Official New Sony S370/S470 Owners Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
compagnion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if it is possible to control these players with IR Harmony remotes such as the 555? This is a very important point for me and I have not found direct answers to this. Thanks.
compagnion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,682
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by compagnion View Post

Does anyone know if it is possible to control these players with IR Harmony remotes such as the 555? This is a very important point for me and I have not found direct answers to this. Thanks.

Absolutely, like any other IR device. I use the Harmony .

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #363 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 08:25 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayChuang View Post

Yes, I saw it on the Sony support web page for the BDP-S370. I'll use the CD-R loading method since it's not likely I will use the BD-Live feature of this player (the majority of BD-Live applications started from the [b]Blu-ray[/i] disc aren't that useful, unless you have something like the Ultimate Edition Blu-ray releases of the Harry Potter movies that are starting to come out).

Whatever works for you. It really has nothing to do with BD-Live, which I never really use myself. I was pointing out that you could simply connect via ethernet, click 'Network Update', and be done (unplug again if you wish). The player is loaded with streaming content (netflix, youtube, slacker, etc. etc), without a network connection you're missing a lot more than just BD-Live features.
si1verfish is offline  
post #364 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 08:41 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking of network features, what is the story with Sony's Qriocity? Wasn't it supposed to launch back in FEB? Will it be premium content only?

It would also be nice to be able to customize the menu, at least the channel order, according to your usage (is Michael Jackson always going to listed at the top?)
si1verfish is offline  
post #365 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 09:22 AM
Member
 
chris_r11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I see that there is a firmware update available and after applying it, I really don't see anything new/different. Does anyone know what this latest firmware does?

Thanks, Chris
chris_r11 is offline  
post #366 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,986
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by compagnion View Post

Does anyone know if it is possible to control these players with IR Harmony remotes such as the 555? This is a very important point for me and I have not found direct answers to this. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Absolutely, like any other IR device. I use the Harmony .

FWIW all sony blu-ray players use the same codes. So even if the exact same model isn't in the database yet, you can use any of the older ones like the 360, etc. and it will work fine.

In case anyone needs the code for one-for-all / radio shack / rca (UEI) remotes, it's DVD 1516 or 21516.
mdavej is offline  
post #367 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,682
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by si1verfish View Post

Speaking of network features, what is the story with Sony's Qriocity? Wasn't it supposed to launch back in FEB? Will it be premium content only?

It would also be nice to be able to customize the menu, at least the channel order, according to your usage (is Michael Jackson always going to listed at the top?)

As far as I know, very similar to Amazon VOD. I am curious to see the quality of audio and picture. Too many PPV already, I like the free stuff.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #368 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 07:02 PM
Member
 
haas75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are people starting to ditch the 470 for the panasonic bd-65 because of netflix issues? The 65 forum claims netflix is crystal clear on the 65.

Hmm which one to buy???

Denon 1610
Energy C300 Font
Energy C-C100 Center
Energy C-50 Rear
New ED A3-250 Sub
Room 12.5'X17'
haas75 is offline  
post #369 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by haas75 View Post

Are people starting to ditch the 470 for the panasonic bd-65 because of netflix issues? The 65 forum claims netflix is crystal clear on the 65.

Hmm which one to buy???

According to the BD65 threads there are also light fluctuations with regards to DVD upconversion.

So you are robbing Peter to pay Paul.
ack_bk is offline  
post #370 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 09:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
steve1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: KC Metro
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 33
FYI.............

Sony Style has new firmware upgrade on the s370 page showing todays date

back to top
File Description Date Version Size Download
File Now Add To
Download Taxi
BDP-S370 Firmware Update (version 473) 03/31/2010 473 34.85 MB

PSN: ROLL_mf_TIDE

Vizio M601D-A3R w/ Vizio VSB207BT soundbar | Vizio M501D-A2R | PS3 Slim | PS4 | Harmony 650 Remote | DirecTV Genie WHDVR | Sony S5100 BD Player
steve1022 is offline  
post #371 of 2857 Old 03-31-2010, 09:37 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1022 View Post

FYI.............

Sony Style has new firmware upgrade on the s370 page showing todays date

back to top
File Description Date Version Size Download
File Now Add To
Download Taxi
BDP-S370 Firmware Update (version 473) 03/31/2010 473 34.85 MB

This utility updates the BDP-S370 firmware to version 473 and provides the following benefits:
Improvements over firmware version 315:
Enhanced Gracenote Entertainment database browser features:
Adds new features such Related Information Browse and Contents Search to improve your Blu-ray Disc movie database.
Enhanced photo slideshow:
Adds new visual effects and music to add to your photos when they are displayed on a TV.
Improved Compatibility:
Adds compatibility with DTS Neo:6 to convert the audio into 5.1 or 6.1 channel format.
Benefits provided by previous updates and included in version 473:
Resolves an issue where video streamed over the Internet may be displayed at SD (Standard Definition) instead of HD (High Definition) even when using a high speed Internet connection (10 Mbps or more) and watching video that is provided in HD.
SRR is offline  
post #372 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 06:41 AM
Newbie
 
badway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I got my s370 as my first Blu ray player, am ready happy about the features up to the moment, DLNA would have been great to have, but not urgent for me.

I have 2 questions maybe some one can help

1. Is internet.sony.tv only available for some areas?? Am in germany and it says "Unfortunately there is no premium Internet Audio/Video services available for your country/region at this time. ", also I think I have a limited number of content link only Youtube that make sence but no Pandora, no netflex, no Amazon, and no content update option is available since the first startup..
Can someone provide a list of available links.

2. Is the last item on the XMB "network" is just there with nothing beyond?
badway is offline  
post #373 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 07:33 AM
Member
 
haas75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRR View Post

Resolves an issue where video streamed over the Internet may be displayed at SD (Standard Definition) instead of HD (High Definition) even when using a high speed Internet connection (10 Mbps or more) and watching video that is provided in HD.

AWESOME!

Waiting for some feedback from somebody that is currently having issues to see if this is truely resolved.

Thanks

Denon 1610
Energy C300 Font
Energy C-C100 Center
Energy C-50 Rear
New ED A3-250 Sub
Room 12.5'X17'
haas75 is offline  
post #374 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 24
the netflix on the 370 was terrible.. the player itself was fine.
I would go with a panasonic over the sony. or even an oppo.
Jacob
Jacob305 is online now  
post #375 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 08:36 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

the netflix on the 370 was terrible.

Quite a subjective opinion. In my own subjective opinion, I would rate the netflix PQ as "excellent". Winston's ratings for netflix streaming are spot on. Read through the reviews and note how many total (who meet minimum bandwidth) are actually having problems - and how many were eventually resolved. The vast majority are having no issues. I couldn't be happier with it.
si1verfish is offline  
post #376 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 09:19 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

that was the problem that I had with the 370. my internet speed was not fast enough for it.

Didn't you kind of diagnose your own problem (i.e., it was your connection speed)?

Of the others who've posted Netflix issues...

smjbh5: buffering in HD only (resolved)
ptdr: jerky playback = router issue (resolved)
Charles R: poor PQ = well below minimum req speed (normal)
Anamorpheus: some jerky 'panning' scenes in HD only (HD min speed = 10Mbps)
jdatpslp: unresolved

That's the complete list.
si1verfish is offline  
post #377 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 09:57 AM
Member
 
jdatpslp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by si1verfish View Post

Didn't you kind of diagnose your own problem (i.e., it was your connection speed)?

Of the others who've posted netflix issues...

jdatpslp: unresolved

that's the list.

Oh, I resolved it. I went with the Panasonic and have not had the first hiccup in at least ten or twelve hours of streaming Netflix. Sony engineering has yet to make good on the callback, and by the way, the new firmware only incorporates the previous SD/HD update...nothing new on that front. Since I now know my 12 mbps stream (minimum) is not the issue, I'm tempted to go get another 370 and update it just to prove a point. Don't forget, Cnet noted the problem too. They may not be video gurus, but you'd be hard pressed to prove they don't know something about computer connectivity, which is what streaming basically is.
jdatpslp is offline  
post #378 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 10:14 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdatpslp View Post

Oh, I resolved it. I went with the Panasonic and have not had the first hiccup in at least ten or twelve hours of streaming Netflix. Sony engineering has yet to make good on the callback, and by the way, the new firmware only incorporates the previous SD/HD update...nothing new on that front. Since I now know my 12 mbps stream (minimum) is not the issue, I'm tempted to go get another 370 and update it just to prove a point. Don't forget, Cnet noted the problem too. They may not be video gurus, but you'd be hard pressed to prove they don't know something about computer connectivity, which is what streaming basically is.

I believe the list of other members with problems (above) is 'complete', which would indicate isolated problems at best - certainly no widespread issues. Glad you are now "resolved" as well.
si1verfish is offline  
post #379 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
smjbh5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by haas75 View Post

Are people starting to ditch the 470 for the panasonic bd-65 because of netflix issues? The 65 forum claims netflix is crystal clear on the 65.

Hmm which one to buy???

I have the 470 and have had no problems with the streaming. I'm hard wired in and can watch HD content without issues.
smjbh5 is offline  
post #380 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 11:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by si1verfish View Post

I believe the list of other members with problems (above) is 'complete', which would indicate isolated problems at best - certainly no widespread issues.

I tend to believe it's a silent issue. Unless you do (instant) A/B comparisons with the same source (like I did with the S570 and PS3) it's hard to compare the various player's quality. Which is why I give CNET some weight... they tested six players at once. Not to mention if you haven't used other players you have nothing to compare it against. I had zero issues streaming outside of the image itself being very inferior. Those with glitches are the ones more than likely to notice and post.
Charles R is offline  
post #381 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 11:29 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

I had zero issues streaming outside of the image itself being very inferior.

LOL. This one has pretty much been logged. Your 1.5 Mbps connection is inferior, giving you an inferior image. I have a Roku HD and a PS3 to compare it to (and it is superior), and I also have the minimum required speed to operate it (imagine that).
si1verfish is offline  
post #382 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by si1verfish View Post

Your 1.5 Mbps connection is inferior, giving you an inferior image.

Wanna bet what percentage of Internet users have bandwidth closer to mine than yours? I think my comparison of players are far more valuable.
Charles R is offline  
post #383 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 11:46 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Unless you do (instant) A/B comparisons with the same source (like I did with the S570 and PS3)...

This has to be my favorite line. Unless YOU do an A/B comparison with a real internet connection (which you admit you do not have), you have absolutely no idea what its PQ actually is.

My Roku would give me the same quality if I connected at half its required bandwidth.
si1verfish is offline  
post #384 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 11:50 AM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

I think my comparison of players are far more valuable.

Yes, I certainly believe that you believe that. Maybe you/they should look at the published required specs before a purchase??? That advice will go a long way.
si1verfish is offline  
post #385 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't believe it would be possible to rate or compare say for example 5 automobiles while running them on fuel with half the recommended level of octane.
nextoo is offline  
post #386 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 11:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by si1verfish View Post

Maybe you/they should look at the published required specs before a purchase???

I did and it said recommended (not minimum). Seeing the PS3 working so well I figured the S570 would work at least as well... unfortunately not.
Charles R is offline  
post #387 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 12:08 PM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Seeing the PS3 working so well I figured the S570 would work at least as well.

See, I do think that is legit. I would have expected that as well. But your eventual reality is it does require more bandwidth. Blame the player if you wish. I do not.
si1verfish is offline  
post #388 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 12:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by si1verfish View Post

See, I do think that is legit. I would have expected that as well.

Thank you. I don't blame the player. I simply don't understand why it was only using 1/3 of my available bandwidth where the PS3 uses all that's available. OK... I blame them for not allowing me to select how much bandwidth I wish to use. Similar to how VUDU boxes handle it... they let you select how much to use (of what's available) via its menus.
Charles R is offline  
post #389 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 12:34 PM
Member
 
si1verfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Thank you. I don't blame the player...

btw/ot, very nice home theater pics! do you charge admission?
si1verfish is offline  
post #390 of 2857 Old 04-01-2010, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
eochs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a new 370 owner, but have been doing Netflix through my XBOX, Tivo, and LG 47LH50 tv for a year... I regularly get 22+ Mbps connection tests and have all of these items plugged directly into my router... The 370 definitely pales in comparison to the other systems (even worse then TivoHD, which can be quite bad) on PQ, bandwith, and usability speed for Netflix...

By far my best is the LG TV... Outstanding interface, super quick, and always goes in HD without ever having to rebuffer...

Very happy with the rest of the content and Blu-Ray playing PQ on the 370 though... I had bought an LG 550 a few days before the Sony, and really liked some of the features the LG550 had... Namely, a search button on the remote that allowed you to scan through the DVD to an exact point in time... The LG has some big problems with 1080p24 though, and I didn't feel like waiting for a firmware update... If I didn't already have Vudu and great Netflix through the tv itself I probably would have kept the LG550 to make sure I had those features and just turned off 1080p24 on the player, but thankfully I didn't have to make that choice...
eochs is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off