Samsung BD-C6500 Bluray Player------ - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2011, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amesdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred27 View Post

Anyone using PlayON with this device?

It works erratically. The Samsung DLNA client usually times out and says "Incompatible format" while the PlayOn server is still starting the video stream with most streaming TV sources. You can sometimes get it started with a retry if your timing is exactly right, but it's a pain. I gave up on it. PlayOn is aware of the problem, but says that it's Samsung's problem and they can't fix it.
amesdp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2011, 09:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuc View Post

I can't agree with you. The speaker system is connected through subwoofer via 6 RCA cables to the analog outputs of the player (2 fronts, 2 rear, center, woofer).

So, why didn't you say that in the first place? By default, when one says they are using the analog output, they are talking about the stereo analog output. You needed to say that you were using the discrete 6-channel analog output connectors (which are not common).

"You're Sherlock Holmes, wear the damn hat!" - Watson to Sherlock
Sherlock - The Abominable Bride - 1/01/16
Mr. Video
My Geek Images
mrvideo is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:14 AM
Kuc
Newbie
 
Kuc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry, that's my bad. I did not mention this, because I thought the 7.1 analog output is sort of a distinctive feature to this particular player.
Kuc is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 04:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post


So, why didn't you say that in the first place? By default, when one says they are using the analog output, they are talking about the stereo analog output. You needed to say that you were using the discrete 6-channel analog output connectors (which are not common).

The OP said he had 5.1 speakers connected via analog output and you assumed he knew YOUR default was to assume that meant a 2-channel analog connection?? I thought he was quite clear. Where is it stated what "one means" by "analog output"?

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 04:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ghpr13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fairdale,KY
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post

Have you tried pressing menu first then play as I suggested before?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghpr13 View Post

bguzman,
I will try that next time it happens. I don't know why, but for some reason I didn't catch that in your previous post (senior moment???). Thank you for stating it again.

Ghpr13

Bguzman,
Followed your advice and that seem to end the problem. Thank you.

Ghpr13

Info=Knowledge=Understanding=Better TV!
I see dead pixels!
Ghpr13 is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 11:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

The OP said he had 5.1 speakers connected via analog output and you assumed he knew YOUR default was to assume that meant a 2-channel analog connection?? I thought he was quite clear. Where is it stated what "one means" by "analog output"?

Just because one says that a system with 5.1 is connected to a player doesn't mean that the discreet 6 channels of analog connectors was used. The most common analog output is the 2 channel stereo out. So, it should be stated that the discreet outputs were used, to avoid confusion. If it would have been perfectly clear I wouldn't have posted about it.

We aren't mind readers and can't look at a user's equipment. Full disclosure is appreciated

"You're Sherlock Holmes, wear the damn hat!" - Watson to Sherlock
Sherlock - The Abominable Bride - 1/01/16
Mr. Video
My Geek Images
mrvideo is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post

Just because one says that a system with 5.1 is connected to a player doesn't mean that the discreet 6 channels of analog connectors was used. The most common analog output is the 2 channel stereo out. So, it should be stated that the discreet outputs were used, to avoid confusion. If it would have been perfectly clear I wouldn't have posted about it.

We aren't mind readers and can't look at a user's equipment. Full disclosure is appreciated

I can see that maybe the OP wasn't perfectly clear, but your assumption that he must magically know that "analog output" means 2-channel was more than a little snippy. In the interest of civility, why not just ask the guy which analog outputs he meant?

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
BEACHIN' CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 18 month old unit's a pain of late. Started a month agao but i'll just note the latest problem.


Seventeen minutes into Blu-Ray Hangover II, there are clicks, picture flashes on and off and then some colors (pink or lime green) appear and nothing. Ditto with DVD too.


Latest FW 1024.0 installed in November. Did the reboot with no new FM changes and same old results. HDMI into receiver then to my Samsung 8000 series TV.


All comments are welcomed. Thanks.
BEACHIN' CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 07:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

I can see that maybe the OP wasn't perfectly clear, but your assumption that he must magically know that "analog output" means 2-channel was more than a little snippy. In the interest of civility, why not just ask the guy which analog outputs he meant?

Wasn't meant to be snippy.

Frankly I forgot about the discrete set of outputs, as I use HDMI for the video and optical for the audio. Another reason to mention which set was used, for those like me that can sometime be forgetful

We are all good now.

"You're Sherlock Holmes, wear the damn hat!" - Watson to Sherlock
Sherlock - The Abominable Bride - 1/01/16
Mr. Video
My Geek Images
mrvideo is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEACHIN' CHRIS View Post

My 18 month old unit's a pain of late. Started a month agao but i'll just note the latest problem.


Seventeen minutes into Blu-Ray Hangover II, there are clicks, picture flashes on and off and then some colors (pink or lime green) appear and nothing. Ditto with DVD too.


Latest FW 1024.0 installed in November. Did the reboot with no new FM changes and same old results. HDMI into receiver then to my Samsung 8000 series TV.


All comments are welcomed. Thanks.

This sounds like an HDMI handshake issue. Do you have HDMI-CEC (or HDMI Control) turned on in the player or the TV? If so, turn it off everywhere and see if that stops the problem. If it doesn't, connect the player directly to your TV and see if the problem occurs.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 08:27 PM
Newbie
 
BEACHIN' CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you pbarach; I'll try your recommendations this weekend.
BEACHIN' CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 511
oopps wrong thread

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Damonb10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The player flagged me last night that a new update is available. I think it was to go from .1023 to .1024. Has anybody installed this yet?
Damonb10 is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damonb10 View Post

The player flagged me last night that a new update is available. I think it was to go from .1023 to .1024. Has anybody installed this yet?

1024 has been around for a while. I haven't noticed anything negative since installing it.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 01:12 PM
Member
 
andrewdale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may have been asked previously, but there's a lot of posts in this thread and Google is proving to be somewhat useless to find information for the issue.

I've had my BD-C6500 for a couple years now and it has worked great in the past.

However, it will no longer play ANY blu-ray discs. DVD's work properly and look great, but when you insert a BD into the player, it will stick at the "Loading..." screen for 5-10 minutes before a message comes up that says the disc cannot be played.

I've tried rebooting, unplugging for 5 minutes, even cleaning the laser lens with a soft Q-tip. I haven't tried a can of air yet, but that's next on the list.

Any ideas?
andrewdale is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdale View Post

This may have been asked previously, but there's a lot of posts in this thread and Google is proving to be somewhat useless to find information for the issue.

I've had my BD-C6500 for a couple years now and it has worked great in the past.

However, it will no longer play ANY blu-ray discs. DVD's work properly and look great, but when you insert a BD into the player, it will stick at the "Loading..." screen for 5-10 minutes before a message comes up that says the disc cannot be played.

I've tried rebooting, unplugging for 5 minutes, even cleaning the laser lens with a soft Q-tip. I haven't tried a can of air yet, but that's next on the list.

Any ideas?

I have the same problem with ours... and haven't found a solution.
andersa is online now  
Old 01-09-2012, 01:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 192
My money is on the blue laser failed. Needs to be sent in and repaired.

"You're Sherlock Holmes, wear the damn hat!" - Watson to Sherlock
Sherlock - The Abominable Bride - 1/01/16
Mr. Video
My Geek Images
mrvideo is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
sigh, makes sense I guess. I doubt ours have played more than 10 or so BDs since we got it almost two years ago as we tend to watch movies in other rooms equipped with Oppo and PS3 respectively.
/Anders
andersa is online now  
Old 01-09-2012, 02:54 PM
Member
 
andrewdale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post

My money is on the blue laser failed. Needs to be sent in and repaired.

Yeah... I'm gonna see if I can repair or replace. The way I see it, it's broke anyway, so I might as well see what I can do. I'll post any results I can find.
andrewdale is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amesdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The first unit I got had the same problem - it played the first few Blu-Ray discs I tried, then on the second day I had it the blue laser failed and it could only play DVDs. The second one has been ok, but it's clearly a weak point of this model.
amesdp is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 08:17 PM
rmf
Senior Member
 
rmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upgraded to 1025.1 tonight and then lost connection with streaming from Netflix ~1/2 hour into movie and couldn't reconnect. Maybe a coincidence, but anyone else have a problem with streaming after upgrade?

Also, getting brief black screen shortly after the beginning of streaming, brief HDMI connection lost message, then all is well. Checked both connections for the cable and they appear OK.
rmf is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
I just did the 1025.1 upgrade. All was well afterwards.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
I upgraded, all is still well.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
link2metroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the latest firmware 1025.1. I've tried entering the region hack. It's not working. Can somebody please tell me what to do exactly and whether it works with the latest firmware? Thanks.
link2metroid is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
asg49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: MA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried to install the newest FW for my 3 1/2-yrs-old BD-P1500 by inserting a USB drive with an unzipped 111125_01_BDP1500_XAA.RUF file, but the player does not react at all. Tried to turn it on and off, open the door etc, but nothing works. Is there a special initialization procedure to start the install? The drive is fine, there's nothing else on it but the RUF file.

If I succeed, will the 1500 stream Netflix movies? Could not find this info...
asg49 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 03:01 PM
Member
 
vmaxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the Samsung 6500 get Vodo App ?

Thanks..Ed
vmaxed is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmaxed View Post

Can the Samsung 6500 get Vodo App ?

Thanks..Ed

The C6500 does get Vudu (I think that's what you have in mind)

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:31 PM
Member
 
vmaxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea.... Vudu BB has it on sale for 119.

Thanks... Ed
vmaxed is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmaxed View Post

Yea.... Vudu BB has it on sale for 119.

Thanks... Ed

What it does not have and probably won't get is 1080p and 5.1 audio from Netflix. It's an excellent video player ( and it plays DVD-A discs, too), though.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 06:23 AM
Newbie
 
link2metroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the latest firmware 1025.1. I've tried entering the region hack. It's not working. Can somebody please tell me what to do exactly and whether it works with the latest firmware? Thanks.

I'm looking to Region 1 DVDs on a Region 2 player. The hack involving pressing REPEAT and entering 57538 +9 isn't working. I hear it's difficult to get it to work. Has the latest firmware blocked this code? Will someone please give me some advice?
link2metroid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Samsung Bd C6500 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off