Can you use wireless network adapters on Bluray players? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2009, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dan_Cote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: • New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to pick up a Bluray player for my mother and I also want to hook her up with Netflix. If I grab a network adapter for it as well, should that work with the player for the online features? I know she wouldn't be interested in running cables around her living room so this would be the only way she could access these features.

I was looking at maybe getting the LG BD370 for her. Is there any way to tell if an adapter would work? What should I look for?
Thanks for the help!
Dan_Cote is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2009, 10:57 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Not really. Each player has its own drivers/formatting. You could get a wireless bridge/game adapter or just get a player with wifi LG390, Samsung 3600, Sony 560, etc.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a Linksys WRT54G wireless router off of ebay for ~$30. Installed DD-WRT on it and it works great as a wireless bridge. I have my satco STB, BD player and Popcorn Hour plugged into it. Works great.
nextoo is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dan_Cote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: • New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Not really. Each player has its own drivers/formatting. You could get a wireless bridge/game adapter or just get a player with wifi LG390, Samsung 3600, Sony 560, etc.

S~

Wha? First you say 'not really' and then suggest getting an adapter.
So it will work?

I can get a great deal on the LG370 that's why I was looking at that model, but thanks for the suggestions.
Dan_Cote is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The cheap USB wireless network adapters will not work.

However, the more expensive wireless game adapter / wireless bridge will work fine. (these are standalone devices with a network port you can plug any networked device into)

i.e. buy this one, it will do the job and is probably the best one out now:
http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/WGA600N

Its current $71 on amazon. That is about the norm for the type of device you'd need.
Ruined is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:39 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_Cote View Post

Wha? First you say 'not really' and then suggest getting an adapter.
So it will work?

I can get a great deal on the LG370 that's why I was looking at that model, but thanks for the suggestions.

There's a difference between a game adapter and a plug-in network adapter. Game adapter is another name for a bridge.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dan_Cote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: • New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, this item would work as well, correct?

Maybe I'm just unclear as to what adapters are or used for.
Dan_Cote is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_Cote View Post

So, this item would work as well, correct?

Yes, but that's a really high price, because it is a discontinued model.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_Cote View Post

Maybe I'm just unclear as to what adapters are or used for.

The USB adapters that are being talked about are USB network cards for PCs. Blu-ray players don't have Windows and drivers, etc. to make them work.

What everyone is linking to is what is called a "bridge" (also called a "gaming adapter" since they're often used with Xbox'es and the like). They take the wired Ethernet and convert it to a Wi-Fi connection. You need one of these more advanced converters for any stand alone device like a game console, Blu-ray player, etc.

You can find wireless access points that can be set to bridge mode for pretty cheap. For example this $42 ASUS model can be set that way (ASUS calls it Ethernet Adapter mode).

If that seems a bit too advanced for you, then get the Linksys WGA600N that Ruined mentioned, it will "just work" out of the box.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dan_Cote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: • New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for clearing that up for me. Those USB adapters slipped my mind so I was having a hard time comprehending it. haha.

I remembered I actually have that Linksys device kicking around here somewhere, so I don't even need to purchase a new one. Thanks so much for all the help with this.
Dan_Cote is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Linksys WET54G wireless bridge is another suitable choice. I've used one with Panasonic BD35.
http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/WET54G

Or, Linksys WET610N...
http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/WET610N

You can also use a Linksys WAP54g in bridge mode.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I have had very good success with rock solid stability with a D-Link DAP-1522 wireless bridge paired with a DIR-825 router. These are dual band units that can keep a full bandwidth channel going betwen the router and bridge without other wireless traffic stealing bandwidth or causing the link to gear down to the lowest speed device connectd.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 08:26 AM
Member
 
ammomeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the same situation where I don't have a LAN drop in my living room, just received my Sony BDP-N460 and I want to hook it up to the internet for NF the only option is for a wireless internet connectivity...I currently use a Netgear Router WNR-3500 for my home network - can the NETGEAR 5-GHz Wireless-N HD Access Point/Bridge (WNHDE111) be use instead of the Linksys WET610N? do you need two units? please explain on how to set it up (I'm lost on this one), additionallly I have a DISH duoDVR 722 receiver right beside my Blu-ray player that I would like to connect too and the Netgear AP/Bridge had an extra port to plug into it. Appreciate your help.
ammomeister is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 09:42 AM
Member
 
momswgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about LAN powerline adapaters? Would they be faster than wifi?
momswgn is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 09:55 AM
Member
 
chili555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina, by the lake
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


please explain on how to set it up

It depends on the specific unit you buy. I have a Linksys WET11, the unit prior to the two devices WaldorfSalad recommends. I connected it to any computer, a laptop in my case, and ran the included software. It sets up the device and connects to your existing wireless network after you supply any encryption details, WEP, WPA, Klingon, etc. Then you connect it to the BD player and go into its setup pages and ask it to connect to the internet, if it has not already. Enjoy.

As in all things networking, you want the fastest device you can afford. My WET11 is limited to 11 Mb/s which is just fine for firmware updates but is probably too slow for streaming, etc.
chili555 is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
dpak2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jeez you "geniuses" have a way of over-complicating everything simple. This ain't complicated and let me paraphrase the suggested solution in an easier way:

- BUY A FRICKIN WIFI BRIDGE!

That's it. A wifi bridge is a device where one end plugs into the ethernet port of the blu ray player, the other end is an antenna that connects it to your wifi network. Its a small box. Buy atleast a 802.11G bridge, if not an N bridge if you have an N wifi network.

Yes its fast enough for Netflix, no you don't need Powerline networking (which is bogus anyway). 802.11n is faster than the SOURCE of your streaming input, your broadband internet. Your broadband is what? At most 7-10 Mbps? 802.11n does 5 times that standing on its head.

Buy a bridge, plug it in.
dpak2005 is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
bobcat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used a Netgear WGPS606 to connect my BluRay and XBR9 TV to my home wireless network. I like it better than the Sony-recommended WET610N bridge because with the Netgear you can connect 4 devices, where the Linksys can only connect 1 device.
bobcat68 is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
tami666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much for the info, I was reading all of the posts and was about to go crazy over some of them. Thank you for clearing it up so easily.

Tami666
tami666 is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
Jharter196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay so I have a Vizio Bluray Player VBR133 and I had to get a Adapter so I got a Netgear WNCe2001...Can NOT get it to respond...Is it not strong enough?? So Frustrated..Help!
Jharter196 is offline  
Old 01-08-2014, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
Billy Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

My grandmother bought a Philips wireless DVD player from radio shack . brought it home i tried to hook it up built guess what of course it did'nt have the wireless adapter with it . so i run all over town turns out cant get one that works and they don't sell them you have to order them . frigen rip offs man I am sick of this . anyway i went and bought her a Powerline network adapter from best buy and it worked like a charm . recently she had unplugged everything to redecorate and now the dang thing will not connect to the internet ? Ive tried all the common sense trouble shooting yes ive checked all settings and typed in the I.P. address manually nothing works ? wth is the issue now does anyone know ?

Billy Jackson is offline  
 

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Lg Bd 370 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Samsung Bd P3600 Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S560 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off