Samsung BD-C6500 Bluray Player------ - Page 10 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Samsung BD-C6500 Bluray Player------

Blu-ray Players

enigma9o7's Avatar enigma9o7
01:03 PM Liked: 10
post #271 of 1625
03-30-2010 | Posts: 180
Joined: Nov 2006
I have a 5500, but my understanding is they're basically the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

MKV support is a hit and miss. Most of them work. Some don't. Some will have the player break out to the menu or to the next movie in the list. The player doesn't support multiple audio tracks, it just picks the first one.

For me, multiple audio tracks are supported on mkv, I can switch between them no problem. However video is choppy on any file with multiple audio tracks, so not watchable.

Quote:


PC Share Manager (4.03) is a pain as it freezes on some files, mostly avi-s. Haven't figured out yet what's "wrong" with files.

PC Share Manager is lame. When indexing, it also creates meta-data files for every video file (avi-s, mkv-s... but not mpg2-s for some reason, weird).

AGREED! It freezes for me too, haven't figured out why, but only happens on one particular directory, which does contain avis. It seems to get partway thru and never finishes; I gave it a few days of hogging my entire CPU to no avail. Kinda hard to figure out what it's freezing on cuz I can't find any log files and there doesn't appear to be any documentation for the software that I'm aware of.

I found I can just delete those .mta files and it seems to have no effect. "del *.mta /s" from a c:\\ prompt removes them from all subdirs (repeat on other drives as necessary).

You'll also discover it doesn't update when you add or remove files from shared folders.

Quote:


Oh yeah, someone said something about component output not working. In my case it works fine... 1080i to Sony's 34" CRT.

I also use component (1080i RCA 38" 16:9 CRT) and the only problem I have is that if I plug in HDMI to my receiver for audio, the bdplayer forces component to 4:3 480i for everything except the initial intro screen when the player turns on. This is quite annoying as that setup worked fine on my HD-DVD player. I called Samsung about it on Feb 24th and they said they'd fix in firmware, but nothing yet.
ziimen's Avatar ziimen
06:10 PM Liked: 10
post #272 of 1625
03-30-2010 | Posts: 49
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by game007 View Post

and how about vobĀ“s the are spletted in parts(vts_01_1.vob to vts_01_5.vob (like made by clone DVD)

Indexed dvd folders will just show as bunch of files. Every VOB will be indexed separately, which is how you will have to play them. Cannot play the title-set info. Also zoom doesn't really work with VOB-s, both zoom modes will display the same ("touch window from inside").

Just to find out which VOB set to play you'll have to figure out the longest vob number sequence I suppose. I couldn't switch audio or subtitles in several dvd-s I tried. Of course menus are out of the question.

It's just not supported is all. If it wasn't for the pic quality I wouldn't come near this.
ziimen's Avatar ziimen
06:30 PM Liked: 10
post #273 of 1625
03-30-2010 | Posts: 49
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma9o7 View Post

You'll also discover it doesn't update when you add or remove files from shared folders.

I also use component (1080i RCA 38" 16:9 CRT) and the only problem I have is that if I plug in HDMI to my receiver for audio, the bdplayer forces component to 4:3 480i for everything except the initial intro screen when the player turns on.

I guess you'll have to run the refresh in the pc share manager every time you modify your repository of media files.

Not sure how your receiver behaves if nothing is connected to the hdmi output. It probably cannot pass the device info back to the player so it probably defaults to 480i. I use optical connection to my receiver and it works fine, I mean 1080i remains selected.

Too bad for all these shortcomings... I've been just watching the Final Fantasy VOB-s (from the shared dvd folder). Picture quality is amazing, kinda hard to tell it's not the blu-ray actually playing, not just dvd. That's how good it looks... the upscaling. But I have to play it vob by vob .... and as it happens the primary audio track on the first vob is director's commentary and I cannot switch audio tracks, whereas the second vob's primary audio track is the movie audio... It's really silly.

I am not holding my breath with "firmware update" promises either. Ah, well, got another 29 best-buy grace days left
game007's Avatar game007
11:12 AM Liked: 10
post #274 of 1625
03-31-2010 | Posts: 39
Joined: Mar 2010
hey i got amail from samsung i as then about c5500 ntfs support!
anwser is:

both usb connect spupport Fat32 and NTFS hd fully till 250gb!!!!and that extrenal hd must have own ac/dc connection, becuase the usb does not support this!!!

so wath does this mean ? no higher hd as 250gb can be used????
pls let me know!!!

olso very few say that the player drive is realy noisy in playback and insert!!!is this right???????
johnnie_five's Avatar johnnie_five
01:07 PM Liked: 10
post #275 of 1625
04-01-2010 | Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymg View Post

Rob

I get 5+ Mb/sec using Speedtest.net but only 2.5Mb/sec when testing with the Sammy. i.e. the Sammy is reporting a bogus low #.

I have NO problem streaming HD from netflix. Tastes great and it's way less filling.

cheers
JohnG


Mine is worse.
I get 15+ Mb/sec at Speedtest.net, but 450k/sec with 6500.
What's the deal with that??
I haven't signed up with VUDU, but no problems viewing trailers, though.
druber's Avatar druber
03:45 PM Liked: 10
post #276 of 1625
04-01-2010 | Posts: 178
Joined: Mar 2005
game007, I suspect Samsung is saying that the player's USB supplies a limited amount of electricity and may not offer enough electricity on its own to power a high-capacity hard drive that has four platters to spin. Picking 250GB as the limit sounds arbitrary, since they're now fitting over 300GB on a 2.5" platter. Regardless, I think the limitation is on electricity, not capacity.

I also am getting very low internet speed test results but haven't yet had buffering issues with Netflix. I'll try a Vudu movie soon (when an appealing 99 cent movie of the day hits a free evening).
rdn's Avatar rdn
05:16 PM Liked: 10
post #277 of 1625
04-01-2010 | Posts: 587
Joined: Jun 2006
I signed up for Vudu and they give you a credit (I think it was for $4.99) good for 30 days to try it out. Once you start watching a movie, you have 24 hours before it goes away.
imaginereality's Avatar imaginereality
05:35 PM Liked: 10
post #278 of 1625
04-01-2010 | Posts: 44
Joined: May 2006
I've been able to stream Netflix over a Wireless G connection with no problems...well, except on Friday and Saturday nights starting around 9 or 10, but that's not really surprising.
Couchweed's Avatar Couchweed
10:57 AM Liked: 10
post #279 of 1625
04-03-2010 | Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2008
Thanks for all the helpful replies.

I returned my C6500 for a new PS3 slim. WOW. I'M so much happier. PS3 does EVERYTHING. Plus its gotta a 3D update coming.

Again, thanks for the help. Enjoy your C6500.
rudolpht's Avatar rudolpht
06:07 PM Liked: 10
post #280 of 1625
04-04-2010 | Posts: 7,566
Joined: Nov 1999
Just did the latest upgrade and had to do Netflix reactivate as per above. Anything new or fixed since last rev. Nothing I can find.
imaginereality's Avatar imaginereality
09:55 AM Liked: 10
post #281 of 1625
04-05-2010 | Posts: 44
Joined: May 2006
I think it's just little performance and connectivity issues. Hopefully Samsung will correct some of the media file playback issues and fix some of the crashing issues with the player.
Highside's Avatar Highside
06:47 PM Liked: 10
post #282 of 1625
04-05-2010 | Posts: 563
Joined: Dec 2005
Anyone else having semi frequent re-buffering issues with Netflix since the FW update?

I have a 20Mb connection, of which Speedtest reports an avg. of 18.5 nearly all day every day. The player reports 2.43Mb nearly all the time, which I know is pretty good since that is the max that most are reporting.

I can't confirm it but since last Friday when I updated to .1009 it seems as though my SD and HD movies are constantly buffering. They NEVER buffered before. There are only a few things that I can think of:

1. Time of day. Netflix has overload around and just after dinner time?
2. The FW has a new glitch?
3. I have another BD player hooked up to the same Ethernet switch even though it is off and the Samsung is re-buffering as I type?
4. My mind id playing tricks on me and I will wake up in about 8 hours from the Twilight Zone?.......

Anyone else?

Rob
HankTheTurtle's Avatar HankTheTurtle
07:53 PM Liked: 10
post #283 of 1625
04-05-2010 | Posts: 115
Joined: Mar 2010
Where is everyone getting their internet speed readings on the player? Speedtest has me at what seems like a really fast speed, but I can't even find any place on the player that would tell me what speed it's getting.
Ringfinger's Avatar Ringfinger
07:39 AM Liked: 10
post #284 of 1625
04-06-2010 | Posts: 319
Joined: Nov 2007
It is in the internet@tv settings, go to the settings part of this and at the bottom, there is a choice for test speed. Mine is always 1.87 even though I get close to 3.0 with my hardwired PC.
HankTheTurtle's Avatar HankTheTurtle
09:18 AM Liked: 10
post #285 of 1625
04-06-2010 | Posts: 115
Joined: Mar 2010
Speedtest has me at like 23, when I'm only paying Comcast for a 12 Mb connection, so I don't know what's going on there. The player has me at 1.53.
Ringfinger's Avatar Ringfinger
09:19 AM Liked: 10
post #286 of 1625
04-06-2010 | Posts: 319
Joined: Nov 2007
Seems low. What is your connection method?
HankTheTurtle's Avatar HankTheTurtle
09:39 AM Liked: 10
post #287 of 1625
04-06-2010 | Posts: 115
Joined: Mar 2010
Hard wired. I had a Samsung TV that has the same internet functions, and I think it was faster, but I was having other issues with it that are being looked at, so I don't have it to check the actual speed on it. Might also be slower because I'm running it through an old router and a switch, as well as the ethernet cable running to it is two cables connected together with a cheepo female/female connector.
ziimen's Avatar ziimen
09:25 AM Liked: 10
post #288 of 1625
04-07-2010 | Posts: 49
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Couchweed View Post

I returned my C6500 for a new PS3 slim. WOW. I'M so much happier. PS3 does EVERYTHING. Plus its gotta a 3D update coming.

This topic has probably been beaten to death, but since when does PS3 play MKV-s? Natively and not through real-time transcoding.
obuengineer's Avatar obuengineer
02:50 PM Liked: 10
post #289 of 1625
04-08-2010 | Posts: 85
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by richandy View Post

Is there a new FW? My unit cannot find any. Also my MKV files does not play. I have tried all type to no avail. It plays m2ts. Anyone having problems with MKV files? I had the LG 570 which plays all my MKV but the bluray disappoint.

How are you getting m2ts to work? I have a file that I ripped from blu ray using dvdfab that doesn't even show up when I browse to it's folder on the player.
ziimen's Avatar ziimen
08:26 AM Liked: 10
post #290 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 49
Joined: Feb 2006
One thing is for sure, Share Manager will not stream M2TS files but will MKV-s. I haven't tried them on a usb storage though. Maybe it's the other way around when played back from a usb storage drive. Or he's talking about PS3
obuengineer's Avatar obuengineer
08:44 AM Liked: 10
post #291 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 85
Joined: Jan 2006
what are folks using for converting the avchd files from blu ray discs into something the c6500 likes?
enigma9o7's Avatar enigma9o7
09:29 AM Liked: 10
post #292 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 180
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

One thing is for sure, Share Manager will not stream M2TS files but will MKV-s. I haven't tried them on a usb storage though. Maybe it's the other way around when played back from a usb storage drive. Or he's talking about PS3

What exactly are m2ts? if that means mpeg-2 transport stream, then pcsm does play some forms... cuz my over-the-air hdtv recordings are mpeg-2 transport stream and they play fine.
BritInVA's Avatar BritInVA
09:30 AM Liked: 13
post #293 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by obuengineer View Post

what are folks using for converting the avchd files from blu ray discs into something the c6500 likes?

I've not ripped any BR yet but you might want to look at this thread.
Erock1's Avatar Erock1
11:28 AM Liked: 10
post #294 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 200
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

Indexed dvd folders will just show as bunch of files. Every VOB will be indexed separately, which is how you will have to play them. Cannot play the title-set info. Also zoom doesn't really work with VOB-s, both zoom modes will display the same ("touch window from inside").

Just to find out which VOB set to play you'll have to figure out the longest vob number sequence I suppose. I couldn't switch audio or subtitles in several dvd-s I tried. Of course menus are out of the question.

It's just not supported is all. If it wasn't for the pic quality I wouldn't come near this.

ziimen, game007 & anyone else,
I use a freeware prog called VOB2MPG. You just select the folder where the Video_TS folder is that has all the seperate .vobs and choose a destination. Start the prog and it converts all the multiple .vobs into a single .mpg file. Works great & fast too. You do need to have Microsoft's .NetFramework2 on your PC.
Just Google VOB2MPG
obuengineer's Avatar obuengineer
12:53 PM Liked: 10
post #295 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 85
Joined: Jan 2006
I found a program called format factory that converts m2ts to anything you want. I'm experimenting with it now to see how well it works and will report back with results soon.
ziimen's Avatar ziimen
01:13 PM Liked: 10
post #296 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 49
Joined: Feb 2006
I actually tried vob converted to mpg-s and it's fine, except for the fact that mpg containers don't support subtitle track. So that's out. So, if I'm keeping the encoding as is I'd rather just make an MKV out of it with subtitle track included. But for some reason beyond me making an MKV with mpg2 video stream (ripped from the VOB sequence) won't work, it will not be indexed by Share Manager nor will it play from a usb storage.

I am not so worried about M2TS playability as they are huge anyway. RipBot264 does an awesome job there. And I mean AWESOME!!!

@enigma9o7
Did you play them streamed through Share Manager or off of the usb stick?
obuengineer's Avatar obuengineer
01:44 PM Liked: 10
post #297 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 85
Joined: Jan 2006
format factory will convert pretty much anything to anything else--video, audio and still images. and its really free. not trialware. you guys should check it out. formatoz.com
obuengineer's Avatar obuengineer
02:01 PM Liked: 10
post #298 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 85
Joined: Jan 2006
dvdfab 7 will also take you from blu ray disc to mp4. there is a free version. dvdfab.com
spice003's Avatar spice003
05:40 PM Liked: 10
post #299 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 2006
hey guys do any of you have any problems when updating the firmware/ software. mine downloads like half way then it tells me bad connection or something like that. and when i put it on USB drive it gets to 50% and just stays there, i left it for like an hour and it did not move any were.
enigma9o7's Avatar enigma9o7
06:54 PM Liked: 10
post #300 of 1625
04-09-2010 | Posts: 180
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziimen View Post

@enigma9o7
Did you play them streamed through Share Manager or off of the usb stick?

Streamed through PC Share Manager v4.03. But mine are over-the-air ATSC HDTV dumps... recorded on my pc from my antenna with "beyond tv" dvr software... sounds a little different than what you are doing...
Tags: Samsung Bd C6500 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player

Gear in this thread - C6500 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3