem.

The Captain American 2 disc has sharp treble sounds that make the speakers sound like they are clipping or blown. It is only brief surges randomly throughout the movie. I am scared to turn it up so my speakers don't get fried.

Is there a way we can look at fixing these or should I just swallow it? It has to be a firmware issue that Oppo doesn't want to fix, or at least that is what I assume. Both are DTS HD-MA 7.1 soundtracks if that matters. Is there a setting I should try in the audio processing?

I love CA2 but can live without the other but I think for the most part the problem will only increase across future titles. For the record, I have purchased 2-3 copies of the above movies, even from different stores that might have different batch runs and the problem is consistent. The Monsters University I even bought months apart from different vendors and it still randomly occurs. I have over 500 titles and those are the only 2 that I have a problem with so far and both of those came out this year.
Sword of Levi is offline  
Old 10-05-2014, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
proceedputty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched Godzilla and it seems to have the same "sharp treble sounds", like loud clicks. I'll try Captain America tonight. Anyone else having this issue? I also noticed that my SSP listed the audio as Dolby Digital 7.1 (mc) although both the disc and the box said DTS (Godzilla).
proceedputty is offline  
Old 10-07-2014, 10:35 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Official OPPO BDP-83 Owner's Thread [technical talk only]

^ 1/2 or so the way down the page is where the talk of the distortion with 7.1 issue starts.
kellybob is offline  
Old 01-30-2015, 12:15 AM
Member
 
IngoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Further upgrades....?

Hi Charles,

the DX-5DSD is still alive and well...

So here

https://www.ayre.com/pdf/HFN_Ayre_QB-9.pdf

I read upon further upgrades to the QB-9DSD regarding PCM384 and DSD128 capability to be available in the future.

Also for the DX-5DSD?

Best from Germany

Ingo
IngoT is offline  
Old 01-31-2015, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
proceedputty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DSD upgrade

Hello,
I've been thoroughly enjoying my DX-5 over the past year, but am curious as to where I stand in line for the DSD upgrade? I bought mine in early February 2014 from a dealer. I was supposed to have been put on the list for the upgrade then. Is there any timeline for the remainder of the upgrades? Thanks for any information.

Putty
proceedputty is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 08:04 AM
Member
 
The Ukrainian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DX-5DSD update to DSD128

Quote:
Originally Posted by IngoT View Post
Hi Charles,

the DX-5DSD is still alive and well...

So here

https://www.ayre.com/pdf/HFN_Ayre_QB-9.pdf

I read upon further upgrades to the QB-9DSD regarding PCM384 and DSD128 capability to be available in the future.

Also for the DX-5DSD?

Best from Germany

Ingo
Hey, I would like an answer to that question too!
The Ukrainian is offline  
Old 02-27-2015, 08:42 AM
Member
 
The Ukrainian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Playing .DFF files through DX-5DSD

I have a question to all those using DX-5DSD purely as a DAC with a PC. When you play .DFF file (i.e. DSD file) what do you, guys, see on the unit's front display? I see 88 kHz I expected to see DSD 2.8 mHz but it ain't there. Anyone knows why?
The Ukrainian is offline  
Old 03-10-2015, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
neprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Ukrainian View Post
I have a question to all those using DX-5DSD purely as a DAC with a PC. When you play .DFF file (i.e. DSD file) what do you, guys, see on the unit's front display? I see 88 kHz I expected to see DSD 2.8 mHz but it ain't there. Anyone knows why?
Check your SW player settings. It has DSD-to-PCM conversion set somewhere. I use foobar2000 in DoP mode (DSD over PCM). Also you can find more info on Ayre's website.



Thanks to a KX-R20 I have recently acquired finally all Ayre components connected through AyreLink. Works like a charm except two bugs.

When the DX-5DSD stops playing a CD it parks the laser pickup in a minute or so. This also triggers turning off all the components connected through AyreLink except DX-5DSD itself. And no, pressing play does not turn them back on.This is the most annoying thing.

The other bug is that DX-5DSD does not turn on the other components when it starts working as a USB DAC.

Does anyone else experience it with an AyreLink implementation on a DX-5DSD?
neprince is offline  
Old 03-10-2015, 06:46 AM
Member
 
The Ukrainian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DSD playpack on DX-5DSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by neprince View Post
Check your SW player settings. It has DSD-to-PCM conversion set somewhere. I use foobar2000 in DoP mode (DSD over PCM). Also you can find more info on Ayre's website.
Thank you for that, neprince! When you use your DX-5DSD as an USB DAC, what do you see on your unit's display when you play .DFF file?
Hey, I also use foobar2000, but I'm a newbie to PC playback and have no idea where to look for DoP mode. Could you, please, guide me through the process?
The Ukrainian is offline  
Old 03-10-2015, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
neprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It displays 'USB DoP 64'.

I would recommend to start with this very useful link to get your PC and DX-5 DSD-ready
http://www.ayre.com/usb-dac.htm.

Then I have installed the foo_input_sacd plugin. Suppose you did it too since you can play DFF files. Now run foobar2000 and check File - Preferences - Tools - SACD - ASIO Driver mode. It should be DSD.
neprince is offline  
Old 03-10-2015, 01:34 PM
Member
 
The Ukrainian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best music media-player for DX-5DSD

Quote:
Originally Posted by neprince View Post
It displays 'USB DoP 64'.
I would recommend to start with this very useful link to get your PC and DX-5 DSD-ready
http://www.ayre.com/usb-dac.htm.
Then I have installed the foo_input_sacd plugin. Suppose you did it too since you can play DFF files. Now run foobar2000 and check File - Preferences - Tools - SACD - ASIO Driver mode. It should be DSD.
Thanks for your help, neprince! I wonder if you tried other music media-players with your DX-5DSD before you settled for Foobar? There are so many players around it would be nice to be sure that Foobar is indeed the best choice for DX-5DSD.
The Ukrainian is offline  
Old Today, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Ramses88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by proceedputty View Post
Just watched Godzilla and it seems to have the same "sharp treble sounds", like loud clicks. I'll try Captain America tonight. Anyone else having this issue? I also noticed that my SSP listed the audio as Dolby Digital 7.1 (mc) although both the disc and the box said DTS (Godzilla).

Yes, I also had the exact same issue with Godzilla and Captain America 2. The audio distortion sounds like sharp clipping, even at low volumes. I ran all kinds of logistics to make sure it wasn't my SSP or any other component or connection. Definitely the DX-5. I got in touch with Ayre and after a few tests on my end, it was determined that I needed to send in the unit along with the discs. Unfortunately I wasn't able to get it done before leaving town so it will have to wait. My only guess is that something is loose somewhere..
Ramses88 is online now  
 

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Marantz
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off