Official Samsung BD-C6900 3-D Blu-Ray Player Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 1243 Old 01-25-2011, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This player will play blurays/dvds on non 3d TV's won't it?
markmathers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 1243 Old 01-25-2011, 05:29 PM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmathers View Post

This player will play blurays/dvds on non 3d TV's won't it?

Yes.
rad is offline  
post #903 of 1243 Old 01-25-2011, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rad View Post

Yes.

Thanks. Also, is the lit up eject, stop, play and power icons on the player itself supposed to work when you touch them?? Or is this just for show?? I just sent my samsung 7900 into to samsung because they wouldn't work on that one either. If so I am extremely frustrated with samsung!!
markmathers is offline  
post #904 of 1243 Old 01-25-2011, 06:02 PM
Member
 
dkegel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmathers View Post

Thanks. Also, is the lit up eject, stop, play and power icons on the player itself supposed to work when you touch them?? Or is this just for show?? I just sent my samsung 7900 into to samsung because they wouldn't work on that one either. If so I am extremely frustrated with samsung!!

Yes, the buttons should work when you press them.

Dave
dkegel is offline  
post #905 of 1243 Old 01-25-2011, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks. Im headed to BB right now to exchange. Wut a piece of sh*t!! Second player now with this issue. Also I can't seem to update the latest Firmware either. Any difficulty with that?
markmathers is offline  
post #906 of 1243 Old 01-26-2011, 01:20 PM
Member
 
1mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmathers View Post

Thanks. Im headed to BB right now to exchange. Wut a piece of sh*t!! Second player now with this issue. Also I can't seem to update the latest Firmware either. Any difficulty with that?

Re: FW Update -
What error message are you getting? If it is the "Incorrect model blah, blah..." message, then keep trying. I usually get the update on the third try or so.

Hope this helps.

1mike is offline  
post #907 of 1243 Old 01-26-2011, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks you were right, I did get it after trying it a cpl more times. And as it turns out there seems to be a problem with my electrical outlet as to why the touch buttons don't work. It sounds crazy weird I know but BB had no issue with it and two other outlets in my house was no issue. Every other aspect of it seems to work fine though. I have no idea what is goin on wit that outlet though!
markmathers is offline  
post #908 of 1243 Old 01-26-2011, 06:22 PM
Member
 
pantheman75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LETH2AL View Post

Last night I watched Inglourious Basterds and Avatar and once during each movie it blacked out for a few seconds and seems to stutter from time to time and seems to mostly happen when the scene is changing. Does anyone else have this or do you think it's my player or tv?

I just bought the c6900 a couple days ago with the un55c7000.

Also what purpose does the 24fps option serve, should I use it?

I have had these exact same problems since I purchased the unit. I'm finally fed up enough that I'm calling Samsung for service. I have the latest firmware, have replaced the HDMI cable, and have reset the player twice... the problems still remain.
pantheman75 is offline  
post #909 of 1243 Old 01-27-2011, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
centauro74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If I want to connect this player to a tv only what should I use bitstream or PCM?

centauro74 is online now  
post #910 of 1243 Old 01-27-2011, 10:53 AM
Member
 
RTPBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't see anyone describing this problem (might have missed it) so I thought I'd ask if anyone else has seen this.

While playing a movie (DVD, Blu-Ray or Netflix) the unit kicks back to the Samsung menu (not Disk or Netflix menu), the one with icons for Movie, Set-up, Samsung Apps, etc. If I re-select the Movie icon, the movie will restart where it stopped (discs only).

This hasn't happen on every disc, but about half of the time. It's done it on perfectly clean discs and not done it on discs with some scratches on it.

Has anyone else seen this happening?

Thanks
RTPBob is offline  
post #911 of 1243 Old 01-27-2011, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone here know what the difference is between the C6900 and the C6800?

On the Samsung website the specs appear identical, but there has to be a difference.. perhaps a better scaler in the 6900... but whatever it is it does not show on the Samsung website.

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #912 of 1243 Old 01-27-2011, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amesdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've been told that the 6800 is just the big-box store version of the 6900, identical except for packaging.
amesdp is offline  
post #913 of 1243 Old 01-27-2011, 10:23 PM
Senior Member
 
balboa dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newport Beach, California
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiHoStevo View Post
Anyone here know what the difference is between the C6900 and the C6800?

On the Samsung website the specs appear identical, but there has to be a difference.. perhaps a better scaler in the 6900... but whatever it is it does not show on the Samsung website.
The 6800 is an inch taller than the 6900, and its button controls are placed vertically on the front panel. The 6900 has touch controls placed horizontally on the top surface. The retail price of the 6800 is about $100 less. They have the same performance specs.
balboa dave is offline  
post #914 of 1243 Old 01-28-2011, 03:23 AM
Member
 
Steve Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 6900 also has an illuminated viewing 'window' in the top of the cover which allows you to see the disc spinning.
Steve Zodiac is online now  
post #915 of 1243 Old 01-28-2011, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you for the comments....

My main concern is performance.

I have read that the 6900 is one of the better players for upscaling capabilities of SD-DVD's. I purchased one for my "Barn" but need a couple more players with NetFlix capability. I tried a Sony 3D BD-Player and was amazed at the poor implementation that Sony did with NetFlix streaming....unlike the Samsung the Sony only has the Que that you set up online... nothing else.

Amazingly I think the best NetFlix streaming implementation I have seen is on the Xbox 360 or the Insignia players at BB.

So for my needs SD Performance is probably #1 as the difference in BD performance seems to be pretty minimal across the field... then second NetFlix implementation.

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #916 of 1243 Old 01-28-2011, 08:21 PM
Member
 
roadwarrior980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just picked the BD-C6900 up the other night, hooked it up through my Pioneer receiver via HDMI and then from there to my TV (Samsung UN46B7100) and as i was going through the settings I noticed that when I go to the speaker settings i cant play a test tone.

I have a 5.1 setup, two larger fronts (not very large), a center and two surrounds along with a SW. I set the center, fronts, and surrounds to small (the SW is grayed or blacked out but says on) but when i go to test tone, I cant hear anything at all.

ive played several movies and I can hear them with no real issue, but even when I changed the speaker settings around in the player i still dont get a test tone. Not a real big issue, but was wondering if i was missing something.

Also, what is everyone using as there A/V setting in the player, as far as video and audio is concerned? Thanks!

"To sin by silence when we should protest makes cowards out of men."

Operation Iraqi Freedom Campaign Veteran, 06-08.

Operation Iraqi Freedom Campaign Veteran, 09-10.

Operation Enduring Freedom Campaign Veteran, 12-13.

roadwarrior980 is offline  
post #917 of 1243 Old 01-28-2011, 08:45 PM
Member
 
roadwarrior980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Oh, also...I've found that the BD-C6900's picture adjustments are hidden in the Tools menu that you access while the movie is playing. There are presets as well as a User setting where you can set sharpness, contrast, brightness, color and noise reduction settings.

I'm using calibrated settings for my Samsung 46" LED and was wondering if anyone has used the player settings at all or has any recommended ones...i'm mostly playing BDs and so far the picture looks ok, but wanted to see if there are player settings that might help...thanks!

"To sin by silence when we should protest makes cowards out of men."

Operation Iraqi Freedom Campaign Veteran, 06-08.

Operation Iraqi Freedom Campaign Veteran, 09-10.

Operation Enduring Freedom Campaign Veteran, 12-13.

roadwarrior980 is offline  
post #918 of 1243 Old 01-29-2011, 07:37 AM
Member
 
LETH2AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi guys, I have 6900 blu ray player and un55c7000 hdtv and in an earlier post I said when watching movies my screen will go black for a second or two. Someone replyed it was my tv and a lot of Samsung tvs do that (blinking). Should I take my tv back and hope the next one doesn't do it, or do they all do it?
LETH2AL is offline  
post #919 of 1243 Old 01-29-2011, 09:05 AM
Member
 
theperkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LETH2AL View Post

Hi guys, I have 6900 blu ray player and un55c7000 hdtv and in an earlier post I said when watching movies my screen will go black for a second or two. Someone replyed it was my tv and a lot of Samsung tvs do that (blinking). Should I take my tv back and hope the next one doesn't do it, or do they all do it?

A lot of them do it. Check the CNET forum

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-13973_102-512611-1.html
theperkman is offline  
post #920 of 1243 Old 01-29-2011, 09:05 AM
Member
 
theperkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theperkman View Post

A lot of them do it. Check the CNET forum

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-13973_102-512611-1.html

Including my UN55C8000, I should say. Blinks on all sources, which are connected to my HK 2600.
theperkman is offline  
post #921 of 1243 Old 01-30-2011, 09:42 AM
Member
 
sweeta4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTPBob View Post

Didn't see anyone describing this problem (might have missed it) so I thought I'd ask if anyone else has seen this.

While playing a movie (DVD, Blu-Ray or Netflix) the unit kicks back to the Samsung menu (not Disk or Netflix menu), the one with icons for Movie, Set-up, Samsung Apps, etc. If I re-select the Movie icon, the movie will restart where it stopped (discs only).

This hasn't happen on every disc, but about half of the time. It's done it on perfectly clean discs and not done it on discs with some scratches on it.

Has anyone else seen this happening?

Thanks

I have the same problem with my player. I contacted Samsung support, they said to reset the unit and install the latest firmware (surprise, surprise). This has not helped. I am currently waiting to a reply to my follow-up e-mail. Will keep you posted.
sweeta4 is offline  
post #922 of 1243 Old 01-30-2011, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
rpsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is a great forum for learning and exchanging information. Being new to this forum and a recent Samsung LED TV and BD owner, I appreciate all your great help.

recently, I bought a UN55C8000 and BD-C6900, everything is great, until last night, I was watching the Shrek The THird 3D movie, it was fine until about 40 minutes, the screen suddenly went black without any signal, and it went back on again, with the 3D logo on the lower left of the TV screen, with the message "wear 3D glasses and press the power button...", and then it disappeared, everything was normal and after about 20 minutes, it happened again.

Two days ago I update the C6900 firmware to 1019.0, (it is XAA version, which I am not sure if mine is XAA or not, bought from Amazon, I assume it is XAA). but anyway, the update was successful.

so my guess is

1) either the 3D glasses need new battery or
2) the 6900 player has some issues with this Disc or new firmware.

Any help would be appreciated.

Dave
rpsm is offline  
post #923 of 1243 Old 01-30-2011, 10:32 PM
Newbie
 
rpsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpsm View Post

this is a great forum for learning and exchanging information. Being new to this forum and a recent Samsung LED TV and BD owner, I appreciate all your great help.

recently, I bought a UN55C8000 and BD-C6900, everything is great, until last night, I was watching the Shrek The THird 3D movie, it was fine until about 40 minutes, the screen suddenly went black without any signal, and it went back on again, with the 3D logo on the lower left of the TV screen, with the message "wear 3D glasses and press the power button...", and then it disappeared, everything was normal and after about 20 minutes, it happened again.

Two days ago I update the C6900 firmware to 1019.0, (it is XAA version, which I am not sure if mine is XAA or not, bought from Amazon, I assume it is XAA). but anyway, the update was successful.

so my guess is

1) either the 3D glasses need new battery or
2) the 6900 player has some issues with this Disc or new firmware.

Any help would be appreciated.

Dave

After did some research online, found that many others also have this so called video dropoff problem. there are someone who has done experiment on all the parameters


I did notice my brightness is set to 40, maybe that is causing the eco mode to drop the scene?
rpsm is offline  
post #924 of 1243 Old 01-31-2011, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4mula1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by LETH2AL View Post
Last night I watched Inglourious Basterds and Avatar and once during each movie it blacked out for a few seconds and seems to stutter from time to time and seems to mostly happen when the scene is changing. Does anyone else have this or do you think it's my player or tv?

I just bought the c6900 a couple days ago with the un55c7000.

Also what purpose does the 24fps option serve, should I use it?
Does it happen every time, and in the same spot on each movie? It might be the point in the disc where it reaches the end of the first layer and switches to the second layer (of dual layer discs), and sometimes that can trigger a pause or quick loss of video.
4mula1 is offline  
post #925 of 1243 Old 01-31-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4mula1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by centauro74 View Post
If I want to connect this player to a tv only what should I use bitstream or PCM?
PCM. That allows the player to decode the audio and then send that to the TV.
4mula1 is offline  
post #926 of 1243 Old 01-31-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4mula1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTPBob View Post
Didn't see anyone describing this problem (might have missed it) so I thought I'd ask if anyone else has seen this.

While playing a movie (DVD, Blu-Ray or Netflix) the unit kicks back to the Samsung menu (not Disk or Netflix menu), the one with icons for Movie, Set-up, Samsung Apps, etc. If I re-select the Movie icon, the movie will restart where it stopped (discs only).

This hasn't happen on every disc, but about half of the time. It's done it on perfectly clean discs and not done it on discs with some scratches on it.

Has anyone else seen this happening?

Thanks
Sounds like a unique issue with your player. I would see about exchanging it.
4mula1 is offline  
post #927 of 1243 Old 02-01-2011, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
tracyjarchow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope this helps some folks. I setup my BD-C6900 player for the wireless about a hundred times and it worked flawlessly until....I turned the player off. Every time I turned the player back on the wireless settings were forgotten or lost, until today. I tried manual settings, auto settings, changed my routers settings, factory reset the player, etc. Nothing worked until I used the PBC setup on the player and the wireless router. It now works as it should and remembers the wireless settings when powered down.

FYI, I have a DLink DIR-615 wireless router and have the settings of 802.11N and G, auto scan channels, visible SSID, WPA-Personal security mode, Cipher AES, and a ten digit pass phrase. Of these settings I think the only thing that needed changed was to remove the TKIP cipher.
tracyjarchow is offline  
post #928 of 1243 Old 02-01-2011, 04:30 PM
Member
 
theperkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracyjarchow View Post

I hope this helps some folks. I setup my BD-C6900 player for the wireless about a hundred times and it worked flawlessly until....I turned the player off. Every time I turned the player back on the wireless settings were forgotten or lost, until today. I tried manual settings, auto settings, changed my routers settings, factory reset the player, etc. Nothing worked until I used the PBC setup on the player and the wireless router. It now works as it should and remembers the wireless settings when powered down.

FYI, I have a DLink DIR-615 wireless router and have the settings of 802.11N and G, auto scan channels, visible SSID, WPA-Personal security mode, Cipher AES, and a ten digit pass phrase. Of these settings I think the only thing that needed changed was to remove the TKIP cipher.

hey what is the PBC setup you speak of?
theperkman is offline  
post #929 of 1243 Old 02-01-2011, 11:23 PM
Newbie
 
tracyjarchow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theperkman View Post

hey what is the PBC setup you speak of?

I'm only a goof not a geek but what I've learned is PBC stands for Push Button Configuration as one way to create a connection with your hotspot and a device keeping the hotspot in a protected state. I had a software button on my DLink router wireless setup page and a software button on the Samsung bluray wireless setup page. I pushed both software buttons within a certain timeframe and the player talked to the router and created the connection.

This is from my DLink router:
Add Wireless Device WITH WPS (WI-FI PROTECTED SETUP) Wizard
This wizard is designed to assist you in connecting your wireless device to your router. It will guide you through step-by-step instructions on how to get your wireless device connected. Click the button below to begin.

There are two ways to add wireless device to your wireless network:
-PIN (Personal Identification Number)
-PBC (Push Button Configuration)
PIN :
please enter the PIN from your wireless device and click the below 'Connect' Button
PBC
please press the push button on your wireless device and click the below 'Connect' Button within 120 seconds


This is from the Samsung Bluray manual:
Connection Methods : You can setup the wireless network connection 3 ways.
PBC (WPS)
Auto Setup (Using the Auto Network Search function)
Manual Setup

When applying the security key for the AP (wireless IP sharer), only the following security protocols are supported:
Authentication Mode : WEP, WPAPSK, WPA2PSK
Encryption Type : WEP, AES

Setting Up the Wireless Network Connection
- PBC (WPS)
The easiest way to set up the wireless network
connection is using the PBC (WPS) function.
If your wireless router has a PBC (WPS) button,
follow these steps:
In the Network Settings menu, press the ▲▼
buttons to select Network Setting, and then
press the ENTER button.
The Internet Protocol Setup screen appears.
Press the RED (A) button on the remote
control.
Press the PBC (WPS) button on your router
within two minutes. Your player displays the
Network Selection Screen, and automatically
acquires all the network setting values it
needs and connects to your network. When
it is done, it displays an OK button. Press the
ENTER button on your remote.
After the network connection is set up, press
the RETURN button to exit the Network
Setting screen.
tracyjarchow is offline  
post #930 of 1243 Old 02-03-2011, 07:57 AM
Member
 
theperkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracyjarchow View Post

I'm only a goof not a geek but what I've learned is PBC stands for Push Button Configuration as one way to create a connection with your hotspot and a device keeping the hotspot in a protected state. I had a software button on my DLink router wireless setup page and a software button on the Samsung bluray wireless setup page. I pushed both software buttons within a certain timeframe and the player talked to the router and created the connection.

This is from my DLink router:
Add Wireless Device WITH WPS (WI-FI PROTECTED SETUP) Wizard
This wizard is designed to assist you in connecting your wireless device to your router. It will guide you through step-by-step instructions on how to get your wireless device connected. Click the button below to begin.

There are two ways to add wireless device to your wireless network:
-PIN (Personal Identification Number)
-PBC (Push Button Configuration)
PIN :
please enter the PIN from your wireless device and click the below 'Connect' Button
PBC
please press the push button on your wireless device and click the below 'Connect' Button within 120 seconds


This is from the Samsung Bluray manual:
Connection Methods : You can setup the wireless network connection 3 ways.
PBC (WPS)
Auto Setup (Using the Auto Network Search function)
Manual Setup

When applying the security key for the AP (wireless IP sharer), only the following security protocols are supported:
Authentication Mode : WEP, WPAPSK, WPA2PSK
Encryption Type : WEP, AES

Setting Up the Wireless Network Connection
- PBC (WPS)
The easiest way to set up the wireless network
connection is using the PBC (WPS) function.
If your wireless router has a PBC (WPS) button,
follow these steps:
In the Network Settings menu, press the ▲▼
buttons to select Network Setting, and then
press the ENTER button.
The Internet Protocol Setup screen appears.
Press the RED (A) button on the remote
control.
Press the PBC (WPS) button on your router
within two minutes. Your player displays the
Network Selection Screen, and automatically
acquires all the network setting values it
needs and connects to your network. When
it is done, it displays an OK button. Press the
ENTER button on your remote.
After the network connection is set up, press
the RETURN button to exit the Network
Setting screen.

HA! I've been in technology for almost 20 years and am currently the CIO of a company, and somehow this PBC feature has escaped me! I still learn something new every day in technology.

My wireless router doesn't have this feature so I'll have to live with the incredibly dysfunctional wireless built into the BD-C6900, although it usually takes less time to download it to a USB and update it that way. Mine sits in an open-front wooden TV stand/cabinet and is about 12 feet from my AP. there is a door between, but it's close. I can't get connected to the Internet or stream Netflix unless I pull the player out and put it on the floor in the open. Luckily my UN55C8000 has the same features and works great.

Thanks for your post.
theperkman is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Samsung Bd C6900 3d Blu Ray Player Refurbished , Samsung , Samsung Bd C6500 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Samsung Refurbished Blu Ray Disc Player Bd C5500 B
Gear in this thread - C6500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off