Samsung BD-C6500 Bluray Player------ - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1625 Old 03-30-2010, 12:03 PM
Member
 
enigma9o7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 5500, but my understanding is they're basically the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

MKV support is a hit and miss. Most of them work. Some don't. Some will have the player break out to the menu or to the next movie in the list. The player doesn't support multiple audio tracks, it just picks the first one.

For me, multiple audio tracks are supported on mkv, I can switch between them no problem. However video is choppy on any file with multiple audio tracks, so not watchable.

Quote:


PC Share Manager (4.03) is a pain as it freezes on some files, mostly avi-s. Haven't figured out yet what's "wrong" with files.

PC Share Manager is lame. When indexing, it also creates meta-data files for every video file (avi-s, mkv-s... but not mpg2-s for some reason, weird).

AGREED! It freezes for me too, haven't figured out why, but only happens on one particular directory, which does contain avis. It seems to get partway thru and never finishes; I gave it a few days of hogging my entire CPU to no avail. Kinda hard to figure out what it's freezing on cuz I can't find any log files and there doesn't appear to be any documentation for the software that I'm aware of.

I found I can just delete those .mta files and it seems to have no effect. "del *.mta /s" from a c:\\ prompt removes them from all subdirs (repeat on other drives as necessary).

You'll also discover it doesn't update when you add or remove files from shared folders.

Quote:


Oh yeah, someone said something about component output not working. In my case it works fine... 1080i to Sony's 34" CRT.

I also use component (1080i RCA 38" 16:9 CRT) and the only problem I have is that if I plug in HDMI to my receiver for audio, the bdplayer forces component to 4:3 480i for everything except the initial intro screen when the player turns on. This is quite annoying as that setup worked fine on my HD-DVD player. I called Samsung about it on Feb 24th and they said they'd fix in firmware, but nothing yet.
enigma9o7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1625 Old 03-30-2010, 05:10 PM
Member
 
ziimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by game007 View Post

and how about vob´s the are spletted in parts(vts_01_1.vob to vts_01_5.vob (like made by clone DVD)

Indexed dvd folders will just show as bunch of files. Every VOB will be indexed separately, which is how you will have to play them. Cannot play the title-set info. Also zoom doesn't really work with VOB-s, both zoom modes will display the same ("touch window from inside").

Just to find out which VOB set to play you'll have to figure out the longest vob number sequence I suppose. I couldn't switch audio or subtitles in several dvd-s I tried. Of course menus are out of the question.

It's just not supported is all. If it wasn't for the pic quality I wouldn't come near this.
ziimen is offline  
post #273 of 1625 Old 03-30-2010, 05:30 PM
Member
 
ziimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma9o7 View Post

You'll also discover it doesn't update when you add or remove files from shared folders.

I also use component (1080i RCA 38" 16:9 CRT) and the only problem I have is that if I plug in HDMI to my receiver for audio, the bdplayer forces component to 4:3 480i for everything except the initial intro screen when the player turns on.

I guess you'll have to run the refresh in the pc share manager every time you modify your repository of media files.

Not sure how your receiver behaves if nothing is connected to the hdmi output. It probably cannot pass the device info back to the player so it probably defaults to 480i. I use optical connection to my receiver and it works fine, I mean 1080i remains selected.

Too bad for all these shortcomings... I've been just watching the Final Fantasy VOB-s (from the shared dvd folder). Picture quality is amazing, kinda hard to tell it's not the blu-ray actually playing, not just dvd. That's how good it looks... the upscaling. But I have to play it vob by vob .... and as it happens the primary audio track on the first vob is director's commentary and I cannot switch audio tracks, whereas the second vob's primary audio track is the movie audio... It's really silly.

I am not holding my breath with "firmware update" promises either. Ah, well, got another 29 best-buy grace days left
ziimen is offline  
post #274 of 1625 Old 03-31-2010, 10:12 AM
Member
 
game007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey i got amail from samsung i as then about c5500 ntfs support!
anwser is:

both usb connect spupport Fat32 and NTFS hd fully till 250gb!!!!and that extrenal hd must have own ac/dc connection, becuase the usb does not support this!!!

so wath does this mean ? no higher hd as 250gb can be used????
pls let me know!!!

olso very few say that the player drive is realy noisy in playback and insert!!!is this right???????
game007 is offline  
post #275 of 1625 Old 04-01-2010, 12:07 PM
Member
 
johnnie_five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymg View Post

Rob

I get 5+ Mb/sec using Speedtest.net but only 2.5Mb/sec when testing with the Sammy. i.e. the Sammy is reporting a bogus low #.

I have NO problem streaming HD from netflix. Tastes great and it's way less filling.

cheers
JohnG


Mine is worse.
I get 15+ Mb/sec at Speedtest.net, but 450k/sec with 6500.
What's the deal with that??
I haven't signed up with VUDU, but no problems viewing trailers, though.
johnnie_five is offline  
post #276 of 1625 Old 04-01-2010, 02:45 PM
Member
 
druber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Africa
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
game007, I suspect Samsung is saying that the player's USB supplies a limited amount of electricity and may not offer enough electricity on its own to power a high-capacity hard drive that has four platters to spin. Picking 250GB as the limit sounds arbitrary, since they're now fitting over 300GB on a 2.5" platter. Regardless, I think the limitation is on electricity, not capacity.

I also am getting very low internet speed test results but haven't yet had buffering issues with Netflix. I'll try a Vudu movie soon (when an appealing 99 cent movie of the day hits a free evening).
druber is offline  
post #277 of 1625 Old 04-01-2010, 04:16 PM
rdn
Advanced Member
 
rdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I signed up for Vudu and they give you a credit (I think it was for $4.99) good for 30 days to try it out. Once you start watching a movie, you have 24 hours before it goes away.

Bob
rdn is offline  
post #278 of 1625 Old 04-01-2010, 04:35 PM
Member
 
imaginereality's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been able to stream Netflix over a Wireless G connection with no problems...well, except on Friday and Saturday nights starting around 9 or 10, but that's not really surprising.
imaginereality is offline  
post #279 of 1625 Old 04-03-2010, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
Couchweed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the helpful replies.

I returned my C6500 for a new PS3 slim. WOW. I'M so much happier. PS3 does EVERYTHING. Plus its gotta a 3D update coming.

Again, thanks for the help. Enjoy your C6500.
Couchweed is offline  
post #280 of 1625 Old 04-04-2010, 05:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did the latest upgrade and had to do Netflix reactivate as per above. Anything new or fixed since last rev. Nothing I can find.

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #281 of 1625 Old 04-05-2010, 08:55 AM
Member
 
imaginereality's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it's just little performance and connectivity issues. Hopefully Samsung will correct some of the media file playback issues and fix some of the crashing issues with the player.
imaginereality is offline  
post #282 of 1625 Old 04-05-2010, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Highside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having semi frequent re-buffering issues with Netflix since the FW update?

I have a 20Mb connection, of which Speedtest reports an avg. of 18.5 nearly all day every day. The player reports 2.43Mb nearly all the time, which I know is pretty good since that is the max that most are reporting.

I can't confirm it but since last Friday when I updated to .1009 it seems as though my SD and HD movies are constantly buffering. They NEVER buffered before. There are only a few things that I can think of:

1. Time of day. Netflix has overload around and just after dinner time?
2. The FW has a new glitch?
3. I have another BD player hooked up to the same Ethernet switch even though it is off and the Samsung is re-buffering as I type?
4. My mind id playing tricks on me and I will wake up in about 8 hours from the Twilight Zone?.......

Anyone else?

Rob

ÂThe sheriff and his buddies with their samurai swords.....Â
Highside is offline  
post #283 of 1625 Old 04-05-2010, 06:53 PM
Member
 
HankTheTurtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is everyone getting their internet speed readings on the player? Speedtest has me at what seems like a really fast speed, but I can't even find any place on the player that would tell me what speed it's getting.
HankTheTurtle is offline  
post #284 of 1625 Old 04-06-2010, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Ringfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is in the internet@tv settings, go to the settings part of this and at the bottom, there is a choice for test speed. Mine is always 1.87 even though I get close to 3.0 with my hardwired PC.
Ringfinger is offline  
post #285 of 1625 Old 04-06-2010, 08:18 AM
Member
 
HankTheTurtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speedtest has me at like 23, when I'm only paying Comcast for a 12 Mb connection, so I don't know what's going on there. The player has me at 1.53.
HankTheTurtle is offline  
post #286 of 1625 Old 04-06-2010, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Ringfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems low. What is your connection method?
Ringfinger is offline  
post #287 of 1625 Old 04-06-2010, 08:39 AM
Member
 
HankTheTurtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hard wired. I had a Samsung TV that has the same internet functions, and I think it was faster, but I was having other issues with it that are being looked at, so I don't have it to check the actual speed on it. Might also be slower because I'm running it through an old router and a switch, as well as the ethernet cable running to it is two cables connected together with a cheepo female/female connector.
HankTheTurtle is offline  
post #288 of 1625 Old 04-07-2010, 08:25 AM
Member
 
ziimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Couchweed View Post

I returned my C6500 for a new PS3 slim. WOW. I'M so much happier. PS3 does EVERYTHING. Plus its gotta a 3D update coming.

This topic has probably been beaten to death, but since when does PS3 play MKV-s? Natively and not through real-time transcoding.
ziimen is offline  
post #289 of 1625 Old 04-08-2010, 01:50 PM
Member
 
obuengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Little Rock, AR
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richandy View Post

Is there a new FW? My unit cannot find any. Also my MKV files does not play. I have tried all type to no avail. It plays m2ts. Anyone having problems with MKV files? I had the LG 570 which plays all my MKV but the bluray disappoint.

How are you getting m2ts to work? I have a file that I ripped from blu ray using dvdfab that doesn't even show up when I browse to it's folder on the player.
obuengineer is offline  
post #290 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 07:26 AM
Member
 
ziimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing is for sure, Share Manager will not stream M2TS files but will MKV-s. I haven't tried them on a usb storage though. Maybe it's the other way around when played back from a usb storage drive. Or he's talking about PS3
ziimen is offline  
post #291 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 07:44 AM
Member
 
obuengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Little Rock, AR
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what are folks using for converting the avchd files from blu ray discs into something the c6500 likes?
obuengineer is offline  
post #292 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 08:29 AM
Member
 
enigma9o7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

One thing is for sure, Share Manager will not stream M2TS files but will MKV-s. I haven't tried them on a usb storage though. Maybe it's the other way around when played back from a usb storage drive. Or he's talking about PS3

What exactly are m2ts? if that means mpeg-2 transport stream, then pcsm does play some forms... cuz my over-the-air hdtv recordings are mpeg-2 transport stream and they play fine.
enigma9o7 is offline  
post #293 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BritInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by obuengineer View Post

what are folks using for converting the avchd files from blu ray discs into something the c6500 likes?

I've not ripped any BR yet but you might want to look at this thread.

=====================================
My HT Thread index on 1st post
Samsung AllShare and Internet@TV Discussion
BritInVA is offline  
post #294 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Erock1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

Indexed dvd folders will just show as bunch of files. Every VOB will be indexed separately, which is how you will have to play them. Cannot play the title-set info. Also zoom doesn't really work with VOB-s, both zoom modes will display the same ("touch window from inside").

Just to find out which VOB set to play you'll have to figure out the longest vob number sequence I suppose. I couldn't switch audio or subtitles in several dvd-s I tried. Of course menus are out of the question.

It's just not supported is all. If it wasn't for the pic quality I wouldn't come near this.

ziimen, game007 & anyone else,
I use a freeware prog called VOB2MPG. You just select the folder where the Video_TS folder is that has all the seperate .vobs and choose a destination. Start the prog and it converts all the multiple .vobs into a single .mpg file. Works great & fast too. You do need to have Microsoft's .NetFramework2 on your PC.
Just Google VOB2MPG
Erock1 is offline  
post #295 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 11:53 AM
Member
 
obuengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Little Rock, AR
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found a program called format factory that converts m2ts to anything you want. I'm experimenting with it now to see how well it works and will report back with results soon.
obuengineer is offline  
post #296 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 12:13 PM
Member
 
ziimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually tried vob converted to mpg-s and it's fine, except for the fact that mpg containers don't support subtitle track. So that's out. So, if I'm keeping the encoding as is I'd rather just make an MKV out of it with subtitle track included. But for some reason beyond me making an MKV with mpg2 video stream (ripped from the VOB sequence) won't work, it will not be indexed by Share Manager nor will it play from a usb storage.

I am not so worried about M2TS playability as they are huge anyway. RipBot264 does an awesome job there. And I mean AWESOME!!!

@enigma9o7
Did you play them streamed through Share Manager or off of the usb stick?
ziimen is offline  
post #297 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 12:44 PM
Member
 
obuengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Little Rock, AR
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
format factory will convert pretty much anything to anything else--video, audio and still images. and its really free. not trialware. you guys should check it out. formatoz.com
obuengineer is offline  
post #298 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 01:01 PM
Member
 
obuengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Little Rock, AR
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dvdfab 7 will also take you from blu ray disc to mp4. there is a free version. dvdfab.com
obuengineer is offline  
post #299 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
spice003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys do any of you have any problems when updating the firmware/ software. mine downloads like half way then it tells me bad connection or something like that. and when i put it on USB drive it gets to 50% and just stays there, i left it for like an hour and it did not move any were.
spice003 is offline  
post #300 of 1625 Old 04-09-2010, 05:54 PM
Member
 
enigma9o7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

@enigma9o7
Did you play them streamed through Share Manager or off of the usb stick?

Streamed through PC Share Manager v4.03. But mine are over-the-air ATSC HDTV dumps... recorded on my pc from my antenna with "beyond tv" dvr software... sounds a little different than what you are doing...
enigma9o7 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Bd C6500 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - C6500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off